CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT02256839Updated Aug 1, 2019Results posted

Evaluation of the QuantiFERON-TB Test.

An observational study in Tuberculosis, sponsored by QIAGEN Gaithersburg, Inc. Completed at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years to 80 Years, including healthy volunteers. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2019-08-01.

Sponsored by QIAGEN Gaithersburg, Inc · Observational

Study type
Observational
Model
Case-control
Time perspective
Prospective
Enrollment
268
Ages
18 Years to 80 Years
Sex
All
01

Study summary

To compare the results of the investigational test to the currently approved QuantiFERON-TB Gold In-Tube test.

Read the detailed description

To compare the specificity of the CST001 assay to the QFT Gold Test in low TB exposure risk subjects and non-tuberculosis mycobacterial infections.

02

Conditions studied

  • Tuberculosis

Browse trials for

Keywords

  • Tuberculosis
  • TB
03

In context

Tuberculosis

1,417 studies on the registry are indexed under Tuberculosis; 208 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 268 is close to the median of 250 across 421 observational studies indexed under Tuberculosis.

Browse Tuberculosis studies →

Lead sponsor

QIAGEN Gaithersburg, Inc is the lead sponsor of 26 studies on the registry; 1 is open to participants now.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years to 80 Years
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
Yes
Sampling method
Non-probability sample

Study population

Patients who have either low-exposure rist to tuberculosis or have non-tuberculous mycobacterial infections

Eligibility criteria

Low-exposure Risk Group

Inclusion Criteria:

  • No identified risk factors for TB infection

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Age less than 18 years or greater than 80 years
  • Identified Risk Factors For TB Infection

Non-tuberculous mycobacterial infection Group

Inclusion Criteria:

  • history of nontuberculous mycobacterial disease (pulmonary or extrapulmonary) in accordance with the 2007 ATS/IDSA criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Age less than 18 years or greater than 80 years
  • Identified Risk Factors For TB Infection
05

Study design

Observational model
Case-control
Time perspective
Prospective
Enrollment
268 participants (actual)
Patient registry
No

Groups and cohorts

  • non TB infection

    Group tested with CST_001

    Device: CST_001

  • low exposure risk

    Group tested with CST_001

    Device: CST_001

Interventions

  • DeviceCST_001
06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Clinical Specificity of the CST001 Assay as Measured by the Number of Correctly Identified Actual Negatives

    To compare the clinical specificity of the CST001 assay to the QuantiFERON-TB Gold test in low TB exposure risk subjects and non TB infected subjects based on an assessment of known risk factors. These subjects had no identified risk factors of TB infection.

    Time frame: 1 day (At time of enrollment)

07

Results

Posted Aug 1, 2019

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneNon TB InfectionLow Exposure Risk
Started53215
Completed51212
Not completed23
Withdrew: Did not meet eligibility criteria23

Outcome measures

PrimaryClinical Specificity of the CST001 Assay as Measured by the Number of Correctly Identified Actual Negatives

To compare the clinical specificity of the CST001 assay to the QuantiFERON-TB Gold test in low TB exposure risk subjects and non TB infected subjects based on an assessment of known risk factors. These subjects had no identified risk factors of TB infection.

Time frame:
1 day (At time of enrollment)
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Clinical Specificity of the CST001 Assay as Measured by the Number of Correctly Identified Actual Negatives
ParticipantsNon TB InfectionLow Exposure Risk
Clinical Specificity of the CST001 Assay as Measured by the Number of Correctly Identified Actual Negatives49208
Statistical analysis
  • Low Exposure Risk · 2 x 2 contingency table: 98.1 · 95% CI 95.3 to 99.3
  • Non TB Infection · 2 x 2 contingency table: 96.1 · 95% CI 85.4 to 99.3

Adverse events

Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Non TB Infection—0/51 (0%)0/51 (0%)
Low Exposure Risk—0/212 (0%)0/212 (0%)

Baseline characteristics

Age, Categorical
Age, Categorical(Participants)Non TB InfectionLow Exposure RiskTotal
<=18 years000
Between 18 and 65 years27207234
>=65 years24529
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Non TB InfectionLow Exposure RiskTotal
Female12157169
Male395594
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Non TB InfectionLow Exposure RiskTotal
Hispanic or Latino11011
Not Hispanic or Latino50193243
Unknown or Not Reported099
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Non TB InfectionLow Exposure RiskTotal
American Indian or Alaska Native112
Asian01313
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander000
Black or African American022
White49177226
More than one race11314
Unknown or Not Reported066
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(Participants)Non TB InfectionLow Exposure RiskTotal
United States51212263
08

Study locations

1 site
  • Oregon Health & Sciences University
    Portland, Oregon 97239, United States
09

References and documents

Publications

  • QuantiFERON - TB Gold Package Insert (Doc. No. US05990301L). March 2013. Cellestis Inc.
10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Aug 1, 2019, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT02256839
Lead sponsor
QIAGEN Gaithersburg, Inc
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Oct 6, 2014
Start date
Oct 2014
Primary completion
Oct 2015
Completion
Oct 2015
Results posted
Aug 1, 2019
Last update
Aug 1, 2019

Study contacts

Kevin Winthrop, MD, M.P.H
principal investigator · Oregon Health and Science University

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Jun 2019. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion