CClinicalTrials.gg
TerminatedNCT02933671Updated Jul 19, 2022Results posted

Suprainguinal Fascia Iliaca (SIFI) Block Improves Analgesia Following Total Hip Arthroplasty

A Phase 4 interventional study of Suprainguinal fascia iliaca (SIFI) block and Sham block in Hip Osteoarthritis, Primary Total Hip Arthroplasty and Pain, sponsored by Duke University. Terminated at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years to 75 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2022-07-19.

Sponsored by Duke University · Phase 4, Interventional, and Supportive care

Why this study was terminated
Study halted prematurely and will not resume; participants are no longer being examined or receiving any intervention.
Phase
Phase 4
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
11
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
18 Years to 75 Years
Sex
All
01

Study summary

The purpose of this study is to learn if using a suprainguinal fascia iliaca (SIFI) injection technique (also called a "nerve block") that numbs the nerves going to the side and front of the upper leg will improve pain control after surgery. The SIFI technique uses a numbing solution (local anesthetics) that is injected next to nerves in the hip to reduce pain. This block may affect movement in the leg and make the legs weak. The amount of leg weakness is not known and assessment of this will be included in the study. Many institutions use the SIFI block for patients having total hip replacements, with the hope of providing good pain relief combined with improved mobility after surgery.

02

Conditions studied

  • Hip Osteoarthritis
  • Primary Total Hip Arthroplasty
  • Pain

Browse trials for

Keywords

  • suprainguinal fascia iliaca (SIFI)
  • nerve block
03

In context

Osteoarthritis, Hip

628 studies on the registry are indexed under Osteoarthritis, Hip; 121 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 11 is below the median of 90 across 450 interventional studies indexed under Osteoarthritis, Hip.

Browse Osteoarthritis, Hip studies →

Lead sponsor

Duke University is the lead sponsor of 2,025 studies on the registry; 275 are open to participants now.

Of its 194 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 159 (82%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years to 75 Years
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • English speaking
  • between 18 and 75 years old
  • American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) 1-3 patients undergoing primary total hip arthroplasty

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • ASA 4 or 5
  • revision hip arthroplasty
  • diagnosis of chronic pain
  • daily chronic opioid use (over 3 months of continuous opioid use)
  • inability to communicate pain scores or need for analgesia
  • acute hip fracture
  • Infection at the site of block placement
  • Age under 18 years old or greater than 75 years old
  • Pregnant women
  • Intolerance/allergy to local anesthetics
  • Weight \<50 kg
  • Suspected, or known addiction to or abuse of illicit drug(s), prescription medicine(s), or alcohol within the past 2 years.
  • Uncontrolled anxiety, schizophrenia, or other psychiatric disorder that, in the opinion of the investigator, may interfere with study assessments or compliance
  • Current or historical evidence of any clinically significant disease or condition that, in the opinion of the investigator, may increase the risk of surgery or complicate the subject's postoperative course.
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 4
Primary purpose
Supportive care
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
Double (Participant, Investigator)
Enrollment
11 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Suprainguinal Fascia Iliaca (SIFI) block

    A nerve block technique using a numbing medication called ropivacaine.

    Procedure: Suprainguinal fascia iliaca (SIFI) block · Drug: Ropivacaine

  • Placebo comparator
    Sham group

    The same nerve block technique as above, however using an inactive solution of salt water.

    Procedure: Sham block · Drug: Saline

Interventions

  • ProcedureSuprainguinal fascia iliaca (SIFI) block

    An ultrasound guided nerve block using a medication that numbs the nerve called ropivacaine.

  • ProcedureSham block

    An ultrasound guided nerve block using a medication that does NOT numb the nerve called saline, or salt water.

  • DrugRopivacaine

    Local anesthetic (numbing drug)

    Also known as: Naropin

  • DrugSaline

    Salt water placebo

    Also known as: Salt water

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Numeric Pain Score at 4 Hours Postoperatively, as Measured by Numerical Rating Scale (NRS) 11

    The NRS 11 ranges from 0 (no pain) to 10 (intense pain).

    Time frame: 4 hours postoperatively

Secondary outcomes

  1. Cumulative Opioid Consumption

    Reported in IV morphine equivalents.

    Time frame: 24 hours

  2. Motor Strength, as Measured by Dynamometry

    Reported as pounds per square inch (PSI).

    Time frame: 4 hours postoperatively

  3. Numeric Pain Score at 24 Hours, as Measured by NRS 11

    The NRS 11 ranges from 0 (no pain) to 10 (intense pain).

    Time frame: 24 hours

  4. Ambulation, as Measured by Distanced Walked

    Time frame: post-op day 0

07

Results

Posted Jul 19, 2022

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneSuprainguinal Fascia Iliaca (SIFI) BlockSham Group
Started55
Completed55
Not completed00

Outcome measures

PrimaryNumeric Pain Score at 4 Hours Postoperatively, as Measured by Numerical Rating Scale (NRS) 11

The NRS 11 ranges from 0 (no pain) to 10 (intense pain).

Time frame:
4 hours postoperatively
Reported as:
Mean · score on a scale
Numeric Pain Score at 4 Hours Postoperatively, as Measured by Numerical Rating Scale (NRS) 11
score on a scaleSuprainguinal Fascia Iliaca (SIFI) BlockSham Group
Numeric Pain Score at 4 Hours Postoperatively, as Measured by Numerical Rating Scale (NRS) 112.4 ± 1.145.4 ± 1.95
SecondaryCumulative Opioid Consumption

Reported in IV morphine equivalents.

Time frame:
24 hours
Reported as:
Mean · IV morphine equivalents in mg
Cumulative Opioid Consumption
IV morphine equivalents in mgSuprainguinal Fascia Iliaca (SIFI) BlockSham Group
Cumulative Opioid Consumption33.8 ± 24.041.9 ± 29.3
SecondaryMotor Strength, as Measured by Dynamometry

Reported as pounds per square inch (PSI).

Time frame:
4 hours postoperatively
Reported as:
Mean · PSI
Motor Strength, as Measured by Dynamometry
PSISuprainguinal Fascia Iliaca (SIFI) BlockSham Group
Motor Strength, as Measured by Dynamometry28.7 ± 14.819.7 ± 22.8
SecondaryNumeric Pain Score at 24 Hours, as Measured by NRS 11

The NRS 11 ranges from 0 (no pain) to 10 (intense pain).

Time frame:
24 hours
Reported as:
Mean · score on a scale
Numeric Pain Score at 24 Hours, as Measured by NRS 11
score on a scaleSuprainguinal Fascia Iliaca (SIFI) BlockSham Group
Numeric Pain Score at 24 Hours, as Measured by NRS 112.6 ± 1.95.2 ± 1.3
SecondaryAmbulation, as Measured by Distanced Walked
Time frame:
post-op day 0
Reported as:
Mean · feet
Ambulation, as Measured by Distanced Walked
feetSuprainguinal Fascia Iliaca (SIFI) BlockSham Group
Ambulation, as Measured by Distanced Walked99.6 ± 122.220.8 ± 44.3

Adverse events

Collected over 24 hours from time of block. Non-serious events are listed at a 1% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Suprainguinal Fascia Iliaca (SIFI) Block0/5 (0%)0/5 (0%)0/5 (0%)
Sham Group0/5 (0%)0/5 (0%)1/5 (20%)
Most frequent other events
Most frequent other events
EventSuprainguinal Fascia Iliaca (SIFI) BlockSham Group
Motor weakness in the quadriceps and adductor group musclesMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders0/51/5

Baseline characteristics

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Suprainguinal Fascia Iliaca (SIFI) BlockSham GroupTotal
Mean63.8 ± 6.051.6 ± 17.857.7 ± 14.1
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Suprainguinal Fascia Iliaca (SIFI) BlockSham GroupTotal
Female011
Male549
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Suprainguinal Fascia Iliaca (SIFI) BlockSham GroupTotal
Hispanic or Latino000
Not Hispanic or Latino5510
Unknown or Not Reported000
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Suprainguinal Fascia Iliaca (SIFI) BlockSham GroupTotal
American Indian or Alaska Native000
Asian000
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander000
Black or African American011
White549
More than one race000
Unknown or Not Reported000
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(Participants)Suprainguinal Fascia Iliaca (SIFI) BlockSham GroupTotal
United States5510
08

Study locations

1 site
  • Duke University Hospital
    Durham, North Carolina 27713, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Dec 11, 2019

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No — Individual participant data will not be shared; patients will be deidentified and no personal information or medical records used.

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Jul 19, 2022, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT02933671
Lead sponsor
Duke University
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Oct 14, 2016
Start date
Aug 1, 2017
Primary completion
Mar 16, 2020
Completion
Mar 17, 2020
Results posted
Jul 19, 2022
Last update
Jul 19, 2022

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is terminated, as verified in Jun 2022. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion