A Phase 1/2 interventional study of SB-728-T and SB-728-T in HIV, sponsored by Sangamo Therapeutics. Completed at 11 sites in 2 countries. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2021-05-24.
Sponsored by Sangamo Therapeutics · Phase 1/2, Interventional, and Treatment
The purpose of the study is to evaluate the safety, tolerability and effect on HIV viral load, of escalating doses of cyclophosphamide administered 1 day prior to SB-728-T infusion.
The objectives of the study are to augment HIV-specific T-cells and to reverse or decrease the progressive destruction of CD4+ T-cells that leads to clinical AIDS. Levels of engraftment vary from negligible to about 10% of the CD4+ T-cells in the vascular compartment. Preliminary analyses of HAART TI suggest that an anti-HIV effect may correlate with the level of SB-728-T engraftment. Concurrently, non-myeloablative lymphodepletion with cyclophosphamide has been demonstrated to enhance engraftment of adoptively transferred T-cells through a variety of mechanisms. The study is being undertaken to increase SB-728-T engraftment through the administration of low non-myeloablative doses of cyclophosphamide.
Sangamo Therapeutics is the lead sponsor of 27 studies on the registry; 1 is open to participants now.
Of its 6 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 4 (67%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Exclusion Criteria:
Genetic: SB-728-T
Genetic: SB-728-T
Genetic: SB-728-T
Genetic: SB-728-T
Genetic: SB-728-T
Infusion will be 5 to 30 billion ZFN modified CD4+ T cells 1 day following IV cyclophosphamide 200 mg
Also known as: cyclophosphamide
Infusion will be 5 to 30 billion ZFN modified CD4+ T cells up to 3 days following IV cyclophosphamide 0.5 g/m2
Also known as: cyclophosphamide
Infusion will be 5 to 30 billion ZFN modified CD4+ T cells up to 3 days following IV cyclophosphamide 1.0 g/m2
Also known as: cyclophosphamide
Infusion will be 5 to 30 billion ZFN modified CD4+ T cells up to 3 days following IV cyclophosphamide 2.0 g/m2
Also known as: cyclophosphamide
Infusion will be 5 to 30 billion ZFN modified CD4+ T cells up to 3 days following IV cyclophosphamide 1.5 g/m2
Also known as: cyclophosphamide
Treatment-emergent Adverse Events
Number of Participants with Treatment related Adverse Events in subjects who received any portion of the SB-728-T infusion
Time frame: 28 days after the SB-728-T infusion of the last subject in each Cohort and up to 12 months
Effect of Escalating Doses of Cyclophosphamide on SB-728-T Engraftment as Measured by CCR5 Modified CD4 Cells in Blood.
Effect of repeat doses of SB-728-T on engraftment following cyclophosphamide conditioning as measured by CCR5 Modified CD4 Cells in blood at Month 12.
Time frame: Up to 12 months after the last SB-728-T infusion
Effect of SB-728-T on Plasma HIV-1 RNA Levels Following HAART Interruption
Effect of SB-728-T on plasma HIV-1 RNA levels following HAART interruption. The unit is log copies/mL, except for the Cohort 1, the unit is " copies/mL". Cohort 1 mean and SD are 0. All 3 subjects had NO HIV-1 RNA DETECTED.
Time frame: Up to 12 months after the last SB-728-T infusion
Change From Baseline to Month 12 in CD4+ T-cell Counts in Peripheral Blood After Repeat Treatments With SB-728-T. (i.e. Month 12 Value - Baseline Value)
Change from baseline to month 12 in CD4+ T-cell counts in peripheral blood after repeat treatments with SB-728-T. (i.e. month 12 value - baseline value)
Time frame: Up to 12 months after the last SB-728-T infusion
| Milestone | Cohort 1 - IV Cyclophosphamide 200 mg | Cohort 2 - IV Cyclophosphamide 0.5 g/m2 | Cohort 3 - IV Cyclophosphamide 1.0 g/m2 | Cohort 4 - IV Cyclophosphamide 2.0 g/m2 | Cohort 5 - IV Cyclophosphamide 1.5 g/m2 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Started | 3 | 6 | 11 | 3 | 3 |
| Completed | 3 | 4 | 11 | 3 | 3 |
| Not completed | 0 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject | 0 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Number of Participants with Treatment related Adverse Events in subjects who received any portion of the SB-728-T infusion
| participants | Cohort 1 - IV Cyclophosphamide 200 mg | Cohort 2 - IV Cyclophosphamide 0.5 g/m2 | Cohort 3 - IV Cyclophosphamide 1.0 g/m2 | Cohort 4 - IV Cyclophosphamide 2.0 g/m2 | Cohort 5 - IV Cyclophosphamide 1.5 g/m2 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Treatment-emergent Adverse Events | 3 | 6 | 11 | 3 | 3 |
Effect of repeat doses of SB-728-T on engraftment following cyclophosphamide conditioning as measured by CCR5 Modified CD4 Cells in blood at Month 12.
| cells 10^9/L | Cohort 1 - IV Cyclophosphamide 200 mg | Cohort 2 - IV Cyclophosphamide 0.5 g/m2 | Cohort 3 - IV Cyclophosphamide 1.0 g/m2 | Cohort 4 - IV Cyclophosphamide 2.0 g/m2 | Cohort 5 - IV Cyclophosphamide 1.5 g/m2 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Effect of Escalating Doses of Cyclophosphamide on SB-728-T Engraftment as Measured by CCR5 Modified CD4 Cells in Blood. | 0.038 ± 0.0409 | 0.061 ± 0.0447 | 0.143 ± 0.1055 | 0.085 ± 0.0197 | 0.079 ± 0.0155 |
Effect of SB-728-T on plasma HIV-1 RNA levels following HAART interruption. The unit is log copies/mL, except for the Cohort 1, the unit is " copies/mL". Cohort 1 mean and SD are 0. All 3 subjects had NO HIV-1 RNA DETECTED.
| log copies/mL | Cohort 1 - IV Cyclophosphamide 200 mg | Cohort 2 - IV Cyclophosphamide 0.5 g/m2 | Cohort 3 - IV Cyclophosphamide 1.0 g/m2 | Cohort 4 - IV Cyclophosphamide 2.0 g/m2 | Cohort 5 - IV Cyclophosphamide 1.5 g/m2 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Effect of SB-728-T on Plasma HIV-1 RNA Levels Following HAART Interruption | 0 ± 0 | 0.250 ± 0.5000 | 1.537 ± 1.3955 | 0.667 ± 0.5774 | 3.442 ± 1.1545 |
Change from baseline to month 12 in CD4+ T-cell counts in peripheral blood after repeat treatments with SB-728-T. (i.e. month 12 value - baseline value)
| cells 10^9/L | Cohort 1 - IV Cyclophosphamide 200 mg | Cohort 2 - IV Cyclophosphamide 0.5 g/m2 | Cohort 3 - IV Cyclophosphamide 1.0 g/m2 | Cohort 4 - IV Cyclophosphamide 2.0 g/m2 | Cohort 5 - IV Cyclophosphamide 1.5 g/m2 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Change From Baseline to Month 12 in CD4+ T-cell Counts in Peripheral Blood After Repeat Treatments With SB-728-T. (i.e. Month 12 Value - Baseline Value) | 0.064 ± 0.1309 | 0.149 ± 0.3736 | -0.043 ± 0.1712 | 0.153 ± 0.3247 | 0.099 ± 0.3279 |
Collected over 1 year. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cohort 1 - IV Cyclophosphamide 200 mg | 0/3 (0%) | 1/3 (33.3%) | 3/3 (100%) |
| Cohort 2 - IV Cyclophosphamide 0.5 g/m2 | 0/6 (0%) | 0/6 (0%) | 6/6 (100%) |
| Cohort 3 - IV Cyclophosphamide 1.0 g/m2 | 0/11 (0%) | 0/11 (0%) | 11/11 (100%) |
| Cohort 4 - IV Cyclophosphamide 2.0 g/m2 | 0/3 (0%) | 1/3 (33.3%) | 3/3 (100%) |
| Cohort 5 - IV Cyclophosphamide 1.5 g/m2 | 0/3 (0%) | 0/3 (0%) | 3/3 (100%) |
| Event | Cohort 1 - IV Cyclophosphamide 200 mg | Cohort 2 - IV Cyclophosphamide 0.5 g/m2 | Cohort 3 - IV Cyclophosphamide 1.0 g/m2 | Cohort 4 - IV Cyclophosphamide 2.0 g/m2 | Cohort 5 - IV Cyclophosphamide 1.5 g/m2 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cellulitis staphylococcalInfections and infestations | 1/3 | 0/6 | 0/11 | 0/3 | 0/3 |
| Substance abusePsychiatric disorders | 0/3 | 0/6 | 0/11 | 1/3 | 0/3 |
| Event | Cohort 1 - IV Cyclophosphamide 200 mg | Cohort 2 - IV Cyclophosphamide 0.5 g/m2 | Cohort 3 - IV Cyclophosphamide 1.0 g/m2 | Cohort 4 - IV Cyclophosphamide 2.0 g/m2 | Cohort 5 - IV Cyclophosphamide 1.5 g/m2 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ChillsGeneral disorders | 2/3 | 4/6 | 3/11 | 3/3 | 0/3 |
| NeutropeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 0/3 | 0/6 | 0/11 | 3/3 | 2/3 |
| Nervous system disorderNeoplasms benign, malignant and unspecified (incl cysts and polyps) | 2/3 | 6/6 | 4/11 | 1/3 | 2/3 |
| AlopeciaSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders | 0/3 | 0/6 | 3/11 | 3/3 | 3/3 |
| HeadacheNeoplasms benign, malignant and unspecified (incl cysts and polyps) | 2/3 | 5/6 | 4/11 | 1/3 | 1/3 |
| NauseaGastrointestinal disorders | 2/3 | 4/6 | 4/11 | 1/3 | 1/3 |
| FatigueGeneral disorders | 1/3 | 2/6 | 3/11 | 0/3 | 2/3 |
| Upper respiratory tract infectionInfections and infestations | 2/3 | 2/6 | 3/11 | 2/3 | 0/3 |
| Bone painMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders | 0/3 | 0/6 | 0/11 | 2/3 | 0/3 |
| Skin odour abnormalRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 1/3 | 2/6 | 5/11 | 2/3 | 1/3 |
| Age, Continuous(years) | Cohort 1 - IV Cyclophosphamide 200 mg | Cohort 2 - IV Cyclophosphamide 0.5 g/m2 | Cohort 3 - IV Cyclophosphamide 1.0 g/m2 | Cohort 4 - IV Cyclophosphamide 2.0 g/m2 | Cohort 5 - IV Cyclophosphamide 1.5 g/m2 | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 44.7 ± 8.08 | 43.2 ± 6.11 | 41.5 ± 12.13 | 35.3 ± 10.21 | 50.0 ± 1.00 | 42.5 ± 9.70 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Cohort 1 - IV Cyclophosphamide 200 mg | Cohort 2 - IV Cyclophosphamide 0.5 g/m2 | Cohort 3 - IV Cyclophosphamide 1.0 g/m2 | Cohort 4 - IV Cyclophosphamide 2.0 g/m2 | Cohort 5 - IV Cyclophosphamide 1.5 g/m2 | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 0 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 2 |
| Male | 3 | 5 | 10 | 3 | 3 | 24 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Cohort 1 - IV Cyclophosphamide 200 mg | Cohort 2 - IV Cyclophosphamide 0.5 g/m2 | Cohort 3 - IV Cyclophosphamide 1.0 g/m2 | Cohort 4 - IV Cyclophosphamide 2.0 g/m2 | Cohort 5 - IV Cyclophosphamide 1.5 g/m2 | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 0 | 2 | 3 | 0 | 1 | 6 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 3 | 4 | 8 | 3 | 2 | 20 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Cohort 1 - IV Cyclophosphamide 200 mg | Cohort 2 - IV Cyclophosphamide 0.5 g/m2 | Cohort 3 - IV Cyclophosphamide 1.0 g/m2 | Cohort 4 - IV Cyclophosphamide 2.0 g/m2 | Cohort 5 - IV Cyclophosphamide 1.5 g/m2 | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Asian | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 2 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Black or African American | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| White | 2 | 6 | 9 | 2 | 2 | 21 |
| More than one race | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 2 |
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
This study is completed, as verified in Oct 2017. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Sangamo Therapeutics