CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT02620787Updated Jan 15, 2019Results posted

Tedizolid Tissue Penetration in Diabetic Patients With Wound Infections and Healthy Volunteers Via In Vivo Microdialysis

A Phase 1 interventional study of Tedizolid and Microdialysis Catheter Insertion in Diabetes, Wound Infection and Healthy Volunteers, sponsored by Hartford Hospital. Completed at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older, including healthy volunteers. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2019-01-15.

Sponsored by Hartford Hospital · Phase 1, Interventional, and Other

Phase
Phase 1
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
18
Allocation
Non-randomized
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

This study will determine the tissue penetration of tedizolid (Sivextro, Merck \& Co.), a novel oxazolidinone antibiotic, into the extracellular, interstitial fluid of soft tissue in diabetic patients with lower limb wound infections. Penetration will be compared with a group of healthy volunteer control participants.

Read the detailed description

This study will enroll 10 patients with diabetes who are admitted with a lower limb wound infection and 6 healthy volunteer control participants. The study will take place in an inpatient unit at Hartford Hospital for all patients and in the Clinical Research Center at Hartford Hospital for all healthy volunteers. All participants will receive 3 to 6 doses of oral tedizolid 200mg once daily. A microdialysis probe (Mdialysis Inc., N. Chelmsford, MA) will be inserted into the subcutaneous soft tissue near the margin of the wound (patients) or in the thigh (healthy volunteers). The microdialysis probe is perfused with lactated Ringer's solution and samples are collected for the 24 hours following the final dose (i.e., 48-72 hours). A peripheral intravenous catheter will be inserted into an arm vein to collect blood samples simultaneously with microdialysis samples. Concentrations in tissue are compared with blood to determine percent penetration.

02

Conditions studied

  • Diabetes
  • Wound Infection
  • Healthy Volunteers
03

In context

Infections

6,687 studies on the registry are indexed under Infections; 807 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 18 is below the median of 120 across 4,200 interventional studies indexed under Infections.

Browse Infections studies →

Lead sponsor

Hartford Hospital is the lead sponsor of 101 studies on the registry; 19 are open to participants now.

Of its 12 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 5 (42%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
Yes

Inclusion criteria

  • Experimental: Type 1 or Type 2 diabetes and a mild to moderate (Grade 2 or 3) wound infection of the lower limb
  • Active Comparator: Healthy Adult Volunteer

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

All Participants:

  • Less than 18 years of age
  • History of hypersensitivity to tedizolid or linezolid
  • History of hypersensitivity to lidocaine or lidocaine derivatives
  • Pregnant or breastfeeding
  • Presence of anemia, thrombocytopenia, or leukopenia as defined by hematocrit, platelet, or white blood cell count \< 75% of the lower limit of normal
  • Concomitant receipt of linezolid
  • Any other reason felt by the investigator to potentially affect the outcomes of the study

Experimental Group Only:

  • No palpable pedal pulses present
  • Participants likely to require multiple surgical interventions during the study period, which therefore could affect placement of the microdialysis catheter

Active Comparator Group Only:

  • Positive urine drug screen (cocaine, tetrahydrocannabinol, opiates, benzodiazepines, and amphetamines).
  • History of regular alcohol consumption exceeding 7 drinks/week for females or 14 drinks/week for men (1 drink = 5 ounces of wine or 12 ounces of beer or 1.5 ounces of hard liquor) within 6 months of screening.
  • Use of tobacco- or nicotine-containing products in excess of the equivalence of 5 cigarettes per day.
  • Use of prescription or nonprescription drugs, vitamins, or dietary supplements within 7 days or 5 half-lives (whichever is longer) prior to the first dose of study medication, with the exception of acetaminophen at doses of ≤ 1 g/day. Herbal supplements, hormonal methods of contraception (including oral and transdermal contraceptives, injectable progesterone, progestin subdermal implants, progesterone-releasing intrauterine devices (IUDs), postcoital contraceptive methods), and hormone replacement therapy must be discontinued at least 14 days prior to the first dose of study medication. Depo-Provera® must be discontinued at least 6 months prior to the first dose of study medication.
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 1
Primary purpose
Other
Allocation
Non-randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
18 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Diabetic Wound Infection

    Participants with a documented medical history of Type 1 or Type 2 diabetes and a mild to moderate (Grade 2 or 3) wound infection of the lower limb will receive 3 to 6 doses of oral tedizolid 200mg once daily, followed by sampling of interstitial tissue fluid at the margin of the wound by a microdialysis probe over 24 hours following the last dose (e.g., 48-72 hours).

    Drug: Tedizolid · Procedure: Microdialysis Catheter Insertion

  • Active comparator
    Healthy Volunteers

    Participants will be male or female healthy adult volunteers with no significant medical or medication history. Participants will receive 3 to 6 doses of oral tedizolid 200mg once daily, followed by sampling of interstitial tissue fluid at the margin of the wound by a microdialysis probe over 24 hours following the last dose (e.g., 48-72 hours).

    Drug: Tedizolid · Procedure: Microdialysis Catheter Insertion

Interventions

  • DrugTedizolid

    Also known as: Sivextro

  • ProcedureMicrodialysis Catheter Insertion

    A 20 kila-Dalton microdialysis probe (63 MD catheter; MDialysis Inc., N. Chelmsford, MA) will be inserted into the subcutaneous tissue at the margin of the wound (patient group) or in the thigh tissue (healthy volunteers). The probe will be left in place for the final dose and all tissue sampling procedures thereafter. This probe is perfused with a physiologic solution to collect interstitial fluid samples. The probe will then be removed after completion of sample collection.

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Tedizolid Tissue Penetration

    The ratio of tedizolid tissue concentrations to blood concentrations following the final tedizolid dose

    Time frame: 48-72 hours

Secondary outcomes

  1. Tedizolid Area Under the Curve (AUC) in Tissue

    The area under the drug concentration-time curve (AUC) in tissue reflects the actual tissue exposure to drug after administration of a dose of the drug and is expressed in mg\*h/L. Venous blood was obtained via peripheral intravenous catheter at 48 hours from the start of the first dose (i.e., immediately before administration of the 3rd dose), and at 49, 50, 50.5, 51, 51.5, 52, 54, 56, 60, 64 and 72 hours. Dialysate samples of 120μL were collected in 200µL microvials simultaneously with plasma at 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 64, 68 and 72 hours following administration of the first dose.

    Time frame: 48-72 hours

  2. Tedizolid AUC in Plasma

    The area under the plasma drug concentration-time curve (AUC) reflects the actual plasma exposure to drug after administration of a dose of the drug and is expressed in mg\*h/L

    Time frame: 48-72 hours

07

Results

Posted Jan 15, 2019

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneDiabetic Wound InfectionHealthy Volunteers
Started126
Completed106
Not completed20
Withdrew: Adverse event10
Withdrew: Eligibility criteria not met10

Outcome measures

PrimaryTedizolid Tissue Penetration

The ratio of tedizolid tissue concentrations to blood concentrations following the final tedizolid dose

Time frame:
48-72 hours
Reported as:
Mean · ratio
Tedizolid Tissue Penetration
ratioDiabetic Wound InfectionHealthy Volunteers
Tedizolid Tissue Penetration0.98 ± 0.430.82 ± 0.08
SecondaryTedizolid Area Under the Curve (AUC) in Tissue

The area under the drug concentration-time curve (AUC) in tissue reflects the actual tissue exposure to drug after administration of a dose of the drug and is expressed in mg\*h/L. Venous blood was obtained via peripheral intravenous catheter at 48 hours from the start of the first dose (i.e., immediately before administration of the 3rd dose), and at 49, 50, 50.5, 51, 51.5, 52, 54, 56, 60, 64 and 72 hours. Dialysate samples of 120μL were collected in 200µL microvials simultaneously with plasma at 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 64, 68 and 72 hours following administration of the first dose.

Time frame:
48-72 hours
Reported as:
Mean · mg*h/L
Tedizolid Area Under the Curve (AUC) in Tissue
mg*h/LDiabetic Wound InfectionHealthy Volunteers
Tedizolid Area Under the Curve (AUC) in Tissue3.44 ± 1.505.20 ± 1.61
SecondaryTedizolid AUC in Plasma

The area under the plasma drug concentration-time curve (AUC) reflects the actual plasma exposure to drug after administration of a dose of the drug and is expressed in mg\*h/L

Time frame:
48-72 hours
Reported as:
Mean · mg*h/L
Tedizolid AUC in Plasma
mg*h/LDiabetic Wound InfectionHealthy Volunteers
Tedizolid AUC in Plasma18.47 ± 9.7028.71 ± 9.58

Adverse events

Collected over Adverse events were collected over a 76 hour window, from the start of first tedizolid dose (0 hour) to the end of blood/dialysate sampling (72 hours), plus a 4 hour observation window after the last sample was collected for subjects who received at least one dose of tedizolid. Note. In the diabetic wound infection group, 12 subjects were enrolled, but 11 received at least one dose. Therefore, the denominator is different from what is listed in the participant flow.. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Diabetic Wound Infection0/11 (0%)0/11 (0%)2/11 (18.2%)
Healthy Volunteers0/6 (0%)0/6 (0%)3/6 (50%)
Most frequent other events
Most frequent other events
EventDiabetic Wound InfectionHealthy Volunteers
HeadacheNervous system disorders0/113/6
HypothermiaGeneral disorders1/110/6
NauseaGastrointestinal disorders1/110/6

Baseline characteristics

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Diabetic Wound InfectionHealthy VolunteersTotal
Mean51 ± 1733 ± 944 ± 17
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Diabetic Wound InfectionHealthy VolunteersTotal
Female538
Male538
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Diabetic Wound InfectionHealthy VolunteersTotal
Hispanic or Latino808
Not Hispanic or Latino268
Unknown or Not Reported000
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Diabetic Wound InfectionHealthy VolunteersTotal
American Indian or Alaska Native000
Asian000
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander000
Black or African American011
White10515
More than one race000
Unknown or Not Reported000
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(Participants)Diabetic Wound InfectionHealthy VolunteersTotal
United States10616
Body Mass Index
Body Mass Index(kg/m^2)Diabetic Wound InfectionHealthy VolunteersTotal
Mean31.5 ± 6.328.5 ± 5.430.4 ± 6.0
Weight
Weight(kg)Diabetic Wound InfectionHealthy VolunteersTotal
Mean89.4 ± 2179.5 ± 17.985.7 ± 19.9
Height
Height(inches)Diabetic Wound InfectionHealthy VolunteersTotal
Mean66.6 ± 5.065.7 ± 4.566.3 ± 4.7

4 further baseline measures are reported on the registry.

08

Study locations

1 site
  • Hartford Hospital
    Hartford, Connecticut 06102, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Jan 11, 2017

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Jan 15, 2019, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT02620787
Lead sponsor
Hartford Hospital
Collaborators
Merck Sharp & Dohme LLC
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Dec 3, 2015
Start date
Feb 23, 2016
Primary completion
Mar 1, 2017
Completion
Mar 1, 2017
Results posted
Jan 15, 2019
Last update
Jan 15, 2019

Study contacts

David P Nicolau, PharmD
principal investigator · Hartford Hospital

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Jul 2018. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion