CClinicalTrials.gg
TerminatedNCT02379390PRIMCABUpdated Jun 21, 2019Results posted

Cabazitaxel Versus the Switch to Alternative AR Targeted Therapy Enzalutamide or Abiraterone in Metastatic Castration-Resistant Prostate Cancer (mCRPC) Primary Resistant Patients to Abiraterone or Enzalutamide

A Phase 2 interventional study of Cabazitaxel XRP6258 and Ezalutamide in Prostate Cancer Metastatic, sponsored by Sanofi. Terminated at 24 sites in 2 countries. Open to male participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2019-06-21.

Sponsored by Sanofi · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

Why this study was terminated
Unsatisfactory patient accrual
Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
8
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
Male
01

Study summary

Primary Objective:

To demonstrate the superiority in term of radiographic Progression-Free Survival (rPFS) of cabazitaxel at at 25 milligram per meter square (mg/m\^2) plus prednisone (Arm A) versus either enzalutamide at 160 milligram (mg) once daily or abiraterone acetate at 1000 mg once daily plus prednisone (Arm B) in chemotherapy-naïve participants with metastatic Castration-Resistant Prostate Cancer (mCRPC) who have disease progression while receiving androgen receptor (AR) targeted therapy (abiraterone plus prednisone or enzalutamide) within 12 months of treatment initiation (≤12 months).

Secondary Objective:

  • To compare efficacy for:
  • Prostate-specific antigen (PSA) response rate and Time to PSA progression (TTPP).
  • Progression Free Survival (PFS).
  • Overall Survival (OS).
  • Tumor response rate in participants with measurable disease (RECIST 1.1)
  • Pain response and time to pain progression.
  • Symptomatic skeletal events (SSE) rate and time to occurrence of any SSE.
  • To analyze messenger ribonucleic acids (mRNAs) including androgen-receptor splice variant 7 messenger RNA (AR-V7) as a biomarker in Circulating Tumor Cells (CTCs).
  • To evaluate safety in the 2 treatment arms.
Read the detailed description

The duration of the study per participant was approximately 2 years. Each participant was treated until radiographic disease progression, unacceptable toxicity, or participants refusal of further study treatment, and each participant was followed after completion of study treatment until death, study cutoff date, or withdrawal of participant consent.

02

Conditions studied

  • Prostate Cancer Metastatic

Browse trials for

03

In context

Prostatic Neoplasms

6,370 studies on the registry are indexed under Prostatic Neoplasms; 1,400 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 8 is below the median of 58 across 4,822 interventional studies indexed under Prostatic Neoplasms.

Browse Prostatic Neoplasms studies →

Lead sponsor

Sanofi is the lead sponsor of 1,508 studies on the registry; 90 are open to participants now.

Of its 198 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 118 (60%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
Male
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Diagnosis of histologically or cytologically confirmed prostate adenocarcinoma.
  • Metastatic disease.
  • Progressive disease (PD) while receiving AR targeted therapy with abiraterone acetate or enzalutamide within 12 months of treatment initiation (≤12 months) by at least one of the following:
  • Progression in measurable disease Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) 1.1.
  • Appearance of 2 or more new bone lesions according to Prostate Cancer Working Group 2 (PCWG2).
  • Rising PSA defined (PCWG2) as at least two consecutive rises in PSA to be documented over a reference value (measure 1) taken at least one week apart.
  • A PSA value of at least 2 nanogram/milliliter (ng/mL) is required at study entry.
  • Effective castration (serum testosterone levels ≤0.5 ng/mL).
  • Prior AR targeted therapy (abiraterone acetate or enzalutamide) must be stopped at least 2 weeks before study treatment.
  • Signed written informed consent.

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion criteria:

  • Prior chemotherapy for prostate cancer, except estramustine and except adjuvant/neoadjuvant treatment completed >3 years ago. No further anti-cancer therapy after the previous AR targeted therapy and before inclusion. Prior docetaxel in hormone sensitive setting is allowed if completed >1 year before randomization. Prior immunotherapy is allowed.
  • Less than 28 days elapsed from prior treatment with immunotherapy, radiotherapy, or surgery to the time of randomization.
  • Adverse events (excluding alopecia and those listed in the specific exclusion criteria) from any prior anticancer therapy of grade >1(National Cancer Institute Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events [NCI CTCAE] v4.0) at the time of randomization.
  • Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status >1.
  • History of brain metastases, uncontrolled spinal cord compression, or carcinomatous meningitis, or new evidence of brain or leptomeningeal disease.
  • Prior malignancy. Adequately treated basal cell or squamous cell skin or superficial (pTis, pTa, and pT1) bladder cancer are allowed, as well as any other cancer for which treatment has been completed ≥5 years ago and from which the patient has been disease-free for ≥5 years.
  • Participation in another clinical trial and any concurrent treatment with any investigational drug within 30 days prior to randomization.
  • Acquired immunodeficiency syndrome (AIDS)-related illnesses or known Human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) disease requiring antiretroviral treatment.
  • Any severe acute or chronic medical condition including uncontrolled diabetes mellitus, severe renal impairment, history of cardiovascular disease (uncontrolled hypertension, arterial thrombotic events in the past 6 months, congestive heart failure, severe or unstable angina pectoris, recent myocardial infraction within last 6 months or uncontrolled cardiac arrhythmia), which could impair the ability of the patient to participate to the study or interfere with interpretation of study results, or patient unable to comply with the study procedures.
  • Participants with reproductive potential who do not agree to use accepted and effective method of contraception during the study treatment period and up to 6 months after the last administered dose. The definition of "effective method of contraception" will be based on the Investigator's judgment.
  • Known allergies, hypersensitivity or intolerance to prednisone or excipients of abiraterone acetate or enzalutamide. History of hypersensitivity to docetaxel or polysorbate 80.
  • Known history of mineralocorticoid excess or deficiency (not applicable to participants who have already been treated with abiraterone acetate in first line before inclusion).
  • History of seizure, underlying brain injury with loss of consciousness, transient ischemic attack within the past 12 months, cerebral vascular accident, brain arteriovenous malformation or the use of concomitant medications that may lower the seizure threshold (not applicable to participants who have already been treated with enzalutamide in first line before inclusion).
  • Unable to swallow a whole tablet or capsule.
  • Inadequate organ and bone marrow function as evidenced by:
  • Hemoglobin \<10.0 g/dL.
  • Absolute neutrophil count \<1.5 x 10\^9/L.
  • Platelet count \<100 x 10\^9/L.
  • Aspartate aminotransferase (AST) and/or Alanine aminotransferase (ALT) >1.5 x Upper limit of normal (ULN).
  • Total bilirubin >1.0 x ULN.
  • Potassium \<3.5 mmol/L.
  • Serum albumin \<3.0 g/dL.
  • Child-Pugh Class B and C.
  • Contraindications to the use of corticosteroid treatment.
  • Symptomatic peripheral neuropathy grade ≥2 NCI CTCAE v4.0.
  • Concomitant vaccination with yellow fever vaccine.

The above information was not intended to contain all considerations relevant to a patient's potential participation in a clinical trial.

05

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
8 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Cabazitaxel

    Participants received Cabazitaxel 25 mg/m\^2, intravenously for 1 hour along with prednisone 10 mg orally on Day 1 of every treatment cycle (each cycle was of 3 weeks) until disease progression, unacceptable toxicity, or participant's refusal of further study treatment.

    Drug: Cabazitaxel XRP6258 · Drug: Prednisone

  • Active comparator
    Abiraterone acetate or Enzalutamide

    Participants received abiraterone acetate 1000 mg (4 tablets of 250 mg), orally once daily along with prednisone 5 mg, orally twice daily from Day 1 to 21 in each treatment cycle (each cycle was of 3 weeks) or enzalutamide 160 mg, orally, until disease progression, unacceptable toxicity, or participant's refusal of further study treatment.

    Drug: Ezalutamide · Drug: Abiraterone acetate · Drug: Prednisone

Interventions

  • DrugCabazitaxel XRP6258

    Also known as: Jevtana

  • DrugEzalutamide

    Also known as: Xtandi

  • DrugAbiraterone acetate

    Also known as: Zytiga

  • DrugPrednisone
06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Radiographic Progression-Free Survival (rPFS)

    rPFS was defined as the time from randomization to the first occurrence of radiological tumor progression using Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) version 1.1 or progression of bone lesions using prostate cancer working group 2 (PCWG2) criteria or death due to any cause.

    Time frame: Baseline until tumor progression or bone lesion progression or death due to any cause (maximum duration: 1059 days)

Secondary outcomes

  1. Number of Participants With Prostate Specific Antigen (PSA) Response

    PSA response was defined as decline of serum PSA from baseline by \>= 50 percent (%).

    Time frame: Baseline up to PSA progression or death due to any cause (maximum duration: 1059 days)

  2. Progression-free Survival (PFS)

    PFS: time interval between date of randomization to first documentation of tumor progression as per RECIST 1.1.

    Time frame: Baseline upto progression or death due to any cause (maximum duration: 1059 days)

  3. Overall Survival

    Overall Survival was defined as the time interval from the date of randomization to the date of death due to any cause.

    Time frame: Baseline until death or study cut-off date, whichever was earlier (maximum duration: 1059 days)

  4. Time to PSA Progression

    Time to PSA progression was defined as the time interval between the date of randomization and the date of first documented PSA progression as per PCWG2 criteria.

    Time frame: Baseline up to PSA progression or death due to any cause (maximum duration: 1059 days)

  5. Number of Participants Achieving Tumor Response

    Tumor response was defined as either a partial response (PR) or complete response (CR) according to the RECIST 1.1.

    Time frame: Baseline up to disease progression or death due to any cause (maximum duration: 1059 days)

  6. Duration of Tumor Response

    Duration of tumor response was defined as the time between the first evaluation at which the tumor response criteria were met and the first documentation of tumor progression.

    Time frame: Baseline up to disease progression or death due to any cause (maximum duration: 1059 days)

  7. Pain Response Using Brief Pain Inventory-Short Form (BPI-SF) for Pain Intensity Score

    Pain response was analyzed using the brief pain inventory-short form (BPI-SF).

    Time frame: Baseline until the end of study (maximum duration: 1059 days)

  8. Time to Pain Progression

    Time to pain progression was defined as the time interval between the date of randomization and the date of the first documented pain progression.

    Time frame: Baseline until disease progression, start of another anticancer therapy or study cut off, whichever came first (maximum duration: 1059 days)

  9. Percentage of Participants With Symptomatic Skeletal Event (SSE)

    SSE was the occurrence of a new symptomatic pathological fracture, or the use of external beam radiation to relieve bone pain, or the occurrence of spinal cord compression, or tumor-related orthopedic surgical intervention.

    Time frame: Baseline until the end of study (maximum duration: 1059 days)

  10. Time to Occurrence of Any Symptomatic Skeletal Events (SSE)

    Time to SSE was defined as the time interval between the date of randomization and the date of the occurrence of the first event defining a SSE, whichever is earlier.

    Time frame: Baseline up to occurrence of the first event defining a SSE (maximum duration: 1059 days)

07

Results

Posted Jun 21, 2019

Participant flow

Study conducted at 6 active centers in United States and Canada. A total of 8 participants were enrolled between 17 June 2015 to 13 Mar 2016. Total 15 participants were screened, out of which 7 were screen failures and 8 were randomized and treated in the study. Study was terminated early due to very low recruitment rate in both countries involved.

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneCabazitaxelAbiraterone Acetate or Enzalutamide
Started44
Completed22
Not completed22
Withdrew: Adverse event11
Withdrew: Investigator's decision10
Withdrew: Study termination01

Outcome measures

PrimaryRadiographic Progression-Free Survival (rPFS)

rPFS was defined as the time from randomization to the first occurrence of radiological tumor progression using Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) version 1.1 or progression of bone lesions using prostate cancer working group 2 (PCWG2) criteria or death due to any cause.

Time frame:
Baseline until tumor progression or bone lesion progression or death due to any cause (maximum duration: 1059 days)

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

SecondaryNumber of Participants With Prostate Specific Antigen (PSA) Response

PSA response was defined as decline of serum PSA from baseline by \>= 50 percent (%).

Time frame:
Baseline up to PSA progression or death due to any cause (maximum duration: 1059 days)

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

SecondaryProgression-free Survival (PFS)

PFS: time interval between date of randomization to first documentation of tumor progression as per RECIST 1.1.

Time frame:
Baseline upto progression or death due to any cause (maximum duration: 1059 days)

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

SecondaryOverall Survival

Overall Survival was defined as the time interval from the date of randomization to the date of death due to any cause.

Time frame:
Baseline until death or study cut-off date, whichever was earlier (maximum duration: 1059 days)

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

SecondaryTime to PSA Progression

Time to PSA progression was defined as the time interval between the date of randomization and the date of first documented PSA progression as per PCWG2 criteria.

Time frame:
Baseline up to PSA progression or death due to any cause (maximum duration: 1059 days)

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

SecondaryNumber of Participants Achieving Tumor Response

Tumor response was defined as either a partial response (PR) or complete response (CR) according to the RECIST 1.1.

Time frame:
Baseline up to disease progression or death due to any cause (maximum duration: 1059 days)

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

SecondaryDuration of Tumor Response

Duration of tumor response was defined as the time between the first evaluation at which the tumor response criteria were met and the first documentation of tumor progression.

Time frame:
Baseline up to disease progression or death due to any cause (maximum duration: 1059 days)

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

SecondaryPain Response Using Brief Pain Inventory-Short Form (BPI-SF) for Pain Intensity Score

Pain response was analyzed using the brief pain inventory-short form (BPI-SF).

Time frame:
Baseline until the end of study (maximum duration: 1059 days)

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

SecondaryTime to Pain Progression

Time to pain progression was defined as the time interval between the date of randomization and the date of the first documented pain progression.

Time frame:
Baseline until disease progression, start of another anticancer therapy or study cut off, whichever came first (maximum duration: 1059 days)

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

SecondaryPercentage of Participants With Symptomatic Skeletal Event (SSE)

SSE was the occurrence of a new symptomatic pathological fracture, or the use of external beam radiation to relieve bone pain, or the occurrence of spinal cord compression, or tumor-related orthopedic surgical intervention.

Time frame:
Baseline until the end of study (maximum duration: 1059 days)

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

SecondaryTime to Occurrence of Any Symptomatic Skeletal Events (SSE)

Time to SSE was defined as the time interval between the date of randomization and the date of the occurrence of the first event defining a SSE, whichever is earlier.

Time frame:
Baseline up to occurrence of the first event defining a SSE (maximum duration: 1059 days)

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

Adverse events

Collected over Baseline until the end of study (maximum duration: 1059 days). Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Cabazitaxel0/4 (0%)1/4 (25%)3/4 (75%)
Enzalutamide or Abiraterone0/4 (0%)2/4 (50%)2/4 (50%)
Abiraterone0/1 (0%)0/1 (0%)1/1 (100%)
Enzalutamide0/3 (0%)2/3 (66.7%)1/3 (33.3%)
Most frequent serious events
Most frequent serious events
EventCabazitaxelEnzalutamide or AbirateroneAbirateroneEnzalutamide
SeizureNervous system disorders0/41/40/11/3
HaematuriaRenal and urinary disorders0/41/40/11/3
PancytopeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders1/40/40/10/3
FallInjury, poisoning and procedural complications0/41/40/10/3
Humerus FractureInjury, poisoning and procedural complications0/41/40/10/3
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 31
Most frequent other events
EventCabazitaxelEnzalutamide or AbirateroneAbirateroneEnzalutamide
HypophosphataemiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders0/41/41/10/3
Hot FlushVascular disorders0/41/41/10/3
DiarrhoeaGastrointestinal disorders2/40/40/10/3
Oedema PeripheralGeneral disorders2/40/40/10/3
Muscular WeaknessMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders2/40/40/10/3
Neuropathy PeripheralNervous system disorders2/40/40/10/3
NauseaGastrointestinal disorders1/41/40/11/3
VomitingGastrointestinal disorders1/41/40/11/3
InfluenzaInfections and infestations0/41/40/11/3
FallInjury, poisoning and procedural complications0/41/40/11/3

Baseline characteristics

All randomized participants who were exposed to at least one dose of study treatment.

Age, Categorical
Age, Categorical(Participants)CabazitaxelAbiraterone Acetate or EnzalutamideTotal
<=18 years000
Between 18 and 65 years101
>=65 years347
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)CabazitaxelAbiraterone Acetate or EnzalutamideTotal
Female000
Male448
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)CabazitaxelAbiraterone Acetate or EnzalutamideTotal
Hispanic or Latino000
Not Hispanic or Latino448
Unknown or Not Reported000
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)CabazitaxelAbiraterone Acetate or EnzalutamideTotal
American Indian or Alaska Native000
Asian000
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander000
Black or African American101
White347
More than one race000
Unknown or Not Reported000
08

Study locations

24 sites
  • Investigational Site Number 840030
    Muscle Shoals, Alabama 35661, United States
  • Investigational Site Number 840024
    Anchorage, Alaska 99508, United States
  • Investigational Site Number 840028
    Anaheim, California 92801, United States
  • Investigational Site Number 840004
    Sacramento, California 95817, United States
  • Investigational Site Number 840002
    Boca Raton, Florida 33486, United States
  • Investigational Site Number 840027
    Lakeland, Florida 33805, United States
  • Investigational Site Number 840006
    Port Saint Lucie, Florida 34952, United States
  • Investigational Site Number 840015
    Ottawa, Illinois 61350, United States
  • Investigational Site Number 840001
    Covington, Louisiana 70433, United States
  • Investigational Site Number 840017
    Metairie, Louisiana 70006, United States
  • Investigational Site Number 840012
    Rockville, Maryland 20850, United States
  • Investigational Site Number 840026
    Omaha, Nebraska 68198, United States
  • Investigational Site Number 840022
    Canton, Ohio 44718, United States
  • Investigational Site Number 840016
    Myrtle Beach, South Carolina 29572, United States
  • Investigational Site Number 124003
    Edmonton, T6G 1Z2, Canada
  • Investigational Site Number 124010
    Greenfield Park, J4V2H1, Canada
  • Investigational Site Number 124005
    Hamilton, L8V 5C2, Canada
  • Investigational Site Number 124004
    London, N6A 4L6, Canada
  • Investigational Site Number 124002
    Montreal, H2L 4M1, Canada
  • Investigational Site Number 124006
    Montreal, H2W1S6, Canada
  • Investigational Site Number 124007
    Ottawa, K1H8L6, Canada
  • Investigational Site Number 124009
    Quebec, G1R 2J6, Canada
  • Investigational Site Number 124008
    Saskatoon, S7N4H4, Canada
  • Investigational Site Number 124001
    Vancouver, N5Z4E6, Canada
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Study protocol · Feb 22, 2016
  • Statistical analysis plan · Mar 29, 2017

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Jun 21, 2019, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT02379390
Lead sponsor
Sanofi
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Mar 4, 2015
Start date
Jun 17, 2015
Primary completion
May 10, 2018
Completion
May 10, 2018
Results posted
Jun 21, 2019
Last update
Jun 21, 2019

Study contacts

Clinical Sciences & Operations
study director · Sanofi

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is terminated, as verified in Jun 2019. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion