A Phase 1/2 interventional study of Ipilimumab and Nivolumab in Small Cell Lung Cancer, sponsored by AbbVie. Terminated at 35 sites in 5 countries. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2020-07-17.
Sponsored by AbbVie · Phase 1/2, Interventional, and Treatment
The purpose of this study is to assess the safety and efficacy of rovalpituzumab tesirine administered in combination with nivolumab or nivolumab and ipilimumab in participants with extensive-stage small cell lung cancer (SCLC).
The study planned to enroll three cohorts with approximately 30 participants in each, including a dose-limiting toxicity (DLT) evaluation phase (the first 12 weeks of any treatment) and an expansion phase. Initially, up to 12 participants were to be enrolled into Cohort 1 in order to obtain 6 evaluable participants through the DLT evaluation period of 12 weeks. Safety data were reviewed by a Safety Monitoring Committee (SMC) for each cohort during the DLT evaluation phase before the next cohort opened. Once a new cohort was opened, the previously opened cohort was permitted to continue enrolling participants for the expansion phase for a total of 30 participants per cohort.
Only two of the planned three cohorts enrolled participants in the study based on the SMC recommendation after DLTs were identified in Cohort 2.
7,243 studies on the registry are indexed under Lung Neoplasms; 1,557 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 42 is below the median of 60 across 5,295 interventional studies indexed under Lung Neoplasms.
Browse Lung Neoplasms studies →AbbVie is the lead sponsor of 953 studies on the registry; 136 are open to participants now.
Of its 350 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 210 (60%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Exclusion Criteria:
Participants will receive 2 doses of 0.3 mg/kg rovalpituzumab tesirine by intravenous (IV) infusion 6 weeks apart (Day 1 of Cycles 1 and 3), and 2 doses of 360 mg nivolumab IV 3 weeks apart beginning on Cycle 2 (Day 1 of Cycles 2 and 3). Participants will then receive maintenance therapy with 480 mg nivolumab IV once every 4 weeks from Cycle 4 until disease progression.
Drug: Nivolumab · Drug: Rovalpituzumab tesirine
Participants will receive 2 doses of 0.3 mg/kg rovalpituzumab tesirine IV 6 weeks apart (Day 1 of Cycles 1 and 3), nivolumab 1 mg/kg every 3 weeks for 4 cycles beginning on Cycle 2 (Day 1 of Cycles 2-5), and ipilimumab 1 mg/kg IV every 3 weeks for 4 cycles beginning on Cycle 2 (Day 1 of Cycles 2-5). After a 6-week washout, participants will then receive maintenance therapy with 480 mg nivolumab IV once every 4 weeks from Cycle 6 until disease progression.
Drug: Ipilimumab · Drug: Nivolumab · Drug: Rovalpituzumab tesirine
Participants will receive 2 doses of 0.3 mg/kg rovalpituzumab tesirine IV 6 weeks apart (Day 1 of Cycles 1 and 3), nivolumab 1 mg/kg every 3 weeks for 4 cycles beginning on Cycle 2 (Day 1 of Cycles 2-5), and ipilimumab 3 mg/kg IV every 3 weeks for 4 cycles beginning on Cycle 2 (Day 1 of Cycles 2-5). After an 8-week washout, participants will then receive maintenance therapy with 480 mg nivolumab IV once every 4 weeks from Cycle 6 until disease progression.
Drug: Ipilimumab · Drug: Nivolumab · Drug: Rovalpituzumab tesirine
Administered by intravenous infusion
Also known as: Yervoy®
Administered by intravenous infusion
Also known as: Opdivo®
Administered by intravenous infusion
Also known as: SC16LD6.5
Number of Participants With Dose-limiting Toxicities (DLT)
Dose-limiting toxicities were defined as any of the following in the 12-week DLT-evaluation period, graded according to the National Cancer Institute's Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (NCI CTCAE), version 4.03: * Grade 4 thrombocytopenia (or Grade 3 thrombocytopenia with bleeding) lasting more than 7 days and/or requiring platelet transfusion * Grade 4 neutropenia lasting more than 7 days, and/or requiring hematopoietic growth factor rescue, or any febrile neutropenia (Grade 3 or 4 neutropenia with concurrent fever ≥ 38.3°C) * Grade 4 anemia unrelated to underlying disease * Clinically significant Grade 3 or 4 non-hematologic laboratory abnormality that did not resolve to Grade 0/1 or baseline within 7 days * Grade 3 or 4 non-laboratory adverse event (AE), except fatigue, asthenia, nausea, or other manageable constitutional symptom
Time frame: Up to 12 weeks
Number of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs)
The investigator rated the severity of each AE according to the NCI CTCAE Version 4.03 and according to the following: Grade 1: The AE is transient and easily tolerated by the subject (mild). Grade 2: The AE causes the subject discomfort and interrupts the subject's usual activities (moderate). Grade 3/4: The AE causes considerable interference with the subject's usual activities and may be incapacitating or life-threatening (severe). Grade 5: The AE resulted in death of the subject (severe). The maximum severity AE for each participant is reported. A serious adverse event was defined as an AE meeting any of the following: * Death * Life-threatening * Resulted in hospitalization or prolongation of hospitalization * Resulted in congenital abnormality * Resulted in persistent or significant disability or incapacity * Was an important medical event requiring medical intervention to prevent a serious outcome. Relationship to study drug was assessed by the Investigator.
Time frame: From the first dose of study drug until 100 days after the last dose of study drug; median duration of treatment was 65 days and 53 days in each cohort respectively.
Objective Response Rate (ORR)
Treatment response was assessed by radiographic tumor evaluations conducted by a central radiology review. Objective response rate (ORR) is defined as the percentage of participants whose best overall response is either a confirmed complete response (CR) or partial response (PR) according to Response Evaluation Criteria for Solid Tumors (RECIST) v1.1. Complete response (CR): Disappearance of all target lesions. Any pathological lymph nodes must have reduction in short axis to \< 10 mm. Partial response (PR): A ≥ 30% decrease in the sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum diameters. CR or PR must have been confirmed at least 4 weeks (28 days) from the initial determination per RECIST v 1.1.
Time frame: Cohort 1: at Week 6, Week 13, and every 8 weeks thereafter; Cohort 2: at Week 6, Week 12, Week 18, and every 8 weeks thereafter, to the end of follow-up; median duration on follow-up was 31.7 and 48.0 weeks in each cohort respectively.
Duration of Response (DOR)
Duration of overall response is defined as the time from the date of first documented CR or PR, assessed by central radiology review and based on RECIST v. 1.1, to the documented date of progressive disease (PD) or death, whichever occurred first. Participants who neither progressed nor died were censored at the last evaluable disease assessment. Duration of response was evaluated using Kaplan-Meier methodology. Progressive disease was defined as at least a 20% increase in the sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum on study, with an absolute increase of at least 0.5 cm, or the unequivocal progression of non-target lesions, or the appearance of one or more new lesions.
Time frame: Cohort 1: at Week 6, Week 13, and every 8 weeks thereafter; Cohort 2: at Week 6, Week 12, Week 18 and every 8 weeks thereafter, to the end of follow-up; median duration on follow-up was 31.7 and 48.0 weeks in each cohort respectively.
Progression-free Survival (PFS)
Progression-free survival is defined as the time from the first dose date to the documented date of PD or death, whichever occurred first, based on central radiology review according to RECIST v 1.1. Progression-free survival was evaluated using Kaplan-Meier methodology. Participants who neither progressed nor died were censored at the last evaluable disease assessment. Progressive disease was defined as at least a 20% increase in the sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum on study, with an absolute increase of at least 0.5 cm, or the unequivocal progression of non-target lesions, or the appearance of one or more new lesions.
Time frame: From first dose of study drug to the end of follow-up; median duration on follow-up was 31.7 and 48.0 weeks in each cohort respectively.
Overall Survival (OS)
Overall survival is defined as the time from the first dose date to death for any reason. Participants who were still alive were censored at the last known alive date. Overall survival was evaluated using Kaplan-Meier methodology.
Time frame: From first dose of study drug to the end of follow-up; median duration on follow-up was 31.7 and 48.0 weeks in each cohort respectively.
Participants were enrolled at 17 clinical study sites in 4 countries: United States, France, Italy, and Germany.
| Milestone | Rovalpituzumab Tesirine and Nivolumab | Rovalpituzumab Tesirine and Nivolumab + Ipilimumab |
|---|---|---|
| Started | 30 | 12 |
| Completed | 0 | 0 |
| Not completed | 30 | 12 |
| Withdrew: Death | 22 | 7 |
| Withdrew: Physician decision | 2 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject | 1 | 2 |
| Withdrew: Lost to follow-up | 1 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Study terminated by sponsor | 3 | 3 |
| Withdrew: Other | 1 | 0 |
Dose-limiting toxicities were defined as any of the following in the 12-week DLT-evaluation period, graded according to the National Cancer Institute's Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (NCI CTCAE), version 4.03: * Grade 4 thrombocytopenia (or Grade 3 thrombocytopenia with bleeding) lasting more than 7 days and/or requiring platelet transfusion * Grade 4 neutropenia lasting more than 7 days, and/or requiring hematopoietic growth factor rescue, or any febrile neutropenia (Grade 3 or 4 neutropenia with concurrent fever ≥ 38.3°C) * Grade 4 anemia unrelated to underlying disease * Clinically significant Grade 3 or 4 non-hematologic laboratory abnormality that did not resolve to Grade 0/1 or baseline within 7 days * Grade 3 or 4 non-laboratory adverse event (AE), except fatigue, asthenia, nausea, or other manageable constitutional symptom
| Participants | Rovalpituzumab Tesirine and Nivolumab | Rovalpituzumab Tesirine and Nivolumab + Ipilimumab |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Participants With Dose-limiting Toxicities (DLT) | 1 | 3 |
The investigator rated the severity of each AE according to the NCI CTCAE Version 4.03 and according to the following: Grade 1: The AE is transient and easily tolerated by the subject (mild). Grade 2: The AE causes the subject discomfort and interrupts the subject's usual activities (moderate). Grade 3/4: The AE causes considerable interference with the subject's usual activities and may be incapacitating or life-threatening (severe). Grade 5: The AE resulted in death of the subject (severe). The maximum severity AE for each participant is reported. A serious adverse event was defined as an AE meeting any of the following: * Death * Life-threatening * Resulted in hospitalization or prolongation of hospitalization * Resulted in congenital abnormality * Resulted in persistent or significant disability or incapacity * Was an important medical event requiring medical intervention to prevent a serious outcome. Relationship to study drug was assessed by the Investigator.
| Participants | Rovalpituzumab Tesirine and Nivolumab | Rovalpituzumab Tesirine and Nivolumab + Ipilimumab |
|---|---|---|
| Any adverse event | 30 | 12 |
| Drug-related adverse event | 29 | 12 |
| Serious adverse event | 23 | 9 |
| Drug-related serious adverse event | 13 | 6 |
| Grade 3 adverse event | 11 | 7 |
| Grade 4 adverse event | 1 | 1 |
| Grade 5 adverse event | 14 | 4 |
| Drug-related Grade 3 adverse event | 9 | 10 |
| Drug-related Grade 4 adverse event | 3 | 1 |
| Drug-related Grade 5 adverse event | 4 | 0 |
| AE leading to study drug withdrawal | 12 | 6 |
| AE leading to treatment interruption | 18 | 8 |
| AE leading to dose reduction | 0 | 1 |
| Drug-related AE leading to study drug withdrawal | 9 | 4 |
| Drug-related AE leading to treatment interruption | 17 | 8 |
| Drug-related AE leading to dose reduction | 0 | 0 |
Treatment response was assessed by radiographic tumor evaluations conducted by a central radiology review. Objective response rate (ORR) is defined as the percentage of participants whose best overall response is either a confirmed complete response (CR) or partial response (PR) according to Response Evaluation Criteria for Solid Tumors (RECIST) v1.1. Complete response (CR): Disappearance of all target lesions. Any pathological lymph nodes must have reduction in short axis to \< 10 mm. Partial response (PR): A ≥ 30% decrease in the sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum diameters. CR or PR must have been confirmed at least 4 weeks (28 days) from the initial determination per RECIST v 1.1.
| percentage of participants | Rovalpituzumab Tesirine and Nivolumab | Rovalpituzumab Tesirine and Nivolumab + Ipilimumab |
|---|---|---|
| Objective Response Rate (ORR) | 27.6 (12.7 to 47.2) | 36.4 (10.9 to 69.2) |
Duration of overall response is defined as the time from the date of first documented CR or PR, assessed by central radiology review and based on RECIST v. 1.1, to the documented date of progressive disease (PD) or death, whichever occurred first. Participants who neither progressed nor died were censored at the last evaluable disease assessment. Duration of response was evaluated using Kaplan-Meier methodology. Progressive disease was defined as at least a 20% increase in the sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum on study, with an absolute increase of at least 0.5 cm, or the unequivocal progression of non-target lesions, or the appearance of one or more new lesions.
| months | Rovalpituzumab Tesirine and Nivolumab | Rovalpituzumab Tesirine and Nivolumab + Ipilimumab |
|---|---|---|
| Duration of Response (DOR) | 3.8 (1.6 to 5.6) | 3.3 (1.4 to NA) |
Progression-free survival is defined as the time from the first dose date to the documented date of PD or death, whichever occurred first, based on central radiology review according to RECIST v 1.1. Progression-free survival was evaluated using Kaplan-Meier methodology. Participants who neither progressed nor died were censored at the last evaluable disease assessment. Progressive disease was defined as at least a 20% increase in the sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum on study, with an absolute increase of at least 0.5 cm, or the unequivocal progression of non-target lesions, or the appearance of one or more new lesions.
| months | Rovalpituzumab Tesirine and Nivolumab | Rovalpituzumab Tesirine and Nivolumab + Ipilimumab |
|---|---|---|
| Progression-free Survival (PFS) | 4.8 (3.2 to 5.3) | 4.1 (1.3 to 6.0) |
Overall survival is defined as the time from the first dose date to death for any reason. Participants who were still alive were censored at the last known alive date. Overall survival was evaluated using Kaplan-Meier methodology.
| months | Rovalpituzumab Tesirine and Nivolumab | Rovalpituzumab Tesirine and Nivolumab + Ipilimumab |
|---|---|---|
| Overall Survival (OS) | 7.4 (5.0 to 9.1) | 11.0 (2.3 to 17.0) |
Collected over From the first dose of study drug until 100 days after the last dose of study drug; median duration of treatment was 65 days and 53 days in each cohort respectively. All-cause mortality is reported through the end of follow-up; maximum time on study was 115 weeks.. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cohort 1: Rovalpituzumab Tesirine and Nivolumab | 26/30 (86.7%) | 23/30 (76.7%) | 30/30 (100%) |
| Cohort 2: Rovalpituzumab Tesirine and Nivolumab + Ipilimumab | 8/12 (66.7%) | 9/12 (75%) | 12/12 (100%) |
| Event | Cohort 1: Rovalpituzumab Tesirine and Nivolumab | Cohort 2: Rovalpituzumab Tesirine and Nivolumab + Ipilimumab |
|---|---|---|
| Malignant neoplasm progressionNeoplasms benign, malignant and unspecified (incl cysts and polyps) | 8/30 | 2/12 |
| Pleural effusionRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 8/30 | 0/12 |
| FatigueGeneral disorders | 0/30 | 2/12 |
| DehydrationMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 1/30 | 2/12 |
| DyspnoeaRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 3/30 | 0/12 |
| PneumonitisRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 3/30 | 1/12 |
| Acute myocardial infarctionCardiac disorders | 0/30 | 1/12 |
| Myocardial infarctionCardiac disorders | 0/30 | 1/12 |
| Pericardial effusionCardiac disorders | 2/30 | 1/12 |
| TachycardiaCardiac disorders | 0/30 | 1/12 |
| Event | Cohort 1: Rovalpituzumab Tesirine and Nivolumab | Cohort 2: Rovalpituzumab Tesirine and Nivolumab + Ipilimumab |
|---|---|---|
| AnaemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 10/30 | 6/12 |
| ThrombocytopeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 9/30 | 5/12 |
| Decreased appetiteMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 9/30 | 5/12 |
| DyspnoeaRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 11/30 | 5/12 |
| Pleural effusionRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 7/30 | 5/12 |
| Oedema peripheralGeneral disorders | 12/30 | 3/12 |
| FatigueGeneral disorders | 11/30 | 4/12 |
| DiarrhoeaGastrointestinal disorders | 4/30 | 4/12 |
| Rash maculo-papularSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders | 5/30 | 4/12 |
| ConstipationGastrointestinal disorders | 8/30 | 3/12 |
| Age, Continuous(years) | Rovalpituzumab Tesirine and Nivolumab | Rovalpituzumab Tesirine and Nivolumab + Ipilimumab | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 61.87 ± 8.195 | 57.25 ± 14.085 | 60.55 ± 10.256 |
| Age, Customized(Participants) | Rovalpituzumab Tesirine and Nivolumab | Rovalpituzumab Tesirine and Nivolumab + Ipilimumab | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| < 40 years | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| ≥ 40 to < 60 years | 11 | 5 | 16 |
| ≥ 60 years | 19 | 6 | 25 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Rovalpituzumab Tesirine and Nivolumab | Rovalpituzumab Tesirine and Nivolumab + Ipilimumab | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 14 | 5 | 19 |
| Male | 16 | 7 | 23 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Rovalpituzumab Tesirine and Nivolumab | Rovalpituzumab Tesirine and Nivolumab + Ipilimumab | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 2 | 0 | 2 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 28 | 11 | 39 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Race/Ethnicity, Customized(Participants) | Rovalpituzumab Tesirine and Nivolumab | Rovalpituzumab Tesirine and Nivolumab + Ipilimumab | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| White | 29 | 10 | 39 |
| Black or African American | 1 | 1 | 2 |
| Not Reported | 0 | 1 | 1 |
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
Plan to share: Yes — AbbVie is committed to responsible data sharing regarding the clinical trials we sponsor. This includes access to anonymized, individual and trial-level data (analysis data sets), as well as other information (e.g., protocols and clinical study reports), as long as the trials are not part of an ongoing or planned regulatory submission. This includes requests for clinical trial data for unlicensed products and indications.
Supporting information: Study protocol, Sap, Csr, Analytic code
This study is terminated, as verified in Jul 2020. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
AbbVie