A Phase 2 interventional study of BRM421 and Placebo in Dry Eye Syndrome, sponsored by BRIM Biotechnology Inc.. Completed at 2 sites in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2026-05-01.
Sponsored by BRIM Biotechnology Inc. · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment
The objective of this study is to compare the safety and efficacy of BRM421 Ophthalmic Solution to placebo for the treatment of the signs and symptoms of dry eye.
This is a multi-center, double-masked, randomized, vehicle-controlled, phase 2 study in approximately 150 subjects. (75 per treatment arm).
1,292 studies on the registry are indexed under Dry Eye Syndromes; 191 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 157 is above the median of 60 across 1,077 interventional studies indexed under Dry Eye Syndromes.
Browse Dry Eye Syndromes studies →BRIM Biotechnology Inc. is the lead sponsor of 6 studies on the registry; 3 are open to participants now.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Exclusion Criteria:
The active control with BRM421 solution
Drug: BRM421
The vehicle solution
Drug: Placebo
0.03%(w/v) BRIM421 ophthalmic solution
vehicle ophthalmic drops
Sign: Corneal Fluorescein Staining Score
The staining was graded with the Ora Calibra® Corneal and Conjunctival Staining Scale. The ocular surface was divided into three regions, including superior, central and inferior region. The following scale was used to grade staining of the each region. Half (0.5) grade increments may be used. The total score of corneal fluorescein staining was calculated as the sum of three regions, the score range is 0 (minimum) to 12 (maximum). None 0 = no staining Trace 1 = occasional Mild 2 = countable Moderate 3 = uncountable, but not confluent Severe 4 = confluent
Time frame: change from baseline to week 4
Symptom: Ocular Discomfort Score
Ocular discomfort scores was subjectively graded by the subjects according to the following Ora Calibra® Ocular Discomfort Scale, rating each eye separately, the score range is 0 (minimum) to 4 (maximum). 0 = no discomfort 1. = intermittent awareness 2. = constant awareness 3. = intermittent discomfort 4. = constant discomfort
Time frame: change from baseline to week 4
Tear Film Break-up Time
The examiner was instilled 5 uL of 2% preservative-free sodium fluorescein solution into the inferior conjunctival cul-de-sac of each eye. With the aid of a slit-lamp, the examiner monitored the integrity of the tear film, noting the time (seconds) it takes to form micelles from the time that the eye is opened.
Time frame: change from baseline to week 4
Conjunctival Redness
Conjunctival redness was graded according to the following scale: Half (0.5) unit increments may be used. None 0 = Normal, without vasodilation Trace 1 = Trace ciliary or conjunctival vasodilation Mild 2 = Broad ciliary vasodilation; Moderate 3 = Broad ciliary and slight, horizontal conjunctival vasodilation Severe 4 = Broad ciliary and prominent, horizontal conjunctival vasodilation
Time frame: change from baseline to week 4
Ocular Surface Disease Index (OSDI)©
OSDI scores was subjectively graded by the subjects according to the Ocular Surface and Disease Index (OSDI) Scale. Patients scored each question from 0 to 4 (higher score means more severe), and the OSDI score is the sum of total 12 questions. The score range is 0 (minimum) to 48 (maximum).
Time frame: change from baseline to week 4
| Milestone | BRM421 Ophthalmic Solution | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Started | 78 | 79 |
| Completed | 76 | 75 |
| Not completed | 2 | 4 |
The staining was graded with the Ora Calibra® Corneal and Conjunctival Staining Scale. The ocular surface was divided into three regions, including superior, central and inferior region. The following scale was used to grade staining of the each region. Half (0.5) grade increments may be used. The total score of corneal fluorescein staining was calculated as the sum of three regions, the score range is 0 (minimum) to 12 (maximum). None 0 = no staining Trace 1 = occasional Mild 2 = countable Moderate 3 = uncountable, but not confluent Severe 4 = confluent
| score on a scale | BRM421 Ophthalmic Solution | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Sign: Corneal Fluorescein Staining Score | -1.06 (-1.5 to -0.62) | -1.16 (-1.61 to -0.71) |
Ocular discomfort scores was subjectively graded by the subjects according to the following Ora Calibra® Ocular Discomfort Scale, rating each eye separately, the score range is 0 (minimum) to 4 (maximum). 0 = no discomfort 1. = intermittent awareness 2. = constant awareness 3. = intermittent discomfort 4. = constant discomfort
| score on a scale | BRM421 Ophthalmic Solution | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Symptom: Ocular Discomfort Score | 0.41 (0.14 to 0.67) | 0.16 (-0.14 to 0.46) |
The examiner was instilled 5 uL of 2% preservative-free sodium fluorescein solution into the inferior conjunctival cul-de-sac of each eye. With the aid of a slit-lamp, the examiner monitored the integrity of the tear film, noting the time (seconds) it takes to form micelles from the time that the eye is opened.
| seconds | BRM421 Ophthalmic Solution | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Tear Film Break-up Time | -0.165 (-0.358 to 0.027) | 0.183 (-0.034 to 0.401) |
Conjunctival redness was graded according to the following scale: Half (0.5) unit increments may be used. None 0 = Normal, without vasodilation Trace 1 = Trace ciliary or conjunctival vasodilation Mild 2 = Broad ciliary vasodilation; Moderate 3 = Broad ciliary and slight, horizontal conjunctival vasodilation Severe 4 = Broad ciliary and prominent, horizontal conjunctival vasodilation
| score on a scale | BRM421 Ophthalmic Solution | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Conjunctival Redness | -0.14 (-0.3 to 0.03) | -0.1 (-0.27 to 0.07) |
OSDI scores was subjectively graded by the subjects according to the Ocular Surface and Disease Index (OSDI) Scale. Patients scored each question from 0 to 4 (higher score means more severe), and the OSDI score is the sum of total 12 questions. The score range is 0 (minimum) to 48 (maximum).
| score on a scale | BRM421 Ophthalmic Solution | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Ocular Surface Disease Index (OSDI)© | -3.89 (-6.33 to -1.45) | -3.04 (-5.14 to -0.94) |
Collected over 6 weeks. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| BRM421 Ophthalmic Solution | 0/78 (0%) | 0/78 (0%) | 4/78 (5.1%) |
| Placebo | 0/79 (0%) | 0/79 (0%) | 3/79 (3.8%) |
| Event | BRM421 Ophthalmic Solution | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| instillation site painEye disorders | 4/78 | 3/79 |
| Age, Categorical(Participants) | BRM421 Ophthalmic Solution | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| <=18 years | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Between 18 and 65 years | 41 | 41 | 82 |
| >=65 years | 37 | 38 | 75 |
| Age, Continuous(years) | BRM421 Ophthalmic Solution | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 62.7 ± 12.57 | 63.0 ± 11.78 | 62.9 ± 12.7 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | BRM421 Ophthalmic Solution | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 53 | 59 | 112 |
| Male | 25 | 20 | 45 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | BRM421 Ophthalmic Solution | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 4 | 4 | 8 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 74 | 75 | 149 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | BRM421 Ophthalmic Solution | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Asian | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Black or African American | 1 | 1 | 2 |
| White | 75 | 78 | 153 |
| More than one race | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Region of Enrollment(Participants) | BRM421 Ophthalmic Solution | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| United States | 78 | 79 | 157 |
| Ocular Discomfort(Participants) | BRM421 Ophthalmic Solution | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Count of participants | 78 | 79 | 157 |
| Burning(Participants) | BRM421 Ophthalmic Solution | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Count of participants | 78 | 79 | 157 |
3 further baseline measures are reported on the registry.
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
This study is completed, as verified in Oct 2019. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
BRIM Biotechnology Inc.