CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT01618695Updated Jul 29, 2021Results posted

A Study With an Open-label Extension Phase to Evaluate the Efficacy and Safety of Perampanel (E2007) Administered as an Adjunctive Therapy in Subjects With Refractory Partial-onset Seizures

A Phase 3 interventional study of Perampanel and Placebo in Partial-onset Seizures, sponsored by Eisai Co., Ltd.. Completed at 117 sites in 7 countries. Open to participants aged 12 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2021-07-29.

Sponsored by Eisai Co., Ltd. · Phase 3, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
940
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
12 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

The purpose of this study is to confirm the efficacy and safety of perampanel compared to placebo in patients with refractory partial-onset seizures

02

Conditions studied

  • Partial-onset Seizures

Browse trials for

Keywords

  • Partial-onset Seizures
  • partial seizures
  • seizure
  • epilepsy
03

In context

Seizures

881 studies on the registry are indexed under Seizures; 143 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 940 is above the median of 64 across 610 interventional studies indexed under Seizures.

Browse Seizures studies →

Lead sponsor

Eisai Co., Ltd. is the lead sponsor of 149 studies on the registry; 5 are open to participants now.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
12 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  1. Male or female and greater than or equal to 12 years of age;
  2. Have a diagnosis of epilepsy with partial seizures with or without secondarily generalized seizures
  3. Participants with computed tomography (CT) or magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) diagnosis within the last 10 years (for adults) and 5 years (for adolescents) prior to visit 1 that ruled out progressive central nervous system (CNS) disorders, example, neurodegenerative disorders, brain tumors. For participants without existing CT or MRI results, CT or MRI was performed at or after Visit 1 but results evaluation was performed by Visit 2
  4. Participants who had been treated for at least 12 weeks but confirmed to be uncontrolled with more than one standard antiepileptic drug (AED) for 2 years before enrollment
  5. During the 6-week Prerandomization Phase participants must have had greater than or equal to 5 partial seizures per 6-week
  6. Are currently being treated with stable doses and administrations of 1, 2, or a maximum of 3 approved AEDs. Only 1 inducer AED (defined as carbamazepine, phenytoin or oxcarbazepine only) out of the maximum of 3 AEDs is allowed

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria

  1. Presence of nonmotor simple partial seizures only;
  2. Presence of primary generalized epilepsies or seizures, such as absences and/or myoclonic epilepsies;
  3. Presence or previous history of Lennox-Gastaut syndrome;
  4. A history of status epilepticus within 1 year prior to screening
  5. Seizure clusters where individual seizures cannot be counted
  6. A history of psychogenic seizures within 5 years prior to screening
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
Quadruple (Participant, Care provider, Investigator, Outcomes assessor)
Enrollment
940 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Perampanel

    Drug: Perampanel

  • Placebo comparator
    Placebo

    Drug: Placebo

Interventions

  • DrugPerampanel

    Core study: 4 milligram (mg) group- Week 0 Once daily 2 milligram per day (mg/day), Week 1 to Week 18 Once daily 4 mg/day; 8 mg group- Week 0 Once daily 2 mg/day, Week 1 Once daily 4 mg/day, Week 2 Once daily 6 mg/day, Week 3 to Week 18 Once daily 8 mg/day; 12 mg group- Week 0 Once daily 2 mg/day, Week 1 Once daily 4 mg/day, Week 2 Once daily 6 mg/day, Week 3 Once daily 8 mg/day, Week 4 Once daily 10 mg/day, Week 5 to Week 18 Once daily 12 mg/day. Extension study: 4 mg group- Week 19 to Week 22 Once daily 4 mg/day, Week 23 Once daily 6 mg/day, Week 24 Once daily 8 mg/day, Week 25 Once daily 10 mg/day, Week 26 to Week 75 or more Once daily 12 mg/day; 8 mg group- Week 19 to Week 22 Once daily 8 mg/day, Week 23 Once daily 10 mg/day, Week 24 to Week 75 or more Once daily 12 mg/day; 12 mg group- Week 19 to Week 75 or more Once daily 12 mg/day.

    Also known as: E2007

  • DrugPlacebo

    Core study: Week 0 to Week 18 Once daily placebo. Extension study: Week 19 to Week 22 Once daily placebo, Week 23 Once daily perampanel 2 mg/day, Week 24 Once daily perampanel 4 mg/day, Week 25 Once daily perampanel 6 mg/day, Week 26 Once daily perampanel 8 mg/day, Week 27 Once daily perampanel 10 mg/day, Week 28 to Week 75 or more Once daily perampanel 12 mg/day.

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Core Phase: Percent Change in Seizure Frequency (For All Partial Seizures) Per 28 Days in the Randomization Phase Relative to Pre-randomization Phase (Baseline)

    Seizure frequency was based on number of seizures per 28 days, calculated as the number of seizures over the entire time interval divided by the number of days in the interval and multiplied by 28. All partial seizure included simple partial seizures without motor signs, simple partial with motor signs, complex partial, and complex partial with secondary generalized seizures. A simple partial seizure takes place on one side of the brain. Usually, people experiencing a simple partial seizure do not lose consciousness or awareness. A complex partial seizure is a type of seizure that arises in one lobe of the brain, rather than the whole brain. The seizure affects people's awareness and may cause them to lose consciousness.

    Time frame: Baseline, Week 19

Secondary outcomes

  1. Core Phase: Responder Rate During the Maintenance Period of the Randomization Phase Relative to the Prerandomization Phase (Baseline)- Last Observation Carried Forward (LOCF)

    Responder rate was percentage of participants with greater than or equal to (\>=) 50% reduction in seizure frequency during maintenance period of the randomization phase relative to prerandomization phase (baseline). If the reduction in seizure frequency is less than (\<) 50%, then the participants are considered as non-responders.

    Time frame: Baseline, Week 19

  2. Core Phase: Percent Change in Seizure Frequency Per 28 Days For Complex Partial Seizures Plus Secondary Generalized Seizures in the Randomization Phase Relative to the Prerandomization Phase (Baseline)

    Seizure frequency was based on number of seizures per 28 days, calculated as the number of seizures over the entire time interval divided by the number of days in the interval and multiplied by 28. A complex partial seizure is a type of seizure that arises in one lobe of the brain, rather than the whole brain and it affects awareness and may cause in loss of consciousness. Secondary generalized seizures begin in one part of the brain, but then spread to both sides of the brain.

    Time frame: Baseline, Week 19

  3. Core Phase: Number of Participants With Clinical Global Impression of Change (CGIC) Scores

    The investigator evaluated each participant for CGIC questionnaire to assess change in participant's disease clinical status from baseline. Assessment evaluated frequency of seizures, severity of seizures, occurrence of adverse events (AEs), and overall functional status of the participant using the 7-point scale. The evaluation used a 7-point scale with the scores 1: Very much improved, 2: Much improved, 3: Minimally improved, 4: No change, 5: Minimally worse, 6: Much worse, 7: Very much worse. Lower score indicated improvement and higher score indicated worsening.

    Time frame: Baseline, Week 19

07

Results

Posted Jun 5, 2020

Participant flow

Participants took part in the study at 119 investigative sites in Australia, China, Korea, Japan, Malaysia, Taiwan, and Thailand from 15th May 2012 to 28th May 2020. A total of 940 participants were enrolled and screened, of which 230 participants were screen failures, 710 participants were randomized and 707 participants were treated in this study.

Core Phase
Participant flow — Core Phase
MilestoneCore Phase: Placebo; Extension Phase: up to 12 mg PerampanelCore Phase: Perampanel 4 mg; Extension Phase: up to 12 mg PerampanelCore Phase: Perampanel 8 mg; Extension Phase: up to 12 mg PerampanelCore Phase/Extension Phase: up to 12 mg Perampanel
Started177176177180
Treated (safety analysis set)176176175180
Completed152156147144
Not completed25203036
Withdrew: Adverse event451520
Withdrew: Lost to follow-up0010
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject1611913
Withdrew: Pregnancy2000
Withdrew: Lack of efficacy1211
Withdrew: Other than specified1222
Withdrew: Not treated1020
Extension Phase
Participant flow — Extension Phase
MilestoneCore Phase: Placebo; Extension Phase: up to 12 mg PerampanelCore Phase: Perampanel 4 mg; Extension Phase: up to 12 mg PerampanelCore Phase: Perampanel 8 mg; Extension Phase: up to 12 mg PerampanelCore Phase/Extension Phase: up to 12 mg Perampanel
Started151156146143
Completed56405446
Not completed951169297
Withdrew: Lack of efficacy17332624
Withdrew: Pregnancy2011
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject43484233
Withdrew: Adverse event1816920
Withdrew: Lost to follow-up2111
Withdrew: Other than specified13181318

Outcome measures

PrimaryCore Phase: Percent Change in Seizure Frequency (For All Partial Seizures) Per 28 Days in the Randomization Phase Relative to Pre-randomization Phase (Baseline)

Seizure frequency was based on number of seizures per 28 days, calculated as the number of seizures over the entire time interval divided by the number of days in the interval and multiplied by 28. All partial seizure included simple partial seizures without motor signs, simple partial with motor signs, complex partial, and complex partial with secondary generalized seizures. A simple partial seizure takes place on one side of the brain. Usually, people experiencing a simple partial seizure do not lose consciousness or awareness. A complex partial seizure is a type of seizure that arises in one lobe of the brain, rather than the whole brain. The seizure affects people's awareness and may cause them to lose consciousness.

Time frame:
Baseline, Week 19
Reported as:
Median · percent change
Core Phase: Percent Change in Seizure Frequency (For All Partial Seizures) Per 28 Days in the Randomization Phase Relative to Pre-randomization Phase (Baseline)
percent changePlaceboPerampanel 4 mgPerampanel 8 mgPerampanel 12 mg
Core Phase: Percent Change in Seizure Frequency (For All Partial Seizures) Per 28 Days in the Randomization Phase Relative to Pre-randomization Phase (Baseline)-10.76 (-90.4 to 400.0)-17.32 (-97.1 to 473.4)-28.95 (-100.0 to 809.4)-38.03 (-100.0 to 456.8)
Statistical analysis
  • Placebo vs Perampanel 4 mg · ANCOVA · p = 0.2330 · Median difference (final values): -5.09 · 95% CI -14.112 to 4.519Median Difference to placebo and the 95 percent (%) confidence interval are based on the Hodges-Lehmann method.
  • Placebo vs Perampanel 8 mg · ANCOVA · p = 0.0003 · Median difference (final values): -16.45 · 95% CI -25.683 to -7.251Median Difference to placebo and the 95% confidence interval are based on the Hodges-Lehmann method.
  • Placebo vs Perampanel 12 mg · ANCOVA · p = <0.0001 · Median difference (final values): -24.95 · 95% CI -33.878 to -16.235Median Difference to placebo and the 95% confidence interval are based on the Hodges-Lehmann method.
SecondaryCore Phase: Responder Rate During the Maintenance Period of the Randomization Phase Relative to the Prerandomization Phase (Baseline)- Last Observation Carried Forward (LOCF)

Responder rate was percentage of participants with greater than or equal to (\>=) 50% reduction in seizure frequency during maintenance period of the randomization phase relative to prerandomization phase (baseline). If the reduction in seizure frequency is less than (\<) 50%, then the participants are considered as non-responders.

Time frame:
Baseline, Week 19
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
Core Phase: Responder Rate During the Maintenance Period of the Randomization Phase Relative to the Prerandomization Phase (Baseline)- Last Observation Carried Forward (LOCF)
percentage of participantsPlaceboPerampanel 4 mgPerampanel 8 mgPerampanel 12 mg
Core Phase: Responder Rate During the Maintenance Period of the Randomization Phase Relative to the Prerandomization Phase (Baseline)- Last Observation Carried Forward (LOCF)19.423.036.043.3
Statistical analysis
  • Placebo vs Perampanel 4 mg · Cochran-Mantel-Haenszel · p = 0.3954
  • Placebo vs Perampanel 8 mg · Cochran-Mantel-Haenszel · p = 0.0005
  • Placebo vs Perampanel 12 mg · Cochran-Mantel-Haenszel · p = <0.0001
SecondaryCore Phase: Percent Change in Seizure Frequency Per 28 Days For Complex Partial Seizures Plus Secondary Generalized Seizures in the Randomization Phase Relative to the Prerandomization Phase (Baseline)

Seizure frequency was based on number of seizures per 28 days, calculated as the number of seizures over the entire time interval divided by the number of days in the interval and multiplied by 28. A complex partial seizure is a type of seizure that arises in one lobe of the brain, rather than the whole brain and it affects awareness and may cause in loss of consciousness. Secondary generalized seizures begin in one part of the brain, but then spread to both sides of the brain.

Time frame:
Baseline, Week 19
Reported as:
Median · percent change
Core Phase: Percent Change in Seizure Frequency Per 28 Days For Complex Partial Seizures Plus Secondary Generalized Seizures in the Randomization Phase Relative to the Prerandomization Phase (Baseline)
percent changePlaceboPerampanel 4 mgPerampanel 8 mgPerampanel 12 mg
Core Phase: Percent Change in Seizure Frequency Per 28 Days For Complex Partial Seizures Plus Secondary Generalized Seizures in the Randomization Phase Relative to the Prerandomization Phase (Baseline)-11.70 (-88.6 to 400.0)-19.08 (-100.0 to 410.0)-33.68 (-100.0 to 1103.4)-41.80 (-100.0 to 456.8)
Statistical analysis
  • Placebo vs Perampanel 4 mg · ANCOVA · p = 0.0552 · Median difference (final values): -8.27 · 95% CI -18.067 to 1.671Median Difference to placebo and the 95% confidence interval are based on the Hodges-Lehmann method.
  • Placebo vs Perampanel 8 mg · ANCOVA · p = <0.0001 · Median difference (final values): -21.21 · 95% CI -30.941 to -11.368Median Difference to placebo and the 95% confidence interval are based on the Hodges-Lehmann method.
  • Placebo vs Perampanel 12 mg · ANCOVA · p = <0.0001 · Median difference (final values): -28.65 · 95% CI -37.698 to -19.794Median Difference to placebo and the 95% confidence interval are based on the Hodges-Lehmann method.
SecondaryCore Phase: Number of Participants With Clinical Global Impression of Change (CGIC) Scores

The investigator evaluated each participant for CGIC questionnaire to assess change in participant's disease clinical status from baseline. Assessment evaluated frequency of seizures, severity of seizures, occurrence of adverse events (AEs), and overall functional status of the participant using the 7-point scale. The evaluation used a 7-point scale with the scores 1: Very much improved, 2: Much improved, 3: Minimally improved, 4: No change, 5: Minimally worse, 6: Much worse, 7: Very much worse. Lower score indicated improvement and higher score indicated worsening.

Time frame:
Baseline, Week 19
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Core Phase: Number of Participants With Clinical Global Impression of Change (CGIC) Scores
ParticipantsPlaceboPerampanel 4 mgPerampanel 8 mgPerampanel 12 mg
Very much improved35119
Much improved31394154
Minimally improved54455340
No change67563737
Minimally worse31054
Much worse1001
Very much worse0001

Adverse events

Collected over From the date of first dose up to 30 days after the last dose of study drug (up to Week 79). Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Core Phase: Placebo1/176 (0.6%)10/176 (5.7%)114/176 (64.8%)
Core Phase: Perampanel 4 mg0/176 (0%)6/176 (3.4%)119/176 (67.6%)
Core Phase: Perampanel 8 mg1/175 (0.6%)7/175 (4%)127/175 (72.6%)
Core Phase: Perampanel 12 mg0/180 (0%)12/180 (6.7%)155/180 (86.1%)
Extension Phase: Perampanel 12 mg7/679 (1%)113/679 (16.6%)618/679 (91%)
Most frequent serious events
Showing 10 of 118
Most frequent serious events
EventCore Phase: PlaceboCore Phase: Perampanel 4 mgCore Phase: Perampanel 8 mgCore Phase: Perampanel 12 mgExtension Phase: Perampanel 12 mg
PneumoniaInfections and infestations2/1760/1761/1750/1805/679
Intervertebral disc protrusionMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders0/1762/1760/1750/1803/679
Abortion inducedSurgical and medical procedures2/1760/1760/1750/1804/679
Status epilepticusNervous system disorders1/1760/1760/1752/1806/679
AggressionPsychiatric disorders0/1760/1760/1752/1803/679
EpilepsyNervous system disorders0/1760/1761/1751/1805/679
SeizureNervous system disorders0/1760/1760/1750/1805/679
ContusionInjury, poisoning and procedural complications1/1760/1760/1750/1804/679
Skin lacerationInjury, poisoning and procedural complications0/1760/1760/1750/1804/679
CataractEye disorders0/1760/1760/1750/1804/679
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 627
Most frequent other events
EventCore Phase: PlaceboCore Phase: Perampanel 4 mgCore Phase: Perampanel 8 mgCore Phase: Perampanel 12 mgExtension Phase: Perampanel 12 mg
DizzinessNervous system disorders10/17640/17650/17576/180317/679
NasopharyngitisInfections and infestations26/17623/17624/17523/180170/679
SomnolenceNervous system disorders23/17628/17631/17532/180165/679
HeadacheNervous system disorders13/17612/17613/17510/18094/679
Upper respiratory tract infectionInfections and infestations8/1768/17614/17511/18070/679
IrritabilityPsychiatric disorders0/1760/1760/1750/18061/679
ContusionInjury, poisoning and procedural complications4/1765/1766/1755/18049/679
Weight increasedInvestigations1/1767/1766/1756/18040/679
PyrexiaGeneral disorders3/1762/1764/1754/18039/679
IrritabilityGeneral disorders1/1768/17610/1759/1800/679

Baseline characteristics

Safety Analysis Set (SAS) included all participants who signed informed consent, were randomized, received at least one dose of study medication, and had at least one post-dose safety assessment.

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Core Phase: PlaceboCore Phase: Perampanel 4 mgCore Phase: Perampanel 8 mgCore Phase: Perampanel 12 mgTotal
Mean34.5 ± 13.2133.1 ± 13.1833.6 ± 14.1132.3 ± 12.3033.4 ± 13.21
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Core Phase: PlaceboCore Phase: Perampanel 4 mgCore Phase: Perampanel 8 mgCore Phase: Perampanel 12 mgTotal
Female90948493361
Male86829187346
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Core Phase: PlaceboCore Phase: Perampanel 4 mgCore Phase: Perampanel 8 mgCore Phase: Perampanel 12 mgTotal
Hispanic or Latino01012
Not Hispanic or Latino176175175179705
Unknown or Not Reported00000
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Core Phase: PlaceboCore Phase: Perampanel 4 mgCore Phase: Perampanel 8 mgCore Phase: Perampanel 12 mgTotal
American Indian or Alaska Native00000
Asian169168159171667
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander00101
Black or African American00000
White7714735
More than one race00000
Unknown or Not Reported01124
08

Study locations

117 sites
  • Facility #1
    Bedford Park, Australia
  • Facility #1
    Camperdown, Australia
  • Facility #1
    Clayton, Australia
  • Facility #1
    Fitzroy, Australia
  • Facility #1
    Heidelberg, Australia
  • Facility #1
    Melbourne, Australia
  • Facility #1
    Randwick, Australia
  • Facility #1
    Beijing, Beijing, China
  • Facility #1
    Chongqing, Chongqing, China
  • Facility #1
    Xiamen, Fujian, China
  • Facility #1
    Guangzhou, Guangdong, China
  • Facility #2
    Guangzhou, Guangdong, China
  • Facility #1
    Harbin, Heilongjiang, China
  • Facility #1
    Changchun, Jilin, China
  • Facility #1
    Xi'an, Shaanxi, China
  • Facility #2
    Xi'an, Shaanxi, China
  • Facility #3
    Xi'an, Shaanxi, China
  • Facility #1
    Jinan, Shandong, China
  • Facility #2
    Jinan, Shandong, China
  • Facility #1
    Qingdao, Shandong, China
  • Facility #1
    Shanghai, Shanghai, China
  • Facility #2
    Shanghai, Shanghai, China
  • Facility #3
    Shanghai, Shanghai, China
  • Facility #1
    Taiyuan, Shanxi, China
  • Facility #1
    Chengdu, Sichuan, China
  • Facility #2
    Chengdu, Sichuan, China
  • Facility #1
    Tianjin, Tianjin, China
  • Facility #1
    Kunming, Yunnan, China
  • Facility #1
    Wenzhou, Zhejiang, China
  • Eisai Trial Site #1
    Nagoya, Aichi, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #2
    Nagoya, Aichi, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #3
    Nagoya, Aichi, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #1
    Tōon, Ehime, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #1
    Yoshida-gun, Fukui, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #1
    Kitakyushu, Fukuoka, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #1
    Koga, Fukuoka, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #1
    Kurume, Fukuoka, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #1
    Sapporo, Hokkaido, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #2
    Sapporo, Hokkaido, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #1
    Itami, Hyogo, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #1
    Tsuchiura, Ibaraki, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #1
    Kanazawa, Ishikawa, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #1
    Zentsuji, Kagawa, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #1
    Fujisawa, Kanagawa, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #1
    Kawasaki, Kanagawa, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #1
    Goshi, Kumamoto, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #1
    Tamana, Kumamoto, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #1
    Iwanuma, Miyagi, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #1
    Sendai, Miyagi, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #1
    Miyakonojo, Miyazaki, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #1
    Omura, Nagasaki, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #1
    Beppu, Oita, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #1
    Kurashiki, Okayama, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #1
    Izumi, Osaka, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #1
    Osakasayama, Osaka, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #1
    Sakai, Osaka, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #2
    Sakai, Osaka, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #1
    Takatsuki, Osaka, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #1
    Asaka, Saitama, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #1
    Higashimurayama, Saitama, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #1
    Moriyama, Shiga, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #1
    Matsue, Shimane, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #1
    Hamamatsu, Shizuoka, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #1
    Komatsushima, Tokushima, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #1
    Kodaira, Tokyo, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #1
    Kokubunji, Tokyo, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #1
    Ube, Yamaguchi, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #1
    Akita, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #1
    Aomori, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #1
    Fukui, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #1
    Fukuoka, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #2
    Fukuoka, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #1
    Gifu, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #1
    Hiroshima, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #2
    Hiroshima, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #1
    Kagoshima, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #2
    Kagoshima, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #1
    Kumamoto, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #1
    Kyoto, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #1
    Miyazaki, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #1
    Nara, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #1
    Niigata, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #1
    Okayama, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #1
    Saitama, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #2
    Saitama, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #1
    Shizuoka, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #2
    Shizuoka, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #1
    Toyama, Japan
  • Eisai Trial Site #1
    Yamagata, Japan
  • Facility #1
    Busan, Korea, Republic of
  • Facility #2
    Busan, Korea, Republic of
  • Facility #1
    Daegu, Korea, Republic of
  • Facility #1
    Daejeon, Korea, Republic of
  • Facility #1
    Gwangju, Korea, Republic of
  • Facility #1
    Incheon, Korea, Republic of
  • Facility #1
    Seoul, Korea, Republic of
  • Facility #2
    Seoul, Korea, Republic of
  • Facility #3
    Seoul, Korea, Republic of
  • Facility #4
    Seoul, Korea, Republic of
  • Facility #5
    Seoul, Korea, Republic of

Showing the first 100 of 117 sites across 7 countries.

09

References and documents

Publications

  • Nishida T, Lee SK, Inoue Y, Saeki K, Ishikawa K, Kaneko S. Adjunctive perampanel in partial-onset seizures: Asia-Pacific, randomized phase III study. Acta Neurol Scand. 2018 Apr;137(4):392-399. doi: 10.1111/ane.12883. Epub 2017 Dec 17. PubMed 29250772 ↗
10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Jul 29, 2021, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT01618695
Lead sponsor
Eisai Co., Ltd.
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Jun 13, 2012
Start date
May 15, 2012
Primary completion
Sep 15, 2014
Completion
May 28, 2020
Results posted
Jun 5, 2020
Last update
Jul 29, 2021

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Jul 2021. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion