A Phase 3 interventional study of AB103 0.5 mg/kg and NaCl 0.9% in Necrotizing Soft Tissue Infections, Necrotizing Fasciitis and Fournier's Gangrene, sponsored by Atox Bio Ltd. Completed at 71 sites in 2 countries. Open to participants aged 12 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2021-10-05.
Sponsored by Atox Bio Ltd · Phase 3, Interventional, and Treatment
The purpose of this study is to determine whether AB103 is safe and effective in the treatment of patients with necrotizing soft tissue infections (NSTI) receiving standard of care therapy.
The primary hypothesis of this study is that in addition to standard of care treatment (which includes surgical intervention, antimicrobial therapy and critical care support for organ dysfunction or failure), AB103 will demonstrate a clinically significant treatment benefit over placebo.
This hypothesis will be addressed by measuring the effect of AB103 on a composite of clinical parameters associated with the disease course of patients with NSTI, using a responder analysis. A responding patient must meet all 5 parameters of the composite clinical success end point, while a non-responding patient can fail by not meeting any one of the parameters. These analyses are designed to demonstrate that in addition to being safe, one dose of 0.5 mg/kg of AB103 will:
Improve systemic signs of the infection by improving organ function of patients compared to placebo as measured by:
Improve the local signs of the infection, as measured by:
No amputation after the first debridement (amputation on the first debridement is not considered a failure). A patient will be required to have had no amputations done after the first surgical procedure in order to achieve composite clinical success.
290 patients will be recruited into the study and randomized to receive either 0.5 mg/kg AB103 or placebo in a 1:1 ratio. Randomization will be stratified within center by the diagnosis of Fournier's Gangrene and mSOFA score category (3-4 vs >4) at screening. The study will be conducted with interim analyses for futility at 100 patients and safety monitored by an independent Data Monitoring Board at regular planned intervals.
Exclusion Criteria:
Any concurrent medical condition, which in the opinion of the Investigator, may compromise the safety of the patient or the objectives of the study or the patient will not benefit from treatment such as:
AB103 0.5 mg/kg, IV, single dose
Drug: AB103 0.5 mg/kg
NaCl 0.9%, IV, single dose
Other: NaCl 0.9%
Also known as: reltecimod
Also known as: Normal saline
Number of Patients Achieving Necrotizing Infections Clinical Composite Endpoint (NICCE)
NICCE was made up of the following 5 components, all of which had to be met to successfully achieve the primary outcome measure (i.e., a "responder"): (i) Alive at Day 28, (ii) ≤ 3 debridements through Day 14, (iii) No amputation performed after the first debridement, (iv) Day 14 modified Sequential Organ Failure Assessment (mSOFA) score ≤ 1, and (v) Reduction of ≥ 3 mSOFA score points between Baseline and Day 14. This analysis compared responders in the reltecimod group versus responders in the placebo group. Modified Sequential Organ Failure Assessment (mSOFA) total scores range from 0 to 20, with higher scores reflecting a worse clinical status or outcome. An mSOFA total score of 0 or 1 reflects resolution of organ dysfunction/failure.
Time frame: 28 days
Number of Patients With One or More Adverse Events (AEs)
Number of Patients With One or More Adverse Events (AEs). Serious Adverse Events (SAEs) are included in this outcome measure since SAEs are a subset of AEs.
Time frame: 28 days
Number of Patients With One or More Serious Adverse Events (SAEs)
Number of Patients with One or More Serious Adverse Events (SAEs) During the Study
Time frame: 28 days
Number of Patients With One or More Secondary Infections
Number of Patients with One or More Secondary Infections During the Study
Time frame: 28 days
Number of Patients Achieving Day 14 Modified Sequential Organ Failure Assessment (mSOFA) Score of 0 or 1
Modified Sequential Organ Failure Assessment (mSOFA) total scores range from 0 to 20, with higher scores reflecting a worse clinical status or outcome. An mSOFA total score of 0 or 1 reflects resolution of organ dysfunction/failure.
Time frame: 14 days
Intensive Care Unit (ICU)-Free Days
ICU-free days refers to the number of days a patient did not spend time in the ICU through Day 28.
Time frame: 28 days
Ventilator-free Days
Ventilator-free days refers to the number of days a patient was not on a ventilator through Day 28.
Time frame: 28 days
Vasopressor-free Days
Vasopressor-free days refers to the number of days a patient did not receive a vasopressor through Day 28.
Time frame: 28 days
Hospital Days
Hospital days refers to the number of days a patient spent time in the hospital.
Time frame: 90 days or until end of follow up
Number of Patients With a More Favorable or Less Favorable Hospital Discharge Location
Number of patients with more favorable discharge location (home or rehabilitation facility) or less favorable discharge location (skilled nursing facility, another acute care facility, death, other)
Time frame: 90 days
Number of Deaths From Day 0 Through Day 90
The number of deaths occurring from Study Day 0 through Study Day 90
Time frame: 90 days
Number of Deaths After Day 14 Through Day 90
Number of deaths after Study Day 14 through Study Day 90
Time frame: 76 days (after Day 14 through Day 90)
Number of Deaths From Day 0 Through Day 90 Among Patients With a Screening mSOFA Score of at Least 5
Number and percentage of patients with a Screening mSOFA score of at least 5 who were alive on Study Day 0 and subsequently died through Study Day 90.
Time frame: 90 days
Number of Deaths After Day 14 Through Day 90 Among Patients With a Screening mSOFA Score of at Least 5
Number and percentage of patients with a Screening mSOFA score of at least 5 who were alive on Study Day 14 and subsequently died through Study Day 90.
Time frame: 76 days (after Day 14 through Day 90)
Number of Deaths From Day 0 Through Day 90 Among Patients With Baseline Cardiovascular Failure (Shock)
Number and percentage of patients with baseline cardiovascular failure (shock) who died through Study Day 90.
Time frame: 90 days
Number of Deaths After Day 14 Through Day 90 Among Patients With Baseline Cardiovascular Failure (Shock)
Number and percentage of patients with baseline cardiovascular failure (shock) who were alive on Study Day 14 and subsequently died through Study Day 90.
Time frame: 76 days (after Day 14 through Day 90)
Number of Patients With a Screening Modified Sequential Organ Failure Assessment (mSOFA) Score of at Least 5 Who Achieved NICCE
NICCE was made up of the following 5 components, all of which had to be met to successfully achieve the primary outcome measure: (i) Alive at Day 28, (ii) ≤ 3 debridements through Day 14, (iii) No amputation performed after the first debridement, (iv) Day 14 modified Sequential Organ Failure Assessment (mSOFA) score ≤ 1, and (v) Reduction of ≥ 3 mSOFA score points between Baseline and Day 14. Modified Sequential Organ Failure Assessment (mSOFA) total scores range from 0 to 20, with higher scores reflecting a worse clinical status or outcome. An mSOFA total score of 0 or 1 reflects resolution of organ dysfunction/failure.
Time frame: 28 days
Number of Patients With a Screening mSOFA Score of at Least 5 Who Achieved Day 14 Modified Sequential Organ Failure Assessment (mSOFA) Score of 0 or 1
Modified Sequential Organ Failure Assessment (mSOFA) total scores range from 0 to 20, with higher scores reflecting a worse clinical status or outcome. An mSOFA total score of 0 or 1 reflects resolution of organ dysfunction/failure.
Time frame: 14 days
Number of Patients With Baseline Cardiovascular Failure (Shock) Who Achieved NICCE
NICCE was made up of the following 5 components, all of which had to be met to successfully achieve the primary outcome measure: (i) Alive at Day 28, (ii) ≤ 3 debridements through Day 14, (iii) No amputation performed after the first debridement, (iv) Day 14 modified Sequential Organ Failure Assessment (mSOFA) score ≤ 1, and (v) Reduction of ≥ 3 mSOFA score points between Baseline and Day 14.
Time frame: 28 days
Number of Patients With Baseline Cardiovascular Failure (Shock) Who Achieved Day 14 Modified Sequential Organ Failure Assessment (mSOFA) Score of 0 or 1
Modified Sequential Organ Failure Assessment (mSOFA) total scores range from 0 to 20, with higher scores reflecting a worse clinical status or outcome. An mSOFA total score of 0 or 1 reflects resolution of organ dysfunction/failure.
Time frame: 14 days
| Milestone | Reltecimod (AB103) 0.5 mg/kg | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Started | 143 | 147 |
| Completed | 118 | 115 |
| Not completed | 25 | 32 |
| Withdrew: Death | 24 | 29 |
| Withdrew: Discontinuation | 1 | 3 |
NICCE was made up of the following 5 components, all of which had to be met to successfully achieve the primary outcome measure (i.e., a "responder"): (i) Alive at Day 28, (ii) ≤ 3 debridements through Day 14, (iii) No amputation performed after the first debridement, (iv) Day 14 modified Sequential Organ Failure Assessment (mSOFA) score ≤ 1, and (v) Reduction of ≥ 3 mSOFA score points between Baseline and Day 14. This analysis compared responders in the reltecimod group versus responders in the placebo group. Modified Sequential Organ Failure Assessment (mSOFA) total scores range from 0 to 20, with higher scores reflecting a worse clinical status or outcome. An mSOFA total score of 0 or 1 reflects resolution of organ dysfunction/failure.
| Participants | Reltecimod (AB103) 0.5 mg/kg | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| mITT Population | 69 | 59 |
| US-mITT Population | 67 | 50 |
Number of Patients With One or More Adverse Events (AEs). Serious Adverse Events (SAEs) are included in this outcome measure since SAEs are a subset of AEs.
| Participants | AB103 0.5 mg/kg | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Patients With One or More Adverse Events (AEs) | 104 | 96 |
Number of Patients with One or More Serious Adverse Events (SAEs) During the Study
| Participants | AB103 0.5 mg/kg | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Patients With One or More Serious Adverse Events (SAEs) | 44 | 40 |
Number of Patients with One or More Secondary Infections During the Study
| Participants | AB103 0.5 mg/kg | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Patients With One or More Secondary Infections | 30 | 32 |
Modified Sequential Organ Failure Assessment (mSOFA) total scores range from 0 to 20, with higher scores reflecting a worse clinical status or outcome. An mSOFA total score of 0 or 1 reflects resolution of organ dysfunction/failure.
| Participants | Reltecimod (AB103) 0.5 mg/kg | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Patients Achieving Day 14 Modified Sequential Organ Failure Assessment (mSOFA) Score of 0 or 1 | 87 | 74 |
ICU-free days refers to the number of days a patient did not spend time in the ICU through Day 28.
| days | Reltecimod (AB103) 0.5 mg/kg | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Intensive Care Unit (ICU)-Free Days | 20.0 (0 to 28) | 18.0 (0 to 28) |
Ventilator-free days refers to the number of days a patient was not on a ventilator through Day 28.
| days | Reltecimod (AB103) 0.5 mg/kg | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Ventilator-free Days | 22.0 (0 to 28) | 21.0 (0 to 28) |
Vasopressor-free days refers to the number of days a patient did not receive a vasopressor through Day 28.
| days | Reltecimod (AB103) 0.5 mg/kg | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Vasopressor-free Days | 25.0 (0 to 28) | 25.0 (0 to 28) |
Hospital days refers to the number of days a patient spent time in the hospital.
| days | Reltecimod (AB103) 0.5 mg/kg | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Hospital Days | 18.0 (1 to 103) | 19.5 (2 to 135) |
Number of patients with more favorable discharge location (home or rehabilitation facility) or less favorable discharge location (skilled nursing facility, another acute care facility, death, other)
| Participants | Reltecimod (AB103) 0.5 mg/kg | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| More Favorable Discharge Location | 80 | 64 |
| Less Favorable Discharge Location | 55 | 74 |
The number of deaths occurring from Study Day 0 through Study Day 90
| Participants | Reltecimod (AB103) 0.5 mg/kg | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Deaths From Day 0 Through Day 90 | 24 | 29 |
Number of deaths after Study Day 14 through Study Day 90
| Participants | Reltecimod (AB103) 0.5 mg/kg | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Deaths After Day 14 Through Day 90 | 8 | 15 |
Number and percentage of patients with a Screening mSOFA score of at least 5 who were alive on Study Day 0 and subsequently died through Study Day 90.
| Participants | Reltecimod (AB103) 0.5 mg/kg | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Deaths From Day 0 Through Day 90 Among Patients With a Screening mSOFA Score of at Least 5 | 16 | 19 |
Number and percentage of patients with a Screening mSOFA score of at least 5 who were alive on Study Day 14 and subsequently died through Study Day 90.
| Participants | Reltecimod (AB103) 0.5 mg/kg | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Deaths After Day 14 Through Day 90 Among Patients With a Screening mSOFA Score of at Least 5 | 3 | 9 |
Number and percentage of patients with baseline cardiovascular failure (shock) who died through Study Day 90.
| Participants | Reltecimod (AB103) 0.5 mg/kg | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Deaths From Day 0 Through Day 90 Among Patients With Baseline Cardiovascular Failure (Shock) | 14 | 15 |
Number and percentage of patients with baseline cardiovascular failure (shock) who were alive on Study Day 14 and subsequently died through Study Day 90.
| Participants | Reltecimod (AB103) 0.5 mg/kg | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Deaths After Day 14 Through Day 90 Among Patients With Baseline Cardiovascular Failure (Shock) | 2 | 7 |
NICCE was made up of the following 5 components, all of which had to be met to successfully achieve the primary outcome measure: (i) Alive at Day 28, (ii) ≤ 3 debridements through Day 14, (iii) No amputation performed after the first debridement, (iv) Day 14 modified Sequential Organ Failure Assessment (mSOFA) score ≤ 1, and (v) Reduction of ≥ 3 mSOFA score points between Baseline and Day 14. Modified Sequential Organ Failure Assessment (mSOFA) total scores range from 0 to 20, with higher scores reflecting a worse clinical status or outcome. An mSOFA total score of 0 or 1 reflects resolution of organ dysfunction/failure.
| Participants | Reltecimod (AB103) 0.5 mg/kg | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Patients With a Screening Modified Sequential Organ Failure Assessment (mSOFA) Score of at Least 5 Who Achieved NICCE | 38 | 25 |
Modified Sequential Organ Failure Assessment (mSOFA) total scores range from 0 to 20, with higher scores reflecting a worse clinical status or outcome. An mSOFA total score of 0 or 1 reflects resolution of organ dysfunction/failure.
| Participants | Reltecimod (AB103) 0.5 mg/kg | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Patients With a Screening mSOFA Score of at Least 5 Who Achieved Day 14 Modified Sequential Organ Failure Assessment (mSOFA) Score of 0 or 1 | 45 | 29 |
NICCE was made up of the following 5 components, all of which had to be met to successfully achieve the primary outcome measure: (i) Alive at Day 28, (ii) ≤ 3 debridements through Day 14, (iii) No amputation performed after the first debridement, (iv) Day 14 modified Sequential Organ Failure Assessment (mSOFA) score ≤ 1, and (v) Reduction of ≥ 3 mSOFA score points between Baseline and Day 14.
| Participants | Reltecimod (AB103) 0.5 mg/kg | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Patients With Baseline Cardiovascular Failure (Shock) Who Achieved NICCE | 38 | 18 |
Modified Sequential Organ Failure Assessment (mSOFA) total scores range from 0 to 20, with higher scores reflecting a worse clinical status or outcome. An mSOFA total score of 0 or 1 reflects resolution of organ dysfunction/failure.
| Participants | Reltecimod (AB103) 0.5 mg/kg | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Patients With Baseline Cardiovascular Failure (Shock) Who Achieved Day 14 Modified Sequential Organ Failure Assessment (mSOFA) Score of 0 or 1 | 48 | 21 |
Collected over Adverse event (AE) data were collected from study drug administration through the Day 28 visit. Data associated with deaths and study drug-related serious adverse events (SAEs) were collected from study drug administration though the Day 90 visit.. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reltecimod (AB103) 0.5 mg/kg | 24/143 (16.8%) | 44/143 (30.8%) | 24/143 (16.8%) |
| Placebo | 29/147 (19.7%) | 40/147 (27.2%) | 25/147 (17%) |
| Event | Reltecimod (AB103) 0.5 mg/kg | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Cardiac arrestCardiac disorders | 4/143 | 4/147 |
| Acute kidney injuryRenal and urinary disorders | 4/143 | 2/147 |
| Acute respiratory distress syndromeRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 2/143 | 4/147 |
| Pulseless electrical activityCardiac disorders | 3/143 | 2/147 |
| Necrotizing soft tissue infectionInfections and infestations | 3/143 | 3/147 |
| PneumoniaInfections and infestations | 3/143 | 1/147 |
| Septic shockInfections and infestations | 3/143 | 2/147 |
| Acute myocardial infarctionCardiac disorders | 2/143 | 3/147 |
| Atrial fibrillationCardiac disorders | 2/143 | 3/147 |
| Organ failureGeneral disorders | 2/143 | 2/147 |
| Event | Reltecimod (AB103) 0.5 mg/kg | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| PneumoniaInfections and infestations | 5/143 | 11/147 |
| AnemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 8/143 | 6/147 |
| Atrial fibrillationCardiac disorders | 7/143 | 8/147 |
| DiarrheaGastrointestinal disorders | 6/143 | 8/147 |
This analysis population (As Treated/Safety Analysis Set) included all randomized patients who were exposed to study drug (reltecimod or placebo), with patients analyzed according to the treatment actually received.
| Age, Continuous(years) | Reltecimod (AB103) 0.5 mg/kg | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 53.4 ± 15.3 | 56.3 ± 15.0 | 54.9 ± 15.2 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Reltecimod (AB103) 0.5 mg/kg | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 58 | 59 | 117 |
| Male | 85 | 88 | 173 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Reltecimod (AB103) 0.5 mg/kg | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 10 | 11 | 21 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 131 | 133 | 264 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 2 | 3 | 5 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Reltecimod (AB103) 0.5 mg/kg | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 3 | 2 | 5 |
| Asian | 2 | 0 | 2 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Black or African American | 23 | 24 | 47 |
| White | 106 | 110 | 216 |
| More than one race | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 9 | 10 | 19 |
| Region of Enrollment(participants) | Reltecimod (AB103) 0.5 mg/kg | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| United States | 135 | 138 | 273 |
| France | 8 | 9 | 17 |
| Body Mass Index (BMI)(kg/m^2) | Reltecimod (AB103) 0.5 mg/kg | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 31.4 ± 8.3 | 33.7 ± 8.3 | 32.5 ± 8.4 |
| Necrotizing Soft Tissue Infection (NSTI) Diagnosis(Participants) | Reltecimod (AB103) 0.5 mg/kg | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Necrotizing Fasciitis | 96 | 95 | 191 |
| Fournier's Gangrene | 43 | 40 | 83 |
| Gas Gangrene/Myonecrosis | 1 | 4 | 5 |
| Other NSTI | 3 | 8 | 11 |
| Comorbidities(Participants) | Reltecimod (AB103) 0.5 mg/kg | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Diabetes | 64 | 59 | 123 |
| Cardiovascular Disease | 37 | 28 | 65 |
| Smoker | 34 | 32 | 66 |
| Alcohol Abuse | 17 | 13 | 30 |
4 further baseline measures are reported on the registry.
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
Plan to share: No
This study is completed, as verified in Oct 2021. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Atox Bio Ltd