CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT02360371Updated Feb 27, 2025Results posted

A118G SNP and OPRM1 Gene Opioid-Mediated Effects in Humans

A Phase 2 interventional study of Within-subject test of blinded study medication in Opioid Sensitivity, Individual Difference and Abuse Opioids, sponsored by Johns Hopkins University. Completed at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 21 Years and older, including healthy volunteers. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2025-02-27.

Sponsored by Johns Hopkins University · Phase 2, Interventional, and Basic science

Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
100
Allocation
Not applicable
Ages
21 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

Within-subject, double-blind, placebo-controlled examination of opioid abuse potential in healthy individuals as a function of A118G SNP on the OPRM1 gene.

Read the detailed description

Participants completed a 5-day, within-subject, double-blind, placebo-controlled, randomized, human laboratory abuse potential trial. Healthy individuals were admitted to a residential research unit for 5 consecutive days. Blood samples were drawn for genome wide analyses using the Global Screening Array on day 1. Participants were administered an oral dose of the opioid hydromorphone (4mg) on day 2 of the study. Persons who did not evidence strong agonist effects then proceeded into the randomized period wherein they received 0mg, 2mg, and 8mg of oral hydromorphone on the remaining three study days. The order of dosing was randomized, with only 1 dose administered per day and all participants receiving 1 exposure to each dose. Outcomes were standard human abuse potential metrics, including self-reported drug effects and feeling high. Data were analyzed as a function of the A118SNP on the OPRM1 gene that codes for the mu opioid receptor. The overall aim was to determine whether signal for abuse potential among persons with no history of opioid misuse was associated with genotype.

02

Conditions studied

  • Opioid Sensitivity
  • Individual Difference
  • Abuse Opioids

Browse trials for

Keywords

  • opioid
  • abuse
  • genetic
  • A118G
  • OPRM1
03

In context

Hypersensitivity

1,916 studies on the registry are indexed under Hypersensitivity; 265 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 100 is above the median of 57 across 1,384 interventional studies indexed under Hypersensitivity.

Browse Hypersensitivity studies →

Lead sponsor

Johns Hopkins University is the lead sponsor of 1,783 studies on the registry; 313 are open to participants now.

Of its 203 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 140 (69%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
21 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
Yes

Inclusion criteria

  1. Provide a urine sample that tests negative for opioids, methadone, buprenorphine, oxycodone, amphetamine, cocaine, and benzodiazepines
  2. Negative ethanol breath test (0.000)
  3. Aged 21-50
  4. Deemed medically eligible to take hydromorphone

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criterion:

  1. Answer "yes" to question 1 of the Brief Pain Inventory (89) to assess the presence of chronic pain.
  2. Current use of opioids or other medications for pain
  3. Meet DSM-5 criteria for current or lifetime alcohol or drug use disorder (excluding nicotine)
  4. Self-report any illicit drug use in the past 7 days
  5. Self-report opioid use >5 days in the past 30
  6. Evidence of opioid physical dependence at screening or following 1st residential overnight (following confirmed opioid abstinence)
  7. Allergy to hydromorphone or other opioid agonists
  8. Experience an adverse event that warrants opioid antagonist treatment following 1st hydromorphone dose.
  9. If female, not be pregnant or breastfeeding
  10. Presence of any clinically significant medical (e.g., chronic renal insufficiency, history of myocardial infarction, seizure disorder) and/or psychiatric illness (e.g., schizophrenia, bipolar disorder) that may interfere with study participation.
  11. BMI >30 (obese category)
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Basic science
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
Quadruple (Participant, Care provider, Investigator, Outcomes assessor)
Enrollment
100 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Placebo comparator
    Placebo (oral)

    Within-subject double-blind, administration of placebo oral capsule. Order of dose randomized session days 3-5.

    Drug: Within-subject test of blinded study medication

  • Experimental
    Hydromorphone (oral) 2mg

    Within-subject double-blind, administration of hydromorphone via oral capsule. Order of dose randomized session days 3-5.

    Drug: Within-subject test of blinded study medication

  • Experimental
    Hydromorphone (oral) 4mg

    Hydromorphone oral capsule administered in double-blind manner on Day 2 as first study drug administration. Hydromorphone 4mg dosing day was set for safety purposes and non-randomized.

    Drug: Within-subject test of blinded study medication

  • Experimental
    Hydromorphone (oral) 8mg

    Within-subject double-blind, administration of hydromorphone via oral capsule. Order of dose randomized session days 3-5.

    Drug: Within-subject test of blinded study medication

Interventions

  • DrugWithin-subject test of blinded study medication

    Within-subject double-blind, randomized, placebo-controlled, residential human abuse potential study. All participants received 4mg oral hydromorphone on study day 2 and a subset continued into the randomized portion for study days 3-5 wherein they received placebo, 2mg hydromorphone, and 8mg hydromorphone in randomized order. Only one dose was administered per day and following randomized all participants received each dose in random order. Outcomes were collected during 8-hour residential-based sessions and included metrics of FDA human abuse potential testing as well as secondary outcomes of laboratory pain testing, subjective reports of drug effects, and cognitive performance, evaluated as a function of study medication condition. Participants were genotyped for rs-1799971 status and results were analyzed as between-group comparisons based upon genotype.

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Self-report Visual Analog Ratings of HIGH

    Peak visual analog rating scale values of HIGH (rated on 0-100 scale with higher scores indicating higher feeling of being HIGH) collected at 30 minute intervals post-drug administration for 6 hours.

    Time frame: 30 minutes after study drug administration

  2. Self-report Visual Analog Ratings of DRUG EFFECT

    Peak visual analog rating scale values of DRUG EFFECT (rated on 0-100 scale with higher scores indicating higher drug effect) collected at 30 minute intervals post-drug administration for 6 hours.

    Time frame: 30 minutes after study drug administration

07

Results

Posted Oct 5, 2021

Participant flow

100 participants were recruited from the community for participation. Analyses were based upon OPRM1 rs-1799971 allele status (A, G), which was available for 97 participants. All participants completed the same 4 study arms.

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneA118G (rs1799971-G)A118A (rs1799971-A)
Started1384
Placebo (oral)1369
Hydromorphone (oral) 2mg1369
Hydromorphone (oral) 4mg1369
Hydromorphone (oral) 8mg1369
Completed1369
Not completed015

Outcome measures

PrimarySelf-report Visual Analog Ratings of HIGH

Peak visual analog rating scale values of HIGH (rated on 0-100 scale with higher scores indicating higher feeling of being HIGH) collected at 30 minute intervals post-drug administration for 6 hours.

Time frame:
30 minutes after study drug administration
Reported as:
Mean · score on a scale
Self-report Visual Analog Ratings of HIGH
score on a scaleA118G (rs1799971-G)A118A (rs1799971-A)
Placebo (oral)7.2 ± 13.26.6 ± 16.3
Hydromorphone (oral) 2mg4.5 ± 5.95.6 ± 15.4
Hydromorphone (oral) 4mg12.5 ± 19.818.4 ± 26.4
Hydromorphone (oral) 8mg25.5 ± 29.722.5 ± 27.2
Statistical analysis
  • A118G (rs1799971-G) vs A118A (rs1799971-A) · Mixed methods · p = 0.567
PrimarySelf-report Visual Analog Ratings of DRUG EFFECT

Peak visual analog rating scale values of DRUG EFFECT (rated on 0-100 scale with higher scores indicating higher drug effect) collected at 30 minute intervals post-drug administration for 6 hours.

Time frame:
30 minutes after study drug administration
Reported as:
Mean · score on a scale
Self-report Visual Analog Ratings of DRUG EFFECT
score on a scaleA118G (rs1799971-G)A118A (rs1799971-A)
Placebo (oral)13.3 ± 21.311.1 ± 20.0
Hydromorphone (oral) 2mg10.8 ± 16.511.0 ± 20.7
Hydromorphone (oral) 4mg23.6 ± 27.031.9 ± 29.9
Hydromorphone (oral) 8mg39.2 ± 37.339.5 ± 32.1
Statistical analysis
  • A118G (rs1799971-G) vs A118A (rs1799971-A) · Mixed Model · p = 0.805

Adverse events

Collected over Adverse events collected for 6 hours post each drug administration session. Only adverse events (AEs) judged to be possibly, probably, or definitely related to study participation are reported.. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Placebo (Oral)0/82 (0%)0/82 (0%)19/82 (23.2%)
Hydromorphone (Oral) 2mg0/82 (0%)0/82 (0%)21/82 (25.6%)
Hydromorphone (Oral) 4mg0/97 (0%)0/97 (0%)65/97 (67%)
Hydromorphone (Oral) 8mg0/82 (0%)0/82 (0%)49/82 (59.8%)
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 16
Most frequent other events
EventPlacebo (Oral)Hydromorphone (Oral) 2mgHydromorphone (Oral) 4mgHydromorphone (Oral) 8mg
DrowsinessNervous system disorders10/8210/8231/9720/82
NauseaGastrointestinal disorders3/825/8229/9718/82
VomitingGastrointestinal disorders0/820/8214/977/82
DizzinessNervous system disorders0/820/828/979/82
Light HeadednessNervous system disorders1/821/8210/977/82
HeadacheGeneral disorders5/828/826/976/82
Pruritus (Itching)Nervous system disorders0/822/824/978/82
LethargyNervous system disorders2/821/829/971/82
SleepinessNervous system disorders1/822/828/974/82
Dry Mouth (Xerostomia)General disorders1/820/825/976/82

Baseline characteristics

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)A118G (rs1799971-G)A118A (rs1799971-A)Total
Mean37.6 ± 10.033.3 ± 8.933.9 ± 9.1
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)A118G (rs1799971-G)A118A (rs1799971-A)Total
Female44549
Male93948
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)A118G (rs1799971-G)A118A (rs1799971-A)Total
Hispanic or Latino358
Not Hispanic or Latino107989
Unknown or Not Reported000
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)A118G (rs1799971-G)A118A (rs1799971-A)Total
American Indian or Alaska Native101
Asian145
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander022
Black or African American24345
White92837
More than one race055
Unknown or Not Reported022
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(participants)A118G (rs1799971-G)A118A (rs1799971-A)Total
United States138497
08

Study locations

1 site
  • Johns Hopkins University Bayview Medical Campus
    Baltimore, Maryland 21224, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Oct 16, 2019
  • Informed consent form · Oct 29, 2019

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Feb 27, 2025, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT02360371
Lead sponsor
Johns Hopkins University
Collaborators
National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Feb 10, 2015
Start date
Apr 2015
Primary completion
May 2020
Completion
May 2021
Results posted
Oct 5, 2021
Last update
Feb 27, 2025

Study contacts

Kelly E Dunn, Ph.D., MBA
principal investigator · Johns Hopkins University

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Feb 2025. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion