CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT02857426CheckMate 647Updated Dec 23, 2021Results posted

A Study of Nivolumab in Relapsed/Refractory Primary Central Nervous System Lymphoma (PCNSL) and Relapsed/Refractory Primary Testicular Lymphoma (PTL)

A Phase 2 interventional study of Nivolumab in Lymphoma, sponsored by Bristol-Myers Squibb. Completed at 50 sites in 13 countries. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2021-12-23.

Sponsored by Bristol-Myers Squibb · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
66
Allocation
Non-randomized
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

The purpose of this study is to determine whether Nivolumab is effective in the treatment of Relapsed/Refractory Primary Central Nervous System Lymphoma (PCNSL) and Relapsed/Refractory Primary Testicular Lymphoma (PTL)

02

Conditions studied

  • Lymphoma

Browse trials for

03

In context

Lymphoma

5,578 studies on the registry are indexed under Lymphoma; 825 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 66 is above the median of 40 across 4,508 interventional studies indexed under Lymphoma.

Browse Lymphoma studies →

Lead sponsor

Bristol-Myers Squibb is the lead sponsor of 1,538 studies on the registry; 116 are open to participants now.

Of its 429 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 223 (52%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

For more information regarding Bristol-Myers Squibb Clinical Trial participation, please visit www.BMSStudyConnect.com

Inclusion criteria

Inclusion Criteria:

  • Pathologically confirmed PCNSL or PTL who failed or did not respond to at least 1 line of systemic therapy
  • Measurable disease requirements on scans:

PCNSL subjects should have at least one measurable extranodal brain lesion; PTL subjects should have at least 1 measurable extranodal lesion or nodal lesion

  • Have tumor tissue for PD-L1 expression testing
  • Must have a Karnofsky performance status of 70-100

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • a) Intraocular PCNSL without evidence of brain disease b) PCNSL patients who cannot undergo MRI assessments c) PCNSL patients with systemic disease
  • Patients with certain diseases such as active autoimmune disease, type I diabetes, hypothyroidism that needs hormone replacement, active infection, psychiatric disorder
  • Prior malignancy active within the previous 3 years except for locally curable cancers that have been apparently cured, such as basal or squamous cell skin cancer, superficial bladder cancer, or carcinoma in situ of the prostate, cervix, or breast
  • Prior treatment with an anti-PD-1, anti-PD-L1, anti-PD-L2, anti-CD137, or anti-CTLA-4 antibody, or any other antibody or drug specifically targeting T-cell co-stimulation or checkpoint pathways

PCNSL, and PTL subjects with brain or spinal cord lesion who have received doses of more than 2 mg/day of dexamethasone or equivalent within the 14 days period prior to the first dose of nivolumab are excluded

Other protocol defined inclusion/exclusion criteria could apply

05

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Non-randomized
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
66 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Nivolumab for population with PCNSL

    Specified dose on specified days

    Drug: Nivolumab

  • Experimental
    Nivolumab for population with PTL

    Specified dose on specified days

    Drug: Nivolumab

Interventions

  • DrugNivolumab

    Also known as: BMS-936558, Opdivo

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. BICR-Assessed Objective Response Rate (ORR)

    Percentage of participants with a confirmed objective response rate (ORR) by blinded independent central review (BICR) assessment was analyzed and reported for both PCNSL and PTL patient populations. This endpoint is further defined as the percentage of participants with a best overall response (BOR) of complete response (CR) or partial response (PR), based on the IPCG Criteria for PCNSL and Lugano 2014 response evaluation for PTL, divided by the number of treated participants within each cohort.

    Time frame: Up to approximately 51 months

Secondary outcomes

  1. BICR-Assessed Progression Free Survival (PFS)

    Progression-free survival (PFS) is defined as the time from first dosing date to the date of the first documented progression using the IPCG Criteria for PCNSL and Lugano 2014 response evaluation for PTL, as determined by BICR, or death due to any cause, whichever occurs first.

    Time frame: Up to approximately 51 months

  2. Investigator-Assessed Objective Response Rate (ORR)

    Percentage of participants with a confirmed objective response rate (ORR) by investigator assessment was analyzed and reported for both PCNSL and PTL patient populations. This endpoint is further defined as the percentage of participants with a best overall response (BOR) of complete response (CR) or partial response (PR), based on the IPCG Criteria for PCNSL and Lugano 2014 response evaluation for PTL, divided by the number of treated participants within each cohort.

    Time frame: Up to approximately 51 months

  3. Investigator-Assessed Duration of Response (DOR)

    Duration of response (DOR) by investigator assessment was analyzed and reported for both PCNSL and PTL patient populations. This endpoint is further defined as the time from first response (CR or PR) to the date of initial objectively documented progression as determined using the IPCG Criteria for PCNSL and Lugano 2014 response evaluation for PTL, as determined by BICR, or death due to any cause, whichever occurs first.

    Time frame: Up to approximately 51 months

  4. Overall Survival (OS)

    Overall survival (OS) was analyzed and reported for both PCNSL and PTL patient populations. OS is defined as the time from first dosing date to the date of death. For participants without documentation of death, OS will be censored on the last date the participant was known to be alive.

    Time frame: Up to approximately 51 months

07

Results

Posted Oct 28, 2020

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestonePCNSL CohortPTL Cohort
Started4719
Completed00
Not completed4719
Withdrew: Disease progression3413
Withdrew: Study drug toxicity41
Withdrew: Death10
Withdrew: Adverse event unrelated to study drug62
Withdrew: Participant withdrew consent11
Withdrew: Maximum clinical benefit10
Withdrew: Completed treatment02

Outcome measures

PrimaryBICR-Assessed Objective Response Rate (ORR)

Percentage of participants with a confirmed objective response rate (ORR) by blinded independent central review (BICR) assessment was analyzed and reported for both PCNSL and PTL patient populations. This endpoint is further defined as the percentage of participants with a best overall response (BOR) of complete response (CR) or partial response (PR), based on the IPCG Criteria for PCNSL and Lugano 2014 response evaluation for PTL, divided by the number of treated participants within each cohort.

Time frame:
Up to approximately 51 months
Reported as:
Number · Percentage of participants
BICR-Assessed Objective Response Rate (ORR)
Percentage of participantsPCNSL CohortPTL Cohort
BICR-Assessed Objective Response Rate (ORR)6.4 (1.3 to 17.5)26.3 (9.1 to 51.2)
SecondaryBICR-Assessed Progression Free Survival (PFS)

Progression-free survival (PFS) is defined as the time from first dosing date to the date of the first documented progression using the IPCG Criteria for PCNSL and Lugano 2014 response evaluation for PTL, as determined by BICR, or death due to any cause, whichever occurs first.

Time frame:
Up to approximately 51 months
Reported as:
Median · Months
BICR-Assessed Progression Free Survival (PFS)
MonthsPCNSL CohortPTL Cohort
BICR-Assessed Progression Free Survival (PFS)1.41 (1.08 to 1.74)1.72 (1.15 to 6.28)
SecondaryInvestigator-Assessed Objective Response Rate (ORR)

Percentage of participants with a confirmed objective response rate (ORR) by investigator assessment was analyzed and reported for both PCNSL and PTL patient populations. This endpoint is further defined as the percentage of participants with a best overall response (BOR) of complete response (CR) or partial response (PR), based on the IPCG Criteria for PCNSL and Lugano 2014 response evaluation for PTL, divided by the number of treated participants within each cohort.

Time frame:
Up to approximately 51 months
Reported as:
Number · Percentage of participants
Investigator-Assessed Objective Response Rate (ORR)
Percentage of participantsPCNSL CohortPTL Cohort
Investigator-Assessed Objective Response Rate (ORR)10.6 (3.5 to 23.1)26.3 (9.1 to 51.2)
SecondaryInvestigator-Assessed Duration of Response (DOR)

Duration of response (DOR) by investigator assessment was analyzed and reported for both PCNSL and PTL patient populations. This endpoint is further defined as the time from first response (CR or PR) to the date of initial objectively documented progression as determined using the IPCG Criteria for PCNSL and Lugano 2014 response evaluation for PTL, as determined by BICR, or death due to any cause, whichever occurs first.

Time frame:
Up to approximately 51 months
Reported as:
Median · Months
Investigator-Assessed Duration of Response (DOR)
MonthsPCNSL CohortPTL Cohort
Investigator-Assessed Duration of Response (DOR)1.71 (0.72 to 7.10)20.63 (0.03 to NA)
SecondaryOverall Survival (OS)

Overall survival (OS) was analyzed and reported for both PCNSL and PTL patient populations. OS is defined as the time from first dosing date to the date of death. For participants without documentation of death, OS will be censored on the last date the participant was known to be alive.

Time frame:
Up to approximately 51 months
Reported as:
Median · Months
Overall Survival (OS)
MonthsPCNSL CohortPTL Cohort
Overall Survival (OS)6.77 (3.68 to 11.99)11.17 (2.60 to 24.41)

Adverse events

Collected over From first dose to 100 days post last dose (up to approximately 48 months). Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
PCNSL Cohort Nivolumab 240 mg (Q2W)32/47 (68.1%)33/47 (70.2%)40/47 (85.1%)
PTL Cohort Nivolumab 240 mg (Q2W)13/19 (68.4%)15/19 (78.9%)16/19 (84.2%)
Most frequent serious events
Showing 10 of 61
Most frequent serious events
EventPCNSL Cohort Nivolumab 240 mg (Q2W)PTL Cohort Nivolumab 240 mg (Q2W)
Malignant neoplasm progressionNeoplasms benign, malignant and unspecified (incl cysts and polyps)13/478/19
Renal failureRenal and urinary disorders1/472/19
SeizureNervous system disorders4/471/19
SepsisInfections and infestations3/470/19
Haemorrhage intracranialNervous system disorders3/470/19
AnaemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders0/471/19
Febrile neutropeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders1/471/19
General physical health deteriorationGeneral disorders2/471/19
PyrexiaGeneral disorders1/471/19
HepatitisHepatobiliary disorders0/471/19
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 107
Most frequent other events
EventPCNSL Cohort Nivolumab 240 mg (Q2W)PTL Cohort Nivolumab 240 mg (Q2W)
AnaemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders13/471/19
PyrexiaGeneral disorders9/475/19
FatigueGeneral disorders12/472/19
HeadacheNervous system disorders12/471/19
Alanine aminotransferase increasedInvestigations10/471/19
ConstipationGastrointestinal disorders8/474/19
ArthralgiaMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders2/474/19
FallInjury, poisoning and procedural complications9/473/19
Rash maculo-papularSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders1/473/19
VomitingGastrointestinal disorders7/470/19

Baseline characteristics

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(Years)PCNSL CohortPTL CohortTotal
Mean65.9 ± 10.166.7 ± 8.666.1 ± 9.6
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)PCNSL CohortPTL CohortTotal
Female20020
Male271946
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)PCNSL CohortPTL CohortTotal
Hispanic or Latino101
Not Hispanic or Latino331144
Unknown or Not Reported13821
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)PCNSL CohortPTL CohortTotal
American Indian or Alaska Native000
Asian10515
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander000
Black or African American000
White371249
More than one race000
Unknown or Not Reported022
08

Study locations

50 sites
  • University of Alabama at Birmingham
    Birmingham, Alabama 35294-3410, United States
  • City Of Hope Medical Center
    Duarte, California 91010, United States
  • Mayo Clinic Jacksonville
    Jacksonville, Florida 32224, United States
  • H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center & Research Inst, Inc
    Tampa, Florida 33612, United States
  • Dana Farber Cancer Institute
    Boston, Massachusetts 02215, United States
  • Massachusetts General Hospital
    Boston, Massachusetts 02215, United States
  • Karmanos Cancer Institute
    Detroit, Michigan 48201, United States
  • Mayo Clinic Rochester
    Rochester, Minnesota 55905, United States
  • Hackensack University Medical Center
    Hackensack, New Jersey 07601, United States
  • Columbia University
    New York, New York 10032, United States
  • Fox Chase Cancer Center
    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19111, United States
  • Baylor Research Institute
    Dallas, Texas 75246, United States
  • Swedish Medical Center
    Seattle, Washington 98122, United States
  • Instituto Do Cancer Mae De Deus / Cor Hospital Mae De Deus
    Porto Alegre, Rio Grande Do Sul 90470-340, Brazil
  • Fundacao Pio Xii Hosp Cancer De Barretos
    Barretos, Sao Paulo 14784-400, Brazil
  • Hospital Das Clinicas - Fmusp
    Sao Paulo, 05403-000, Brazil
  • BC Cancer Agency - Vancouver Centre
    Vancouver, British Columbia V5Z 4E6, Canada
  • Princess Margaret Cancer Centre
    Toronto, Ontario M5G 2M9, Canada
  • CHU de Quebec
    Quebec, G1J 1Z4, Canada
  • I. interni klinika - klinika hematologie 1. LF UK a VFN v Praze
    Praha 2, 128 08, Czechia
  • Local Institution
    Bordeaux, 33076, France
  • Local Institution
    Caen, 14000, France
  • Local Institution
    La Tronche, 3870, France
  • Local Institution
    Lille Cedex, 59037, France
  • Local Institution
    Paris cedex 13, 75651, France
  • Centre Hospitalier Lyon Sud - UPCO
    Pierre Benite, 69495, France
  • Local Institution
    Rennes Cedex 9, 35033, France
  • Local Institution
    St. Cloud, 92210, France
  • Local Institution
    Tours Cedex 9, 37044, France
  • Klinikum Stuttgart
    Stuttgart, 70174, Germany
  • Local Institution
    Hong Kong, Hong Kong
  • Local Institution
    Budapest, 1083, Hungary
  • Belgyogyaszati Onkologia OOI
    Budapest, 1122, Hungary
  • Local Institution
    Debrecen, 4032, Hungary
  • Local Institution
    Haifa, 3109601, Israel
  • Local Institution
    Jerusalem, 91120, Israel
  • Local Institution
    Petah Tikva, 4941492, Israel
  • Local Institution
    Tel Aviv, 64239, Israel
  • Irccs Ospedale S. Raffaele
    Milano, 20132, Italy
  • Fondazione Policlinico Universitario A. Gemelli
    Roma, 00168, Italy
  • Istituto Clinico Humanitas
    Rozzano (milano), 20089, Italy
  • Local Institution
    Nagoya, Aichi 4648681, Japan
  • Local Institution
    Fukuoka-shi, Fukuoka 811-1395, Japan
  • Local Institution
    Hidaka-shi, Saitama 3501298, Japan
  • Local Institution
    Chuo-ku, Tokyo 1040045, Japan
  • Local Institution
    Kotoku, Tokyo 1358550, Japan
  • Local Institution
    Mitaka-shi, Tokyo 181-8611, Japan
  • Local Institution
    Yamagata, 9909585, Japan
  • Local Institution
    Moscow, 121309, Russian Federation
  • Local Institution
    Singapore, 169610, Singapore
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Study protocol · Nov 29, 2017
  • Statistical analysis plan · Feb 9, 2018

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Dec 23, 2021, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT02857426
Lead sponsor
Bristol-Myers Squibb
Collaborators
Ono Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Aug 5, 2016
Start date
Oct 21, 2016
Primary completion
Jun 11, 2019
Completion
Nov 24, 2020
Results posted
Oct 28, 2020
Last update
Dec 23, 2021

Study contacts

Bristol-Myers Squibb
study director · Bristol-Myers Squibb

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Nov 2021. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion