ClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT02643251Updated Sep 20, 2017Results posted

The Efficacy and Safety of Clonidine Hydrochloride Topical Gel, vs Clonidine Hydrochloride Gel Comparator to Treat Painful Diabetic Neuropathy

A Phase 2 interventional study of Clonidine Hydrochloride Topical Gel, 0.1% and Clonidine Hydrochloride Gel Comparator in Painful Diabetic Neuropathy, Diabetic Neuropathy and Neuropathy, sponsored by BioDelivery Sciences International. Completed at 25 sites in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2017-09-20.

Sponsored by BioDelivery Sciences International · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
138
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

The study will include three (3) phases: Screening Phase, Treatment Phase, and Follow-up Phase. Subjects who qualify to participate will apply study drug to their feet three times daily and will record their daily pain scores using an interactive voice response system (IVRS) during the Treatment Phase for 12 weeks. Approximately 100 adult subjects will be randomized to receive Clonidine Gel or Clonidine Gel Comparator.

Read the detailed description

Study CLO-291 is a randomized, double-blind, comparator-controlled, parallel-group, multicenter study of 0.1% clonidine topical gel (Clonidine Gel) for the treatment of pain associated with painful diabetic neuropathy. The study will include three (3) phases: Screening Phase, Treatment Phase, and Follow-up Phase. Subjects who satisfy all eligibility criteria will apply Clonidine Gel Comparator to their feet three times daily and will record their daily pain scores using an interactive voice response system (IVRS). Approximately 100 adult subjects will be randomized to receive Clonidine Gel or Clonidine Gel Comparator during the 12 week Treatment Phase.

02

Conditions studied

  • Painful Diabetic Neuropathy
  • Diabetic Neuropathy
  • Neuropathy

Keywords

  • Diabetes Mellitus
  • Pain
  • Foot Pain
  • Neuropathy
03

In context

Diabetic Neuropathies

629 studies on the registry are indexed under Diabetic Neuropathies; 92 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 138 is above the median of 72 across 522 interventional studies indexed under Diabetic Neuropathies.

Browse Diabetic Neuropathies studies →

Lead sponsor

BioDelivery Sciences International is the lead sponsor of 21 studies on the registry; 1 is open to participants now.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Go through the criteria one by one — yes, no or not sure — and take the list to your doctor or the study team. Kept in this browser only.

Inclusion criteria

  1. Subject is fluent in English and has provided written informed consent.
  2. Subject is an outpatient ≥18 years of age at the time of the Screening Visit.
  3. Subject has Type 1 or Type 2 diabetes mellitus with a hemoglobin A1C value \< 10% and has been stable on therapy (diet, oral anti-hyperglycemic, and/or insulin) for at least six (6) months prior to the Screening Visit.
  4. Subject is a male or non-pregnant, non-lactating female. Females must be practicing an acceptable method of birth control or be surgically sterile or postmenopausal (amenorrhea for ≥12 months). A negative pregnancy test at the Screening and Day 1 visits is required for females of child-bearing potential. Double-barrier methods, hormonal contraceptives, and abstinence are acceptable birth control methods for this study.
  5. Subject has chronic pain attributable to a symmetrical stocking distribution neuropathy in the lower extremities for at least six (6) months. Pain should be clearly localized to the area of neuropathy (feet), and subjects should be able to distinguish the target pain from other painful areas and conditions.
  6. Subject has an average pain score relevant to the target pain in the feet of ≥4 on an 11 point numerical pain rating scale over the previous 24 hours at the Screening Visit.
  7. Subject meets a pre-specified, minimum numerical pain rating scale score following capsaicin skin challenge.
  8. Subject must satisfactorily complete Accurate Pain Reporting and Minimizing Placebo Response Training.
  9. Subject must have moderate to severe pain during the Screening Run-in Phase.
  10. Subjects must be 75 to 110% compliant with application of study drug during the Screening Run-in Phase
  11. Subject has been medically stable for at least 30 days prior to the Screening Visit, and in the opinion of the Investigator, is in otherwise good general health based on medical history, physical examination, electrocardiogram, and laboratory evaluation.

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  1. Subject has neuropathy secondary to non-diabetic causes in the opinion of the Investigator (e.g., vasculitis, familial neuropathy, alcoholism, pernicious anemia, hepatitis, malignancy, chronic inflammatory demyelinating polyneuropathy [CIDP], human immunodeficiency virus [HIV], medication-induced neuropathy, vitamin B12 deficiency).
  2. Subject has a significant neurological disorder or condition that might confound assessment of painful diabetic neuropathy (e.g., stroke with distal neurological deficit, mononeuritis multiplex, lumbar radiculopathy).
  3. Subject has a confounding disorder as determined by the Algorithm for Excluding Disorders that Masquerade as Painful Diabetic Neuropathy.
  4. Subject has other sustained pain with intensity at or greater than the bilateral neuropathic pain in the feet.
  5. Subject is using an implanted medical device (e.g., spinal cord stimulator, intrathecal pump, or peripheral nerve stimulator) for treatment of pain.
  6. Subject is hypotensive with a resting diastolic blood pressure \<60 mm Hg or a systolic blood pressure \<90 mm Hg at the Screening or Day 1 Visit.
  7. The subject has recent history (within the past 3 months) or current symptoms of orthostatic hypotension.
  8. Subject has a history of foot or toe amputation or an active foot or toe ulcer.
  9. Subject has any significant or unstable medical or psychiatric condition that, in the opinion of the Investigator, would interfere with his/her ability to participate in the study.
  10. Subject has a history of substance abuse disorder as defined by the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th Edition, within the past year, has current evidence of substance abuse disorder, is receiving medical treatment for drug abuse, or has a positive urine drug screen for a non-prescribed substance of abuse.
  11. Subject is receiving or has received within 30 days prior to the Screening Visit any prohibited medications or is anticipated to receive after the start of the trial any new prescription medication for their painful diabetic neuropathy. Subjects may be enrolled if stable on therapy for painful diabetic neuropathy.
  12. Subject has symptomatic or severe coronary insufficiency, clinically significant cardiac conduction disturbances, myocardial infarction (within last 12 months), moderate to severe cerebrovascular disease, or severe chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD).
  13. Subject has estimated creatinine clearance less than 50 mL/min (Cockcroft Gault) at the Screening Visit.
  14. Subject has serum alanine transaminase (ALT) or aspartate transaminase (AST) >3.0 times the upper limit of normal or total bilirubin concentrations >2.0 times the upper limit of normal at the Screening Visit.
  15. Subject has received an investigational drug within 30 days prior to the Screening Visit.
  16. Subject has been treated previously with clonidine topical gel or participated in a clonidine topical gel clinical study, including Study CLO 290.
  17. Subject is currently taking or has taken clonidine (any formulation) over the past 4 weeks.
  18. Subject has known hypersensitivity or intolerance to clonidine.
  19. Subject is receiving or has received ≤7 days prior to the start of the Screening Phase "alternative medicine" products or treatments (e.g., acupuncture, naturopathy, homeopathy, etc.) for management of pain.
  20. Subject has a history of malignancy within the past 5 years except for successfully treated non-metastatic basal cell or squamous cell carcinomas of the skin and/or localized carcinoma in situ of the cervix.
  21. Subject is planning to have surgery during the course of the study.
  22. Subject has significant skin changes on physical examination associated with either pedal edema or venous stasis disease.
  23. Subject has any dermatologic condition of the lower extremities that could affect study drug absorption
  24. Subject has current symptoms of depression with a Beck Depression Inventory II (BDI II) score >19 at the Screening Visit.
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
Triple (Participant, Care provider, Investigator)
Enrollment
138 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Clonidine Hydrochloride Topical Gel,0.1%

    Clonidine Hydrochloride Topical Gel,0.1%

    Drug: Clonidine Hydrochloride Topical Gel, 0.1%

  • Placebo comparator
    Clonidine Hydrochloride Gel Comparator

    Clonidine Hydrochloride Gel Comparator

    Drug: Clonidine Hydrochloride Gel Comparator

Interventions

  • DrugClonidine Hydrochloride Topical Gel, 0.1%

    Clonidine Gel is supplied as an aqueous gel formulation for topical use.

    Also known as: Clonidine Gel

  • DrugClonidine Hydrochloride Gel Comparator

    Clonidine Gel Comparator is supplied as an aqueous gel formulation for topical use.

    Also known as: Clonidine Gel Comparator

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Change From Baseline to Day 84 (Week 12) in Numeric Pain Rating Scale Score

    The Numeric Pain Rating Scale is a single reading that measures the patients interpretation of their pain on a scale from 0, no pain to 10, worst pain imaginable. The change from baseline can range from -10 to 10. The change from Baseline (averaged over Day -14 to Day -8) to End-of-Treatment (averaged over Days 78 to 84 \[±3 days\]) in the Numeric Pain Rating Scale score assessing the "average pain in the past 24 hours in the painful areas of the feet" averaged over Days 78 to 84 compared to the 7 days at the Baseline Phase (Days -14 to -8). For the primary efficacy endpoint, the mean change in pain intensity from Baseline to Week 12 was analyzed using an analysis of covariance (ANCOVA) model with the Baseline pain intensity score serving as a covariate. The statistical model also included treatment, site, site by treatment interaction, and strata. If the site by treatment interaction term was not significant at the 0.1 level, then it was excluded from the model.

    Time frame: The change from Baseline (averaged over Day -14 to Day -8) to End-of-Treatment (averaged over Days 78 to 84 [±3 days])

Secondary outcomes

  1. Mean Daily Worst Pain Intensity Numeric Pain Rating Scale Scores

    The Numeric Pain Rating Scale is a single reading that measures the patients interpretation of their pain on a scale from 0, no pain to 10, worst pain imaginable. The change from baseline can range from -10 to 10. The change from Baseline (worse score from Day -14 to Day -8) to End-of-Treatment (worse score during Days 78 to 84 \[±3 days\]) in the Numeric Pain Rating Scale score assessing the "worse pain in the past 24 hours in the painful areas of the feet" from Days 78 to 84 compared to the 7 days at the Baseline Phase (Days -14 to -8). For the primary efficacy endpoint, the mean change in pain intensity from Baseline to Week 12 was analyzed using an analysis of covariance (ANCOVA) model with the Baseline pain intensity score serving as a covariate. The statistical model also included treatment, site, site by treatment interaction, and strata. If the site by treatment interaction term was not significant at the 0.1 level, then it was excluded from the model.

    Time frame: The change from Baseline (worse over Day -14 to Day -8) to End-of-Treatment (worse over Days 78 to 84 [±3 days])

07

Results

Posted Aug 9, 2017

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneClonidine Hydrochloride Topical Gel, 0.1%Clonidine Hydrochloride Gel Comparator
Started6969
Completed5867
Not completed112
Withdrew: Adverse event31
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject20
Withdrew: Lost to follow-up41
Withdrew: Protocol violation10
Withdrew: Pi decision to terminate patient10

Outcome measures

PrimaryChange From Baseline to Day 84 (Week 12) in Numeric Pain Rating Scale Score

The Numeric Pain Rating Scale is a single reading that measures the patients interpretation of their pain on a scale from 0, no pain to 10, worst pain imaginable. The change from baseline can range from -10 to 10. The change from Baseline (averaged over Day -14 to Day -8) to End-of-Treatment (averaged over Days 78 to 84 \[±3 days\]) in the Numeric Pain Rating Scale score assessing the "average pain in the past 24 hours in the painful areas of the feet" averaged over Days 78 to 84 compared to the 7 days at the Baseline Phase (Days -14 to -8). For the primary efficacy endpoint, the mean change in pain intensity from Baseline to Week 12 was analyzed using an analysis of covariance (ANCOVA) model with the Baseline pain intensity score serving as a covariate. The statistical model also included treatment, site, site by treatment interaction, and strata. If the site by treatment interaction term was not significant at the 0.1 level, then it was excluded from the model.

Time frame:
The change from Baseline (averaged over Day -14 to Day -8) to End-of-Treatment (averaged over Days 78 to 84 [±3 days])
Reported as:
Mean · units on a scale
Change From Baseline to Day 84 (Week 12) in Numeric Pain Rating Scale Score
units on a scaleClonidine Hydrochloride Topical Gel, 0.1%Clonidine Hydrochloride Gel Comparator
Change From Baseline to Day 84 (Week 12) in Numeric Pain Rating Scale Score-1.2 ± 1.395-1.4 ± 1.526
Statistical analysis
  • Clonidine Hydrochloride Topical Gel, 0.1% vs Clonidine Hydrochloride Gel Comparator · Mixed Models Analysis · p = 0.3361
SecondaryMean Daily Worst Pain Intensity Numeric Pain Rating Scale Scores

The Numeric Pain Rating Scale is a single reading that measures the patients interpretation of their pain on a scale from 0, no pain to 10, worst pain imaginable. The change from baseline can range from -10 to 10. The change from Baseline (worse score from Day -14 to Day -8) to End-of-Treatment (worse score during Days 78 to 84 \[±3 days\]) in the Numeric Pain Rating Scale score assessing the "worse pain in the past 24 hours in the painful areas of the feet" from Days 78 to 84 compared to the 7 days at the Baseline Phase (Days -14 to -8). For the primary efficacy endpoint, the mean change in pain intensity from Baseline to Week 12 was analyzed using an analysis of covariance (ANCOVA) model with the Baseline pain intensity score serving as a covariate. The statistical model also included treatment, site, site by treatment interaction, and strata. If the site by treatment interaction term was not significant at the 0.1 level, then it was excluded from the model.

Time frame:
The change from Baseline (worse over Day -14 to Day -8) to End-of-Treatment (worse over Days 78 to 84 [±3 days])
Reported as:
Mean · units on a scale
Mean Daily Worst Pain Intensity Numeric Pain Rating Scale Scores
units on a scaleClonidine Hydrochloride Topical Gel, 0.1%Clonidine Hydrochloride Gel Comparator
Mean Daily Worst Pain Intensity Numeric Pain Rating Scale Scores-1.29 ± 1.734-1.48 ± 1.667

Adverse events

Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Clonidine Hydrochloride Topical Gel, 0.1%0/69 (0%)2/69 (2.9%)4/69 (5.8%)
Clonidine Hydrochloride Gel Comparator0/69 (0%)6/69 (8.7%)2/69 (2.9%)
Most frequent serious events
Most frequent serious events
EventClonidine Hydrochloride Topical Gel, 0.1%Clonidine Hydrochloride Gel Comparator
AnemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders0/691/69
Cardiac Failure CongestiveCardiac disorders1/690/69
Ventricular tachycardiaCardiac disorders1/690/69
Chest PainGeneral disorders0/691/69
Perirectal absessInfections and infestations0/691/69
dehydrationMetabolism and nutrition disorders1/690/69
GoutMetabolism and nutrition disorders0/691/69
Acute pulmonary oedemaRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders0/691/69
DiarrhoeaGastrointestinal disorders0/691/69
PancreatitisGastrointestinal disorders0/691/69
Most frequent other events
Most frequent other events
EventClonidine Hydrochloride Topical Gel, 0.1%Clonidine Hydrochloride Gel Comparator
HeadacheNervous system disorders4/692/69

Baseline characteristics

Age, Categorical
Age, Categorical(Participants)Clonidine Hydrochloride Topical Gel, 0.1%Clonidine Hydrochloride Gel ComparatorTotal
<=18 years000
Between 18 and 65 years514798
>=65 years182240
Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Clonidine Hydrochloride Topical Gel, 0.1%Clonidine Hydrochloride Gel ComparatorTotal
Mean59.3 ± 8.7659.7 ± 10.0059.5 ± 9.37
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Clonidine Hydrochloride Topical Gel, 0.1%Clonidine Hydrochloride Gel ComparatorTotal
Female393978
Male303060
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Clonidine Hydrochloride Topical Gel, 0.1%Clonidine Hydrochloride Gel ComparatorTotal
Hispanic or Latino151530
Not Hispanic or Latino5454108
Unknown or Not Reported000
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Clonidine Hydrochloride Topical Gel, 0.1%Clonidine Hydrochloride Gel ComparatorTotal
American Indian or Alaska Native101
Asian123
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander000
Black or African American182442
White494392
More than one race000
Unknown or Not Reported000
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(participants)Clonidine Hydrochloride Topical Gel, 0.1%Clonidine Hydrochloride Gel ComparatorTotal
United States6969138
08

Study locations

25 sites
  • Glendale, Arizona 85308, United States
  • Phoenix, Arizona 85018, United States
  • Phoenix, Arizona 85023, United States
  • Anaheim, California 92801, United States
  • Norco, California 92860, United States
  • Sacramento, California 95821, United States
  • Santa Monica, California 90404, United States
  • Tustin, California 92780, United States
  • Fort Myers, Florida 33912, United States
  • Ocala, Florida 34471, United States
  • Orlando, Florida 32801, United States
  • Tampa, Florida 33634, United States
  • West Palm Beach, Florida 33401, United States
  • Blackfoot, Idaho 83321, United States
  • Boise, Idaho 83642, United States
  • Belleville, Illinois 62220, United States
  • Blue Island, Illinois 60406, United States
  • Chicago, Illinois 60616, United States
  • Hazelwood, Missouri 63042, United States
  • Cleveland, Ohio 44122, United States
  • Spartanburg, South Carolina 29303, United States
  • Knoxville, Tennessee 37909, United States
  • Houston, Texas 77030, United States
  • San Antonio, Texas 78218, United States
  • San Antonio, Texas 78228, United States
09

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Sep 20, 2017, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
10

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT02643251
Lead sponsor
BioDelivery Sciences International
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Dec 31, 2015
Start date
Dec 2015
Primary completion
Nov 2016
Completion
Nov 2016
Results posted
Aug 9, 2017
Last update
Sep 20, 2017

Study contacts

Aziz Shaibani, MD
principal investigator · Nerve and Muscule Center of Texas

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Aug 2017. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion