CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT02049957Updated Feb 8, 2023Results posted

Safety and Efficacy Study of Sapanisertib in Combination With Exemestane or Fulvestrant in Postmenopausal Women With Estrogen Receptor Positive/Human Epidermal Growth Factor Receptor 2 Negative (ER+/HER2-) Metastatic Breast Cancer

A Phase 2 interventional study of Sapanisertib and Fulvestrant in Breast Cancer, sponsored by Calithera Biosciences, Inc. Completed at 40 sites in 3 countries. Open to female participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2023-02-08.

Sponsored by Calithera Biosciences, Inc · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
118
Allocation
Non-randomized
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
Female
01

Study summary

This is a phase 1b/2 study of the safety and efficacy of sapanisertib (MLN0128) in combination with exemestane or fulvestrant therapy in women with estrogen receptor positive/human epidermal growth factor receptor 2 negative (ER+/HER2-) advanced or metastatic breast cancer who progressed on treatment with everolimus in combination with exemestane or fulvestrant.

Read the detailed description

The drug being tested in this study is called sapanisertib (MLN0128). Sapanisertib is being tested in women with estrogen receptor positive/human epidermal growth factor receptor 2 negative (ER+/HER2-) advanced or metastatic breast cancer who progressed on treatment with everolimus. This study will look at the safety and efficacy of sapanisertib when given in combination with exemestane or fulvestrant.

The study enrolled 118 patients. This study has two phases: phase 1 and phase 2. Phase 1 has 2 parts. In part 1 of phase 1, unmilled active pharmaceutical ingredient (API) capsules were administered, while in part 2, capsules based on milled API were administered.

  • Phase 1 (Part 1): sapanisertib 5 mg (unmilled) + exemestane
  • Phase 1 (Part 1): sapanisertib 5 mg (unmilled) + fulvestrant
  • Phase 1 (Part 2): sapanisertib 3 mg (milled) + exemestane
  • Phase 1 (Part 2): sapanisertib 3 mg (milled) + fulvestrant
  • Phase 1 (Part 2): sapanisertib 4 mg (milled) + exemestane

In phase 2, participants were enrolled into one of 2 parallel cohorts, depending on the quality and/or duration of their prior response to everolimus in combination with either exemestane (any country) or fulvestrant (US only).

Everolimus-Resistant Cohort: patients who had progressed on treatment with everolimus in combination with either exemestane (any country) or fulvestrant (US only) without achieving an objective response (CR or PR) or after achieving stable disease for \<6 months as their best response.

Everolimus-Sensitive Cohort: participants who had progressed on treatment after achieving a CR or PR of any duration, or stable disease for ≥6 months with prior everolimus treatment in combination with either exemestane (any country) or fulvestrant (US only). Participants were to receive MLN0128 in combination with the same dose of the previously administered treatment (exemestane [any country] or fulvestrant [US only]).

This multi-center trial will be conducted worldwide. The overall time to participate in this study was 52 months. Participants made multiple visits to the clinic and were contacted by telephone every 3 months for a follow-up assessment.

02

Conditions studied

  • Breast Cancer

Browse trials for

Keywords

  • Sapanisertib
  • MLN0128
03

In context

Breast Neoplasms

12,544 studies on the registry are indexed under Breast Neoplasms; 2,892 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 118 is above the median of 72 across 9,303 interventional studies indexed under Breast Neoplasms.

Browse Breast Neoplasms studies →

Lead sponsor

Calithera Biosciences, Inc is the lead sponsor of 29 studies on the registry; none are open to participants now.

Of its 17 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 10 (59%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
Female
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

Each patient must meet all of the following inclusion criteria to be enrolled in the study:

Phase 1b and Phase 2

  1. Advanced or metastatic breast cancer.
  2. Histological or cytological confirmation of ER+ status (defined as > 1% positive tumor cells), and histological or cytological confirmation of HER2-negative (HER2-) status by local laboratory testing using criteria in the American Society of Oncology (ASCO)/College of American Pathologists (CAP) Clinical Practice Guideline update.
  3. Female patients 18 years of age or older who are postmenopausal for at least 1 year before the Screening visit, where menopause is defined by: Age ≥ 55 years and 1 year or more of amenorrhea. Surgical menopause with bilateral oophorectomy

    Age \< 55 years and 1 year or more of amenorrhea, with an estradiol assay \< 20 pg/mL

    Note: Ovarian radiation or treatment with a luteinizing hormone-releasing hormone agonist (goserelin acetate or leuprolide acetate) is not permitted for induction of ovarian suppression.

  4. Have a history of brain metastasis are eligible for the study provided that all the following criteria are met:

    Brain metastases which have been treated

    • No evidence of disease progression for ≥ 3 months or hemorrhage after treatment
    • Off-treatment with dexamethasone for 4 weeks before administration of the first dose of MLN0128
    • No ongoing requirement for dexamethasone or anti-epileptic drugs
  5. Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status 0 to 2.
  6. Clinical laboratory values as specified below within 4 weeks before the first dose of MLN0128:

    • Bone marrow reserve consistent with absolute neutrophil count (ANC) ≥ 1.5 x 10\^9/L; platelet count ≥ 100 x 10\^9/L; hemoglobin ≥ 9 g/dL
    • Total bilirubin ≤ 1.5 x the upper limit of the normal range (ULN), aspartate aminotransferase (AST) and alanine aminotransferase (ALT) ≤ 2.5 x ULN (≤ 5 x ULN if liver metastases are present)
    • Creatinine clearance ≥ 50 mL/min based either on Cockcroft-Gault estimate or based on a 12- or 24-hour urine collection
    • Fasting serum glucose ≤ 130 mg/dL and fasting triglycerides ≤ 300 mg/dL
  7. Left ventricular ejection fraction (LVEF) within 5 absolute percentage points of institutional standard of normal as measured by echocardiogram (ECHO) or multiple gated acquisition scan (MUGA) within 4 weeks before the first dose of MLN0128 (ie, if the institutional standard of normal is 50%, LVEF may be as low as 45% to be eligible for the study).
  8. Able to provide paraffin blocks or a minimum of 10 unstained slides of available archival tumor tissues (paraffin blocks are preferred). If archival tumor tissue is not available, a tumor biopsy may be performed before the patient begins treatment with MLN0128. If fewer than 10 slides are available or the tumor content/area requirements are not met, study eligibility will be determined upon discussion with the sponsor.
  9. Ability to swallow oral medications, willingness to perform mucositis prophylaxis, and suitable venous access for the study-required blood sampling.
  10. Voluntary written consent must be given before the performance of any study related procedure not part of standard medical care, with the understanding that consent may be withdrawn by the patient at any time without prejudice to future medical care.

    Phase 1b Only: In addition to the previously mentioned inclusion criteria, each patient must meet the following inclusion criterion to be enrolled in the phase 1b portion of the study:

  11. Patients may have SD or disease progression during their most recent treatment with exemestane or fulvestrant, or everolimus in combination with either exemestane (any country) or fulvestrant (US only). Exemestane or fulvestrant in combination with MLN0128 can also be initiated as a new line of therapy.

    Phase 2 Only: In addition to the previously mentioned inclusion criteria, each patient must meet all of the following inclusion criteria to be enrolled in the phase 2 portion of the study:

  12. Measurable disease defined as follows:

    • At least 1 extra-osseous lesion that can be accurately measured in at least 1 dimension. The lesion must measure ≥ 20 mm with conventional imaging techniques or ≥ 10 mm with spiral computed tomography (CT) or magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), or
    • Bone lesions (lytic or mixed [lytic plus sclerotic]) in the absence of measurable disease as defined above
  13. Patients must have had disease progression during treatment with everolimus in combination with either exemestane (any country) or fulvestrant (US only) (duration of treatment ≥ 4 weeks) and must have tolerated everolimus treatment in combination with exemestane (any country) or fulvestrant (US only) adequately according to the treating physician's judgment. Everolimus in combination with exemestane or fulvestrant is not required to be the most recent treatment before enrollment, but progression on the most recent anticancer therapy is required for enrollment.

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria

Patients meeting any of the following exclusion criteria are not to be enrolled in the study:

Phase 1b and Phase 2

  1. Prior anticancer therapy or other investigational therapy within 2 weeks before administration of the first dose of MLN0128 (except for exemestane or fulvestrant, which should be continued). Treatment with everolimus must be discontinued 2 weeks before administration of the first dose of MLN0128.
  2. Chronic concomitant therapy with bisphosphonates or denosumab for the prevention of bone metastases. Concomitant treatment with bisphosphonates or denosumab is permitted for treatment of osteoporosis or management of existing bone metastases if initiated at least 4 weeks before administration of the first dose of MLN0128.
  3. Initiation of treatment with hematopoietic growth factors, transfusions of blood and blood products, or systemic corticosteroids (either IV or oral steroids, excluding inhalers) within 1 week before administration of the first dose of MLN0128 (patients already receiving erythropoietin on a chronic basis for ≥ 4 weeks are eligible).
  4. Previous treatment with dual PI3K/mTOR inhibitors or TORC1/2 inhibitors.
  5. Manifestations of malabsorption due to prior gastrointestinal (GI) surgery, GI disease, or for an unknown reason that may alter the absorption of MLN0128.
  6. Poorly controlled diabetes mellitus defined as glycosylated hemoglobin (HbA1c) > 7%; patients with a history of transient glucose intolerance due to corticosteroid administration may be enrolled in this study if all other inclusion/exclusion criteria are met.
  7. Other clinically significant co-morbidities, such as uncontrolled pulmonary disease, active central nervous system disease, active infection, or any other condition that could compromise participation of the patient in the study.
  8. Known human immunodeficiency virus infection.
  9. History of any of the following within the last 6 months before administration of the first dose of MLN0128:

    • Ischemic myocardial event, including angina requiring therapy and artery revascularization procedures
    • Ischemic cerebrovascular event, including transient ischemic attack and artery revascularization procedures
    • Requirement for inotropic support (excluding digoxin) or serious (uncontrolled) cardiac arrhythmia (including atrial flutter/fibrillation, ventricular fibrillation, or ventricular tachycardia)
    • Placement of a pacemaker for control of rhythm
    • New York Heart Association Class III or IV heart failure
    • Pulmonary embolism
  10. Significant active cardiovascular or pulmonary disease before administration of the first dose of MLN0128, including:

    • Uncontrolled hypertension (ie, systolic blood pressure > 180 mm Hg; diastolic blood pressure > 95 mm Hg)
    • Pulmonary hypertension
    • Uncontrolled asthma or oxygen saturation \< 90% by arterial blood gas analysis or pulse oximetry on room air
    • Significant valvular disease; severe regurgitation or stenosis by imaging independent of symptom control with medical intervention; or history of valve replacement
    • Medically significant (symptomatic) bradycardia
    • History of arrhythmia requiring an implantable cardiac defibrillator
    • Baseline prolongation of the rate-corrected QT interval (QTc; eg, repeated demonstration of QTc interval > 480 ms, or history of congenital long QT syndrome, or torsades de pointes)
  11. Diagnosed or treated for another malignancy within 2 years before administration of the first dose of MLN0128 or previously diagnosed with another malignancy and have any evidence of residual disease. Patients with nonmelanoma skin cancer or carcinoma in situ of any type are not excluded if they have undergone complete resection.

    Phase 1b Only: In addition to the previously mentioned exclusion criteria, patients meeting the following exclusion criterion are not to be enrolled in the phase 1b portion of the study:

  12. More than 3 prior chemotherapy regimens for locally advanced or metastatic disease.

    Phase 2 Only: In addition to the previously mentioned exclusion criteria, patients meeting the following exclusion criterion are not to be enrolled in the phase 2 portion of the study:

  13. More than 1 prior chemotherapy regimen for locally advanced or metastatic disease.
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Non-randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
118 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Phase 1 (Part 1): Sapanisertib 5 mg + Exemestane

    Sapanisertib 5 mg, unmilled active pharmaceutical ingredient (API) capsule, once daily in a 28-day cycle plus exemestane 25 mg, tablets, once daily in a 28-day cycle (Up to 12 cycles).

    Drug: Sapanisertib · Drug: Exemestane

  • Experimental
    Phase 1 (Part 1): Sapanisertib 5 mg + Fulvestrant

    Sapanisertib 5 mg, unmilled API capsule, once daily in a 28-day cycle plus fulvestrant 500 mg, injection, intramuscularly (IM), once on Day 1 of each cycle (Up to 57 cycles).

    Drug: Sapanisertib · Drug: Fulvestrant

  • Experimental
    Phase 1 (Part 2): Sapanisertib 3 mg + Exemestane

    Sapanisertib 3 mg, milled API capsule, once daily in a 28-day cycle plus exemestane 25 mg, tablets, once daily in a 28-day cycle (Up to 8 cycles).

    Drug: Sapanisertib · Drug: Exemestane

  • Experimental
    Phase 1 (Part 2): Sapanisertib 3 mg + Fulvestrant

    Sapanisertib 3 mg, milled API capsule, once daily in a 28-day cycle up to 14 cycles plus fulvestrant 500 mg, injection, IM, once on Day 1 of each cycle (Up to 14 cycles).

    Drug: Sapanisertib · Drug: Fulvestrant

  • Experimental
    Phase 1 (Part 2): Sapanisertib 4 mg + Exemestane

    Sapanisertib 4 mg, milled API capsule, once daily, in a 28-day cycle plus exemestane 25 mg, tablets, once daily in a 28-day cycle (Up to 18 cycles).

    Drug: Sapanisertib · Drug: Exemestane

  • Experimental
    Phase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg + Exemestane (Everolimus Sensitive)

    Sapanisertib 4 mg, milled API capsule once daily in a 28-day cycle plus exemestane 25 mg, tablets, once daily in a 28-day cycle (Up to 14 cycles) in everolimus sensitive participants.

    Drug: Sapanisertib · Drug: Exemestane

  • Experimental
    Phase 2:Sapanisertib 4 mg+Fulvestrant (Everolimus Sensitive)

    Sapanisertib 4 mg, milled API capsule once daily in a 28-day cycle plus fulvestrant 500 mg, injection IM, once on Day 1 of each cycle (Up to 17 cycles) in everolimus sensitive participants.

    Drug: Sapanisertib · Drug: Fulvestrant

  • Experimental
    Phase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg+Exemestane (Everolimus Resistant)

    Sapanisertib 4 mg, milled API capsule, once daily, in a 28-day cycle plus once daily in a 28-day cycle (Up to 12 cycles) in everolimus resistant participants.

    Drug: Sapanisertib · Drug: Exemestane

  • Experimental
    Phase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg+Fulvestrant (Everolimus Resistant)

    Sapanisertib 4 mg, milled API capsule, once daily in a 28-day cycle plus fulvestrant 500 mg, injection IM, once on Day 1 of each cycle (Up to 9 cycles) in everolimus resistant participants.

    Drug: Sapanisertib · Drug: Fulvestrant

Interventions

  • DrugSapanisertib

    Sapnisertib capsules

    Also known as: MLN0128

  • DrugFulvestrant

    Fulvestrant IM injection.

  • DrugExemestane

    Exemestane tablets.

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Phase 1: Number of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs) and Serious Adverse Events (SAEs)

    An AE is defined as any unfavorable and unintended sign (including an abnormal laboratory finding), symptom, or disease temporally associated with the use of a medicinal (investigational) product whether or not it is related to the medicinal product. This includes any newly occurring event, or a previous condition that has increased in severity or frequency since the administration of study drug. A SAE is any untoward medical occurrence that at any dose results in death, is life-threatening, requires inpatient hospitalization or prolongation of an existing hospitalization, results in persistent or significant disability or incapacity, is a congenital anomaly/birth defect or is a medically important event. Relationship of each AE to study drug will be determined by the Investigator.

    Time frame: First dose of study drug through 30 days after the last dose (Up to 52 months)

  2. Phase 2: Clinical Benefit Rate at 16 Weeks (CBR-16)

    CBR-16 was defined as the percentage of participants who achieved confirmed complete response (CR) or partial response (PR) of any duration or had confirmed stable disease (SD) as best response and the first 2 or more post baseline scans had PR/SD and the duration of SD was \>112 days. Disease response was assessed for target lesions by computed tomography (CT) or magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) according to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) version 1.1 guidelines. CR is disappearance of all target lesions. PR is \>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions. SD is defined as neither sufficient shrinkage to qualify for PR nor sufficient increase to qualify for disease progression (PD).

    Time frame: Week 16

Secondary outcomes

  1. Phase 2: Clinical Benefit Rate at 24 Weeks (CBR-24)

    CBR-24 was defined as the percentage of participants who achieved confirmed CR or PR at any time or had confirmed SD as best response and the first 2 or more post baseline scans had PR/SD and the duration of stable disease was \>168 days. Disease response was assessed for target lesions by CT or MRI according to RECIST version 1.1 guidelines. CR is disappearance of all target lesions. PR is \>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions. SD is defined as neither sufficient shrinkage to qualify for PR nor sufficient increase to qualify for PD.

    Time frame: Week 24

  2. Phase 2: Overall Response Rate (ORR)

    ORR is defined as the percentage of participants with confirmed CR or PR as per RECIST version1.1 guidelines. CR is disappearance of all target lesions. PR is \>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions.

    Time frame: Baseline then every 2 cycles from Cycles 2 through 6, and every 3 cycles thereafter in a 28-day cycle up to End of Treatment (EOT) (Up to 24 months)

  3. Phase 2: Progression-Free Survival (PFS)

    PFS is defined as the time in months from the date of first dose of study treatment to the date of the first documented disease progression or death. Disease progression was defined using Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.0) as at least a 20% increase in the sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum on study, including baseline; an absolute increase of at least 5 mm in the sum of diameters of target lesions; or the appearance of one or more new lesions.

    Time frame: Baseline then every 2 cycles from Cycles 2 through 6, and every 3 cycles thereafter in a 28-day cycle, then every 3 months after EOT until disease progression or death (Up to 24 months)

  4. Phase 2: Overall Survival (OS)

    OS is the time in months from start of study treatment to date of death due to any cause. Data for the analysis of OS included the censored data at the timepoint that the participant was last known to be alive.

    Time frame: Up to 24 months

  5. Phase 2: Best Percent Change From Baseline in Tumor Size

    Time frame: Baseline to Month 24

  6. Phase1: Cmax: Maximum Observed Plasma Concentration for Sapanisertib

    Time frame: Cycle 1 Day 15 and Cycle 2 Day 1 pre-dose and multiple timepoints (Up to 8 hours) post-dose

  7. Phase 1: Tmax: Time to Reach the Maximum Plasma Concentration (Cmax) for Sapanisertib

    Time frame: Cycle 1 Day 15 and Cycle 2 Day 1 pre-dose and multiple timepoints (Up to 8 hours) post-dose

  8. Phase 1: AUC(0-24): Area Under the Plasma Concentration-time Curve From Time 0 to Time 24 Hours for Sapanisertib

    AUC(0-24) is the area under the plasma concentration-time curve of the samples collected up to 8 hours and extrapolated up to 24 hours.

    Time frame: Cycle 1 Day 15 pre-dose and multiple timepoints (Up to 8 hours) post-dose, extrapolated to 24 hours post-dose

  9. Phase 1: AUC(0-last): Area Under the Plasma Concentration-time Curve From Time 0 to Last Extrapolated Concentration Over the Dosing Interval for Sapanisertib

    AUC(0-last) is the area under the plasma concentration-time curve of the samples collected up to 8 hours and extrapolated up to last time point.

    Time frame: Cycle 1 Day 15 pre-dose and multiple timepoints (Up to 8 hours) post-dose, extrapolated to last timepoint

  10. Phase 1: Terminal Elimination Half-life (T1/2) for Sapanisertib

    Time frame: Cycle 1 Day 15 pre-dose and multiple timepoints (Up to 8 hours) post-dose

07

Results

Posted Jan 27, 2020

Participant flow

Participants took part in the study at 40 investigative sites in Belgium, France and the United States from 13 February 2014 to 03 July 2018.

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestonePhase 1 (Part 1): Sapanisertib 5 mg + ExemestanePhase 1 (Part 1): Sapanisertib 5 mg + FulvestrantPhase 1 (Part 2): Sapanisertib 3 mg + ExemestanePhase 1 (Part 2): Sapanisertib 3 mg + FulvestrantPhase 1 (Part 2): Sapanisertib 4 mg + ExemestanePhase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg + Exemestane (Everolimus Sensitive)Phase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg+Fulvestrant (Everolimus Sensitive)Phase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg + Exemestane (Everolimus Resistant)Phase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg+Fulvestrant (Everolimus Resistant)
Started66336438358
Completed000000000
Not completed66336438358
Withdrew: Progressive disease54226357266
Withdrew: Adverse event111005061
Withdrew: Study terminated by sponsor010000100
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject000102031
Withdrew: Physician decision000001000

Outcome measures

PrimaryPhase 1: Number of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs) and Serious Adverse Events (SAEs)

An AE is defined as any unfavorable and unintended sign (including an abnormal laboratory finding), symptom, or disease temporally associated with the use of a medicinal (investigational) product whether or not it is related to the medicinal product. This includes any newly occurring event, or a previous condition that has increased in severity or frequency since the administration of study drug. A SAE is any untoward medical occurrence that at any dose results in death, is life-threatening, requires inpatient hospitalization or prolongation of an existing hospitalization, results in persistent or significant disability or incapacity, is a congenital anomaly/birth defect or is a medically important event. Relationship of each AE to study drug will be determined by the Investigator.

Time frame:
First dose of study drug through 30 days after the last dose (Up to 52 months)
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Phase 1: Number of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs) and Serious Adverse Events (SAEs)
ParticipantsPhase 1 (Part 1): Sapanisertib 5 mg + ExemestanePhase 1 (Part 1): Sapanisertib 5 mg + FulvestrantPhase 1 (Part 2): Sapanisertib 3 mg + ExemestanePhase 1 (Part 2): Sapanisertib 3 mg + FulvestrantPhase 1 (Part 2): Sapanisertib 4 mg + Exemestane
Any AE66336
SAEs12002
PrimaryPhase 2: Clinical Benefit Rate at 16 Weeks (CBR-16)

CBR-16 was defined as the percentage of participants who achieved confirmed complete response (CR) or partial response (PR) of any duration or had confirmed stable disease (SD) as best response and the first 2 or more post baseline scans had PR/SD and the duration of SD was \>112 days. Disease response was assessed for target lesions by computed tomography (CT) or magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) according to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) version 1.1 guidelines. CR is disappearance of all target lesions. PR is \>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions. SD is defined as neither sufficient shrinkage to qualify for PR nor sufficient increase to qualify for disease progression (PD).

Time frame:
Week 16
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
Phase 2: Clinical Benefit Rate at 16 Weeks (CBR-16)
percentage of participantsPhase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg + Exemestane (Everolimus Sensitive)Phase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg+Fulvestrant (Everolimus Sensitive)Phase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg + Exemestane (Everolimus Resistant)Phase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg+Fulvestrant (Everolimus Resistant)
Phase 2: Clinical Benefit Rate at 16 Weeks (CBR-16)44 (29.1 to 60.1)50 (15.7 to 84.3)23 (10.4 to 40.1)25 (3.2 to 65.1)
SecondaryPhase 2: Clinical Benefit Rate at 24 Weeks (CBR-24)

CBR-24 was defined as the percentage of participants who achieved confirmed CR or PR at any time or had confirmed SD as best response and the first 2 or more post baseline scans had PR/SD and the duration of stable disease was \>168 days. Disease response was assessed for target lesions by CT or MRI according to RECIST version 1.1 guidelines. CR is disappearance of all target lesions. PR is \>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions. SD is defined as neither sufficient shrinkage to qualify for PR nor sufficient increase to qualify for PD.

Time frame:
Week 24
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
Phase 2: Clinical Benefit Rate at 24 Weeks (CBR-24)
percentage of participantsPhase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg + Exemestane (Everolimus Sensitive)Phase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg+Fulvestrant (Everolimus Sensitive)Phase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg + Exemestane (Everolimus Resistant)Phase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg+Fulvestrant (Everolimus Resistant)
Phase 2: Clinical Benefit Rate at 24 Weeks (CBR-24)28 (15.3 to 43.7)38 (8.5 to 75.5)23 (10.4 to 40.1)25 (3.2 to 65.1)
SecondaryPhase 2: Overall Response Rate (ORR)

ORR is defined as the percentage of participants with confirmed CR or PR as per RECIST version1.1 guidelines. CR is disappearance of all target lesions. PR is \>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions.

Time frame:
Baseline then every 2 cycles from Cycles 2 through 6, and every 3 cycles thereafter in a 28-day cycle up to End of Treatment (EOT) (Up to 24 months)
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
Phase 2: Overall Response Rate (ORR)
percentage of participantsPhase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg + Exemestane (Everolimus Sensitive)Phase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg+Fulvestrant (Everolimus Sensitive)Phase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg + Exemestane (Everolimus Resistant)Phase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg+Fulvestrant (Everolimus Resistant)
Phase 2: Overall Response Rate (ORR)7 (1.5 to 19.1)13 (1 to 52.7)0 (0 to 0)13 (1 to 52.7)
SecondaryPhase 2: Progression-Free Survival (PFS)

PFS is defined as the time in months from the date of first dose of study treatment to the date of the first documented disease progression or death. Disease progression was defined using Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.0) as at least a 20% increase in the sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum on study, including baseline; an absolute increase of at least 5 mm in the sum of diameters of target lesions; or the appearance of one or more new lesions.

Time frame:
Baseline then every 2 cycles from Cycles 2 through 6, and every 3 cycles thereafter in a 28-day cycle, then every 3 months after EOT until disease progression or death (Up to 24 months)
Reported as:
Median · months
Phase 2: Progression-Free Survival (PFS)
monthsPhase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg + Exemestane (Everolimus Sensitive)Phase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg+Fulvestrant (Everolimus Sensitive)Phase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg + Exemestane (Everolimus Resistant)Phase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg+Fulvestrant (Everolimus Resistant)
Phase 2: Progression-Free Survival (PFS)4.1 (1.9 to 5.5)5.5 (1.8 to NA)3.3 (1.9 to 3.7)5.4 (1.7 to 8.3)
SecondaryPhase 2: Overall Survival (OS)

OS is the time in months from start of study treatment to date of death due to any cause. Data for the analysis of OS included the censored data at the timepoint that the participant was last known to be alive.

Time frame:
Up to 24 months
Reported as:
Median · months
Phase 2: Overall Survival (OS)
monthsPhase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg + Exemestane (Everolimus Sensitive)Phase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg+Fulvestrant (Everolimus Sensitive)Phase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg + Exemestane (Everolimus Resistant)Phase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg+Fulvestrant (Everolimus Resistant)
Phase 2: Overall Survival (OS)15.9 (14.1 to 19.5)20.7 (8.6 to 20.7)14.0 (10.6 to 16.0)13.0 (4.1 to 21.3)
SecondaryPhase 2: Best Percent Change From Baseline in Tumor Size
Time frame:
Baseline to Month 24
Reported as:
Mean · percentage change in tumor size
Phase 2: Best Percent Change From Baseline in Tumor Size
percentage change in tumor sizePhase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg + Exemestane (Everolimus Sensitive)Phase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg+Fulvestrant (Everolimus Sensitive)Phase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg + Exemestane (Everolimus Resistant)Phase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg+Fulvestrant (Everolimus Resistant)
Phase 2: Best Percent Change From Baseline in Tumor Size-0.46 ± 34.890.96 ± 38.981.76 ± 31.14-18.91 ± 19.71
SecondaryPhase1: Cmax: Maximum Observed Plasma Concentration for Sapanisertib
Time frame:
Cycle 1 Day 15 and Cycle 2 Day 1 pre-dose and multiple timepoints (Up to 8 hours) post-dose
Reported as:
Mean · ng/mL
Phase1: Cmax: Maximum Observed Plasma Concentration for Sapanisertib
ng/mLPhase 1 (Part 1): Sapanisertib 5 mg + ExemestanePhase 1 (Part 1): Sapanisertib 5 mg + FulvestrantPhase 1 (Part 2): Sapanisertib 3 mg + ExemestanePhase 1 (Part 2): Sapanisertib 3 mg + FulvestrantPhase 1 (Part 2): Sapanisertib 4 mg + Exemestane
Cycle 1 Day 1557.72 ± 9.927—47.40 ± 6.58350.90 ± 23.47645.37 ± 9.644
Cycle 2 Day 138.68 ± 20.55144.96 ± 34.45943.47 ± 0.87445.30 ± 16.23544.68 ± 8.636
SecondaryPhase 1: Tmax: Time to Reach the Maximum Plasma Concentration (Cmax) for Sapanisertib
Time frame:
Cycle 1 Day 15 and Cycle 2 Day 1 pre-dose and multiple timepoints (Up to 8 hours) post-dose
Reported as:
Median · hour
Phase 1: Tmax: Time to Reach the Maximum Plasma Concentration (Cmax) for Sapanisertib
hourPhase 1 (Part 1): Sapanisertib 5 mg + ExemestanePhase 1 (Part 1): Sapanisertib 5 mg + FulvestrantPhase 1 (Part 2): Sapanisertib 3 mg + ExemestanePhase 1 (Part 2): Sapanisertib 3 mg + FulvestrantPhase 1 (Part 2): Sapanisertib 4 mg + Exemestane
Cycle 1 Day 153.005 (0.58 to 7.30)—0.600 (0.45 to 1.00)1.035 (1.00 to 1.07)2.000 (0.50 to 3.55)
Cycle 2 Day 12.280 (0.85 to 3.58)3.500 (0.92 to 4.03)0.980 (0.68 to 1.00)1.000 (0.48 to 1.12)2.000 (0.50 to 3.77)
SecondaryPhase 1: AUC(0-24): Area Under the Plasma Concentration-time Curve From Time 0 to Time 24 Hours for Sapanisertib

AUC(0-24) is the area under the plasma concentration-time curve of the samples collected up to 8 hours and extrapolated up to 24 hours.

Time frame:
Cycle 1 Day 15 pre-dose and multiple timepoints (Up to 8 hours) post-dose, extrapolated to 24 hours post-dose
Reported as:
Mean · h*ng/mL
Phase 1: AUC(0-24): Area Under the Plasma Concentration-time Curve From Time 0 to Time 24 Hours for Sapanisertib
h*ng/mLPhase 1 (Part 1): Sapanisertib 5 mg + ExemestanePhase 1 (Part 1): Sapanisertib 5 mg + FulvestrantPhase 1 (Part 2): Sapanisertib 3 mg + ExemestanePhase 1 (Part 2): Sapanisertib 3 mg + FulvestrantPhase 1 (Part 2): Sapanisertib 4 mg + Exemestane
Phase 1: AUC(0-24): Area Under the Plasma Concentration-time Curve From Time 0 to Time 24 Hours for Sapanisertib577.081 ± 331.9813—178.063 ± 46.1416332.618 ± 228.5641277.626 ± 64.0661
SecondaryPhase 1: AUC(0-last): Area Under the Plasma Concentration-time Curve From Time 0 to Last Extrapolated Concentration Over the Dosing Interval for Sapanisertib

AUC(0-last) is the area under the plasma concentration-time curve of the samples collected up to 8 hours and extrapolated up to last time point.

Time frame:
Cycle 1 Day 15 pre-dose and multiple timepoints (Up to 8 hours) post-dose, extrapolated to last timepoint
Reported as:
Mean · h*ng/mL
Phase 1: AUC(0-last): Area Under the Plasma Concentration-time Curve From Time 0 to Last Extrapolated Concentration Over the Dosing Interval for Sapanisertib
h*ng/mLPhase 1 (Part 1): Sapanisertib 5 mg + ExemestanePhase 1 (Part 1): Sapanisertib 5 mg + FulvestrantPhase 1 (Part 2): Sapanisertib 3 mg + ExemestanePhase 1 (Part 2): Sapanisertib 3 mg + FulvestrantPhase 1 (Part 2): Sapanisertib 4 mg + Exemestane
Cycle 1 Day 15577.081 ± 331.9813—164.123 ± 52.6287332.618 ± 228.5641251.165 ± 83.7121
Cycle 1 Day 2101.599 ± 51.0248109.496 ± 82.396889.576 ± 15.0117109.548 ± 52.8500116.557 ± 8.6059
SecondaryPhase 1: Terminal Elimination Half-life (T1/2) for Sapanisertib
Time frame:
Cycle 1 Day 15 pre-dose and multiple timepoints (Up to 8 hours) post-dose
Reported as:
Mean · hour
Phase 1: Terminal Elimination Half-life (T1/2) for Sapanisertib
hourPhase 1 (Part 1): Sapanisertib 5 mg + ExemestanePhase 1 (Part 1): Sapanisertib 5 mg + FulvestrantPhase 1 (Part 2): Sapanisertib 3 mg + ExemestanePhase 1 (Part 2): Sapanisertib 3 mg + FulvestrantPhase 1 (Part 2): Sapanisertib 4 mg + Exemestane
Phase 1: Terminal Elimination Half-life (T1/2) for Sapanisertib6.639 ± 1.2176—3.161 ± 1.65857.777 ± 2.91775.370 ± 1.4638

Adverse events

Collected over From first dose of study drug through 30 days after the last dose (Up to 52 months). Non-serious events are listed at a 2% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Phase 1 (Part 1): Sapanisertib 5 mg + Exemestane0/6 (0%)1/6 (16.7%)6/6 (100%)
Phase 1 (Part 1): Sapanisertib 5 mg + Fulvestrant0/6 (0%)2/6 (33.3%)6/6 (100%)
Phase 1 (Part 2): Sapanisertib 3 mg + Exemestane0/3 (0%)0/3 (0%)3/3 (100%)
Phase 1 (Part 2): Sapanisertib 3 mg + Fulvestrant0/3 (0%)0/3 (0%)3/3 (100%)
Phase 1 (Part 2): Sapanisertib 4 mg + Exemestane1/6 (16.7%)2/6 (33.3%)6/6 (100%)
Phase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg + Exemestane (Everolimus Sensitive)0/43 (0%)11/43 (25.6%)43/43 (100%)
Phase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg + Exemestane (Everolimus Resistant)0/35 (0%)5/35 (14.3%)35/35 (100%)
Phase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg+Fulvestrant (Everolimus Sensitive)0/8 (0%)3/8 (37.5%)8/8 (100%)
Phase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg+Fulvestrant (Everolimus Resistant)0/8 (0%)2/8 (25%)8/8 (100%)
Most frequent serious events
Showing 10 of 37
Most frequent serious events
EventPhase 1 (Part 1): Sapanisertib 5 mg + ExemestanePhase 1 (Part 1): Sapanisertib 5 mg + FulvestrantPhase 1 (Part 2): Sapanisertib 3 mg + ExemestanePhase 1 (Part 2): Sapanisertib 3 mg + FulvestrantPhase 1 (Part 2): Sapanisertib 4 mg + ExemestanePhase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg + Exemestane (Everolimus Sensitive)Phase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg + Exemestane (Everolimus Resistant)Phase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg+Fulvestrant (Everolimus Sensitive)Phase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg+Fulvestrant (Everolimus Resistant)
PneumoniaInfections and infestations1/60/60/30/30/60/430/350/80/8
SepsisInfections and infestations1/60/60/30/30/60/430/350/80/8
Upper respiratory tract infectionInfections and infestations0/61/60/30/30/60/430/350/80/8
Viral infectionInfections and infestations0/61/60/30/30/60/430/350/80/8
DyspnoeaRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders0/60/60/30/31/60/430/350/80/8
PneumonitisRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders0/61/60/30/30/60/430/350/80/8
Abdominal painGastrointestinal disorders0/60/60/30/31/61/430/350/80/8
Hepatic failureHepatobiliary disorders0/60/60/30/31/60/430/350/80/8
AtaxiaNervous system disorders1/60/60/30/30/60/430/350/80/8
Mental status changesPsychiatric disorders1/60/60/30/30/61/430/350/80/8
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 285
Most frequent other events
EventPhase 1 (Part 1): Sapanisertib 5 mg + ExemestanePhase 1 (Part 1): Sapanisertib 5 mg + FulvestrantPhase 1 (Part 2): Sapanisertib 3 mg + ExemestanePhase 1 (Part 2): Sapanisertib 3 mg + FulvestrantPhase 1 (Part 2): Sapanisertib 4 mg + ExemestanePhase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg + Exemestane (Everolimus Sensitive)Phase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg + Exemestane (Everolimus Resistant)Phase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg+Fulvestrant (Everolimus Sensitive)Phase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg+Fulvestrant (Everolimus Resistant)
NauseaGastrointestinal disorders6/64/61/32/33/623/4315/357/84/8
DyspepsiaGastrointestinal disorders2/61/63/30/30/64/431/350/80/8
FatigueGeneral disorders4/66/61/33/34/619/4316/356/82/8
PruritusSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders3/63/61/33/33/611/436/351/81/8
DiarrhoeaGastrointestinal disorders3/65/62/32/34/617/439/353/86/8
StomatitisGastrointestinal disorders5/63/60/30/32/610/438/353/82/8
Abdominal painGastrointestinal disorders0/60/62/30/31/65/432/351/80/8
HyperglycaemiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders3/64/60/30/31/611/4316/350/84/8
ArthralgiaMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders2/61/62/30/30/63/432/352/81/8
VomitingGastrointestinal disorders1/62/61/30/33/610/4310/351/85/8

Baseline characteristics

Safety Population was defined as all participants who received at least 1 dose of any study drug.

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Phase 1 (Part 1): Sapanisertib 5 mg + ExemestanePhase 1 (Part 1): Sapanisertib 5 mg + FulvestrantPhase 1 (Part 2): Sapanisertib 3 mg + ExemestanePhase 1 (Part 2): Sapanisertib 3 mg + FulvestrantPhase 1 (Part 2): Sapanisertib 4 mg + ExemestanePhase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg + Exemestane (Everolimus Sensitive)Phase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg+Fulvestrant (Everolimus Sensitive)Phase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg + Exemestane (Everolimus Resistant)Phase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg+Fulvestrant (Everolimus Resistant)Total
Mean61.3 (52 to 74)56.2 (42 to 67)54.0 (39 to 62)52.3 (48 to 56)59.5 (33 to 75)58.9 (37 to 83)52.1 (32 to 73)58.8 (33 to 74)58.5 (47 to 70)57.31 (32 to 83)
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Phase 1 (Part 1): Sapanisertib 5 mg + ExemestanePhase 1 (Part 1): Sapanisertib 5 mg + FulvestrantPhase 1 (Part 2): Sapanisertib 3 mg + ExemestanePhase 1 (Part 2): Sapanisertib 3 mg + FulvestrantPhase 1 (Part 2): Sapanisertib 4 mg + ExemestanePhase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg + Exemestane (Everolimus Sensitive)Phase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg+Fulvestrant (Everolimus Sensitive)Phase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg + Exemestane (Everolimus Resistant)Phase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg+Fulvestrant (Everolimus Resistant)Total
Female66336438358118
Male0000000000
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Phase 1 (Part 1): Sapanisertib 5 mg + ExemestanePhase 1 (Part 1): Sapanisertib 5 mg + FulvestrantPhase 1 (Part 2): Sapanisertib 3 mg + ExemestanePhase 1 (Part 2): Sapanisertib 3 mg + FulvestrantPhase 1 (Part 2): Sapanisertib 4 mg + ExemestanePhase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg + Exemestane (Everolimus Sensitive)Phase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg+Fulvestrant (Everolimus Sensitive)Phase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg + Exemestane (Everolimus Resistant)Phase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg+Fulvestrant (Everolimus Resistant)Total
Hispanic or Latino0000130004
Not Hispanic or Latino66335368297103
Unknown or Not Reported00000406111
Race/Ethnicity, Customized
Race/Ethnicity, Customized(Participants)Phase 1 (Part 1): Sapanisertib 5 mg + ExemestanePhase 1 (Part 1): Sapanisertib 5 mg + FulvestrantPhase 1 (Part 2): Sapanisertib 3 mg + ExemestanePhase 1 (Part 2): Sapanisertib 3 mg + FulvestrantPhase 1 (Part 2): Sapanisertib 4 mg + ExemestanePhase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg + Exemestane (Everolimus Sensitive)Phase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg+Fulvestrant (Everolimus Sensitive)Phase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg + Exemestane (Everolimus Resistant)Phase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg+Fulvestrant (Everolimus Resistant)Total
White6522636825898
Not Reported0000010506
Black or African American0011040107
Asian0100000304
Other0000020103
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(Participants)Phase 1 (Part 1): Sapanisertib 5 mg + ExemestanePhase 1 (Part 1): Sapanisertib 5 mg + FulvestrantPhase 1 (Part 2): Sapanisertib 3 mg + ExemestanePhase 1 (Part 2): Sapanisertib 3 mg + FulvestrantPhase 1 (Part 2): Sapanisertib 4 mg + ExemestanePhase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg + Exemestane (Everolimus Sensitive)Phase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg+Fulvestrant (Everolimus Sensitive)Phase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg + Exemestane (Everolimus Resistant)Phase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg+Fulvestrant (Everolimus Resistant)Total
United States6633630825895
Belgium00000907016
France0000040307
Height
Height(cm)Phase 1 (Part 1): Sapanisertib 5 mg + ExemestanePhase 1 (Part 1): Sapanisertib 5 mg + FulvestrantPhase 1 (Part 2): Sapanisertib 3 mg + ExemestanePhase 1 (Part 2): Sapanisertib 3 mg + FulvestrantPhase 1 (Part 2): Sapanisertib 4 mg + ExemestanePhase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg + Exemestane (Everolimus Sensitive)Phase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg+Fulvestrant (Everolimus Sensitive)Phase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg + Exemestane (Everolimus Resistant)Phase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg+Fulvestrant (Everolimus Resistant)Total
Mean167.1 (160 to 177)165.7 (159 to 175)167.0 (160 to 175)170.8 (166.4 to 176)161.1 (155 to 165)163.5 (152 to 179)165.7 (158 to 175)164.5 (150 to 183)163.7 (154 to 177)165.02 (150 to 183)
Weight
Weight(kg)Phase 1 (Part 1): Sapanisertib 5 mg + ExemestanePhase 1 (Part 1): Sapanisertib 5 mg + FulvestrantPhase 1 (Part 2): Sapanisertib 3 mg + ExemestanePhase 1 (Part 2): Sapanisertib 3 mg + FulvestrantPhase 1 (Part 2): Sapanisertib 4 mg + ExemestanePhase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg + Exemestane (Everolimus Sensitive)Phase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg+Fulvestrant (Everolimus Sensitive)Phase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg + Exemestane (Everolimus Resistant)Phase 2: Sapanisertib 4 mg+Fulvestrant (Everolimus Resistant)Total
Mean69.18 (52.0 to 93.0)69.45 (52.6 to 120.2)70.57 (57.2 to 77.7)64.34 (59.5 to 69.4)63.63 (54.9 to 77.1)72.10 (47.2 to 123.7)67.45 (46.5 to 90.5)71.60 (50.0 to 114.0)82.10 (49.8 to 139.0)70.37 (46.5 to 139)
08

Study locations

40 sites
  • Los Angeles Hematology
    Los Angeles, California 90017, United States
  • University of California at San Francisco (PARENT)
    San Francisco, California 94143, United States
  • Santa Barbara Hematology Oncology Medical Group, Inc.
    Santa Barbara, California 93105, United States
  • University of Colorado Cancer Center
    Aurora, Colorado 80045, United States
  • Rocky Mountain Cancer Centers, LLP
    Lakewood, Colorado 80228, United States
  • Mount Sinai Medical Center
    Miami Beach, Florida 33140, United States
  • Florida Cancer Research Institute
    Plantation, Florida 33324, United States
  • University of Kansas Medical Center Research Institute, Inc.
    Westwood, Kansas 66205, United States
  • Holy Cross Hospital
    Silver Spring, Maryland 20910, United States
  • Henry Ford Medical Center
    Novi, Michigan 48322, United States
  • University of Minnesota
    Minneapolis, Minnesota 55455, United States
  • Mayo Clinic
    Rochester, Minnesota 55905, United States
  • Eastchester Center for Cancer Care / BRANY
    Bronx, New York 10469, United States
  • Roswell Park Cancer Institute
    Buffalo, New York 14263-0001, United States
  • Herbert Irving Comprehensive Cancer Center
    New York, New York 10032, United States
  • Weill Cornell Medical College New York Presbyterian Hospital
    New York, New York 10065, United States
  • University of Cincinnati Physicians Company, LLC
    Cincinnati, Ohio 45267-0502, United States
  • University Hospitals of Cleveland
    Cleveland, Ohio 44106, United States
  • Erlanger Medical Center
    Chattanooga, Tennessee 37403, United States
  • Texas Oncology, P.A. - Beaumont
    Beaumont, Texas 77702-1449, United States
  • Texas Oncology, P.A.
    Dallas, Texas 75246, United States
  • UT Southwestern Medical Center
    Dallas, Texas 75390-9085, United States
  • The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
    Houston, Texas 77030, United States
  • Millennium Oncology
    Houston, Texas 77090, United States
  • Texas Health Physicians Group
    Plano, Texas 75093, United States
  • Cancer Care Network of South Texas - SAT&BC
    San Antonio, Texas 78217, United States
  • Texas Oncology, P.A. - Tyler
    Tyler, Texas 75702, United States
  • Virginia Oncology Associates - Hampton
    Chesapeake, Virginia 23320, United States
  • Oncology and Hematology Assoc. of SW VA, Inc.
    Salem, Virginia 24153, United States
  • West Virginia University
    Morgantown, West Virginia 26506, United States
  • UZ Antwerpen
    Antwerpen, 2650, Belgium
  • Institut Jules Bordet
    Bruxelles, 1000, Belgium
  • Universitair Ziekenhuis Brussel
    Bruxelles, 1090, Belgium
  • GHdC Notre Dame
    Charleroi, 6000, Belgium
  • Centre Hospitalier de l'Ardenne
    Libramont, 6800, Belgium
  • GZA Ziekenhuizen - Campus Sint-Augustinus
    Wilrijk, 2610, Belgium
  • Centre Francois Baclesse
    Caen Cedex 05, Calvados 14076, France
  • Centre Catherine de Sienne
    Nantes, Loire Atlantique 44202, France
  • Clinique Victor Hugo - Centre Jean Bernard
    Le Mans Cedex 02, Sarthe 72015, France
  • Institut Sainte Catherine
    Avignon, Vaculuse 84000, France
09

References and documents

Publications

  • Lim B, Potter DA, Salkeni MA, Silverman P, Haddad TC, Forget F, Awada A, Canon JL, Danso M, Lortholary A, Bourgeois H, Tan-Chiu E, Vincent S, Bahamon B, Galinsky KJ, Patel C, Neuwirth R, Leonard EJ, Diamond JR. Sapanisertib Plus Exemestane or Fulvestrant in Women with Hormone Receptor-Positive/HER2-Negative Advanced or Metastatic Breast Cancer. Clin Cancer Res. 2021 Jun 15;27(12):3329-3338. doi: 10.1158/1078-0432.CCR-20-4131. Epub 2021 Apr 5. PubMed 33820779 ↗

Study documents

  • Study protocol · Oct 26, 2017
  • Statistical analysis plan · Jul 23, 2018

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: Yes — Takeda provides access to the de-identified individual participant data (IPD) for eligible studies to aid qualified researchers in addressing legitimate scientific objectives (Takeda's data sharing commitment is available on https://clinicaltrials.takeda.com/takedas-commitment?commitment=5). These IPDs will be provided in a secure research environment following approval of a data sharing request, and under the terms of a data sharing agreement.

Supporting information: Study protocol, Sap, Icf, Csr

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Feb 8, 2023, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT02049957
Lead sponsor
Calithera Biosciences, Inc
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Jan 30, 2014
Start date
Feb 13, 2014
Primary completion
Jun 29, 2018
Completion
Jun 29, 2018
Results posted
Jan 27, 2020
Last update
Feb 8, 2023

Study contacts

Medical Monitor
study director · Millennium Pharmaceuticals, Inc.

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Feb 2023. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion