A Phase 2 interventional study of Denosumab and Laboratory Biomarker Analysis in Breast Carcinoma Metastatic in the Bone, Circulating Tumor Cell Count and Estrogen Receptor Positive, sponsored by Northwestern University. Terminated at 2 sites in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2018-11-20.
Sponsored by Northwestern University · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment
The purpose of this study is to look at the amount of cancer cells in the blood of participants who are being treated with denosumab. The other purpose is to look at how long it takes for cancer to get worse when participants are being treated with denosumab. Circulating tumor cells (CTCs) in the blood of patients with metastatic breast cancer (MBC) have been associated with shorter survival than when CTCs are absent, especially in patients whose cancer has spread to their bones. In this study, we want it see if denosumab (the study drug) will decrease the number of CTCs measured in patients with MBC and cancer that has spread to their bones. We also plan to get blood from participants to study other research markers of interest.
PRIMARY OBJECTIVES:
I. To assess the effect of denosumab in Her2/neu negative ER+ and/or PR+ metastatic breast cancer patients who are in partial response (PR) or stable disease (SD) after starting systemic therapy with bone metastases and >= 5 circulating tumor cells (CTCs) by measuring the fraction of patients with reduction in CTCs after 3 cycles of denosumab.
SECONDARY OBJECTIVES:
I. To assess the effect of denosumab on CTCs enumeration considered as a continuous variable (percent change from baseline) in this population.
II. To evaluate median progression-free survival (m-PFS).
TERTIARY OBJECTIVES:
I. CTC enumeration after enrichment. II. To assess the effect on CTC profiling and characterization of stem cell phenotype (CTC-EMT).
III. To evaluate the type of progressive disease (new site versus [vs.] progression of lesions in previous sites).
IV. To analyze the expression of RANKL.
OUTLINE:
Patients receive denosumab subcutaneously (SC) on day 1. Treatment repeats every 28 days for up to 3 courses in the absence of disease progression, unexpected toxicity, or patient withdrawal or death.
After completion of study treatment, patients are followed up every 12 weeks for up to 2 years.
12,543 studies on the registry are indexed under Breast Neoplasms; 2,892 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 1 is below the median of 72 across 9,302 interventional studies indexed under Breast Neoplasms.
Browse Breast Neoplasms studies →Northwestern University is the lead sponsor of 1,396 studies on the registry; 199 are open to participants now.
Of its 102 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 73 (72%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Females of child-bearing potential (FOCBP) and males with his or her partner must agree to use two acceptable methods of effective contraception, at study entry, for the duration of study participation, and for 5 months following completion of therapy; subjects who are surgically sterile (e.g., history of bilateral tubal ligation, hysterectomy) or whose sexual partner is sterile (e.g., history of vasectomy) are not required to use additional contraceptive measures; should a female patient become pregnant or suspect she is pregnant while participating in this study, she should inform her treating physician immediately; likewise, if a male patient impregnates his female partner, he should inform the treating physician immediately; NOTE: a FOCBP is any woman (regardless of sexual orientation, having undergone a tubal ligation, or remaining celibate by choice) who meets the following criteria:
Exclusion Criteria:
Patients who have an uncontrolled intercurrent illness including, but not limited to any of the following, are not eligible:
Patients receive denosumab SC on day 1. Treatment repeats every 28 days for up to 3 courses in the absence of disease progression, unexpected toxicity, or patient withdrawal or death.
Biological: Denosumab · Other: Laboratory Biomarker Analysis
Given SC
Also known as: AMG 162, AMG-162, Prolia, Xgeva
Correlative studies
Fraction of Patients With Reduction in CTCs
Assess the effect of denosumab in Her2/neu negative ER+ and/ or PR+ metastatic breast cancer patients who are in Partial Response (PR) or Stable Disease (SD) after starting systemic therapy with bone metastases and ≥ 5 CTCs by measuring the fraction of patients with reduction in CTCs.
Time frame: Up to 3 months
Percent Change in CTCs
Evaluate the effect of denosumab on CTCs enumeration by assessing the percent change from baseline.
Time frame: Baseline up to 3 months
Median Progression Free Survival
Assess median progression free survival (m-PFS) using statistical analysis evaluating the relationship between longitudinal CTC counts and PFS. PRS will be measured from the time of treatment up until progressive disease.
Time frame: Up to 2 years
The study opened for enrollment on March 23, 2017 with an accrual goal of 42 patients. The first patient started treatment on study October 19, 2017. The study closed permanently to enrollment on March 6 2018 with one patient enrolled, due to low accrual and before total accrual to the study could be met.
| Milestone | Treatment (Denosumab) |
|---|---|
| Started | 1 |
| Completed | 1 |
| Not completed | 0 |
| Milestone | Treatment (Denosumab) |
|---|---|
| Started | 1 |
| Completed | 0 |
| Not completed | 1 |
| Withdrew: Death | 1 |
Assess the effect of denosumab in Her2/neu negative ER+ and/ or PR+ metastatic breast cancer patients who are in Partial Response (PR) or Stable Disease (SD) after starting systemic therapy with bone metastases and ≥ 5 CTCs by measuring the fraction of patients with reduction in CTCs.
No measurements were reported for this outcome.
Evaluate the effect of denosumab on CTCs enumeration by assessing the percent change from baseline.
No measurements were reported for this outcome.
Assess median progression free survival (m-PFS) using statistical analysis evaluating the relationship between longitudinal CTC counts and PFS. PRS will be measured from the time of treatment up until progressive disease.
No measurements were reported for this outcome.
Collected over Adverse events were collected for 3 cycles of treatment and up to 30 days past the last treatment, where 1 cycle of treatment equals 28 days.. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Treatment (Denosumab) | 1/1 (100%) | 0/1 (0%) | 1/1 (100%) |
| Event | Treatment (Denosumab) |
|---|---|
| HypercalcemiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 1/1 |
| HypokalemiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 1/1 |
| NauseaGastrointestinal disorders | 1/1 |
| Gastrointestinal painGastrointestinal disorders | 1/1 |
| Alanine aminotransferase increasedInvestigations | 1/1 |
| Aspartate aminotransferase increasedInvestigations | 1/1 |
| AnemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 1/1 |
| Bone painMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders | 1/1 |
| Abdominal painGastrointestinal disorders | 1/1 |
| HoarsnessRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 1/1 |
| Age, Categorical(Participants) | Treatment (Denosumab) |
|---|---|
| <=18 years | 0 |
| Between 18 and 65 years | 1 |
| >=65 years | 0 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Treatment (Denosumab) |
|---|---|
| Female | 1 |
| Male | 0 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Treatment (Denosumab) |
|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 0 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 1 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Treatment (Denosumab) |
|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 |
| Asian | 0 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 |
| Black or African American | 0 |
| White | 1 |
| More than one race | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 |
| Region of Enrollment(Participants) | Treatment (Denosumab) |
|---|---|
| United States | 1 |
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
This study is terminated, as verified in Oct 2018. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Northwestern University