CClinicalTrials.gg
TerminatedNCT02926729Updated Sep 16, 2026Results posted

Real-Time Assessment Of Breast Cancer Surgical Specimen Margins With Nonlinear Microscopy

An interventional study of nonlinear microscopy imaging of excised surgical margins and standard lumpectomy without nonlinear microscopy imaging in Breast Cancer, sponsored by Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center. Terminated at 1 site in United States. Open to female participants aged 21 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2026-09-16.

Sponsored by Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center · Not applicable, Interventional, and Treatment

Why this study was terminated
Low enrollment
Phase
Not applicable
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
56
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
21 Years and older
Sex
Female
01

Study summary

This research is studying a new investigative imaging instrument called a nonlinear microscope (NLM). A nonlinear microscope can produce images similar to an ordinary pathologist's microscope, but without first processing tissue to make slides. This study will determine if a NLM can be used to evaluate tissue during lumpectomy surgery for breast cancer in order to reduce the probability that standard pathologic examination of the specimen after the end of the operation will find close or positive margins, thus possibly requiring the patient to have additional breast surgery.

Read the detailed description

The purpose of this research study is to improve the treatment of breast cancer and reduce the number of patients who require repeat surgical procedures to completely remove breast malignancy.

In standard procedures, pathologists evaluate tissue samples on a microscope after the surgery is over. The new investigative imaging instrument is an advanced type of microscope that enables evaluation during surgery.

The microscope will not be used directly on the participant or in the operating room, but instead will be used to image tissue immediately after excision but prior to the conclusion of surgery. If pathologic examination using NLM concludes that there is invasive cancer or ductal carcinoma in situ (DCIS) at or close to the margin of the specimen, the surgeon will be notified and may decide to do additional surgical shavings before the patient leaves the operating room, in order to improve the likelihood of achieving clean margins and reduce the probability that the patient will be advised to have another operation to achieve clean margins. For both patients on the experimental arm (NLM) and the control arm (without NLM), standard pathologic evaluation of the specimen will be done some days after the lumpectomy is completed. That pathologic evaluation will decide whether or not to recommend that the patient has additional surgery in order to achieve clean margins. The primary outcome measure is the percentage of patients in each group who are advised to have additional surgery for this reason.

02

Conditions studied

  • Breast Cancer

Browse trials for

Keywords

  • Breast Cancer
03

In context

Breast Neoplasms

12,544 studies on the registry are indexed under Breast Neoplasms; 2,892 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 56 is below the median of 72 across 9,303 interventional studies indexed under Breast Neoplasms.

Browse Breast Neoplasms studies →

Lead sponsor

Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center is the lead sponsor of 560 studies on the registry; 80 are open to participants now.

Of its 75 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 61 (81%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
21 Years and older
Sexes eligible
Female
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Patient scheduled to undergo lumpectomy for breast cancer at BIDMC.
  • Core needle biopsy revealing invasive breast cancer or DCIS.
  • Female.
  • Minimum age of 21 years.
  • Eligible for breast conserving surgery, lumpectomy and radiation.
  • Estrogen receptor positive (ER+) on core needle biopsy, or if estrogen receptor negative (ER-), have evaluable estrogen receptor status with positive internal control on core biopsy.
  • Progesterone receptor positive (PR+) on core needle biopsy if biopsy indicates invasive cancer, or if progesterone receptor negative (PR-) on biopsy indicating invasive cancer, have evaluable progesterone receptor status with positive internal control on core biopsy.
  • HER2 IHC and/or FISH ordered on core biopsy, if biopsy indicates invasive cancer.
  • Oncotype DX or other genetic assay performed on core biopsy or not requested.
  • Ability to understand and the willingness to sign a written informed consent document.

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Contraindicated for radiation therapy.
  • Pregnancy. (Pregnant women will be excluded from this study because radiation therapy is contraindicated during pregnancy.)
  • Current invasive cancer or DCIS at the site of a previous surgery.
  • Any systemic neoadjuvant (or preoperative) therapy between the core biopsy and lumpectomy.
  • Involvement in another therapeutic trial for breast cancer at Dana Farber or elsewhere.
  • Risk of poor cosmetic outcome after initial lumpectomy and possible additional excision, as assessed by a study surgeon.
  • Recommendation for mastectomy based on radiology.
  • Patients that have complex DCIS as indicated on radiology, which would require excising a large tissue volume.
  • No or equivocal ER, PR or HER2 testing performed prior to surgery if biopsy indicates invasive cancer.
  • No or equivocal ER testing performed prior to surgery if biopsy indicates ductal carcinoma in situ.
05

Study design

Phase
Not applicable
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
Double (Participant, Investigator)
Enrollment
56 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Experimental

    Standard lumpectomy followed by nonlinear microscopy imaging of excised surgical margins and intraoperative feedback.

    Device: nonlinear microscopy imaging of excised surgical margins

  • Active comparator
    Control

    Standard lumpectomy without nonlinear microscopy imaging.

    Procedure: standard lumpectomy without nonlinear microscopy imaging

Interventions

  • Devicenonlinear microscopy imaging of excised surgical margins

    Following standard lumpectomy excision, excised tissue will be imaged with NLM. If invasive cancer or ductal carcinoma in situ (DCIS) is detected on or close to the margin, additional excision may be performed. Following surgery, final margins will be evaluated using paraffin embedded histopathology as per standard procedure. Paraffin embedded histopathology will be used to make a final margin determination.

  • Procedurestandard lumpectomy without nonlinear microscopy imaging

    Lumpectomy with postoperative paraffin embedded histopathology to make a final margin determination.

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Rate of Recommendation for Repeat Surgery on Postoperative Histopathology

    The number of participants in each arm with a recommendation for additional surgery due to positive or close margins on standard postoperative histopathology, as defined by SSO-ASTRO-ASCO guidelines ("no ink on tumor" for invasive cancer with or without DCIS; \<2 mm for DCIS).

    Time frame: From surgery to postoperative pathology reporting, up to 1 month

Secondary outcomes

  1. Diagnostic Accuracy

    The diagnostic accuracy of intraoperative nonlinear microscopy compared to reference standard postoperative pathology evaluation of the original (pre-shave) lumpectomy margins.

    Time frame: From surgery to postoperative pathology reporting, up to 1 month

07

Results

Posted Sep 16, 2026
Limitations and caveats
The study did not reach its target enrollment (56 enrolled vs. 98 planned) and was therefore underpowered to detect the hypothesized difference in repeat surgery recommendation rates. As a single-center study of a new technology, these findings may not generalize. Additionally, reference slides were unavailable for a small number of cases in the diagnostic accuracy analysis.

Participant flow

Participants were recruited from the surgical practice of the study surgeon at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center and were enrolled if they met the study eligibility criteria. Subjects were enrolled between July 2019 and May 2022. Enrollment was temporarily paused from February 2020 to September 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneExperimentalControl
Started2526
Completed2526
Not completed00

Outcome measures

PrimaryRate of Recommendation for Repeat Surgery on Postoperative Histopathology

The number of participants in each arm with a recommendation for additional surgery due to positive or close margins on standard postoperative histopathology, as defined by SSO-ASTRO-ASCO guidelines ("no ink on tumor" for invasive cancer with or without DCIS; \<2 mm for DCIS).

Time frame:
From surgery to postoperative pathology reporting, up to 1 month
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Rate of Recommendation for Repeat Surgery on Postoperative Histopathology
ParticipantsExperimentalControl
Rate of Recommendation for Repeat Surgery on Postoperative Histopathology45
Statistical analysis
  • Experimental vs Control · Fisher Exact · p = 0.53 (A P-value \<0.05 is considered significant.) · Risk difference (rd): 0.032 · 95% CI -0.183 to 0.242Risk difference calculated as control-arm rate minus experimental-arm rate. A positive value indicates a lower rate of repeat-surgery recommendation in the experimental arm.
SecondaryDiagnostic Accuracy

The diagnostic accuracy of intraoperative nonlinear microscopy compared to reference standard postoperative pathology evaluation of the original (pre-shave) lumpectomy margins.

Time frame:
From surgery to postoperative pathology reporting, up to 1 month
Reported as:
Number · Percentage of participants
Diagnostic Accuracy
Percentage of participantsAll Participants Undergoing NLM Imaging
Sensitivity71.4 (41.9 to 91.6)
Specificity93.9 (79.8 to 99.3)
Positive Predictive Value83.3 (55.6 to 95.2)
Negative Predictive Value88.6 (77.1 to 94.7)

Adverse events

Collected over From surgery until first postoperative visit, up to 2 months. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Experimental0/25 (0%)0/25 (0%)3/25 (12%)
Control0/26 (0%)0/26 (0%)3/26 (11.5%)
Most frequent other events
Most frequent other events
EventExperimentalControl
SeromaInjury, poisoning and procedural complications2/250/26
Breast PainReproductive system and breast disorders1/250/26
HematomaVascular disorders0/251/26
Urinary Tract InfectionInfections and infestations0/251/26
PainGeneral disorders0/251/26

Baseline characteristics

Age, Categorical
Age, Categorical(Participants)ExperimentalControlTotal
<=18 years000
Between 18 and 65 years131427
>=65 years121224
Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(Years)ExperimentalControlTotal
Median61 (40 to 84)63.5 (42 to 79)63 (40 to 84)
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)ExperimentalControlTotal
Female252651
Male000
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)ExperimentalControlTotal
American Indian or Alaska Native000
Asian6410
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander000
Black or African American314
White162036
More than one race000
Unknown or Not Reported011
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)ExperimentalControlTotal
Hispanic or Latino011
Not Hispanic or Latino252449
Unknown or Not Reported011
08

Study locations

1 site
  • Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
    Boston, Massachusetts 02215, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Apr 28, 2026
  • Informed consent form · May 20, 2019

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Sep 16, 2026, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT02926729
Lead sponsor
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
Collaborators
Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Responsible party
Liza Quintana (Instructor in Pathology, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center) — Principal investigator
First posted
Oct 6, 2016
Start date
Jul 17, 2019
Primary completion
Jul 14, 2025
Completion
Jul 14, 2025
Results posted
Sep 16, 2026
Last update
Sep 16, 2026

Study contacts

Liza Quintana, MD
principal investigator · Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
No
FDA-regulated device
Yes
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is terminated, as verified in Jul 2025. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion