A Phase 2 interventional study of Placebo and Erenumab in Migraine, sponsored by Amgen. Completed at 44 sites in Japan. Open to participants aged 20 Years to 65 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2022-10-12.
Sponsored by Amgen · Phase 2, Interventional, and Prevention
Randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, parallel-group, multicenter study followed by an open-label treatment phase (OLTP). To evaluate the effect of erenumab (AMG 334) compared to placebo on the change from baseline in monthly migraine days.
This is a Phase 2, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled study in participants with episodic migraine. The study's double blind treatment phase (DBTP) is designed to evaluate if treatment with erenumab once a month for 6 months compared with placebo is effective in reducing the mean monthly migraine days. Additionally, this study will continue to evaluate the efficacy and safety of erenumab during the OLTP where participants will continue to receive active treatment monthly.
The study also includes a clinical home use (CHU) sub-study to assess a participant's ability to self-administer 140 mg of erenumab. Participants will be randomized 1:1 to use either 2 pre-filled 70 mg/mL autoinjector (AI)/pens or 1 pre-filled 140 mg/mL AI/pen. Participation in the substudy is optional, and no additional samples will be collected for the sub-study.
After implementation of Protocol Amendment 2, the dose of erenumab in the OLTP increased from 70 mg to 140 mg QM. Participants who had already completed week 48 remain on 70 mg QM, participants not yet starting the OLTP, or not yet completing the week 48 visit receive erenumab 140 mg QM for the remainder of the OLTP.
1,528 studies on the registry are indexed under Migraine Disorders; 299 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 475 is above the median of 80 across 1,175 interventional studies indexed under Migraine Disorders.
Browse Migraine Disorders studies →Amgen is the lead sponsor of 1,015 studies on the registry; 49 are open to participants now.
Of its 245 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 159 (65%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Inclusion Criteria to be assessed prior to entering the subject into the initial screening and/or baseline phase:
Inclusion Criteria to be assessed during the baseline phase and confirmed prior to randomizing the subject into the double-blind treatment phase:
Inclusion Criteria for the Clinical Home Use (CHU) Substudy:
Exclusion Criteria:
Exclusion Criteria for the CHU Substudy:
Participants received placebo by subcutaneous injection on day 1 and at weeks 4, 8, 12, 16, and 20 in the double-blind treatment phase.
Drug: Placebo
Participants received erenumab 28 mg by subcutaneous injection on day 1 and at weeks 4, 8, 12, 16, and 20 in the double-blind treatment phase.
Drug: Erenumab
Participants received erenumab 70 mg by subcutaneous injection on day 1 and at weeks 4, 8, 12, 16, and 20 in the double-blind treatment phase.
Drug: Erenumab
Participants received erenumab 140 mg by subcutaneous injection on day 1 and at weeks 4, 8, 12, 16, and 20 in the double-blind treatment phase.
Drug: Erenumab
Participants received an erenumab dose of 70 and/or 140 mg QM SC (depending on the participant's visit completion status after Institutional Review Board \[IRB\] approval of Protocol Amendment 2) in the OLTP for a total of 76 weeks.
Drug: Erenumab
A subset of participants in the OLTP randomized to self administer erenumab via two 70 mg/mL autoinjector (AI)/pens on day 29 and day 57 of the CHU Sub-Study
Drug: Erenumab
A subset of participants in the OLTP randomized to self administer erenumab via one 140 mg/mL AI/pen on day 29 and day 57 of the CHU Sub-Study
Drug: Erenumab
placebo via subcutaneous injection
erenumab via subcutaneous injection
Also known as: AMG 334, Aimovig™
erenumab via autoinjector (AI)/pen
Also known as: AMG 334, Aimovig™
Change From Baseline in Mean Monthly Migraine Days at Months 4, 5 and 6
A migraine day was defined as any calendar day in which the participant experienced a qualified migraine headache (onset, continuation or recurrence of the migraine headache). A qualified migraine headache was a migraine with or without aura, lasting for ≥ 30 minutes, and meeting at least one of the following criteria: a) ≥ 2 of the following pain features: unilateral, throbbing, moderate to severe, exacerbated with exercise/physical activity; b) ≥ 1 of the following associated symptoms: nausea and/or vomiting, photophobia and phonophobia. Change from baseline was calculated using the mean monthly migraine days from months 4, 5 and 6 of the DBTP minus the number of migraine days during the 4-week baseline phase. Least squares (LS) mean was estimated using a generalized linear mixed model which included treatment, visit, treatment by visit interaction, stratification factor (current, prior only, or no prior/current treatment), and baseline value as covariates.
Time frame: 4-week baseline phase and months 4, 5 and 6 of DBTP.
CHU Sub-Study: Participant-Reported Outcome of Attempted Full-Dose Administration at Day 29 (Week 4) and Day 57 (Week 8)
On CHU day 29 and day 57, site staff interviewed sub-study participants and asked if they administered a full, partial, or no dose of erenumab (after explaining that a full dose means that the entire volume of the AI/pen was injected) and documented the participant's response in the electronic case report form. Data presented are the percentage of participants who reported "full administration," "not full administration," or "discontinued investigational product (ie, no dose)." (Day 1 of the CHU substudy occurred at any OLTP study visit \[up to week 88\] as long as the participant had previously received at least 1 OL dose of erenumab 140 mg.)
Time frame: CHU day 29 (week 4) and day 57 (week 8)
Percentage of Participants With at Least a 50% Reduction From Baseline in Mean Monthly Migraine Days at Months 4, 5 and 6
A migraine day was defined as any calendar day in which the participant experienced a qualified migraine headache (onset, continuation or recurrence of the migraine headache). A qualified migraine headache was a migraine with or without aura, lasting for ≥ 30 minutes, and meeting at least one of the following criteria: a) ≥ 2 of the following pain features: unilateral, throbbing, moderate to severe, exacerbated with exercise/physical activity; b) ≥ 1 of the following associated symptoms: nausea and/or vomiting, photophobia and phonophobia. At least a 50% reduction from baseline in monthly migraine days was determined if: (mean monthly migraine days over the last three months of the DBTP minus baseline monthly migraine days) \* 100 / baseline monthly migraine days, was less than or equal to -50%.
Time frame: 4-week baseline phase and months 4, 5 and 6 of DBTP.
Change From Baseline in Mean Monthly Acute Migraine-Specific Medication Treatment Days at Months 4, 5 and 6
An acute migraine-specific medication treatment day was defined as any calendar day during which the participant took a migraine-specific medication (ie, triptan or ergotamine-derivatives). The change from baseline was calculated using the mean monthly acute migraine-specific medication treatment days over the last three months (months 4, 5 and 6) of the DBTP minus the baseline monthly acute migraine-specific medication treatment days. LS mean was estimated using a generalized linear mixed model which included treatment, visit, treatment by visit interaction, stratification factor (prior/current treatment), and baseline value as covariates.
Time frame: 4-week baseline phase and months 4, 5 and 6 of DBTP.
Number of Participants With Treatment Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs), Serious TEAEs, Discontinuations Due to TEAEs, and Fatal TEAEs During the DBTP
An adverse event (AE) is defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a clinical trial participant. A serious adverse event (SAE) is defined as an adverse event that meets at least 1 of the following serious criteria: fatal; life threatening; requires in-patient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization; results in persistent or significant disability/incapacity; congenital anomaly/birth defect; other medically important serious event. Events were graded according to the National Cancer Institute Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (NCI CTCAE) version 4.03 (grade 1=mild, grade 2=moderate, grade 3=severe, grade 4= life-threatening, grade 5=death).
Time frame: From first dose of IP up to week 24
Number of Participants With TEAEs, Serious TEAEs, Discontinuations Due to TEAEs, and Fatal TEAEs During the OLTP
An AE is defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a clinical trial participant. An SAE is defined as an adverse event that meets at least 1 of the following serious criteria: fatal; life threatening; requires in-patient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization; results in persistent or significant disability/incapacity; congenital anomaly/birth defect; other medically important serious event. Events were graded according to the NCI CTCAE version 4.03 (grade 1=mild, grade 2=moderate, grade 3=severe, grade 4= life-threatening, grade 5=death).
Time frame: From first dose of IP in the OLTP (week 24) through the end of the OLTP (week 100) plus 12 weeks
Number of Participants With TEAEs, Serious TEAEs, Discotninuations Due to TEAEs, Fatal TEAEs, and Adverse Device Effects During the CHU Sub-Study
An AE is defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a clinical trial participant. An SAE is defined as an adverse event that meets at least 1 of the following serious criteria: fatal; life threatening; requires in-patient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization; results in persistent or significant disability/incapacity; congenital anomaly/birth defect; other medically important serious event. Events were graded according to the NCI CTCAE version 4.03 (grade 1=mild, grade 2=moderate, grade 3=severe, grade 4= life-threatening, grade 5=death). TEAEs leading to discontinuation of IP are TEAEs leading to complete discontinuation of erenumab regardless of CHU IP or parent study IP.
Time frame: CHU sub-study day 1 through day 85 (end of CHU sub-study). Day 1 of the CHU substudy occurred at any OLTP study visit (up to week 88) as long as the participant had previously received at least 1 OL dose of erenumab 140 mg.
Number of Participants With Post-Baseline Liver Function Test Abnormalities During the DBTP
Post-baseline is defined as any assessment done after the first dose of IP. Liver Function tests included alkaline phosphatase (ALP), alanine aminotransferase (ALT), aspartate aminotransferase (AST), and total bilirubin (TBL). ULN=upper limit of normal.
Time frame: From the first dose of study IP through the end of the DBTP (up to week 24)
Number of Participants With Post-Baseline Liver Function Test Abnormalities During the OLTP
Post-baseline is defined as any assessment done after the first dose of OLTP IP. Liver Function tests included alkaline phosphatase (ALP), alanine aminotransferase (ALT), aspartate aminotransferase (AST), and total bilirubin (TBL). ULN=upper limit of normal.
Time frame: From the first dose of OLTP IP (week 24) through the end of the OLTP (up to week 100)
Number of Participants With Blood Pressure Changes From Baseline in Categories at Week 24 During the DBTP
Participants with increases (↑) from baseline (BL) in diastolic blood pressure (DBP) and systolic blood pressure (SBP) at week 24 (Wk24) are presented.
Time frame: Baseline (last assessment prior to first dose of IP), week 24
Number of Participants With Blood Pressure Changes From Pre-OLTP Baseline in Categories at Week 100 During the OLTP
Participants with increases (↑) from baseline (BL) in diastolic blood pressure (DBP) and systolic blood pressure (SBP) at week 100 (Wk100) are presented.
Time frame: Pre-OLTP Baseline (last assessment prior to first dose of IP in OLTP), week 100
Number of Participants With Anti-Erenumab Antibodies During the Entire Study for Participants Who Received ≥ 1 Dose of Erenumab
Data are summarized by the treatment participants received during the double-blind treatment phase. Placebo participants may have received erenumab 70 mg or 140 mg during the OLTP. Baseline is defined as the last antibody assessment on or prior to the first dose of erenumab. Transient binding/neutralizing antibody responses are defined as a negative (neg) result at the participant's last timepoint tested among participants who developed binding/neutralizing antibodies post-baseline.
Time frame: Baseline (first dose of erenumab) up to end of study (week 100) plus 12 weeks
The study, initiated on 06 January 2016 at 43 centers in Japan, included a 24-week double-blind treatment phase (DBTP) followed by a 76-week open-label (OL) treatment phase (OLTP). DBTP: participants were randomized 2:1:2:2 to receive placebo, erenumab 28 mg, erenumab 70 mg, or erenumab 140 mg once monthly (QM) subcutaneously (SC).
| Milestone | DBTP: Placebo | DBTP: Erenumab 28 mg QM | DPTP: Erenumab 70 mg QM | DBTP: Erenumab 140 mg QM | OLTP: Erenumab 70 mg QM (Initial OL Dose) | OLTP: Erenumab 140 mg QM (Initial OL Dose) | CHU Sub-Study: Two 70 mg/mL AI/Pens | CHU Sub-Study: One 140 mg/mL AI/Pen |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Started | 136 | 67 | 135 | 137 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Received investigational product (ip) | 136 | 66 | 135 | 137 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Completed | 133 | 65 | 130 | 134 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Not completed | 3 | 2 | 5 | 3 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Protocol-specified criteria | 0 | 1 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Sponsor decision | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject | 2 | 1 | 4 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Subject missed week 24 assessment | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Milestone | DBTP: Placebo | DBTP: Erenumab 28 mg QM | DPTP: Erenumab 70 mg QM | DBTP: Erenumab 140 mg QM | OLTP: Erenumab 70 mg QM (Initial OL Dose) | OLTP: Erenumab 140 mg QM (Initial OL Dose) | CHU Sub-Study: Two 70 mg/mL AI/Pens | CHU Sub-Study: One 140 mg/mL AI/Pen |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Started | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 386 | 73 | 0 | 0 |
| Received only 70 mg in oltp | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 270 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Received only 140 mg in oltp | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 73 | 0 | 0 |
| Received both 70 mg and 140 mg in oltp | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 116 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Completed | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 357 | 69 | 0 | 0 |
| Not completed | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 29 | 4 | 0 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Protocol-specified criteria | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 4 | 1 | 0 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Subject request | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 24 | 3 | 0 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Decision by sponsor | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Milestone | DBTP: Placebo | DBTP: Erenumab 28 mg QM | DPTP: Erenumab 70 mg QM | DBTP: Erenumab 140 mg QM | OLTP: Erenumab 70 mg QM (Initial OL Dose) | OLTP: Erenumab 140 mg QM (Initial OL Dose) | CHU Sub-Study: Two 70 mg/mL AI/Pens | CHU Sub-Study: One 140 mg/mL AI/Pen |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Started | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 24 | 25 |
| Completed | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 24 | 25 |
| Not completed | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
A migraine day was defined as any calendar day in which the participant experienced a qualified migraine headache (onset, continuation or recurrence of the migraine headache). A qualified migraine headache was a migraine with or without aura, lasting for ≥ 30 minutes, and meeting at least one of the following criteria: a) ≥ 2 of the following pain features: unilateral, throbbing, moderate to severe, exacerbated with exercise/physical activity; b) ≥ 1 of the following associated symptoms: nausea and/or vomiting, photophobia and phonophobia. Change from baseline was calculated using the mean monthly migraine days from months 4, 5 and 6 of the DBTP minus the number of migraine days during the 4-week baseline phase. Least squares (LS) mean was estimated using a generalized linear mixed model which included treatment, visit, treatment by visit interaction, stratification factor (current, prior only, or no prior/current treatment), and baseline value as covariates.
| Days | DBTP: Placebo | DBTP: Erenumab 28 mg QM | DPTP: Erenumab 70 mg QM | DBTP: Erenumab 140 mg QM |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Change From Baseline in Mean Monthly Migraine Days at Months 4, 5 and 6 | 0.06 (-0.46 to 0.58) | -1.19 (-1.91 to -0.47) | -2.25 (-2.78 to -1.73) | -1.83 (-2.35 to -1.31) |
On CHU day 29 and day 57, site staff interviewed sub-study participants and asked if they administered a full, partial, or no dose of erenumab (after explaining that a full dose means that the entire volume of the AI/pen was injected) and documented the participant's response in the electronic case report form. Data presented are the percentage of participants who reported "full administration," "not full administration," or "discontinued investigational product (ie, no dose)." (Day 1 of the CHU substudy occurred at any OLTP study visit \[up to week 88\] as long as the participant had previously received at least 1 OL dose of erenumab 140 mg.)
| percentage of participants | CHU Sub-Study: Two 70 mg/mL AI/Pens | CHU Sub-Study: One 140 mg/mL AI/Pen |
|---|---|---|
| Week 4: Full Administration | 100.0 (86.2 to 100.0) | 100.0 (86.7 to 100.0) |
| Week 4: Not Full Administration | 0.0 (0.0 to 13.8) | 0.0 (0.0 to 13.3) |
| Week 4: Discontinued Investigational Product | 0.0 (0.0 to 13.8) | 0.0 (0.0 to 13.3) |
| Week 8: Full Administration | 100.0 (86.2 to 100.0) | 100.0 (86.7 to 100.0) |
| Week 8: Not Full Administration | 0.0 (0.0 to 13.8) | 0.0 (0.0 to 13.3) |
| Week 8: Discontinued Investigational Product | 0.0 (0.0 to 13.8) | 0.0 (0.0 to 13.3) |
A migraine day was defined as any calendar day in which the participant experienced a qualified migraine headache (onset, continuation or recurrence of the migraine headache). A qualified migraine headache was a migraine with or without aura, lasting for ≥ 30 minutes, and meeting at least one of the following criteria: a) ≥ 2 of the following pain features: unilateral, throbbing, moderate to severe, exacerbated with exercise/physical activity; b) ≥ 1 of the following associated symptoms: nausea and/or vomiting, photophobia and phonophobia. At least a 50% reduction from baseline in monthly migraine days was determined if: (mean monthly migraine days over the last three months of the DBTP minus baseline monthly migraine days) \* 100 / baseline monthly migraine days, was less than or equal to -50%.
| Percentage of participants | DBTP: Placebo | DBTP: Erenumab 28 mg QM | DPTP: Erenumab 70 mg QM | DBTP: Erenumab 140 mg QM |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants With at Least a 50% Reduction From Baseline in Mean Monthly Migraine Days at Months 4, 5 and 6 | 7.4 | 19.7 | 28.9 | 27.2 |
An acute migraine-specific medication treatment day was defined as any calendar day during which the participant took a migraine-specific medication (ie, triptan or ergotamine-derivatives). The change from baseline was calculated using the mean monthly acute migraine-specific medication treatment days over the last three months (months 4, 5 and 6) of the DBTP minus the baseline monthly acute migraine-specific medication treatment days. LS mean was estimated using a generalized linear mixed model which included treatment, visit, treatment by visit interaction, stratification factor (prior/current treatment), and baseline value as covariates.
| Days | DBTP: Placebo | DBTP: Erenumab 28 mg QM | DPTP: Erenumab 70 mg QM | DBTP: Erenumab 140 mg QM |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Change From Baseline in Mean Monthly Acute Migraine-Specific Medication Treatment Days at Months 4, 5 and 6 | 0.88 (0.44 to 1.33) | -0.19 (-0.80 to 0.43) | -1.19 (-1.64 to -0.74) | -1.16 (-1.60 to -0.71) |
An adverse event (AE) is defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a clinical trial participant. A serious adverse event (SAE) is defined as an adverse event that meets at least 1 of the following serious criteria: fatal; life threatening; requires in-patient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization; results in persistent or significant disability/incapacity; congenital anomaly/birth defect; other medically important serious event. Events were graded according to the National Cancer Institute Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (NCI CTCAE) version 4.03 (grade 1=mild, grade 2=moderate, grade 3=severe, grade 4= life-threatening, grade 5=death).
| Participants | DBTP: Placebo | DBTP: Erenumab 28 mg QM | DPTP: Erenumab 70 mg QM | DBTP: Erenumab 140 mg QM |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| All TEAEs | 92 | 40 | 95 | 95 |
| Grade ≥ 2 TEAEs | 60 | 33 | 66 | 65 |
| Grade ≥ 3 TEAEs | 4 | 1 | 3 | 0 |
| Grade ≥ 4 TEAEs | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 |
| Serious TEAEs | 4 | 1 | 1 | 1 |
| TEAEs Leading to Discontinuation of IP | 1 | 0 | 2 | 0 |
| Fatal TEAEs | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
An AE is defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a clinical trial participant. An SAE is defined as an adverse event that meets at least 1 of the following serious criteria: fatal; life threatening; requires in-patient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization; results in persistent or significant disability/incapacity; congenital anomaly/birth defect; other medically important serious event. Events were graded according to the NCI CTCAE version 4.03 (grade 1=mild, grade 2=moderate, grade 3=severe, grade 4= life-threatening, grade 5=death).
| Participants | OLTP: Erenumab 70 mg QM | OLTP: Erenumab 140 mg QM | OLTP: Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| All TEAEs | 292 | 173 | 422 |
| Grade ≥ 2 TEAEs | 238 | 147 | 358 |
| Grade ≥ 3 TEAEs | 19 | 9 | 28 |
| Grade ≥ 4 TEAEs | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Serious TEAEs | 18 | 9 | 27 |
| TEAEs Leading to Discontinuation of IP | 4 | 2 | 6 |
| Fatal TEAEs | 0 | 0 | 0 |
An AE is defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a clinical trial participant. An SAE is defined as an adverse event that meets at least 1 of the following serious criteria: fatal; life threatening; requires in-patient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization; results in persistent or significant disability/incapacity; congenital anomaly/birth defect; other medically important serious event. Events were graded according to the NCI CTCAE version 4.03 (grade 1=mild, grade 2=moderate, grade 3=severe, grade 4= life-threatening, grade 5=death). TEAEs leading to discontinuation of IP are TEAEs leading to complete discontinuation of erenumab regardless of CHU IP or parent study IP.
| Participants | CHU Sub-Study: Two 70 mg/mL AI/Pens | CHU Sub-Study: One 140 mg/mL AI/Pen |
|---|---|---|
| All TEAEs | 11 | 14 |
| Grade ≥ 2 TEAEs | 9 | 9 |
| Grade ≥ 3 TEAEs | 0 | 0 |
| Grade ≥ 4 TEAEs | 0 | 0 |
| Serious TEAEs | 1 | 0 |
| TEAEs Leading to Discontinuation of IP | 0 | 0 |
| Fatal TEAEs | 0 | 0 |
| Adverse Device Effects | 2 | 1 |
Post-baseline is defined as any assessment done after the first dose of IP. Liver Function tests included alkaline phosphatase (ALP), alanine aminotransferase (ALT), aspartate aminotransferase (AST), and total bilirubin (TBL). ULN=upper limit of normal.
| Participants | DBTP: Placebo | DBTP: Erenumab 28 mg QM | DPTP: Erenumab 70 mg QM | DBTP: Erenumab 140 mg QM |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Post-Baseline ALT or AST > 3 x ULN | 0 | 0 | 3 | 1 |
| Post-Baseline ALT or AST > 5 x ULN | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Post-Baseline TBL > 1 x ULN | 6 | 3 | 4 | 4 |
| Post-Baseline TBL > 1.5 x ULN | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Post-Baseline TBL > 2 x ULN | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Post-Baseline ALP > 1.5 x ULN | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Post-baseline is defined as any assessment done after the first dose of OLTP IP. Liver Function tests included alkaline phosphatase (ALP), alanine aminotransferase (ALT), aspartate aminotransferase (AST), and total bilirubin (TBL). ULN=upper limit of normal.
| Participants | OLTP: 70 mg SC QM (Only) | OLTP: 140 mg SC QM (Only) | OLTP: 70/140 mg SC QM (Both) | OLTP: Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Post-Baseline ALT or AST > 3 x ULN | 4 | 2 | 0 | 6 |
| Post-Baseline ALT or AST > 5 x ULN | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Post-Baseline TBL > 1 x ULN | 12 | 3 | 6 | 21 |
| Post-Baseline TBL > 1.5 x ULN | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Post-Baseline TBL > 2 x ULN | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Post-Baseline ALP > 1.5 x ULN | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Participants with increases (↑) from baseline (BL) in diastolic blood pressure (DBP) and systolic blood pressure (SBP) at week 24 (Wk24) are presented.
| Participants | DBTP: Placebo | DBTP: Erenumab 28 mg QM | DPTP: Erenumab 70 mg QM | DBTP: Erenumab 140 mg QM |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ↑ from BL ≥10 mmHg in DBP w/DBP >90 mmHg at Wk24 | 3 | 2 | 1 | 3 |
| ↑ from BL ≥10 mmHg in DBP w/DBP ≤90 mmHg at Wk24 | 14 | 6 | 14 | 8 |
| ↑ from BL ≥20 mmHg in SBP w/SBP >140 mmHg at Wk24 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 2 |
| ↑ from BL ≥20 mmHg in SBP w/SBP ≤140 mmHg at Wk24 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 3 |
Participants with increases (↑) from baseline (BL) in diastolic blood pressure (DBP) and systolic blood pressure (SBP) at week 100 (Wk100) are presented.
| Participants | OLTP: 70 mg SC QM (Only) | OLTP: 140 mg SC QM (Only) | OLTP: 70/140 mg SC QM (Both) | OLTP: Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ↑ from BL ≥10 mmHg in DBP w/DBP >90 mmHg at Wk100 | 8 | 0 | 2 | 10 |
| ↑ from BL ≥10 mmHg in DBP w/DBP ≤90 mmHg at Wk100 | 25 | 10 | 10 | 45 |
| ↑ from BL ≥20 mmHg in SBP w/SBP >140 mmHg at Wk100 | 4 | 0 | 1 | 5 |
| ↑ from BL ≥20 mmHg in SBP w/SBP ≤140 mmHg at Wk100 | 7 | 2 | 0 | 9 |
Data are summarized by the treatment participants received during the double-blind treatment phase. Placebo participants may have received erenumab 70 mg or 140 mg during the OLTP. Baseline is defined as the last antibody assessment on or prior to the first dose of erenumab. Transient binding/neutralizing antibody responses are defined as a negative (neg) result at the participant's last timepoint tested among participants who developed binding/neutralizing antibodies post-baseline.
| Participants | DBTP: Placebo | DBTP: Erenumab 28 mg QM | DPTP: Erenumab 70 mg QM | DBTP: Erenumab 140 mg QM |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Binding Antibody Positive (BAb+) at Baseline (BL) | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Neutralizing Antibody Positive (NAb+) at BL | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| BAb+ Post-BL With a Neg/No Result at BL | 4 | 5 | 6 | 0 |
| Transient BAb+ Post-BL With a Neg/No Result at BL | 2 | 4 | 5 | 0 |
| NAb+ Post-BL With a Neg/No Result at BL | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Transient NAb+ Post-BL With a Neg/No Result at BL | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Collected over All-cause mortality: from randomization through the end of study (up to 116 weeks). Treatment-emergent serious and non-serious events: - DBTP: from first dose of IP up to week 24 (end of DBTP) - OLTP: from first dose of OL IP (week 24) up to week 100 (end of OLTP) plus 12 weeks - CHU sub-study: from first dose of sub-study IP up to day 85 (end of sub-study). Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| DBTP: Placebo | 0/136 (0%) | 4/136 (2.9%) | 55/136 (40.4%) |
| DBTP: Erenumab 28 mg QM | 0/67 (0%) | 1/66 (1.5%) | 28/66 (42.4%) |
| DPTP: Erenumab 70 mg QM | 0/135 (0%) | 1/135 (0.7%) | 67/135 (49.6%) |
| DBTP: Erenumab 140 mg QM | 0/137 (0%) | 1/137 (0.7%) | 58/137 (42.3%) |
| OLTP: Erenumab 70 mg QM | 0/386 (0%) | 18/386 (4.7%) | 231/386 (59.8%) |
| OLTP: Erenumab 140 mg QM | 0/189 (0%) | 9/189 (4.8%) | 133/189 (70.4%) |
| OLTP Total: Erenumab 70/140 mg QM | 0/459 (0%) | 27/459 (5.9%) | 343/459 (74.7%) |
| CHU Sub-Study: Two Erenumab 70 mg/mL AI/Pens | 0/24 (0%) | 1/24 (4.2%) | 7/24 (29.2%) |
| CHU Sub-Study: One Erenumab 140 mg/mL AI/Pen | 0/25 (0%) | 0/25 (0%) | 7/25 (28%) |
| CHU Sub-Study Total | 0/49 (0%) | 1/49 (2%) | 14/49 (28.6%) |
| Event | DBTP: Placebo | DBTP: Erenumab 28 mg QM | DPTP: Erenumab 70 mg QM | DBTP: Erenumab 140 mg QM | OLTP: Erenumab 70 mg QM | OLTP: Erenumab 140 mg QM | OLTP Total: Erenumab 70/140 mg QM | CHU Sub-Study: Two Erenumab 70 mg/mL AI/Pens | CHU Sub-Study: One Erenumab 140 mg/mL AI/Pen | CHU Sub-Study Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mycobacterial infectionInfections and infestations | 0/136 | 0/66 | 0/135 | 0/137 | 0/386 | 1/189 | 1/459 | 1/24 | 0/25 | 1/49 |
| Hand fractureInjury, poisoning and procedural complications | 0/136 | 1/66 | 0/135 | 0/137 | 0/386 | 1/189 | 1/459 | 0/24 | 0/25 | 0/49 |
| Systemic lupus erythematosusMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders | 0/136 | 0/66 | 1/135 | 0/137 | 0/386 | 0/189 | 0/459 | 0/24 | 0/25 | 0/49 |
| Prinzmetal anginaCardiac disorders | 1/136 | 0/66 | 0/135 | 0/137 | 0/386 | 0/189 | 0/459 | 0/24 | 0/25 | 0/49 |
| HaemorrhoidsGastrointestinal disorders | 1/136 | 0/66 | 0/135 | 0/137 | 1/386 | 0/189 | 1/459 | 0/24 | 0/25 | 0/49 |
| Renal cell carcinomaNeoplasms benign, malignant and unspecified (incl cysts and polyps) | 1/136 | 0/66 | 0/135 | 0/137 | 0/386 | 0/189 | 0/459 | 0/24 | 0/25 | 0/49 |
| MigraineNervous system disorders | 1/136 | 0/66 | 0/135 | 0/137 | 0/386 | 0/189 | 0/459 | 0/24 | 0/25 | 0/49 |
| GastroenteritisInfections and infestations | 0/136 | 0/66 | 0/135 | 1/137 | 0/386 | 0/189 | 0/459 | 0/24 | 0/25 | 0/49 |
| Intestinal tuberculosisInfections and infestations | 0/136 | 0/66 | 0/135 | 1/137 | 0/386 | 0/189 | 0/459 | 0/24 | 0/25 | 0/49 |
| Vertigo positionalEar and labyrinth disorders | 0/136 | 0/66 | 0/135 | 0/137 | 0/386 | 1/189 | 1/459 | 0/24 | 0/25 | 0/49 |
| Event | DBTP: Placebo | DBTP: Erenumab 28 mg QM | DPTP: Erenumab 70 mg QM | DBTP: Erenumab 140 mg QM | OLTP: Erenumab 70 mg QM | OLTP: Erenumab 140 mg QM | OLTP Total: Erenumab 70/140 mg QM | CHU Sub-Study: Two Erenumab 70 mg/mL AI/Pens | CHU Sub-Study: One Erenumab 140 mg/mL AI/Pen | CHU Sub-Study Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NasopharyngitisInfections and infestations | 41/136 | 22/66 | 39/135 | 45/137 | 174/386 | 109/189 | 274/459 | 5/24 | 6/25 | 11/49 |
| InfluenzaInfections and infestations | 4/136 | 1/66 | 3/135 | 1/137 | 46/386 | 29/189 | 75/459 | 1/24 | 0/25 | 1/49 |
| GastroenteritisInfections and infestations | 4/136 | 2/66 | 2/135 | 4/137 | 27/386 | 15/189 | 41/459 | 0/24 | 0/25 | 0/49 |
| Back painMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders | 2/136 | 3/66 | 7/135 | 1/137 | 28/386 | 7/189 | 34/459 | 1/24 | 0/25 | 1/49 |
| PharyngitisInfections and infestations | 3/136 | 3/66 | 5/135 | 3/137 | 22/386 | 7/189 | 28/459 | 1/24 | 0/25 | 1/49 |
| Abdominal pain upperGastrointestinal disorders | 1/136 | 1/66 | 5/135 | 2/137 | 22/386 | 4/189 | 26/459 | 0/24 | 1/25 | 1/49 |
| Dental cariesGastrointestinal disorders | 3/136 | 2/66 | 7/135 | 2/137 | 17/386 | 9/189 | 26/459 | 0/24 | 0/25 | 0/49 |
| CystitisInfections and infestations | 3/136 | 1/66 | 1/135 | 2/137 | 18/386 | 8/189 | 26/459 | 0/24 | 0/25 | 0/49 |
| ConstipationGastrointestinal disorders | 2/136 | 0/66 | 7/135 | 7/137 | 14/386 | 5/189 | 19/459 | 0/24 | 1/25 | 1/49 |
| Age, Continuous(Years) | DBTP: Placebo | DBTP: Erenumab 28 mg QM | DPTP: Erenumab 70 mg QM | DBTP: Erenumab 140 mg QM | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 43.7 ± 9.1 | 42.8 ± 6.9 | 43.8 ± 9.0 | 45.0 ± 8.3 | 44.0 ± 8.6 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | DBTP: Placebo | DBTP: Erenumab 28 mg QM | DPTP: Erenumab 70 mg QM | DBTP: Erenumab 140 mg QM | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 118 | 55 | 115 | 112 | 400 |
| Male | 18 | 12 | 20 | 25 | 75 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | DBTP: Placebo | DBTP: Erenumab 28 mg QM | DPTP: Erenumab 70 mg QM | DBTP: Erenumab 140 mg QM | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 136 | 67 | 135 | 137 | 475 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | DBTP: Placebo | DBTP: Erenumab 28 mg QM | DPTP: Erenumab 70 mg QM | DBTP: Erenumab 140 mg QM | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Asian | 136 | 67 | 135 | 137 | 475 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Black or African American | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| White | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| More than one race | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Monthly Migraine Days at Baseline(Days) | DBTP: Placebo | DBTP: Erenumab 28 mg QM | DPTP: Erenumab 70 mg QM | DBTP: Erenumab 140 mg QM | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 7.67 ± 2.34 | 7.68 ± 2.14 | 7.84 ± 2.31 | 8.14 ± 2.43 | 7.86 ± 2.33 |
| Treatment Status with Migraine Prophylactic Medication(Participants) | DBTP: Placebo | DBTP: Erenumab 28 mg QM | DPTP: Erenumab 70 mg QM | DBTP: Erenumab 140 mg QM | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Current treatment | 14 | 7 | 13 | 15 | 49 |
| Prior treatment only | 75 | 38 | 75 | 75 | 263 |
| No prior or current treatment | 47 | 22 | 47 | 47 | 163 |
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
Plan to share: Yes — De-identified individual patient data for variables necessary to address the specific research question in an approved data sharing request
Supporting information: Study protocol, Sap, Icf, Csr
This study is completed, as verified in Oct 2022. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Amgen