CClinicalTrials.gg
TerminatedNCT02204124Updated Sep 19, 2018Results posted

Whipple Procedure: Standard of Care vs. Thunderbeat

An interventional study of Thunderbeat and Standard of care scissors, ligatures, clips, and sutures in Pancreatic Neoplasms and Bile Duct Carcinoma, sponsored by Washington University School of Medicine. Terminated at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 22 Years to 75 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2018-09-19.

Sponsored by Washington University School of Medicine · Not applicable, Interventional, and Treatment

Why this study was terminated
Principal Investigator and Study Sponsor decided to terminate the study early
Phase
Not applicable
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
44
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
22 Years to 75 Years
Sex
All
01

Study summary

The Whipple procedure is the standard method for therapy for cancerous tumors, inflammation, and stenosis (narrowing) near the head of the pancreas. This is a prospective study to assess whether or not use of the Thunderbeat™ device may decrease blood loss and postoperative morbidity (the presence of illness or disease). The findings will then be compared to patients whose Whipple procedure will be performed using conventional dissection and hemostasis techniques.

Read the detailed description

As the pancreas is fed by many vessels, it is necessary to use lots of ligatures, clips and sutures for hemostasis after dissection. This dissection technique is very time consuming and requires numerous changes of instruments. The devices the investigators currently have available for use in the operating suite are EnSeal and LigaSure. A new type of surgical scissors that delivers ultrasonically generated frictional heat energy and electrically generated bipolar energy simultaneously, known as the Thunderbeat™ (Olympus, Japan), is now an available alternative for dissection and hemostasis.

Thunderbeat™ was provided FDA clearance in March 2012 for use in open, laparoscopic, and endoscopic surgery, or in any procedure in which cutting, vessel ligation (sealing and cutting), coagulation, grasping and dissection is performed.

The Thunderbeat™ device provides the first integration of both bipolar and ultrasonic energies delivered simultaneously from a single multi-functional instrument. This integration provides the surgeon the ability to rapidly cut tissue with ultrasonic energy and to create reliable vessel seals with bipolar energy without having to change devices. The current is provided by a special generator and contains a very high capacity with a low voltage. The body's proteins, such as collagen and elastin, are converted so a permanently sealed zone results. As the tissue between the branches is sealed, lateral thermic tissue damages can be limited to a minimum. Several authors have described a tendency of reduced intraoperative blood loss with bipolar energy devices. Other trials show reduced operating time when a bipolar device is utilized in several surgical procedures, such as thyroid, hepatic, urologic, hemorrhoidectomy and gynecology surgery.

Correct dissection in the operating field is very important to avert secondary bleeding or other complications, which might cause re-operation or elevate the patients' morbidity and mortality.

02

Conditions studied

  • Pancreatic Neoplasms
  • Bile Duct Carcinoma

Keywords

  • Whipple procedure
03

In context

Pancreatic Neoplasms

3,235 studies on the registry are indexed under Pancreatic Neoplasms; 899 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 44 is close to the median of 46 across 2,424 interventional studies indexed under Pancreatic Neoplasms.

Browse Pancreatic Neoplasms studies →

Lead sponsor

Washington University School of Medicine is the lead sponsor of 1,765 studies on the registry; 271 are open to participants now.

Of its 324 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 212 (65%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
22 Years to 75 Years
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Scheduled to undergo an elective open or laparoscopic Whipple procedure
  • At least 22 years of age.
  • Karnofsky performance status greater than or equal to 80%.
  • Able to understand and willing to sign a written informed consent document.

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Pregnant or breastfeeding.
  • Surgeon's opinion at the time of dissection that the subject's well being (e.g. bleeding or other independent acute health problems) would be compromised.
05

Study design

Phase
Not applicable
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
Single (Participant)
Enrollment
44 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Active comparator
    Control Group

    In the control group, scissors, ligatures, clips and sutures will be used for dissection and hemostasis as necessary.

    Device: Standard of care scissors, ligatures, clips, and sutures

  • Experimental
    Thunderbeat™

    -In the Thunderbeat™ group, dissection and hemostasis of vessels will be performed using the Thunderbeat™ device (Olympus, Japan).

    Device: Thunderbeat

Interventions

  • DeviceThunderbeat

    Thunderbeat uses ultrasonic and high frequency bipolar energy simultaneously to seal and cut tissue compared to placebo comparator.

  • DeviceStandard of care scissors, ligatures, clips, and sutures
06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Operative Blood Loss

    * The measurement of estimated blood loss (EBL) will come from the intraoperative anesthesia notes where (EBL) is recorded during each surgical procedure * The estimate of operative blood loss is measured by volume in the suction canisters and pads and is historically documented by the operative nursing staff during the operation.

    Time frame: Day of surgery

  2. Post-op Morbidity

    -This is a prospective study to evaluate post-operative morbidity following use of the ThunderbeatTM device during the Whipple procedure. This will be compared to patients whose Whipple procedure will be performed using conventional dissection and hemostasis techniques.

    Time frame: Up to 90 days postoperatively

Secondary outcomes

  1. Operative Time

    -Operation time measured from the beginning of the surgical procedure (incision of the skin) to the end of the surgical procedure (closure of the skin).

    Time frame: Day of surgery

  2. Cost Using Thunderbeat Device

    -Calculated by the indirect and direct costs during the hospital stay and the costs accumulated 90 days postoperatively

    Time frame: Up to 90 days postoperatively

  3. Anesthesia Time

    -Anesthesia time measured from the initiation of anesthesia induction to the time of extubation

    Time frame: Day of surgery

  4. Number of Participants Who Experienced Perioperative Complications

    -Complications experienced during surgery will be reviewed including: * Iatrogenic injury * need for conversion from laparoscopic approach to open procedure * need for the use of other hemostatic devices or therapies * intraoperative requirement of blood product transfusion

    Time frame: Day of surgery

  5. Number of Participants Who Experienced Postoperative Complications

    -Complications experienced after surgery will be reviewed including: * secondary bleeding/hematoma * wound infection * gastroparesis * postoperative pancreatic fistula * intraabdominal abscess * anastomotic leakage * re-intervention (operational) * postop requirement for blood product transfusion * hospital mortality

    Time frame: Up to 90 days postoperatively

07

Results

Posted Sep 19, 2018

Participant flow

The study opened to participant enrollment on 01/01/2015 and closed to participant enrollment on 08/09/2017.

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneControl GroupThunderbeat™
Started1319
Completed1319
Not completed00

Outcome measures

PrimaryOperative Blood Loss

* The measurement of estimated blood loss (EBL) will come from the intraoperative anesthesia notes where (EBL) is recorded during each surgical procedure * The estimate of operative blood loss is measured by volume in the suction canisters and pads and is historically documented by the operative nursing staff during the operation.

Time frame:
Day of surgery
Reported as:
Mean · mL
Operative Blood Loss
mLControl GroupThunderbeat™
Operative Blood Loss263.5 ± 190.0480.2 ± 300.5
Statistical analysis
  • Control Group vs Thunderbeat™ · Wilcoxon (Mann-Whitney) · p = 0.032
PrimaryPost-op Morbidity

-This is a prospective study to evaluate post-operative morbidity following use of the ThunderbeatTM device during the Whipple procedure. This will be compared to patients whose Whipple procedure will be performed using conventional dissection and hemostasis techniques.

Time frame:
Up to 90 days postoperatively
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Post-op Morbidity
ParticipantsControl GroupThunderbeat™
Post-op Morbidity78
Statistical analysis
  • Control Group vs Thunderbeat™ · Chi-squared · p = 0.513
SecondaryOperative Time

-Operation time measured from the beginning of the surgical procedure (incision of the skin) to the end of the surgical procedure (closure of the skin).

Time frame:
Day of surgery
Reported as:
Median · minutes
Operative Time
minutesControl GroupThunderbeat™
Operative Time220 (143 to 296)270 (183 to 491)
SecondaryCost Using Thunderbeat Device

-Calculated by the indirect and direct costs during the hospital stay and the costs accumulated 90 days postoperatively

Time frame:
Up to 90 days postoperatively

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

SecondaryAnesthesia Time

-Anesthesia time measured from the initiation of anesthesia induction to the time of extubation

Time frame:
Day of surgery
Reported as:
Mean · minutes
Anesthesia Time
minutesControl GroupThunderbeat™
Anesthesia Time282.7 ± 50.8357.3 ± 89.2
Statistical analysis
  • Control Group vs Thunderbeat™ · Wilcoxon (Mann-Whitney) · p = 0.013
SecondaryNumber of Participants Who Experienced Perioperative Complications

-Complications experienced during surgery will be reviewed including: * Iatrogenic injury * need for conversion from laparoscopic approach to open procedure * need for the use of other hemostatic devices or therapies * intraoperative requirement of blood product transfusion

Time frame:
Day of surgery
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants Who Experienced Perioperative Complications
ParticipantsControl GroupThunderbeat™
Number of Participants Who Experienced Perioperative Complications03
Statistical analysis
  • Control Group vs Thunderbeat™ · Chi-squared · p = 0.132
SecondaryNumber of Participants Who Experienced Postoperative Complications

-Complications experienced after surgery will be reviewed including: * secondary bleeding/hematoma * wound infection * gastroparesis * postoperative pancreatic fistula * intraabdominal abscess * anastomotic leakage * re-intervention (operational) * postop requirement for blood product transfusion * hospital mortality

Time frame:
Up to 90 days postoperatively
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants Who Experienced Postoperative Complications
ParticipantsControl GroupThunderbeat™
Readmission23
Mortality00
Bleeding/hematoma00
Wound infection01
Gastroparesis23
Pancreatic fistula01
Intraabdominal abscess01
Anastomotic leakage01
Blood product transfusion (anemia)10
Statistical analysis
  • Control Group vs Thunderbeat™ · Chi-squared · p = 0.975
  • Control Group vs Thunderbeat™ · Chi-squared · p = 0.401
  • Control Group vs Thunderbeat™ · Chi-squared · p = 0.975
  • Control Group vs Thunderbeat™ · Chi-squared · p = 0.401
  • Control Group vs Thunderbeat™ · Chi-squared · p = 0.219
  • Control Group vs Thunderbeat™ · Chi-squared · p = 0.401
  • Control Group vs Thunderbeat™ · Chi-squared · p = 0.219

Adverse events

Collected over -Adverse events were collected from the time of surgery through 90 days following completion of surgery.. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Control Group0/13 (0%)0/13 (0%)0/13 (0%)
Thunderbeat™0/19 (0%)0/19 (0%)0/19 (0%)

Baseline characteristics

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Control GroupThunderbeat™Total
Mean64.6 ± 11.964.8 ± 11.364.7 ± 11.4
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Control GroupThunderbeat™Total
Female6511
Male71421
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Control GroupThunderbeat™Total
Hispanic or Latino000
Not Hispanic or Latino131932
Unknown or Not Reported000
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Control GroupThunderbeat™Total
American Indian or Alaska Native000
Asian101
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander000
Black or African American011
White121830
More than one race000
Unknown or Not Reported000
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(Participants)Control GroupThunderbeat™Total
United States131932
Received Neoadjuvant Therapy
Received Neoadjuvant Therapy(Participants)Control GroupThunderbeat™Total
Count of participants358
Body Mass Index (BMI) > 30 kg/m^2
Body Mass Index (BMI) > 30 kg/m^2(Participants)Control GroupThunderbeat™Total
Count of participants257
08

Study locations

1 site
  • Washington University School of Medicine
    Saint Louis, Missouri 63110, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Oct 14, 2015

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Sep 19, 2018, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT02204124
Lead sponsor
Washington University School of Medicine
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Jul 30, 2014
Start date
Jan 1, 2015
Primary completion
Aug 23, 2017
Completion
Aug 23, 2017
Results posted
Sep 19, 2018
Last update
Sep 19, 2018

Study contacts

William Hawkins, M.D.
principal investigator · Washington University School of Medicine

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
No
FDA-regulated device
Yes
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is terminated, as verified in Aug 2018. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion