CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT02964208Updated Mar 29, 2024Results posted

AMPLATZER™ LAA Occluder Post Approval Study (PAS)

An observational study in Atrial Fibrillation, Thromboembolism and Stroke, sponsored by Abbott Medical Devices. Completed at 22 sites in 7 countries. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2024-03-29.

Sponsored by Abbott Medical Devices · Observational

Study type
Observational
Model
Cohort
Time perspective
Prospective
Enrollment
520
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

The aim of this multicenter, non-randomized observational post-approval is to compile real world outcome data on the use of an AMPLATZER LAA Occluder in subjects with non-valvular atrial fibrillation (NVAF). The AMPLATZER LAA Occluders is a transcatheter, self-expanding nitinol device intended for use in preventing thrombus embolization from the LAA.

02

Conditions studied

  • Atrial Fibrillation
  • Thromboembolism
  • Stroke

Keywords

  • Atrial Fibrillation
  • Stroke
  • Left Atrial Appendage
  • Cardiac Plug
  • Amulet
  • Thromboembolism
03

In context

Atrial Fibrillation

3,872 studies on the registry are indexed under Atrial Fibrillation; 926 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 520 is above the median of 300 across 1,364 observational studies indexed under Atrial Fibrillation.

Browse Atrial Fibrillation studies →

Lead sponsor

Abbott Medical Devices is the lead sponsor of 525 studies on the registry; 35 are open to participants now.

Of its 52 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 43 (83%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No
Sampling method
Non-probability sample

Study population

The subject population will include participants that are > 18 years old and diagnosed with NVAF.

Inclusion criteria

  • 18 years of age or older
  • Documented history of nonvalvular atrial fibrillation
  • Subjects in whom an AMPLATZER LAA Occluder device is intended to be implanted or Subjects who underwent an AMPLATZER LAA Occluder implant attempt after the device was approved in the applicable geography

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Women of childbearing potential who are, or plan to become, pregnant during the time of the study
05

Study design

Observational model
Cohort
Time perspective
Prospective
Enrollment
520 participants (actual)
Patient registry
No

Groups and cohorts

  • LAA Occluder PAS

    Subjects who were treated with AMPLATZER LAA Occluders will be included.

    Device: AMPLATZER™ LAA Occluder

Interventions

  • DeviceAMPLATZER™ LAA Occluder

    The AMPLATZER™ LAA Occluder is intended to prevent thrombus embolization from the left atrial appendage (LAA) in patients who have nonvalvular Atrial Fibrillation (AF). It may be considered for use in patients who have a high risk of stroke and bleeding and are deemed by their physician to have an appropriate rationale to seek a non-pharmacologic alternative to long term anticoagulants.

    Also known as: AMPLATZER™ Cardiac Plug™, AMPLATZER™ Amulet™

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Primary Effectiveness Endpoint 1: Composite Rate of Stroke (Including Ischemic or Hemorrhagic), Systemic Embolism and Cardiovascular or Unexplained Death

    The occurrence of one or more the composite of stroke (including ischemic or hemorrhagic), systemic embolism, or cardiovascular or unexplained death at 24 months from the time of enrollment

    Time frame: Implant through 24 months

  2. Primary Effectiveness Endpoint 2: Composite Rate of Ischemic Stroke or Systemic Embolism

    The occurrence of ischemic stroke or systemic embolism at 24 months from the time of enrollment

    Time frame: Implant through 24 months

  3. Primary Safety Endpoint: Number of Subjects With All Cause Death, Ischemic Stroke, Systemic Embolism, or Device or Procedure-Related Events Requiring Open Cardiac Surgery or Major Endovascular Repair

    The occurrence of one of the following events between the time of implant and within 7 days of the procedure or by hospital discharge, whichever is later: all-cause death, ischemic stroke, systemic embolism, or device or procedure-related events requiring open cardiac surgery or major endovascular repair

    Time frame: Implant through 7 days

Secondary outcomes

  1. Comparison of the Relative Risk Decrease Of Observed Rate of Ischemic Stroke at 24 Months With the CHA2DS2-VASc Predicted Rate for the Implant Population

    The secondary endpoint comparing the observed rate of ischemic stroke at 24 months with the congestive heart failure, hypertension, age ≥ 75 years, diabetes mellitus, stroke or transient ischemic attack (TIA), vascular disease, age 65 to 74 years, sex category (CHA2DS2-VASc) score predicted rate for the implant population. The following calculation was used to calculate the Relative Risk Decrease: (Predicted Rate minus Observed Rate) divided by Predicted Rate = Relative Risk Decrease.

    Time frame: Implant through 24 months

07

Results

Posted Mar 29, 2024

Participant flow

A total of 520 patients were enrolled and underwent Amplatzer LAA Occluder implant attempt at 22 investigational sites between December 8, 2016 and July 2, 2020.

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneLAA Occluder PAS
Started520
Completed396
Not completed124
Withdrew: Death103
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject6
Withdrew: Lost to follow-up6
Withdrew: Unsuccessful procedure5
Withdrew: Device explant1
Withdrew: Anatomical heart structure of the patient; laa occluder was not implanted; heart transplant3

Outcome measures

PrimaryPrimary Effectiveness Endpoint 1: Composite Rate of Stroke (Including Ischemic or Hemorrhagic), Systemic Embolism and Cardiovascular or Unexplained Death

The occurrence of one or more the composite of stroke (including ischemic or hemorrhagic), systemic embolism, or cardiovascular or unexplained death at 24 months from the time of enrollment

Time frame:
Implant through 24 months
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
Primary Effectiveness Endpoint 1: Composite Rate of Stroke (Including Ischemic or Hemorrhagic), Systemic Embolism and Cardiovascular or Unexplained Death
percentage of participantsLAA Occluder PAS
Primary Effectiveness Endpoint 1: Composite Rate of Stroke (Including Ischemic or Hemorrhagic), Systemic Embolism and Cardiovascular or Unexplained Death14.28
PrimaryPrimary Effectiveness Endpoint 2: Composite Rate of Ischemic Stroke or Systemic Embolism

The occurrence of ischemic stroke or systemic embolism at 24 months from the time of enrollment

Time frame:
Implant through 24 months
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
Primary Effectiveness Endpoint 2: Composite Rate of Ischemic Stroke or Systemic Embolism
percentage of participantsLAA Occluder PAS
Primary Effectiveness Endpoint 2: Composite Rate of Ischemic Stroke or Systemic Embolism4.41
PrimaryPrimary Safety Endpoint: Number of Subjects With All Cause Death, Ischemic Stroke, Systemic Embolism, or Device or Procedure-Related Events Requiring Open Cardiac Surgery or Major Endovascular Repair

The occurrence of one of the following events between the time of implant and within 7 days of the procedure or by hospital discharge, whichever is later: all-cause death, ischemic stroke, systemic embolism, or device or procedure-related events requiring open cardiac surgery or major endovascular repair

Time frame:
Implant through 7 days
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Primary Safety Endpoint: Number of Subjects With All Cause Death, Ischemic Stroke, Systemic Embolism, or Device or Procedure-Related Events Requiring Open Cardiac Surgery or Major Endovascular Repair
ParticipantsLAA Occluder PAS
Primary Safety Endpoint: Number of Subjects With All Cause Death, Ischemic Stroke, Systemic Embolism, or Device or Procedure-Related Events Requiring Open Cardiac Surgery or Major Endovascular Repair3
SecondaryComparison of the Relative Risk Decrease Of Observed Rate of Ischemic Stroke at 24 Months With the CHA2DS2-VASc Predicted Rate for the Implant Population

The secondary endpoint comparing the observed rate of ischemic stroke at 24 months with the congestive heart failure, hypertension, age ≥ 75 years, diabetes mellitus, stroke or transient ischemic attack (TIA), vascular disease, age 65 to 74 years, sex category (CHA2DS2-VASc) score predicted rate for the implant population. The following calculation was used to calculate the Relative Risk Decrease: (Predicted Rate minus Observed Rate) divided by Predicted Rate = Relative Risk Decrease.

Time frame:
Implant through 24 months
Reported as:
Number · percent change in the rate
Comparison of the Relative Risk Decrease Of Observed Rate of Ischemic Stroke at 24 Months With the CHA2DS2-VASc Predicted Rate for the Implant Population
percent change in the rateLAA Occluder PAS
Comparison of the Relative Risk Decrease Of Observed Rate of Ischemic Stroke at 24 Months With the CHA2DS2-VASc Predicted Rate for the Implant Population-70

Adverse events

Collected over 24 months. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
LAA Occluder PAS103/520 (19.8%)201/520 (38.7%)3/520 (0.6%)
Most frequent serious events
Showing 10 of 86
Most frequent serious events
EventLAA Occluder PAS
Gastrointestinal BleedingGastrointestinal disorders35/520
AnemiasBlood and lymphatic system disorders17/520
Ischemic StrokeNervous system disorders17/520
Pericardial TamponadeCardiac disorders11/520
OtherGeneral disorders10/520
SepsisInfections and infestations9/520
Intracerebral HaemorrhageNervous system disorders9/520
Heart FailureCardiac disorders8/520
Respiratory FailureRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders8/520
Congestive Heart FailureCardiac disorders7/520
Most frequent other events
Most frequent other events
EventLAA Occluder PAS
Thrombus on DeviceProduct Issues1/520
Transient Ischemic Attack (TIA)Nervous system disorders1/520
Unstable AnginaCardiac disorders1/520

Baseline characteristics

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(Years)LAA Occluder PAS
Mean75.90 ± 8.10
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)LAA Occluder PAS
Female185
Male335
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)LAA Occluder PAS
Hispanic or Latino48
Not Hispanic or Latino248
Unknown or Not Reported224
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)LAA Occluder PAS
American Indian or Alaska Native1
Asian16
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander2
Black or African American0
White303
More than one race11
Unknown or Not Reported187
Medical History
Medical History(Participants)LAA Occluder PAS
History of Major Bleeding392
HAS-BLED score520
History of TIA65
History of Stroke160
08

Study locations

22 sites
  • Instituto Cardiovascular de Rosario
    Rosario, Santa Fe 2000, Argentina
  • Hôpital Civil Marie Curie
    Lodelinsart, Hainaut 6042, Belgium
  • Royal Columbian
    New Westminster, British Columbia V3L 3W5, Canada
  • Vancouver General Hospital
    Vancouver, British Columbia V5Z 1M9, Canada
  • St. Paul's Hospital
    Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 2E8, Canada
  • Ottawa Heart Institute
    Ottawa, Ontario K1Y 4W7, Canada
  • St. Michael's Hospital
    Toronto, Ontario M5B 1W8, Canada
  • Montreal Heart Institute
    Montreal, Quebec H2L 4M1, Canada
  • CHUM
    Montreal, Quebec H2X 3E4, Canada
  • The Royal Victoria Hospital
    Montréal, Quebec H4A 3J1, Canada
  • Instituto Nacional del Torax
    Providencia, Santiago, Chile
  • Hospital Clinico San Borja Arriarán
    Santiago, 8320000, Chile
  • Cardioangiologisches Centrum am Bethanien Krankenhaus
    Frankfurt, Hesse 60389, Germany
  • St. Marien-Hospital-Bonn
    Bonn, North Rhine-Westphalia 53115, Germany
  • Segeberger Kliniken GmbH
    Bad Segeberg, Schleswig-Holstein 23795, Germany
  • Zentralklinik Bad Berka GmbH
    Bad Berka, Thuringia 99438, Germany
  • Azienda Ospedaliera Monaldi
    Napoli, Campania 80131, Italy
  • Ospedale San Giovanni Bosco
    Torino, Piedmonte 10154, Italy
  • Università degli Studi di Padova
    Padova, Veneto 35128, Italy
  • Hospital Universitario de Salamanca
    Salamanca, Castile And Leon 37007, Spain
  • Hospital Clinic I Provincial de Barcelona
    Barcelona, Catalonia 8028, Spain
  • Hospital Universitario Puerta de Hierro
    Majadahonda, Madrid 28222, Spain
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Study protocol · Nov 19, 2018
  • Statistical analysis plan · Sep 9, 2020

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Mar 29, 2024, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT02964208
Lead sponsor
Abbott Medical Devices
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Nov 16, 2016
Start date
Dec 8, 2016
Primary completion
Jun 13, 2022
Completion
Aug 10, 2022
Results posted
Mar 29, 2024
Last update
Mar 29, 2024

Study contacts

Ryan Palmer
study director · Abbott

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
FDA-regulated drug
No
FDA-regulated device
Yes
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Mar 2024. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion