A Phase 2/3 interventional study of Calcipotriene and Placebo in Acne Vulgaris, sponsored by University of California, Los Angeles. Completed at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older, including healthy volunteers. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2019-05-07.
Sponsored by University of California, Los Angeles · Phase 2/3, Interventional, and Treatment
The purpose of this study is to study the effects of topical Vitamin D cream (Calcipotriene, also known as Dovonex) on acne. The information gained from this study may lead to new treatments for acne. In this study, Calcipotriene will be compared with a placebo, a cream that looks like Calcipotriene, but contains no active ingredients.
This study will be a randomized, double-blinded, parallel group comparison of calcipotriene vs. placebo cream. Patients with acne will use calcipotriene or placebo cream 2x/day for 12 weeks and will be assessed at weeks 0, 2, 4, 8 and 12. Each group will have 24 subjects as calculated by power analysis. Three additional subjects for each group will be recruited for possible dropouts and total of 27 subjects will be recruited for each group. Primary endpoint (lesion count) and secondary endpoint (IGA- Investigator's Global Assessment) will be determined. Lesion counts will be assessed by one of the investigator physicians or nurse practitioner. Adverse effects including irritation, dry skin, inflammation and worsening of the lesions will be noted at each visit. Photographs will be taken to aid in assessing the clinical changes.
750 studies on the registry are indexed under Acne Vulgaris; 89 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 66 is close to the median of 69 across 647 interventional studies indexed under Acne Vulgaris.
Browse Acne Vulgaris studies →University of California, Los Angeles is the lead sponsor of 1,167 studies on the registry; 192 are open to participants now.
Of its 94 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 69 (73%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Go through the criteria one by one — yes, no or not sure — and take the list to your doctor or the study team. Kept in this browser only.
Exclusion Criteria:
The Calcipotriene Cream will be supplied as 1g daily use individual tubes to be used 2x/day (once in the morning and once in the evening) for 12 weeks.
Drug: Calcipotriene
The Placebo Cream will be supplied as 1g daily use individual tubes to be used 2x/day (once in the morning and once in the evening) for 12 weeks.
Drug: Placebo
1g daily BID
Also known as: Dovonex, Vitamin D cream
1g daily BID
Also known as: Placebo cream manufactured to mimic calcipotriene
Lesion Counts (Total, Inflammatory and Non-inflammatory)
Lesion counts will be assessed by one of the investigator physicians or nurse practitioner.
Time frame: Weeks 2, 4, 8 & 12
Acne Severity as Assessed With the Investigator's Global Assessment (IGA)
Investigator's Global Assessment (IGA) is a 5-point scale of acne severity, ranging from 0 (Clear) to 4 (Severe)
Time frame: Weeks 2, 4, 8 & 12
| Milestone | Calcipotriene Cream | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Started | 33 | 33 |
| Baseline visit | 33 | 32 |
| Completed | 22 | 29 |
| Not completed | 11 | 4 |
| Withdrew: Adverse event | 7 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Physician decision | 1 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject | 3 | 4 |
Lesion counts will be assessed by one of the investigator physicians or nurse practitioner.
| Lesions | Calcipotriene Cream | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Inflammatory lesions at Week 2 | 18.4 (1 to 89) | 13.4 (0 to 66) |
| Inflammatory lesions at Week 4 | 15.8 (0 to 66) | 9.9 (1 to 34) |
| Inflammatory lesions at Week 8 | 12.1 (0 to 94) | 10.2 (0 to 31) |
| Inflammatory lesions at Week 12 | 10.5 (0 to 37) | 7.0 (0 to 43) |
| Non-inflammatory lesions at Week 2 | 30.9 (1 to 152) | 33.1 (0 to 131) |
| Non-inflammatory lesions at Week 4 | 35.5 (3 to 299) | 34.4 (0 to 198) |
| Non-inflammatory lesions at Week 8 | 22.1 (0 to 136) | 24.3 (0 to 110) |
| Non-inflammatory lesions at Week 12 | 19.6 (0 to 78) | 20.2 (1 to 60) |
| Total lesions at Week 2 | 51.0 (6 to 241) | 46.5 (2 to 158) |
| Total lesions at Week 4 | 51.4 (0 to 299) | 44.3 (2 to 232) |
| Total lesions at Week 8 | 34.2 (0 to 136) | 34.55 (1 to 134) |
| Total lesions at Week 12 | 30.1 (0 to 78) | 27.24 (2 to 73) |
Investigator's Global Assessment (IGA) is a 5-point scale of acne severity, ranging from 0 (Clear) to 4 (Severe)
| score on a scale | Calcipotriene Cream | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| IGA at Week 2 | 2.77 (1 to 4) | 2.9 (1 to 4) |
| IGA at Week 4 | 2.83 (1 to 4) | 2.59 (1 to 4) |
| IGA at Week 8 | 2.21 (1 to 4) | 2.48 (1 to 4) |
| IGA at Week 12 | 2.23 (1 to 4) | 2.31 (1 to 4) |
Collected over 12 weeks. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Calcipotriene Cream | 0/33 (0%) | 0/33 (0%) | 18/33 (54.5%) |
| Placebo | 0/32 (0%) | 0/32 (0%) | 19/32 (59.4%) |
| Event | Calcipotriene Cream | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Facial drynessSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders | 18/33 | 5/32 |
| Common cold/allergyInfections and infestations | 10/33 | 7/32 |
| RednessSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders | 7/33 | 2/32 |
| Facial irritationSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders | 5/33 | 2/32 |
| AcneSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders | 4/33 | 2/32 |
| InfectionInfections and infestations | 0/33 | 2/32 |
| Flu-like symptomsGeneral disorders | 1/33 | 2/32 |
| HeadacheGeneral disorders | 0/33 | 2/32 |
| ItchingSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders | 1/33 | 2/32 |
| RashSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders | 1/33 | 2/32 |
One enrolled participant withdrew from the Placebo arm prior to Baseline
| Age, Categorical(Participants) | Calcipotriene Cream | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| <=18 years | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Between 18 and 65 years | 33 | 32 | 65 |
| >=65 years | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Calcipotriene Cream | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 22 | 22 | 44 |
| Male | 11 | 10 | 21 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Calcipotriene Cream | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 6 | 8 | 14 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 27 | 24 | 51 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Calcipotriene Cream | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Asian | 13 | 15 | 28 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Black or African American | 2 | 1 | 3 |
| White | 18 | 16 | 34 |
| More than one race | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Region of Enrollment(participants) | Calcipotriene Cream | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| United States | 33 | 32 | 65 |
| Inflammatory Lesion Count(Lesions) | Calcipotriene Cream | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 16.8 (0 to 59) | 11.7 (1 to 34) | 14.3 (1 to 59) |
| Non-inflammatory Lesion Count(Lesions) | Calcipotriene Cream | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 48.4 (4 to 440) | 38.4 (2 to 141) | 43.5 (4 to 440) |
| Total Lesion Count(Lesions) | Calcipotriene Cream | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 67.3 (13 to 452) | 50.1 (5 to 146) | 57.8 (5 to 452) |
1 further baseline measures are reported on the registry.
The record gives a start of Feb 2013, a primary completion of Jan 2014 and a completion of Jan 2014. It does not say whether these dates are actual or estimated.
Results were first posted in May 2019, 5 years 3 months after primary completion.
How these figures are worked out, and which studies are left out of them.
This study is completed, as verified in Apr 2019. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Studies of the drug tested here: Calcipotriene
University of California, Los Angeles →