CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT02944513Updated Apr 25, 2022Results posted

Efficacy of the Quell Wearable Device for Chronic Low Back Pain

An interventional study of Quell in Low Back Pain, sponsored by Brigham and Women's Hospital. Completed. Open to participants aged 21 Years to 99 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2022-04-25.

Sponsored by Brigham and Women's Hospital · Not applicable, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Not applicable
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
68
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
21 Years to 99 Years
Sex
All
01

Study summary

This is a 1-year trial designed to gather information about the use of the Quell for persons with chronic musculoskeletal low back pain.

Read the detailed description

Research Objectives: This is a 1-year trial designed to gather information about the use of the Quell for persons with chronic musculoskeletal low back pain. The investigators hypothesize that those assigned to using the device will report reduced back pain compared with those in the control condition; with those using the device also showing improvement in sleep, mood, and level of activity. The investigators hypothesize that frequency of using the Quell (increased tolerability and adherence) will be correlated with greater reduction in pain. The investigators hypothesize that the device will be safe to use and will demonstrate a reduction in healthcare utilization (reduced clinic and Emergency Department visits). Finally, based on preliminary analyses limited by few subject numbers, the investigators will investigate whether certain individuals report greater benefit from using the Quell than others and, in particular, would predict that those with more intense and longer duration of pain will demonstrate most benefit.

02

Conditions studied

  • Low Back Pain
03

In context

Back Pain

2,373 studies on the registry are indexed under Back Pain; 284 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 68 is above the median of 60 across 1,941 interventional studies indexed under Back Pain.

Browse Back Pain studies →

Lead sponsor

Brigham and Women's Hospital is the lead sponsor of 1,236 studies on the registry; 224 are open to participants now.

Of its 116 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 64 (55%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
21 Years to 99 Years
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • All participants will be adults age 21 or older and diagnosed with axial musculoskeletal back pain without radiculopathy.
  • Patients will be invited to participate if they own a smart phone (iPhone or Android device) and are able to download the pain app and the Quell Relief program app onto their device.
  • Patients will also be included if they:

    1. have chronic pain for > 3 months' duration
    2. average 4 or greater on a pain intensity scale of 0 to 10
    3. are able to speak and understand English.

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Patients will be excluded from participation if they meet any of the following criteria:

    1. diagnosis of cancer or any other malignant disease
    2. acute osteomyelitis or acute bone disease
    3. present or past Diagnostic and Statistical Manual-V diagnosis of schizophrenia, delusional disorder, psychotic disorder, or dissociative disorder that would be judged to interfere with study participation
    4. pregnancy
    5. any clinically unstable systemic illness judged to interfere with treatment
    6. a pain condition requiring urgent surgery
    7. an active substance use disorder, such as cocaine or IV heroin use, (positive on the Mini International Neuropsychiatric Interview; M.I.N.I. v.5.0) that would interfere with study participation
    8. any prescription opioid use for pain
    9. have an implanted cardiac pacemaker, defibrillator, or other implanted device. All subjects will be asked to not change their treatment during the study period.
05

Study design

Phase
Not applicable
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
68 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Experimental

    Subjects will receive the Quell device

    Device: Quell

  • No intervention
    Control

    Subjects will not receive the Quell device

Interventions

  • DeviceQuell
06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Pain Intensity (Average)

    Rate average pain intensity using visual analog scale on a scale of 0-10, where 0 is no pain and 10 is worst possible pain. Higher scores mean a worse outcome.

    Time frame: 3 months

  2. Average Pain Interference

    This measures the average pain interference with general activity, mood, walking ability, normal work, relations with others, sleep and enjoyment of life using visual analogue scale. On a scale of 0-10, 0 is no interference and 10 is extreme interference. Higher scores mean worse outcome.

    Time frame: 3 months

  3. Pain Disability Index

    The Pain Disability Index (PDI) a simple and rapid instrument for measuring the impact that pain has on the ability of a person to participate in essential life activities. For each of the 7 categories of life activity listed, a score of 0 means no disability at all, and a score of 10 signifies that all of the activities in which you would normally be involved have been totally disrupted or prevented by your pain. The minimal index is 0 and maximal index is 70. The higher the index the greater the person's disability due to pain meaning a worse outcome.

    Time frame: 3 months

  4. Pain Catastrophizing Scale

    Pain Catastrophizing Scale (PCS) has thirteen statements describing different thoughts and feelings that may be associated with pain. Using a 5-point scale from 0 (Not at all) to 4 (all the time), people indicate the degree to which they have these thoughts and feelings when they are experiencing pain. The sum has a minimum of 0 and a maximum of 52. Higher scores mean high levels of pain catastrophizing and worse outcome.

    Time frame: 3 months

  5. Hospital Anxiety and Depression Scale Total Score

    Hospital Anxiety and Depression Scale (HADS) is commonly used to determine the levels of anxiety and depression that a person is experiencing. The HADS is a fourteen item scale. Seven of the items relate to anxiety and seven relate to depression. Each item on the questionnaire is scored from 0-3 and this means that a person can score between 0 and 21 for either anxiety or depression. This outcome is a total score, which was calculated by adding the anxiety score and the depression score. Total score ranges from 0-42, with higher scores indicating a worse outcome.

    Time frame: 3 months

Secondary outcomes

  1. Post-study Helpfulness Questionnaire

    The questionnaire asked the participants to rate how helpful was the device for the low back pain on a scale of 0-10. 0 is not helpful at all and 10 is very helpful. Higher value means better outcome.

    Time frame: 3 months

07

Results

Posted Feb 26, 2019
Limitations and caveats
1. followed for only three months 2. no active comparator treatment in the control group 3. hard to know how other treatments or environmental factors might have affected the outcome of this study

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneExperimentalControl
Started3533
Completed3132
Not completed41
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject41

Outcome measures

PrimaryPain Intensity (Average)

Rate average pain intensity using visual analog scale on a scale of 0-10, where 0 is no pain and 10 is worst possible pain. Higher scores mean a worse outcome.

Time frame:
3 months
Reported as:
Mean · score on a scale
Pain Intensity (Average)
score on a scaleExperimentalControl
Pain Intensity (Average)4.0 ± 2.55.7 ± 1.9
PrimaryAverage Pain Interference

This measures the average pain interference with general activity, mood, walking ability, normal work, relations with others, sleep and enjoyment of life using visual analogue scale. On a scale of 0-10, 0 is no interference and 10 is extreme interference. Higher scores mean worse outcome.

Time frame:
3 months
Reported as:
Mean · score on a scale
Average Pain Interference
score on a scaleExperimentalControl
Average Pain Interference3.2 ± 3.05.4 ± 2.3
PrimaryPain Disability Index

The Pain Disability Index (PDI) a simple and rapid instrument for measuring the impact that pain has on the ability of a person to participate in essential life activities. For each of the 7 categories of life activity listed, a score of 0 means no disability at all, and a score of 10 signifies that all of the activities in which you would normally be involved have been totally disrupted or prevented by your pain. The minimal index is 0 and maximal index is 70. The higher the index the greater the person's disability due to pain meaning a worse outcome.

Time frame:
3 months
Reported as:
Mean · score on a scale
Pain Disability Index
score on a scaleExperimentalControl
Pain Disability Index26.3 ± 19.034.9 ± 16.7
PrimaryPain Catastrophizing Scale

Pain Catastrophizing Scale (PCS) has thirteen statements describing different thoughts and feelings that may be associated with pain. Using a 5-point scale from 0 (Not at all) to 4 (all the time), people indicate the degree to which they have these thoughts and feelings when they are experiencing pain. The sum has a minimum of 0 and a maximum of 52. Higher scores mean high levels of pain catastrophizing and worse outcome.

Time frame:
3 months
Reported as:
Mean · score on a scale
Pain Catastrophizing Scale
score on a scaleExperimentalControl
Pain Catastrophizing Scale13.9 ± 12.625.1 ± 13.8
PrimaryHospital Anxiety and Depression Scale Total Score

Hospital Anxiety and Depression Scale (HADS) is commonly used to determine the levels of anxiety and depression that a person is experiencing. The HADS is a fourteen item scale. Seven of the items relate to anxiety and seven relate to depression. Each item on the questionnaire is scored from 0-3 and this means that a person can score between 0 and 21 for either anxiety or depression. This outcome is a total score, which was calculated by adding the anxiety score and the depression score. Total score ranges from 0-42, with higher scores indicating a worse outcome.

Time frame:
3 months
Reported as:
Mean · score on a scale
Hospital Anxiety and Depression Scale Total Score
score on a scaleExperimentalControl
Hospital Anxiety and Depression Scale Total Score15.2 ± 8.816.6 ± 7.6
SecondaryPost-study Helpfulness Questionnaire

The questionnaire asked the participants to rate how helpful was the device for the low back pain on a scale of 0-10. 0 is not helpful at all and 10 is very helpful. Higher value means better outcome.

Time frame:
3 months
Reported as:
Mean · score on a scale
Post-study Helpfulness Questionnaire
score on a scaleExperimentalControl
Post-study Helpfulness Questionnaire4.7 ± 3.4NA ± NA

Adverse events

Collected over 3 months. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Experimental0/35 (0%)0/35 (0%)0/35 (0%)
Control0/33 (0%)0/33 (0%)0/33 (0%)

Baseline characteristics

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)ExperimentalControlTotal
Mean48 ± 1445 ± 1147 ± 13
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)ExperimentalControlTotal
Female182341
Male171027
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)ExperimentalControlTotal
Hispanic or Latino123
Not Hispanic or Latino343165
Unknown or Not Reported000
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)ExperimentalControlTotal
American Indian or Alaska Native101
Asian213
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander000
Black or African American257
White282553
More than one race101
Unknown or Not Reported123
Pain Duration
Pain Duration(years)ExperimentalControlTotal
Mean12.5 ± 10.613.9 ± 13.413.2 ± 11.9
Pain Average
Pain Average(units on a scale)ExperimentalControlTotal
Mean5.2 ± 1.75.7 ± 1.45.5 ± 1.6
Weight
Weight(lbs)ExperimentalControlTotal
Mean186.5 ± 60.0175.0 ± 51.9182.7 ± 51.4
BMI
BMI(kg/m^2)ExperimentalControlTotal
Mean30.2 ± 6.030.7 ± 8.530.4 ± 7.2
08

Study locations

No study locations are listed for this record.

09

References and documents

Publications

  • Jamison RN, Wan L, Edwards RR, Mei A, Ross EL. Outcome of a High-Frequency Transcutaneous Electrical Nerve Stimulator (hfTENS) Device for Low Back Pain: A Randomized Controlled Trial. Pain Pract. 2019 Jun;19(5):466-475. doi: 10.1111/papr.12764. Epub 2019 Feb 4. PubMed 30636101 ↗

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Jul 1, 2016

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Apr 25, 2022, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT02944513
Lead sponsor
Brigham and Women's Hospital
Responsible party
Robert N. Jamison, PhD (Professor, Brigham and Women's Hospital) — Principal investigator
First posted
Oct 26, 2016
Start date
Oct 2016
Primary completion
Aug 2018
Completion
Aug 2018
Results posted
Feb 26, 2019
Last update
Apr 25, 2022

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Apr 2022. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion