A Phase 1 interventional study of OBI-833/OBI-821 in Metastatic Gastric Cancer, Metastatic Breast Cancer and Metastatic Colorectal Cancer, sponsored by OBI Pharma, Inc. Completed at 4 sites in Taiwan. Open to participants aged 21 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2022-10-03.
Sponsored by OBI Pharma, Inc · Phase 1, Interventional, and Treatment
The purpose of this clinical study is to assess the safety and tolerability and efficacy of active immunotherapy with dose escalation and cohort expansion of OBI-833 in advanced/metastatic gastric, lung, colorectal, or breast cancer subjects.
2,914 studies on the registry are indexed under Stomach Neoplasms; 881 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 25 is below the median of 66 across 2,143 interventional studies indexed under Stomach Neoplasms.
Browse Stomach Neoplasms studies →OBI Pharma, Inc is the lead sponsor of 9 studies on the registry; 2 are open to participants now.
Of its 5 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 3 (60%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Go through the criteria one by one — yes, no or not sure — and take the list to your doctor or the study team. Kept in this browser only.
Dose escalation: Subjects with recurrent or metastatic incurable disease that failed to respond to at least one line of anticancer standard therapy and for which standard treatment is no longer effective or tolerable.
Cohort expansion phase: Subjects with recurrent or metastatic NSCLC who have achieved stable disease (SD), or partial response (PR) status after at least 1 regimen of anticancer therapy (i.e., chemotherapy, or targeted therapy, or PD-1/PD-L1 antagonists either alone or in combination) , and there are no standard treatments available except permitted Target or PD-1/PD-L1 therapies
Dose Escalation Phase: No known central nervous system (CNS) metastases or neurological symptoms possibly related to active CNS metastasis in Dose Escalation Phase.
Cohort Expansion Phase: Subjects with asymptomatic CNS metastases for at least four weeks before study drug treatment
Organ Function Requirements - Subjects must have adequate organ functions as defined below:
AST/ALT ≤ 3X ULN (upper limit of normal) AST/ALT ≤ 5X ULN [with underlying liver metastasis] Total bilirubin ≤ 2.0 X ULN Serum creatinine ≤ 1.5X ULN ANC ≥ 1500 /µL Platelets > 100,000/µL
Exclusion Criteria:
Subjects with any autoimmune disorders requiring iv/oral steroids or immunosuppressive or immunomodulatory therapies.
- e.g., Type 1 juvenile onset diabetes mellitus, antibody positive for rheumatoid arthritis, Grave's disease, Hashimoto's thyroiditis, lupus, scleroderma, systemic vasculitis, hemolytic anemia, immune mediated thrombocytopenia, etc.
Dose escalation phase: Subjects with any of the following MEDICATIONS within 4 weeks prior to IP treatment, except permitted therapies as listed in section 7.1:
Cohort Expansion Phase: Subjects with any of the following MEDICATIONS within 4 weeks prior to IP treatment, except permitted therapies:
Each subject will be given a total of 10 doses of OBI-833/OBI-821 subcutaneously at weeks 1,2,3,4,6,8,12,16,20,and 24 (Visits 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9 and 10, respectively). Post treatment, subjects will be continually evaluated for safety and immune response every 4 weeks until the end of study, which is 12 weeks after the last dose, i.e., week 36. Subsequently, subjects will be followed for survival every 8 weeks up to 12 months after the end of study.
Drug: OBI-833/OBI-821
Each subject will be given OBI-833/OBI-821 at Weeks 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, 16, 20, 24, and every 8 weeks thereafter (Visits 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, and every 8 weeks thereafter) until disease progression. For the subjects discontinued treatment because of disease progression, subjects will be continually evaluated for safety and immune response every 8 weeks until the end of the study, which is 24 weeks after the last dose.
Drug: OBI-833/OBI-821
Number of Participants With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events
Time frame: Approximately 13 weeks for dose escalation cohorts and 44 weeks for expansion cohort
Maximal Post-baseline Anti-Globo H Antibody Responses
Anti-Globo H IgM and IgG concentrations were measured using a chemical binding assay.
Time frame: Approximately 13 weeks for dose escalation cohorts and 44 weeks for expansion cohort
| Milestone | Dose Escalation - Cohort 1 | Dose Escalation - Cohort 2 | Dose Escalation - Cohort 3 | Expansion Cohort |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Started | 4 | 3 | 4 | 14 |
| Completed | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Not completed | 4 | 3 | 4 | 13 |
| Participants | Dose Escalation - Cohort 1 | Dose Escalation - Cohort 2 | Dose Escalation - Cohort 3 | Expansion Cohort |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Serious TEAEs | 1 | 0 | 3 | 3 |
| Any TEAEs | 4 | 3 | 4 | 13 |
Anti-Globo H IgM and IgG concentrations were measured using a chemical binding assay.
| μg/mL | Dose Escalation - Cohort 1 | Dose Escalation - Cohort 2 | Dose Escalation - Cohort 3 | Expansion Cohort |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Maximal post-baseline anti-Globo H IgM concentration | 4.602 (0.392 to 54.081) | 2.048 (1.116 to 3.758) | 3.165 (2.322 to 4.315) | 13.920 (5.835 to 33.207) |
| Maximal post-baseline anti-Globo H IgG concentration | 5.011 (0.209 to 120.156) | 1.000 (NA to NA) | 2.186 (0.406 to 11.783) | 9.472 (4.372 to 20.523) |
Collected over Approximately 13 weeks for dose escalation cohorts and 44 weeks for expansion cohort.. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dose Escalation - Cohort 1 | 1/4 (25%) | 1/4 (25%) | 4/4 (100%) |
| Dose Escalation - Cohort 2 | 0/3 (0%) | 0/3 (0%) | 3/3 (100%) |
| Dose Escalation - Cohort 3 | 1/4 (25%) | 3/4 (75%) | 4/4 (100%) |
| Expansion Cohort | 3/14 (21.4%) | 3/14 (21.4%) | 13/14 (92.9%) |
| Event | Dose Escalation - Cohort 1 | Dose Escalation - Cohort 2 | Dose Escalation - Cohort 3 | Expansion Cohort |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Disease ProgressionGeneral disorders | 0/4 | 0/3 | 1/4 | 0/14 |
| HyponatraemiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 0/4 | 0/3 | 1/4 | 0/14 |
| Malignant pleural effusionNeoplasms benign, malignant and unspecified (incl cysts and polyps) | 0/4 | 0/3 | 1/4 | 0/14 |
| Acute kidney injuryRenal and urinary disorders | 0/4 | 0/3 | 1/4 | 1/14 |
| Acute respiratory failureRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 1/4 | 0/3 | 0/4 | 0/14 |
| AscitesGastrointestinal disorders | 0/4 | 0/3 | 0/4 | 1/14 |
| Pancreatitis AcuteGastrointestinal disorders | 0/4 | 0/3 | 0/4 | 1/14 |
| PneumoniaInfections and infestations | 0/4 | 0/3 | 0/4 | 1/14 |
| Septic ShockInfections and infestations | 0/4 | 0/3 | 0/4 | 1/14 |
| Event | Dose Escalation - Cohort 1 | Dose Escalation - Cohort 2 | Dose Escalation - Cohort 3 | Expansion Cohort |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Injection site indurationGeneral disorders | 3/4 | 3/3 | 2/4 | 0/14 |
| Injection site erythemaGeneral disorders | 2/4 | 3/3 | 2/4 | 0/14 |
| Injection site painGeneral disorders | 1/4 | 3/3 | 2/4 | 1/14 |
| Injection site swellingGeneral disorders | 0/4 | 2/3 | 1/4 | 7/14 |
| Injection site paraesthesiaGeneral disorders | 0/4 | 2/3 | 0/4 | 0/14 |
| Decreased appetiteMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 1/4 | 2/3 | 1/4 | 1/14 |
| DehydrationMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 1/4 | 2/3 | 0/4 | 0/14 |
| Weight decreasedInvestigations | 0/4 | 2/3 | 2/4 | 0/14 |
| Oedema peripheralGeneral disorders | 1/4 | 0/3 | 2/4 | 0/14 |
| ConstipationGastrointestinal disorders | 1/4 | 0/3 | 2/4 | 2/14 |
| Age, Categorical(Participants) | Dose Escalation - Cohort 1 | Dose Escalation - Cohort 2 | Dose Escalation - Cohort 3 | Expansion Cohort | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| <=18 years | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Between 18 and 65 years | 1 | 2 | 3 | 11 | 17 |
| >=65 years | 3 | 1 | 1 | 3 | 8 |
| Age, Continuous(years) | Dose Escalation - Cohort 1 | Dose Escalation - Cohort 2 | Dose Escalation - Cohort 3 | Expansion Cohort | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 63 ± 10.61 | 65 ± 10.44 | 58 ± 9.42 | 59.2 ± 10.25 | 60.3 ± 9.82 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Dose Escalation - Cohort 1 | Dose Escalation - Cohort 2 | Dose Escalation - Cohort 3 | Expansion Cohort | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 3 | 3 | 3 | 7 | 16 |
| Male | 1 | 0 | 1 | 7 | 9 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Dose Escalation - Cohort 1 | Dose Escalation - Cohort 2 | Dose Escalation - Cohort 3 | Expansion Cohort | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 4 | 3 | 4 | 14 | 25 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Dose Escalation - Cohort 1 | Dose Escalation - Cohort 2 | Dose Escalation - Cohort 3 | Expansion Cohort | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Asian | 1 | 0 | 1 | 14 | 16 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Black or African American | 0 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 2 |
| White | 3 | 2 | 2 | 0 | 7 |
| More than one race | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Region of Enrollment(participants) | Dose Escalation - Cohort 1 | Dose Escalation - Cohort 2 | Dose Escalation - Cohort 3 | Expansion Cohort | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| United States | 3 | 3 | 3 | 0 | 9 |
| Taiwan | 1 | 0 | 1 | 14 | 16 |
| Cancer Type(Participants) | Dose Escalation - Cohort 1 | Dose Escalation - Cohort 2 | Dose Escalation - Cohort 3 | Expansion Cohort | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Colorectal | 3 | 1 | 4 | 0 | 8 |
| Lung | 1 | 0 | 0 | 14 | 15 |
| Breast | 0 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 2 |
| Tumor Globo H Expression(scores on a scale) | Dose Escalation - Cohort 1 | Dose Escalation - Cohort 2 | Dose Escalation - Cohort 3 | Expansion Cohort | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | — | — | — | 130.6 ± 83.77 | 130.6 ± 83.77 |
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
Plan to share: No
Ran from Dec 2015 to primary completion in Dec 2020, 60 months.
Results were first posted in Oct 2022, 1 year 9 months after primary completion.
Of 110 industry-sponsored phase 1 interventional studies under Stomach Neoplasms, half reached primary completion within 53 months of starting (the median), counting those still running; a quarter within 42 and three quarters within 74. This study's 60 months is above that.
Counting every sponsor, half of 172 studies reached it within 53 months; a quarter within 37 and three quarters within 74.
How these figures are worked out, and which studies are left out of them.
This study is completed, as verified in Sep 2022. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Studies of the drugs tested here: OBI-833 · OBI-821
OBI Pharma, Inc