CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT01496976Updated Dec 19, 2025Results posted

Ofatumumab, High Dose Methylprednisolone, Ofatumumab and Lenalidomide Consolidative Therapy for Untreated CLL/SLL

A Phase 2 interventional study of High Dose Methylprednisolone (HDMP) and Ofatumumab in Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia and Small Lymphocytic Lymphoma, sponsored by H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute. Completed at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2025-12-19.

Sponsored by H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
45
Allocation
Not applicable
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

The main purpose of this study is to see if ofatumumab with methylprednisolone followed by additional treatment with ofatumumab and lenalidomide can help people with Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia (CLL) get rid of their CLL for a long period of time. Researchers also want to find out if the combination of ofatumumab with methylprednisolone followed by additional treatment with ofatumumab and lenalidomide is safe and tolerable.

Read the detailed description

This is a phase II, single institution, and non-randomized study of patients with untreated CLL/SLL, utilizing a two-stage trial design. The primary endpoint for this trial is the combined complete and partial response rate (at 3 months-the end of cycle 3) to the protocol therapy. We anticipate this trial will have a complete response (CR) and partial response (PR) rate of at least 80%.

A two-stage design is employed for this trial. The null/unacceptable CR+PR response rate is ≤ 60% while the anticipated true response rate to the protocol treatment is at least 80% for each disease cohort. At the first stage, 26 patients will be accrued to the trial. If 15 or fewer of these patients respond, then the trial will be terminated early and the response rate to the protocol treatment will be deemed unacceptable (≤ 60%). Otherwise, if more than 15 patients respond during the first stage, an additional 19 patients will be enrolled to this trial during stage 2 for a total of 45 patients. If 32 or fewer of these 45 patients respond to the protocol treatment at the end of stage 2, no further investigation of the protocol treatment is considered warranted. On the other hand, if more than 32 patients out of the 45 enrolled patients respond, the protocol treatment will be considered promising. If the true response rate is ≤ 60%, the probability of ending the trial at stage 1 is 0.48. If, however, the true response rate is at least 80%, then the probability of ending the trial at stage 1 is only 0.01. This two-stage design has an overall alpha level of 0.045 and a power of 0.90.

02

Conditions studied

  • Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia
  • Small Lymphocytic Lymphoma

Keywords

  • leukemia
  • lymphoma
  • consolidative therapy
  • combination regimen
  • CLL
  • SLL
03

In context

Leukemia, Lymphocytic, Chronic, B-Cell

1,603 studies on the registry are indexed under Leukemia, Lymphocytic, Chronic, B-Cell; 243 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 45 is above the median of 40 across 1,325 interventional studies indexed under Leukemia, Lymphocytic, Chronic, B-Cell.

Browse Leukemia, Lymphocytic, Chronic, B-Cell studies →

Lead sponsor

H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute is the lead sponsor of 533 studies on the registry; 74 are open to participants now.

Of its 99 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 57 (58%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Understand and voluntarily sign an informed consent form
  • Able to adhere to the study visit schedule and other protocol requirements
  • Patients must have histologically or cytologically confirmed CD5+/CD20+ B-Cell chronic lymphocytic leukemia or small lymphocytic lymphoma. The diagnosis of CLL is based upon the National Comprehensive Cancer Network (NCCN) guidelines. Any outside pathology slides used as inclusion criteria for the patient will be reviewed at this institution to confirm the diagnosis. The patient must meet all of the following CLL criteria to participate in this study: absolute lymphocyte count > 5000/μL; CD20+ and CD5+; Bone marrow lymphocytes ≥ 30%; Or previous confirmed diagnosis of CLL/SLL with less than 5000/μl or less than 30% lymphocytes in bone marrow.
  • Patients are eligible if they have stage III or IV disease. Patients with stage 0, I or II disease will be eligible if they have evidence of active disease defined as one or more of the following signs/symptoms: Documented weight loss of ≥ 10% over a 6 month period; Febrile episodes of 38 degrees Celsius (100.5 degrees F) or greater for greater than 2 weeks without evidence of infection; Massive or progressive splenomegaly defined as > 6 cm below the left costal margin; Massive (> 10 cm in longest diameter) or progressive lymphadenopathy.
  • Patient has not received any prior treatment for CLL in the past.
  • Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status of ≤ 2 at study entry
  • Laboratory test results within these ranges: Absolute neutrophil count ≥ 1000/mm³; Platelet count ≥ 50,000 /mm³; Renal function assessed by calculated creatinine clearance ≥ 30ml/min by Cockcroft-Gault formula; Total bilirubin ≤ 1.5 x upper limit of normal (ULN); aspartic transaminase (AST/SGOT) and alanine transaminase (ALT/SGPT) ≤ 2.5 x ULN; Alkaline phosphatase \<2.5 x ULN
  • Disease free of prior malignancies for ≥ 5 years with exception of currently treated basal cell, squamous cell carcinoma of the skin, or carcinoma "in situ" of the cervix or breast
  • All study participants must be registered into the mandatory REMS® program, and be willing and able to comply with the requirements of REMS®.
  • Females of childbearing potential (FCBP)† must have a negative serum or urine pregnancy test with a sensitivity of at least 50 mIU/mL within 10 - 14 days and again within 24 hours prior to prescribing lenalidomide for Cycle 1 (prescriptions must be filled within 7 days) and must either commit to continued abstinence from heterosexual intercourse or begin TWO acceptable methods of birth control, one highly effective method and one additional effective method AT THE SAME TIME, at least 28 days before she starts taking lenalidomide. FCBP must also agree to ongoing pregnancy testing. Men must agree to use a latex condom during sexual contact with a FCBP even if they have had a successful vasectomy.
  • Able to take aspirin (81 or 325 mg) daily as prophylactic anticoagulation (patients intolerant to acetylsalicylic acid (ASA) may use warfarin or low molecular weight heparin).

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Any serious medical condition, laboratory abnormality, or psychiatric illness that would prevent the subject from signing the informed consent form
  • Pregnant or breast feeding females. (Lactating females must agree not to breast feed while taking lenalidomide).
  • Any condition, including the presence of laboratory abnormalities, which places the patient at unacceptable risk if he/she were to participate in the study or confounds the ability to interpret data from the study
  • Evidence of laboratory Tumor Lysis Syndrome (TLS) by Cairo-Bishop Definition. Patients may be enrolled upon correction of electrolyte abnormalities.
  • Use of any other experimental drug or therapy within 28 days of baseline
  • Known hypersensitivity to thalidomide
  • The development of erythema nodosum if characterized by a desquamating rash while taking thalidomide or similar drugs.
  • Any prior use of lenalidomide
  • Concurrent use of other anti-cancer agents or treatments
  • Known seropositive for or active viral infection with human immunodeficiency virus (HIV)
  • Positive serology for hepatitis B (HB) defined as a positive test for HBsAg. In addition, if negative for HBsAg but HBcAb positive and HBsAb negative, a HB DNA test will be performed and if positive the patient will be excluded. Note: If HBcAb positive and HBsAb positive, which is indicative of a past infection, the patient can be included. Patients who are seropositive because of hepatitis B virus vaccine are eligible. Consult with a physician experienced in care \& management of subjects with hepatitis B to manage/treat subjects who are anti-HBc positive.
  • Positive serology for hepatitis C (HC) defined as a positive test for hepatitis C antibody (HCAb), in which case reflexively perform a HC recombinant immunoblot assay (RIBA) on the same sample to confirm the result
  • Patients who have current active hepatic or biliary disease (with exception of patients with Gilbert's syndrome, asymptomatic gallstones, liver metastases or stable chronic liver disease per investigator assessment) are ineligible.
  • Chronic or current infectious disease requiring systemic antibiotics, antifungal, or antiviral treatment such as, but not limited to, chronic renal infection, chronic chest infection with bronchiectasis, tuberculosis and active Hepatitis C
  • History of significant cerebrovascular disease in the past 6 months or ongoing event with active symptoms or sequelae
  • Clinically significant cardiac disease including unstable angina, acute myocardial infarction within 6 months prior to randomization, congestive heart failure [New York Heart Association (NYHA) III-IV], and arrhythmia unless controlled by therapy, with the exception of extra systoles or minor conduction abnormalities
  • Significant concurrent, uncontrolled medical condition including, but not limited to, renal, hepatic, gastrointestinal, endocrine, pulmonary, neurological, cerebral or psychiatric disease which in the opinion of the investigator may represent a risk for the patient
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
45 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Immunotherapy

    Combination Regimen Followed by Consolidative Therapy: Ofatumumab/High Dose Methylprednisolone (HDMP) plus Ofatumumab/Lenalidomide

    Drug: High Dose Methylprednisolone (HDMP) · Drug: Ofatumumab · Drug: Lenalidomide

Interventions

  • DrugHigh Dose Methylprednisolone (HDMP)

    HDMP will be administered at 1 gm/m\^2 IV over 90 minutes daily with ofatumumab infusions 1-8.

    Also known as: HDMP

  • DrugOfatumumab

    Ofatumumab infusion will be administered immediately after HDMP.

    Also known as: Arzerra®

  • DrugLenalidomide

    The Lenalidomide Starting Dose (Cycle 4) Based on Renal Function Prior to Cycle 4 of Treatment.

    Also known as: Revlimid®, IMiD® compound

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Number of Participants With Complete Response (CR)

    Number of participants with complete response, the disappearance of all signs of cancer in response to treatment.

    Time frame: 3 Months

  2. Number of Participants With Partial Response (PR)

    The primary endpoint for this trial is the combined complete and partial response rate to the protocol therapy at 3 months, which is also the end of Cycle 3. The objective response (CR+PR) rate will be summarized using both a point estimate and its exact confidence interval based on the binomial distribution.

    Time frame: 3 Months

Secondary outcomes

  1. Rate of Progression/Relapse Free Survival (PFS)

    Progression-free survival (PFS), defined as the time from study entry to disease progression, relapse or death due to any cause, whichever is earlier.

    Time frame: Up to 56 months

  2. Number of Participants With Overall Survival (OS)

    Overall survival will be summarized with the Kaplan-Meier curve.

    Time frame: 36 Months

07

Results

Posted Dec 2, 2021

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneImmunotherapy
Started45
Completed44
Not completed1
Withdrew: Withdrew - received stem cell transplant1

Outcome measures

PrimaryNumber of Participants With Complete Response (CR)

Number of participants with complete response, the disappearance of all signs of cancer in response to treatment.

Time frame:
3 Months
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With Complete Response (CR)
ParticipantsImmunotherapy
Number of Participants With Complete Response (CR)1
PrimaryNumber of Participants With Partial Response (PR)

The primary endpoint for this trial is the combined complete and partial response rate to the protocol therapy at 3 months, which is also the end of Cycle 3. The objective response (CR+PR) rate will be summarized using both a point estimate and its exact confidence interval based on the binomial distribution.

Time frame:
3 Months
Reported as:
Number · participants
Number of Participants With Partial Response (PR)
participantsImmunotherapy
Number of Participants With Partial Response (PR)33
SecondaryRate of Progression/Relapse Free Survival (PFS)

Progression-free survival (PFS), defined as the time from study entry to disease progression, relapse or death due to any cause, whichever is earlier.

Time frame:
Up to 56 months
Reported as:
Median · months
Rate of Progression/Relapse Free Survival (PFS)
monthsImmunotherapy
Rate of Progression/Relapse Free Survival (PFS)54.4 (2.9 to 77.6)
SecondaryNumber of Participants With Overall Survival (OS)

Overall survival will be summarized with the Kaplan-Meier curve.

Time frame:
36 Months
Reported as:
Number · participants
Number of Participants With Overall Survival (OS)
participantsImmunotherapy
Number of Participants With Overall Survival (OS)24

Adverse events

Collected over Adverse events collected from day 1 up to 30 days after cycle 12, 3 years and 6 months. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Immunotherapy6/45 (13.3%)11/45 (24.4%)45/45 (100%)
Most frequent serious events
Showing 10 of 14
Most frequent serious events
EventImmunotherapy
Febrile NeutropeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders4/45
FeverGeneral disorders2/45
HypercalcemiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders2/45
Acute kidney injuryRenal and urinary disorders2/45
Infections and infestations - OtherInfections and infestations1/45
Neoplasms benign, malignant and unspecified (incl cysts and polyps)Neoplasms benign, malignant and unspecified (incl cysts and polyps)1/45
Lung infectionInfections and infestations1/45
HypoxiaRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders1/45
Small intestinal obstructionGastrointestinal disorders1/45
Cardiac arrestCardiac disorders1/45
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 203
Most frequent other events
EventImmunotherapy
Neutrophil count decreasedInvestigations37/45
Metabolism and nutrition disorders -OtherMetabolism and nutrition disorders34/45
InsomniaPsychiatric disorders31/45
White blood cell decreasedInvestigations29/45
DiarrheaGastrointestinal disorders24/45
FatigueGeneral disorders22/45
Peripheral sensory neuropathyNervous system disorders22/45
ConstipationGastrointestinal disorders20/45
NauseaGastrointestinal disorders20/45
HeadacheNervous system disorders19/45

Baseline characteristics

Age, Categorical
Age, Categorical(Participants)Immunotherapy
<=18 years0
Between 18 and 65 years25
>=65 years20
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Immunotherapy
Female17
Male28
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Immunotherapy
Hispanic or Latino0
Not Hispanic or Latino45
Unknown or Not Reported0
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Immunotherapy
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Asian0
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Black or African American0
White44
More than one race0
Unknown or Not Reported1
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(participants)Immunotherapy
United States45
08

Study locations

1 site
  • H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute
    Tampa, Florida 33612, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Feb 2, 2017

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Dec 19, 2025, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT01496976
Lead sponsor
H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute
Collaborators
Novartis, Celgene Corporation
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Dec 22, 2011
Start date
Mar 30, 2012
Primary completion
Oct 6, 2021
Completion
Sep 11, 2024
Results posted
Dec 2, 2021
Last update
Dec 19, 2025

Study contacts

Celeste Bello, M.D.
principal investigator · H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Dec 2025. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion