A Phase 2 interventional study of IPOL (Sanofi Pasteur) inactivated polio vaccine booster dose in Polio Immunity, sponsored by Eastern Virginia Medical School. Completed at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years to 90 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2015-02-05.
Sponsored by Eastern Virginia Medical School · Phase 2, Interventional, and Prevention
The purpose of this study is to determine whether a lower dose of inactivated polio vaccine (IPV) injected into the skin (intradermal administration) can work equally well or better than the standard dose injected into the muscle (intramuscular administration). There are more immune cells in the skin than in the muscle, and other vaccines have been shown to require a lower dose when administered intradermally. The study is being done in participants infected with HIV because HIV-infected people are known to respond less well to vaccines than other groups, so it is particularly important to know if IPV might work better in HIV-infected people if administered intradermally.
If it is possible to lower the dose of IPV by intradermal administration, this would make inactivated polio vaccine more affordable in the developing countries where it is most needed
Oral polio vaccine (OPV) will not be sufficient to eradicate polio. OPV has failed to provide adequate polio immunity in certain immunocompromised populations, such as people with AIDS. Also, OPV can mutate and form neurovirulent strains capable of causing polio outbreaks. Inactivated polio vaccine (IPV), which cannot mutate into neurovirulent strains and which is more effective in populations that have failed to respond to OPV, will be needed globally to eradicate polio, but it is unaffordable for many developing countries. Because there are more immune cells in the skin than in the muscle, intradermal administration of IPV may be a way to increase the efficacy and reduce the dose (and thus the cost) of IPV. We plan to conduct a clinical trial randomizing 231 HIV-infected adults to receive a booster of two-fifths dose intradermal IPV, one-fifth dose intradermal IPV, full dose intramuscular IPV, or two-fifths dose intramuscular IPV. We will measure polio immunity before and after vaccine administration. Through this study, we will determine the optimal booster dose of intradermal IPV, whether intradermal works better than intramuscular IPV administration, and whether intradermal IPV is effective in an immunocompromised population. The data from this trial could contribute to global polio eradication.
222 studies on the registry are indexed under Poliomyelitis; 11 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 231 is below the median of 456 across 199 interventional studies indexed under Poliomyelitis.
Browse Poliomyelitis studies →Eastern Virginia Medical School is the lead sponsor of 56 studies on the registry; 8 are open to participants now.
Of its 9 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 1 (11%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Exclusion Criteria:
Participants in this arm will receive 2/5 dose (0.2 mL) of inactivated polio vaccine (IPOL, Sanofi Pasteur) as a one-time dose intradermally using the NanoPass MicronJet 600 microneedle device
Drug: IPOL (Sanofi Pasteur) inactivated polio vaccine booster dose
Participants in this study arm will receive 1/5 dose (0.1 mL) of inactivated polio vaccine (IPOL, Sanofi Pasteur) as a one time dose intradermally using the NanoPass MicronJet 600 microneedle device.
Drug: IPOL (Sanofi Pasteur) inactivated polio vaccine booster dose
Participants in this study arm will receive the standard full dose (0.5 mL) of inactivated polio vaccine (IPOL, Sanofi Pasteur) as a one time dose intramuscularly.
Drug: IPOL (Sanofi Pasteur) inactivated polio vaccine booster dose
Participants in this study arm will receive 2/5 dose (0.2 mL) inactivated polio vaccine (IPOL, Sanofi Pasteur) as a one time dose intramuscularly.
Drug: IPOL (Sanofi Pasteur) inactivated polio vaccine booster dose
Depending on study arm, participants will receive 0.2 mL intradermally, 0.1 mL intradermally, 0.5 mL intramuscularly, or 0.2 mL intramuscularly.
Also known as: IPOL (Sanofi Pasteur)
Post Booster Polio Neutralizing Antibody Titers
Blood will be drawn at baseline and 4-6 weeks after receiving the vaccine booster dose. It will be spun down, and the serum frozen and stored at -80 degrees celsius. After all the participants have completed the study, all of the serum will be tested for polio neutralizing antibody titers.
Time frame: 4-6 weeks after receiving the vaccine
Baseline Polio Neutralizing Antibody Titers
serum polio neutralizing antibody titers prior to the vaccine booster
Time frame: first visit
| Milestone | 2/5 Dose Intradermal IPV | 1/5 Dose Intadermal IPV | Full Dose Intramuscular IPV | 2/5 Dose Intramuscular IPV |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Started | 66 | 66 | 66 | 33 |
| Completed | 65 | 63 | 64 | 32 |
| Not completed | 1 | 3 | 2 | 1 |
Blood will be drawn at baseline and 4-6 weeks after receiving the vaccine booster dose. It will be spun down, and the serum frozen and stored at -80 degrees celsius. After all the participants have completed the study, all of the serum will be tested for polio neutralizing antibody titers.
| antibody titers | 2/5 Dose Intradermal IPV | 1/5 Dose Intadermal IPV | Full Dose Intramuscular IPV | 2/5 Dose Intramuscular IPV |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Serotype 1 | 1715 (1174 to 2504) | 976 (730 to 1304) | 1249 (916 to 1705) | 1328 (795 to 2219) |
| Serotype 2 | 2188 (1507 to 3178) | 1438 (984 to 2101) | 1489 (1041 to 2128) | 1938 (1232 to 3047) |
| Serotype 3 | 2375 (1423 to 3963) | 1698 (1114 to 2588) | 1792 (1133 to 2835) | 2075 (1225 to 3514) |
serum polio neutralizing antibody titers prior to the vaccine booster
| antibody titers | 2/5 Dose Intradermal IPV | 1/5 Dose Intadermal IPV | Full Dose Intramuscular IPV | 2/5 Dose Intramuscular IPV |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Serotype 1 | 44 (31 to 64) | 42 (29 to 59) | 42 (30 to 58) | 34 (20 to 56) |
| Serotype 2 | 33 (24 to 44) | 53 (37 to 76) | 36 (26 to 51) | 44 (29 to 66) |
| Serotype 3 | 14 (10 to 20) | 20 (14 to 28) | 16 (11 to 21) | 11 (7 to 16) |
Non-serious events are listed at a 4% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2/5 Dose Intradermal IPV | — | 1/66 (1.5%) | 33/66 (50%) |
| 1/5 Dose Intadermal IPV | — | 0/66 (0%) | 29/66 (43.9%) |
| Full Dose Intramuscular IPV | — | 0/66 (0%) | 18/66 (27.3%) |
| 2/5 Dose Intramuscular IPV | — | 0/33 (0%) | 10/33 (30.3%) |
| Event | 2/5 Dose Intradermal IPV | 1/5 Dose Intadermal IPV | Full Dose Intramuscular IPV | 2/5 Dose Intramuscular IPV |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hospitalization for electrolyte imbalances secondary to alcohol withdrawalRenal and urinary disorders | 1/66 | 0/66 | 0/66 | 0/33 |
| Event | 2/5 Dose Intradermal IPV | 1/5 Dose Intadermal IPV | Full Dose Intramuscular IPV | 2/5 Dose Intramuscular IPV |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Redness at Injection SiteSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders | 19/66 | 22/66 | 4/66 | 3/33 |
| Tenderness at Injection SiteGeneral disorders | 10/66 | 8/66 | 11/66 | 5/33 |
| Swelling at Injection SiteSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders | 5/66 | 7/66 | 3/66 | 2/33 |
| Itching at injection siteSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders | 7/66 | 4/66 | 0/66 | 0/33 |
| RashSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders | 1/66 | 1/66 | 4/66 | 2/33 |
| Age, Continuous(years) | 2/5 Dose Intradermal IPV | 1/5 Dose Intadermal IPV | Full Dose Intramuscular IPV | 2/5 Dose Intramuscular IPV | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 45 ± 10 | 45 ± 11 | 46 ± 11 | 46 ± 11 | 46 ± 11 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | 2/5 Dose Intradermal IPV | 1/5 Dose Intadermal IPV | Full Dose Intramuscular IPV | 2/5 Dose Intramuscular IPV | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 24 | 24 | 21 | 7 | 76 |
| Male | 42 | 42 | 45 | 26 | 155 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | 2/5 Dose Intradermal IPV | 1/5 Dose Intadermal IPV | Full Dose Intramuscular IPV | 2/5 Dose Intramuscular IPV | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 3 | 5 | 0 | 0 | 8 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 62 | 60 | 66 | 33 | 221 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 2 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | 2/5 Dose Intradermal IPV | 1/5 Dose Intadermal IPV | Full Dose Intramuscular IPV | 2/5 Dose Intramuscular IPV | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Asian | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Black or African American | 47 | 48 | 47 | 21 | 163 |
| White | 19 | 17 | 19 | 11 | 66 |
| More than one race | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 2 |
| Most recent CD4 count(cells/mm^3) | 2/5 Dose Intradermal IPV | 1/5 Dose Intadermal IPV | Full Dose Intramuscular IPV | 2/5 Dose Intramuscular IPV | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 669 ± 361 | 630 ± 331 | 676 ± 354 | 569 ± 260 | 645 ± 338 |
| Currently on antiretroviral therapy(participants) | 2/5 Dose Intradermal IPV | 1/5 Dose Intadermal IPV | Full Dose Intramuscular IPV | 2/5 Dose Intramuscular IPV | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Number | 64 | 64 | 66 | 33 | 227 |
| Diagnosis of AIDS in the record(participants) | 2/5 Dose Intradermal IPV | 1/5 Dose Intadermal IPV | Full Dose Intramuscular IPV | 2/5 Dose Intramuscular IPV | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Number | 38 | 33 | 39 | 17 | 127 |
| Year diagnosed with HIV(calendar year) | 2/5 Dose Intradermal IPV | 1/5 Dose Intadermal IPV | Full Dose Intramuscular IPV | 2/5 Dose Intramuscular IPV | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 2001 ± 8 | 2002 ± 8 | 2001 ± 8 | 2001 ± 9 | 2002 ± 8 |
6 further baseline measures are reported on the registry.
This study is completed, as verified in Jan 2015. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Eastern Virginia Medical School