A Phase 2 interventional study of Kevetrin and Kevetrin in Ovarian Cancer, sponsored by Innovation Pharmaceuticals, Inc.. Completed at 2 sites in United States. Open to female participants aged 18 Years to 99 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2018-12-27.
Sponsored by Innovation Pharmaceuticals, Inc. · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment
Cellceutix has developed Kevetrin (thioureidobutyronitrile), belonging to an anti-proliferative p53 activator pharmacological class, for the treatment of cancer. Nonclinical studies have demonstrated that Kevetrin induces apoptosis by activation of wild type p53 and induces apoptosis in mutant p53 cells by degradation of oncogenic mutant p53.
In this Phase 2 study, two different short-term treatment regimens of Kevetrin will be evaluated for safety, tolerability, changes in biomarkers/objective tumor response, and to evaluate the pharmacokinetics of Kevetrin when administered to subjects with platinum-resistant/refractory ovarian cancer.
This is an open label, dose-escalation trial to study the safety, biomarker changes (including modulation of p53), objective tumor response changes, and pharmacokinetics following administration of two different treatment regimens of Kevetrin over a 3-week period to subjects with platinum-resistant/refractory ovarian cancer. Following the 3 weeks of Kevetrin dosing, subjects are to be followed up for 3 weeks after completion of Kevetrin treatment. Standard of care treatment, as medically appropriate and per local guidelines, outside of this study protocol can commence after the collection of the post-Kevetrin treatment biomarker samples (collected on Day 21±1 day). The patient population recruited into this study includes those ovarian cancer patients that have platinum resistant/refractory disease, defined as disease progression/relapse within 6 months following the last administered dose of platinum therapy (resistant), or lack of response or disease progression while receiving the most recent platinum based therapy (refractory), respectively. Patients may or may not have had additional treatment (e.g., Doxil) prior to entry in this study.
A total of approximately 10 study participants are planned to be enrolled in two cohorts of approximately 5 subjects per cohort, with enrollment in a sequential, dose-escalating fashion. Investigators and subjects will be aware of the treatment cohort into which they are recruiting. Cohort details and the planned doses are:
Cohort 1 (n=5) Kevetrin Cycle - Kevetrin 250 mg/m2 IV per dose every other day (q.o.d.)/ 3 doses per week (750 mg/m2 per week), for 3 weeks (single cycle; total 9 doses); Follow-up for 3 weeks after Kevetrin treatment ends Cohort 2 (n=5) Kevetrin Cycle - Kevetrin 350 mg/m2 IV per dose every other day (q.o.d.)/ 3 doses per week (1050 mg/m2 per week), for 3 weeks (single cycle; total 9 doses); Follow-up for 3 weeks after Kevetrin treatment ends Cohorts 1 and 2 will be conducted in a sequential fashion, with safety data from cohort 1 evaluated by an independent Data Monitoring Committee (DMC). The DMC will make appropriate recommendations based on the available safety data as regards the intent of progressing to the higher dose cohort 2.
2,695 studies on the registry are indexed under Ovarian Neoplasms; 727 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 2 is below the median of 60 across 2,030 interventional studies indexed under Ovarian Neoplasms.
Browse Ovarian Neoplasms studies →Innovation Pharmaceuticals, Inc. is the lead sponsor of 5 studies on the registry; none are open to participants now.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Adequate hematologic and organ function as confirmed by laboratory values at Screening:
Women of child-bearing potential are required to use effective contraception throughout the study period. Effective contraception methods include:
Women are considered post-menopausal and not of child-bearing potential if they have had 12 consecutive months of natural (spontaneous) amenorrhea with an appropriate clinical profile (e.g., age appropriate, history of vasomotor symptoms) or have had surgical hysterectomy and/or bilateral oophorectomy or tubal ligation at least six weeks ago.
Exclusion Criteria:
Clinically significant cardiac disease, including:
Kevetrin 250 mg/m2 IV per dose every other day (q.o.d.)/ 3 doses per week (750 mg/m2 per week), for 3 weeks (single cycle; total 9 doses) Follow-up For 3 weeks after Kevetrin treatment ends
Drug: Kevetrin
Kevetrin 350 mg/m2 IV per dose every other day (q.o.d.)/ 3 doses per week (1050 mg/m2 per week), for 3 weeks (single cycle; total 9 doses) Follow-up For 3 weeks after Kevetrin treatment ends
Drug: Kevetrin
Kevetrin dose to associated cohort
Also known as: Cohort
Kevetrin dose to associated cohort
Number of Participants With Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events
Reporting of Adverse Events, and severity of adverse events
Time frame: 6 Weeks
Number of Participants With Changes in Biomarkers
Changes in RNA and/or protein level of pre-specified biomarkers associated with the p53 signalling pathway and apoptosis will be compared between pre-treatment sample (tumor biopsy, ascites fluid, and peripheral blood) and post-treatment sample (tumor biopsy, ascites fluid, and peripheral blood)
Time frame: 3 Weeks
Number of Participants by RECIST Tumor Response Category
Number of subjects in each response category (complete response, partial response, stable disease or progressive disease) per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) version 1.1. CR (Complete Response): Disappearance of all target lesions PR (Partial Response) : At least a 30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameters of target lesions PD (Progressive Disease) : At least a 20% increase in the sum of the longest diameters of target lesions SD (Stable Disease) : Small changes that do not meet above criteria
Time frame: 3 Weeks
Maximum Plasma Concentration of Kevetrin (Cmax) on Days 1 and 5
Measurement of Kevetrin systemic concentrations from collected blood samples. Due to low number of subjects individual values are presented.
Time frame: Prior to dosing, During 3h infusion: 60(±5) min, 120(±5) min, and 2 min prior to end of infusion, i.e., 178 min. Post infusion: 0.5 hour (±5 min), 1 hour (±5 min), 2 hour (±5 min), 4 hour (±10 mins), 6 hour (±30 mins) [optional], and 24(±4) hour
Time to Reach the Maximum Plasma Concentration of Kevetrin (Tmax) on Days 1 and 5
Measurement of Kevetrin systemic concentrations from collected blood samples. Due to low number of subjects individual values are presented.
Time frame: Prior to dosing, During 3h infusion: 60(±5) min, 120(±5) min, and 2 min prior to end of infusion, i.e., 178 min. Post infusion: 0.5 hour (±5 min), 1 hour (±5 min), 2 hour (±5 min), 4 hour (±10 mins), 6 hour (±30 mins) [optional], and 24(±4) hour
Area Under the Plasma Concentration-time Curve From Time Zero to the Time of Last Quantifiable Concentration (AUCt) on Days 1 and 5
Measurement of Kevetrin systemic concentrations from collected blood samples. Due to low number of subjects individual values are presented.
Time frame: Prior to dosing, During 3h infusion: 60(±5) min, 120(±5) min, and 2 min prior to end of infusion, i.e., 178 min. Post infusion: 0.5 hour (±5 min), 1 hour (±5 min), 2 hour (±5 min), 4 hour (±10 mins), 6 hour (±30 mins) [optional], and 24(±4) hour
| Milestone | Kevetrin 250 mg/m2 IV/Cohort 1 |
|---|---|
| Started | 2 |
| Completed | 2 |
| Not completed | 0 |
Reporting of Adverse Events, and severity of adverse events
| Participants | Kevetrin 250 mg/m2 IV/Cohort 1 |
|---|---|
| TEAE Yes | 2 |
| TEAE No | 0 |
Changes in RNA and/or protein level of pre-specified biomarkers associated with the p53 signalling pathway and apoptosis will be compared between pre-treatment sample (tumor biopsy, ascites fluid, and peripheral blood) and post-treatment sample (tumor biopsy, ascites fluid, and peripheral blood)
| Participants | Kevetrin 250 mg/m2 IV/Cohort 1 |
|---|---|
| Observed biomarker changes | 2 |
| No observed biomarker changes | 0 |
Number of subjects in each response category (complete response, partial response, stable disease or progressive disease) per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) version 1.1. CR (Complete Response): Disappearance of all target lesions PR (Partial Response) : At least a 30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameters of target lesions PD (Progressive Disease) : At least a 20% increase in the sum of the longest diameters of target lesions SD (Stable Disease) : Small changes that do not meet above criteria
| Participants | Kevetrin 250 mg/m2 IV Cohort 1 |
|---|---|
| Complete response | 0 |
| Stable disease | 2 |
| Partial response | 0 |
| Progressive disease | 0 |
Measurement of Kevetrin systemic concentrations from collected blood samples. Due to low number of subjects individual values are presented.
| ng/mL | Kevetrin 250 mg/m2 IV Cohort 1 |
|---|---|
| Subject 002-001 Cmax Day 1 | 1820 |
| Subject 002-001 Cmax Day 5 | 1840 |
| Subject 002-002 Cmax Day 1 | 2410 |
| Subject 002-002 Cmax Day 5 | 2450 |
Measurement of Kevetrin systemic concentrations from collected blood samples. Due to low number of subjects individual values are presented.
| hours | Kevetrin 250 mg/m2 IV Cohort 1 |
|---|---|
| Subject 002-001 Tmax Day 1 | 2.97 |
| Subject 002-001 Tmax Day 5 | 2.97 |
| Subject 002-002 Tmax Day 1 | 2.97 |
| Subject 002-002 Tmax Day 5 | 1.97 |
Measurement of Kevetrin systemic concentrations from collected blood samples. Due to low number of subjects individual values are presented.
| hours*ng/mL | Kevetrin 250 mg/m2 IV Cohort 1 |
|---|---|
| Subject 002-001 AUCt Day 1 | 6851 |
| Subject 002-001 AUCt Day 5 | 6531 |
| Subject 002-002 AUCt Day 1 | 8141 |
| Subject 002-002 AUCt Day 5 | 8385 |
Collected over AEs were collected from Screening thru End of Study. approximately 6 weeks. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cohort 1 | 0/2 (0%) | 0/2 (0%) | 2/2 (100%) |
| Event | Cohort 1 |
|---|---|
| Abdominal distensionGastrointestinal disorders | 1/2 |
| Abdominal pain upperGastrointestinal disorders | 1/2 |
| DyspepsiaGastrointestinal disorders | 1/2 |
| NauseaGastrointestinal disorders | 1/2 |
| Chest painGeneral disorders | 1/2 |
| FatigueGastrointestinal disorders | 1/2 |
| Muscular weaknessMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders | 1/2 |
| HeadacheNervous system disorders | 1/2 |
| Neuropathy peripheralNervous system disorders | 1/2 |
| AgitationPsychiatric disorders | 1/2 |
| Age, Customized(Participants) | Kevetrin 250 mg/m2 IV/Cohort 1 |
|---|---|
| 54 years old | 1 |
| 71 years old | 1 |
| Sex/Gender, Customized(Participants) | Kevetrin 250 mg/m2 IV/Cohort 1 |
|---|---|
| Female | 2 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Kevetrin 250 mg/m2 IV/Cohort 1 |
|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 0 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 2 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Kevetrin 250 mg/m2 IV/Cohort 1 |
|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 |
| Asian | 0 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 |
| Black or African American | 0 |
| White | 2 |
| More than one race | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 |
| Region of Enrollment(participants) | Kevetrin 250 mg/m2 IV/Cohort 1 |
|---|---|
| United States | 2 |
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
Plan to share: No
This study is completed, as verified in Dec 2018. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Innovation Pharmaceuticals, Inc.