CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT02545075Updated May 19, 2020Results posted

A Comparative Study in Chinese Subjects With Chemotherapy Naïve Stage IV Melanoma Receiving Ipilimumab (3 mg/kg) vs. Dacarbazine

A Phase 3 interventional study of Ipilimumab and Dacarbazine in Melanoma, sponsored by Bristol-Myers Squibb. Completed at 8 sites in China. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2020-05-19.

Sponsored by Bristol-Myers Squibb · Phase 3, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
182
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

The purpose of this study is to determine whether Ipilimumab will extend the life of chinese patients with Chemotherapy Naive Stage IV Melanoma more than Dacarbazine as well as to examine safety in this patient population.

02

Conditions studied

  • Melanoma

Browse trials for

03

In context

Melanoma

3,006 studies on the registry are indexed under Melanoma; 519 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 182 is above the median of 38 across 2,350 interventional studies indexed under Melanoma.

Browse Melanoma studies →

Lead sponsor

Bristol-Myers Squibb is the lead sponsor of 1,538 studies on the registry; 116 are open to participants now.

Of its 429 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 223 (52%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

For more information regarding BMS clinical trial participation, please visit www.BMSStudyConnect.com

Inclusion criteria

Inclusion Criteria:

  • Chinese males and females ≥ 18 years of age
  • Histologic diagnosis of malignant melanoma
  • Chemotherapy naive Stage IV melanoma (AJCC 2010)
  • Life expectancy of ≥ 16 weeks
  • Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status of 0 or 1

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Evidence of brain metastases on brain imaging
  • Primary ocular or mucosal melanoma
  • Any other malignancy from which the patient has been disease-free for less than 5 years
  • BRAF status cannot be determined by Screening test
  • Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV) positive or hepatitis B surface antigen (HBsAg) positive, or active Hepatitis C infection
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
182 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Ipilimumab

    Intravenously (IV) 3 mg/kg every 3 weeks (at week 1,4,7,10) and thereafter (q3w/4 doses) at the time of progression

    Drug: Ipilimumab

  • Experimental
    Dacarbazine

    IV solution 250 mg/m2 (Day 1-5, every 3weeks/at week 1, 4, 7, 10,13,16,19,22)

    Drug: Dacarbazine

Interventions

  • DrugIpilimumab

    Also known as: MDX-010

  • DrugDacarbazine

    Also known as: DTIC

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Two-Years Survival Rate

    Two-year survival rate is defined as the probability that a subject is alive at 2 years following the randomization date and will be estimated via the Kaplan-Meier (KM) method.

    Time frame: 24 months

Secondary outcomes

  1. One-Year Survival Rate

    Survival rate at 1 year is defined as the probability that a subject is alive at 1 year following the randomization date and will be estimated via the Kaplan-Meier (KM) method.

    Time frame: Approximately 43 months

  2. Overall Survival (OS)

    OS is defined for each subject as the time between randomization date and the date of death (of any cause).

    Time frame: Approximately 43 months

  3. Progression Free Survival ( PFS)

    PFS is defined for each subject as the time between randomization date and the date of progression or death, whichever occurs first.

    Time frame: Approximately 43 months

  4. Disease Control Rate ( DCR )

    Primary DCR is defined as the number of subjects in the arm with Best Overall Response (BOR) of complete response (CR), partial response (PR), or stable disease (SD), divided by the total number of randomized subjects in the arm.

    Time frame: Approximately 43 months

  5. Best Overall Response Rate ( BORR )

    BORR definition is defined as the number of subjects in the arm with a BOR of CR or PR, divided by the total number of randomized subjects in the arm.

    Time frame: Approximately 43 months

  6. Duration of Response ( DoR)

    DoR definition for the response evaluable subjects whose BOR is CR or PR is defined as the time between the date of response of CR or PR (whichever occurs first) and the first date of progressive disease (PD) or the date of death (whichever occurs first).

    Time frame: Approximately 43 months

  7. Duration of Stable Disease ( DoSD )

    Primary duration of stable disease (DoSD) definition for the randomized subjects whose BOR is SD is defined as the time between the randomization date and the first date of PD or the date of death (whichever occurs first)."

    Time frame: Approximately 43 months

07

Results

Posted May 19, 2020

Participant flow

Randomization
Participant flow — Randomization
MilestoneIpilimumab (3 mg/kg)Dacarbazine (250 mg/m2)
Started12260
Completed12253
Not completed07
Withdrew: Lost to follow-up01
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject06
Treatment
Participant flow — Treatment
MilestoneIpilimumab (3 mg/kg)Dacarbazine (250 mg/m2)
Started12253
Completed00
Not completed12253
Withdrew: Disease progression7132
Withdrew: Participant dicontinued study treatment79
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject10
Withdrew: Adverse event not related to study drug10
Withdrew: Death10
Withdrew: Participant drug toxicity10
Withdrew: Completed treatment4012

Outcome measures

PrimaryTwo-Years Survival Rate

Two-year survival rate is defined as the probability that a subject is alive at 2 years following the randomization date and will be estimated via the Kaplan-Meier (KM) method.

Time frame:
24 months
Reported as:
Number · Percentage of Participants
Two-Years Survival Rate
Percentage of ParticipantsIpilimumab (3 mg/kg)Dacarbazine (250 mg/m2)
Two-Years Survival Rate33.98 (28.36 to 39.67)34.09 (25.72 to 42.62)
Statistical analysis
  • Ipilimumab (3 mg/kg) vs Dacarbazine (250 mg/m2) · Chi-squared · p = 0.5059One-sided p-value based on unstratified chi-square test
SecondaryOne-Year Survival Rate

Survival rate at 1 year is defined as the probability that a subject is alive at 1 year following the randomization date and will be estimated via the Kaplan-Meier (KM) method.

Time frame:
Approximately 43 months
Reported as:
Number · Percentage of Participants
One-Year Survival Rate
Percentage of ParticipantsIpilimumab (3 mg/kg)Dacarbazine (250 mg/m2)
One-Year Survival Rate61.68 (55.71 to 67.09)64.11 (54.99 to 71.87)
Statistical analysis
  • Ipilimumab (3 mg/kg) vs Dacarbazine (250 mg/m2) · Chi-squared · p = 0.6202One-sided unstratified chi-square
SecondaryOverall Survival (OS)

OS is defined for each subject as the time between randomization date and the date of death (of any cause).

Time frame:
Approximately 43 months
Reported as:
Median · Months
Overall Survival (OS)
MonthsIpilimumab (3 mg/kg)Dacarbazine (250 mg/m2)
Overall Survival (OS)15.08 (12.91 to 16.10)14.55 (13.37 to 19.19)
Statistical analysis
  • Ipilimumab (3 mg/kg) vs Dacarbazine (250 mg/m2) · Log Rank · p = 0.7267 · Stratified cox proportional hazard model: 1.13 · 80% CI 0.87 to 1.45One-sided p-value from Log-rank Test stratified by M substage (M1a+M1b vs. M1c)
SecondaryProgression Free Survival ( PFS)

PFS is defined for each subject as the time between randomization date and the date of progression or death, whichever occurs first.

Time frame:
Approximately 43 months
Reported as:
Median · Months
Progression Free Survival ( PFS)
MonthsIpilimumab (3 mg/kg)Dacarbazine (250 mg/m2)
Progression Free Survival ( PFS)2.60 (2.60 to 2.63)1.84 (1.41 to 2.63)
Statistical analysis
  • Ipilimumab (3 mg/kg) vs Dacarbazine (250 mg/m2) · Log Rank · p = 0.2503 · Stratified cox proportional hazard: 0.90 · 80% CI 0.71 to 1.15One-sided p-value from Log-rank Test stratified by M substage (M1a+M1b vs. M1c) and BRAF mutation status as entered into the IVRS
SecondaryDisease Control Rate ( DCR )

Primary DCR is defined as the number of subjects in the arm with Best Overall Response (BOR) of complete response (CR), partial response (PR), or stable disease (SD), divided by the total number of randomized subjects in the arm.

Time frame:
Approximately 43 months
Reported as:
Number · Percentage of participants
Disease Control Rate ( DCR )
Percentage of participantsIpilimumab (3 mg/kg)Dacarbazine (250 mg/m2)
Disease Control Rate ( DCR )32 (26.4 to 38.0)31.7 (23.7 to 40.6)
Statistical analysis
  • Ipilimumab (3 mg/kg) vs Dacarbazine (250 mg/m2) · Cochran-Mantel-Haenszel · p = 0.9932 · Odds ratio (or): 1.00 · 80% CI 0.64 to 1.55
SecondaryBest Overall Response Rate ( BORR )

BORR definition is defined as the number of subjects in the arm with a BOR of CR or PR, divided by the total number of randomized subjects in the arm.

Time frame:
Approximately 43 months
Reported as:
Number · Percentage of participants
Best Overall Response Rate ( BORR )
Percentage of participantsIpilimumab (3 mg/kg)Dacarbazine (250 mg/m2)
Best Overall Response Rate ( BORR )8.2 (5.2 to 12.3)8.3 (4.1 to 14.9)
Statistical analysis
  • Ipilimumab (3 mg/kg) vs Dacarbazine (250 mg/m2) · Cochran-Mantel-Haenszel · p = 0.9738 · Odds ratio (or): 0.98 · 80% CI 0.48 to 2.03
SecondaryDuration of Response ( DoR)

DoR definition for the response evaluable subjects whose BOR is CR or PR is defined as the time between the date of response of CR or PR (whichever occurs first) and the first date of progressive disease (PD) or the date of death (whichever occurs first).

Time frame:
Approximately 43 months
Reported as:
Median · Months
Duration of Response ( DoR)
MonthsIpilimumab (3 mg/kg)Dacarbazine (250 mg/m2)
Duration of Response ( DoR)8.99 (4.76 to 29.01)7.98 (1.45 to NA)
SecondaryDuration of Stable Disease ( DoSD )

Primary duration of stable disease (DoSD) definition for the randomized subjects whose BOR is SD is defined as the time between the randomization date and the first date of PD or the date of death (whichever occurs first)."

Time frame:
Approximately 43 months
Reported as:
Median · Months
Duration of Stable Disease ( DoSD )
MonthsIpilimumab (3 mg/kg)Dacarbazine (250 mg/m2)
Duration of Stable Disease ( DoSD )6.83 (5.29 to 7.62)9.40 (5.26 to 16.30)

Adverse events

Collected over Approximately 43 months. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Ipilimumab93/122 (76.2%)34/122 (27.9%)118/122 (96.7%)
Dacarbazine39/53 (73.6%)12/53 (22.6%)48/53 (90.6%)
Most frequent serious events
Showing 10 of 31
Most frequent serious events
EventIpilimumabDacarbazine
Malignant neoplasm progressionNeoplasms benign, malignant and unspecified (incl cysts and polyps)16/1227/53
AnaemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders1/1221/53
Bone marrow failureBlood and lymphatic system disorders0/1221/53
HaematemesisGastrointestinal disorders0/1221/53
Skin infectionInfections and infestations0/1221/53
OverdoseInjury, poisoning and procedural complications0/1221/53
Electrolyte imbalanceMetabolism and nutrition disorders0/1221/53
HypoproteinaemiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders0/1221/53
Pulmonary embolismRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders0/1221/53
RashSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders2/1221/53
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 69
Most frequent other events
EventIpilimumabDacarbazine
NauseaGastrointestinal disorders18/12222/53
Alanine aminotransferase increasedInvestigations31/12219/53
Aspartate aminotransferase increasedInvestigations22/12217/53
Decreased appetiteMetabolism and nutrition disorders27/12217/53
White blood cell count decreasedInvestigations7/12215/53
RashSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders33/1223/53
ConstipationGastrointestinal disorders14/12214/53
Blood lactate dehydrogenase increasedInvestigations28/1223/53
Blood thyroid stimulating hormone increasedInvestigations27/1224/53
PruritusSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders27/1222/53

Baseline characteristics

All randomized participants

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Ipilimumab (3 mg/kg)Dacarbazine (250 mg/m2)Total
Mean53.6 ± 13.6954.3 ± 13.3953.8 ± 13.56
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Ipilimumab (3 mg/kg)Dacarbazine (250 mg/m2)Total
Female532679
Male6934103
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Ipilimumab (3 mg/kg)Dacarbazine (250 mg/m2)Total
Hispanic or Latino000
Not Hispanic or Latino000
Unknown or Not Reported12260182
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Ipilimumab (3 mg/kg)Dacarbazine (250 mg/m2)Total
American Indian or Alaska Native000
Asian12260182
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander000
Black or African American000
White000
More than one race000
Unknown or Not Reported000
08

Study locations

8 sites
  • Local Institution
    Nanjing, Jiangsu 210000, China
  • Local Institution
    Changchun, Jilin 130021, China
  • Local Institution
    Xi'an, Shanxi 710038, China
  • Local Institution
    Tianjing, Tianjin 300060, China
  • Local Institution
    Hanghzou, Zhejiang, China
  • Local Institution
    Beijing, 100142, China
  • Local Institution
    Kunming, China
  • Local Institution
    Shanghai, 200032, China
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Statistical analysis plan · Jan 17, 2019
  • Study protocol · Jun 28, 2019

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on May 19, 2020, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT02545075
Lead sponsor
Bristol-Myers Squibb
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Sep 9, 2015
Start date
Oct 31, 2015
Primary completion
Apr 19, 2019
Completion
Apr 19, 2019
Results posted
May 19, 2020
Last update
May 19, 2020

Study contacts

Bristol-Myers Squibb
study director · Bristol-Myers Squibb

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in May 2020. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion