An interventional study of SIFS graft containment device in Lumbar Degenerative Disc Disease, sponsored by Spineology, Inc. Completed at 10 sites in United States. Open to participants aged 21 Years to 80 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2021-10-20.
Sponsored by Spineology, Inc · Not applicable, Interventional, and Treatment
This study evaluated the safety and effectiveness of the Spineology Interbody Fusion System (SIFS) in an instrumented interbody lumbar fusion in subjects presenting with symptomatic single-level lumbar degenerative disc disease.
This regulated prospective, multi-center, Institutional Review Board (IRB) approved single-arm performance goal clinical investigation was conducted at 10 centers with 102 subjects being enrolled and treated.
Subjects were actively evaluated from pre-op to 24-months postoperative. Based on enrollment duration, some subjects were remotely assessed through self-administered surveys at 36- and/or 48-months.
The primary endpoint, assessed at 24-months postoperative, is a composite score that includes pain, function, fusion and safety assessments.
464 studies on the registry are indexed under Intervertebral Disc Degeneration; 98 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 102 is above the median of 60 across 261 interventional studies indexed under Intervertebral Disc Degeneration.
Browse Intervertebral Disc Degeneration studies →Spineology, Inc is the lead sponsor of 3 studies on the registry; none are open to participants now.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Exclusion Criteria:
This is a single-arm investigation. All subjects were treated with the SIFS device filled with bone graft. Posterior fixation required.
Device: SIFS graft containment device
The SIFS mesh is a graft containment and reinforcement device. Following conventional thorough discectomy, the disc space is entered through a small portal in the annulus, the SIFS mesh is introduced, deployed and then filled with bone graft. Bilateral commercially available posterior lumbar fixation is applied.
Also known as: SIFS mesh
Overall Success
The primary endpoint of this trial is the rate of Patient Success at 24-months defined as a composite endpoint that includes: 1. Pain -- Clinically meaningful reduction in low back pain Visual Analog Scale (VAS) score at 24-months post-operative. A clinically meaningful reduction is defined as a difference of at least 20 mm compared to pre-op (pre-op score minus post-op score). 2. Function -- Clinically meaningful improvement in function at 24-months post-operative. A clinically meaningful improvement is defined as a reduction of at least 15 points compared to baseline (pre-op Oswestry Disability Index (ODI) score minus the post-op ODI score). 3. Fusion -- Defined as bridging bone demonstrated on computed tomography (CT) scan 4. Safety -- No device-related serious adverse events (SAEs) from intra-op through the 24-month timepoint. For the study to be a success, 68% of subjects need to meet the above success criteria.
Time frame: 24 months
Mean Low Back Pain Score at 24-months Post-operative
A Visual Analog Scale (VAS) score was used to evaluate a subject's level of pain. The VAS is a 100 mm horizontal line where score of "0" represents "No Pain" and a score of "100" represents the "Worst possible" pain. The subject marks a vertical line across the horizontal line representing their pain level. The pain score is obtained by using a ruler to measure where the vertical line intersects the horizontal line. Improvement is defined as a clinically meaningful difference (20 mm reduction) when compared to pre-op. Success for this parameter is evaluated at the 24-month visit.
Time frame: 24 months
Mean Back Function Score at 24-months Post-operative
A subject's back function was assessed by the Oswestry Disability Index (ODI). The ODI is a 10 question survey that evaluates the degree of functional impairment. Completion of the survey yields a score from "0" to "100" points. A score of "0" represents "No disability" and "100" represents "Total disability". A clinically meaningful difference is defined as a 15-point reduction when compared to pre-op. Success for this parameter is evaluated at the 24-month visit.
Time frame: 24 months
Mean Right Leg Pain Score at 24-months Post-operative
A Visual Analog Scale (VAS) score was used to evaluate a subject's level of pain. The VAS is a 100 mm horizontal line where score of "0" represents "No Pain" and a score of "100" represents the "Worst possible" pain. The subject marks a vertical line across the horizontal line representing their pain level. The pain score is obtained by using a ruler to measure where the vertical line intersects the horizontal line. Improvement is defined as a clinically meaningful difference (20 mm reduction) when compared to pre-op. Success for this parameter is evaluated at the 24-month visit.
Time frame: 24 months
Mean Left Leg Pain Score at 24-months Post-operative
A Visual Analog Scale (VAS) score was used to evaluate a subject's level of pain. The VAS is a 100 mm horizontal line where score of "0" represents "No Pain" and a score of "100" represents the "Worst possible" pain. The subject marks a vertical line across the horizontal line representing their pain level. The pain score is obtained by using a ruler to measure where the vertical line intersects the horizontal line. Improvement is defined as a clinically meaningful difference (20 mm reduction) when compared to pre-op. Success for this parameter is evaluated at the 24-month visit.
Time frame: 24 Months
Number of Participants With Bridging Bone Presence
Bridging bone demonstrated on CT scan. Independent Board-certified radiologists determine fusion status.
Time frame: 24 months
Number of Participants Experiencing a Device-Related Serious Adverse Event
Events adjudicated by Independent Spine Surgeon Committee that are determined to be a Device-Related Serious Adverse Event (SAE).
Time frame: Intra-Op through 24-month interval
Number of Participants With a Neurological Maintenance or Improvement
Rate of subjects that were neurologically improved or maintained compared to baseline
Time frame: 24 months
Number of Participants Working
Compared the number of participants working at 24-months to number of subjects working at baseline
Time frame: 24 months
Number of Participants With Narcotic Pain Medication
Narcotic pain medication use for back pain was compared to baseline.
Time frame: 24 Months
Blood Loss
Blood loss (cc) reported for the surgical procedure.
Time frame: At the conclusion of the surgical procedure, an average of 2.6 hours
Duration of Surgery
Operative time (from incision to closure).
Time frame: At the conclusion of the surgical procedure
Duration of Hospital Stay
Number of days subject was in the hospital (from admission to discharge).
Time frame: From admission through discharge, an average of 2 days
Patient Satisfaction
Subjects rating their procedure as excellent or good
Time frame: 24-Months
| Milestone | SIFS Graft Containment Device |
|---|---|
| Started | 102 |
| Completed | 98 |
| Not completed | 4 |
The primary endpoint of this trial is the rate of Patient Success at 24-months defined as a composite endpoint that includes: 1. Pain -- Clinically meaningful reduction in low back pain Visual Analog Scale (VAS) score at 24-months post-operative. A clinically meaningful reduction is defined as a difference of at least 20 mm compared to pre-op (pre-op score minus post-op score). 2. Function -- Clinically meaningful improvement in function at 24-months post-operative. A clinically meaningful improvement is defined as a reduction of at least 15 points compared to baseline (pre-op Oswestry Disability Index (ODI) score minus the post-op ODI score). 3. Fusion -- Defined as bridging bone demonstrated on computed tomography (CT) scan 4. Safety -- No device-related serious adverse events (SAEs) from intra-op through the 24-month timepoint. For the study to be a success, 68% of subjects need to meet the above success criteria.
| Participants | SIFS Investigation Gp |
|---|---|
| Overall Success | 71 |
A Visual Analog Scale (VAS) score was used to evaluate a subject's level of pain. The VAS is a 100 mm horizontal line where score of "0" represents "No Pain" and a score of "100" represents the "Worst possible" pain. The subject marks a vertical line across the horizontal line representing their pain level. The pain score is obtained by using a ruler to measure where the vertical line intersects the horizontal line. Improvement is defined as a clinically meaningful difference (20 mm reduction) when compared to pre-op. Success for this parameter is evaluated at the 24-month visit.
| units on a scale | Investigation Group |
|---|---|
| Mean Low Back Pain Score at 24-months Post-operative | 21.8 ± 24.5 |
A subject's back function was assessed by the Oswestry Disability Index (ODI). The ODI is a 10 question survey that evaluates the degree of functional impairment. Completion of the survey yields a score from "0" to "100" points. A score of "0" represents "No disability" and "100" represents "Total disability". A clinically meaningful difference is defined as a 15-point reduction when compared to pre-op. Success for this parameter is evaluated at the 24-month visit.
| score on a scale | Investigation Group |
|---|---|
| Mean Back Function Score at 24-months Post-operative | 21.0 ± 19.3 |
A Visual Analog Scale (VAS) score was used to evaluate a subject's level of pain. The VAS is a 100 mm horizontal line where score of "0" represents "No Pain" and a score of "100" represents the "Worst possible" pain. The subject marks a vertical line across the horizontal line representing their pain level. The pain score is obtained by using a ruler to measure where the vertical line intersects the horizontal line. Improvement is defined as a clinically meaningful difference (20 mm reduction) when compared to pre-op. Success for this parameter is evaluated at the 24-month visit.
| units on a scale | SIFS Graft Containment Device |
|---|---|
| Mean Right Leg Pain Score at 24-months Post-operative | 10.5 ± 19.5 |
A Visual Analog Scale (VAS) score was used to evaluate a subject's level of pain. The VAS is a 100 mm horizontal line where score of "0" represents "No Pain" and a score of "100" represents the "Worst possible" pain. The subject marks a vertical line across the horizontal line representing their pain level. The pain score is obtained by using a ruler to measure where the vertical line intersects the horizontal line. Improvement is defined as a clinically meaningful difference (20 mm reduction) when compared to pre-op. Success for this parameter is evaluated at the 24-month visit.
| units on a scale | SIFS Graft Containment Device |
|---|---|
| Mean Left Leg Pain Score at 24-months Post-operative | 13.2 ± 22.6 |
Bridging bone demonstrated on CT scan. Independent Board-certified radiologists determine fusion status.
| Participants | SIFS Graft Containment Device |
|---|---|
| Number of Participants With Bridging Bone Presence | 95 |
Events adjudicated by Independent Spine Surgeon Committee that are determined to be a Device-Related Serious Adverse Event (SAE).
| Participants | Investigation Group |
|---|---|
| Number of Participants Experiencing a Device-Related Serious Adverse Event | 0 |
Rate of subjects that were neurologically improved or maintained compared to baseline
| Participants | Investigation Group |
|---|---|
| Number of Participants With a Neurological Maintenance or Improvement | 92 |
Compared the number of participants working at 24-months to number of subjects working at baseline
| Participants | Participants Working at Baseline | Participants Working at 24-Month Visit |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Participants Working | 54 | 46 |
Narcotic pain medication use for back pain was compared to baseline.
| Participants | Investigation Group |
|---|---|
| Number of Participants With Narcotic Pain Medication | 17 |
Blood loss (cc) reported for the surgical procedure.
| cubic centimeters of blood (cc) | Investigation Group |
|---|---|
| Blood Loss | 137.3 ± 217.4 |
Operative time (from incision to closure).
| hours | Investigation Group |
|---|---|
| Duration of Surgery | 2.6 ± 0.9 |
Number of days subject was in the hospital (from admission to discharge).
| days | Investigation Group |
|---|---|
| Duration of Hospital Stay | 2.3 ± 1.2 |
Subjects rating their procedure as excellent or good
| Participants | Investigation Group |
|---|---|
| Patient Satisfaction | 88 |
Collected over From Intraoperative through 24-months postoperative.. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Investigation Group | 1/102 (1%) | 12/102 (11.8%) | 0/102 (0%) |
| Event | Investigation Group |
|---|---|
| StenosisSurgical and medical procedures | 4/102 |
| Adjacent level diseaseSurgical and medical procedures | 2/102 |
| Dural leakSurgical and medical procedures | 1/102 |
| Pulmonary thromboembolismRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 1/102 |
| HematomaSurgical and medical procedures | 1/102 |
| Contralateral leg painMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders | 1/102 |
| Device improper placementSurgical and medical procedures | 1/102 |
| Back and leg painMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders | 1/102 |
| Age, Categorical(Participants) | SIFS Graft Containment Device |
|---|---|
| <=18 years | 0 |
| Between 18 and 65 years | 71 |
| >=65 years | 31 |
| Age, Continuous(Years) | SIFS Graft Containment Device |
|---|---|
| Mean | 57.0 ± 12.0 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | SIFS Graft Containment Device |
|---|---|
| Female | 51 |
| Male | 51 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | SIFS Graft Containment Device |
|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 4 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 98 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | SIFS Graft Containment Device |
|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 |
| Asian | 0 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 |
| Black or African American | 4 |
| White | 96 |
| More than one race | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 2 |
| Region of Enrollment(participants) | SIFS Graft Containment Device |
|---|---|
| United States | 102 |
| Low Back Pain Status(units on a scale) | SIFS Graft Containment Device |
|---|---|
| Mean | 74.1 ± 16.1 |
| Right Leg Pain Status(units on a scale) | SIFS Graft Containment Device |
|---|---|
| Mean | 42.9 ± 34.1 |
2 further baseline measures are reported on the registry.
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
This study is completed, as verified in Oct 2021. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Intervertebral Disc Degeneration→
Spineology, Inc