CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT01494155Updated Aug 5, 2026Results posted

Short Course Radiation Therapy With Proton or Photon Beam Capecitabine and Hydroxychloroquine for Resectable Pancreatic Cancer

A Phase 2 interventional study of Capecitabine and Hydroxychloroquine in Pancreatic Cancer, sponsored by Massachusetts General Hospital. Completed at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2026-08-05.

Sponsored by Massachusetts General Hospital · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
50
Allocation
Not applicable
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

A standard treatment for patients with pancreatic cancer is standard photon radiation in combination with the chemotherapy drug, capecitabine. In this research study the investigators are using standard photon radiation or a different type of radiation therapy called proton beam radiation and adding hydroxychloroquine to be used in combination with capecitabine.

In this research study, the investigators are looking to determine if proton or photon beam radiation in combination with hydroxychloroquine and capecitabine is effective in controlling your cancer growth.

Read the detailed description

Subjects will be treated in cycles of 28 days. Hydroxychloroquine will be taken orally, daily until the day before surgery and will resume after surgery until study end.

Capecitabine will be taken orally, daily. Proton or photon radiation treatment will start on Week 2 and will be delivered daily (5 days in a row, but not weekends or holidays). Radiation treatment will be give on an outpatient basis at the Francis H. Burr Proton Center or the Clark Center for Radiation Oncology at Massachusetts General Hospital.

The following tests will be performed weekly: physical exam, routine blood tests, optional blood tests and an eye exam every 3 months while taking hydroxychloroquine.

Subjects will have surgery (any time between Weeks 5 to 9) and after surgery resume taking hydroxychloroquine. Subjects will have a follow up visit every 3 months which will include: physical exam, routine blood tests, eye exam, and tumor assessment by chest and abdominal-pelvic CT scan or MRI (every 6 months for the first 2 years and yearly for years 3-5).

02

Conditions studied

  • Pancreatic Cancer

Keywords

  • resectable pancreatic cancer
  • pancreaticoduodenectomy
03

In context

Pancreatic Neoplasms

3,235 studies on the registry are indexed under Pancreatic Neoplasms; 899 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 50 is close to the median of 46 across 2,424 interventional studies indexed under Pancreatic Neoplasms.

Browse Pancreatic Neoplasms studies →

Lead sponsor

Massachusetts General Hospital is the lead sponsor of 2,536 studies on the registry; 446 are open to participants now.

Of its 214 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 161 (75%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Cytologic or histologic proof of pancreatic ductal carcinoma
  • Life expectancy > 3 months
  • Adequate organ and marrow function

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Evidence of metastatic disease
  • Pregnant or breast-feeding
  • Tumors in the body or tail of the pancreas
  • Serious concomitant systemic disorders such as significant cardiac or pulmonary morbidity (e.g. congestive heart failure, symptomatic coronary artery disease and cardiac arrhythmias not well controlled with medication) or myocardial infarction within the last 12 months, ongoing infection as manifest by fever
  • Prior chemotherapy or radiation for treatment of the patient's pancreatic tumor
  • Diagnosis of other invasive carcinomas (except basal cell carcinomas/squamous cell carcinoma of the skin) with the last 5 years. Carcinoma in-situ is allowed.
  • Other serious uncontrolled medical conditions
  • Lack of physical integrity of the upper gastrointestinal tract or malabsorption syndrome
  • Known, existing uncontrolled coagulopathy
  • Prior systemic fluoropyrimidine therapy (unless given in an adjuvant setting and completed at least 6 months earlier). Prior unanticipated severe reaction to fluoropyrimidine therapy, or known hypersensitivity to 5-fluorouracil or known DPD deficiency
  • Participation in any investigational drug study within 4 weeks preceding the start of study treatment
  • History of uncontrolled seizures, central nervous system disorders, or psychiatric disability
  • Major surgery, excluding laparoscopy, within 4 weeks of the start of study treatment, without complete recovery
  • Currently taking cimetidine
  • Receiving any other study agents
  • History of allergic reactions attributed to compounds of similar chemical or biologic composition to capecitabine and HCQ
  • Already taking HCQ or chloroquine for other diagnosis
  • History of Grade 3 or greater retinopathy or keratitis
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
50 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Hydroxychloroquine

    Hydroxychloroquine with chemoradiation

    Drug: Capecitabine · Drug: Hydroxychloroquine · Radiation: Proton or Photon Radiation Therapy

Interventions

  • DrugCapecitabine

    825 mg/m2 BID orally for a total of 10 days (M-F of weeks 2 and 3)

    Also known as: Xeloda

  • DrugHydroxychloroquine

    400 mg BID from study day 1 until surgery. Dosing resumed upon discharge from hospital

    Also known as: Plaquenil

  • RadiationProton or Photon Radiation Therapy

    Daily, beginning Week 2 for 5 consecutive days

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Progression-free Survival

    Progression-free survival (PFS) will be defined as the time from the start of treatment until the first objective documentation of progressive disease (PD) per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) criteria, or death. PFS is reported as the number of participants without PD after 2 years and 4 years on study. Participants who die without a reported prior progression will be considered to have progressed on the day of their death. Progressive disease (PD) is defined as at least a 20% increase in the sum of longest the diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum diameters. In addition to the relative increase of 20%, the sum must also demonstrate an absolute increase of at least 5 mm. The appearance of one or more new lesions is also considered progression.

    Time frame: up to 4 years

Secondary outcomes

  1. Number of Participants With Pathologic Complete Response

    Pathological complete response (pCR) will be defined as the absence of any viable tumor cells within the tissue samples removed during surgery.

    Time frame: up to 9 weeks

  2. Overall Survival

    Overall survival (OS) is defined as the time from start of study therapy to date of death and will be reported as the number of patients alive after 2 years and 4 years on study. Participants who have not died will be censored at the date they were last known to be alive.

    Time frame: up to 4 years

  3. Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events

    Treatment-emergent adverse events (TEAEs) are grade 3 or higher AEs as assessed by the CTEP Active Version of the NCI Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) v4, and at least possibly related to study treatment capecitabine + hydroxychloroquine and short course radiation therapy. TEAEs are AEs that began after the start of study treatment; or if the event was continuous from baseline and was serious, at least possibly related to study treatment, or resulted in death, discontinuation, or interruption or reduction of study treatment. Participants with multiple occurrences of TEAEs are counted only once per specific category in CTCAE v4.

    Time frame: 3 weeks

  4. Number of Participants With Surgical Morbidity

    Surgical morbidity is defined as adverse events during an operation and up to 30 days afterwards, grade 3 or higher and at least possibly related to surgery as assessed by the CTEP Active Version of the NCI Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) v4.

    Time frame: up to 30 days after surgery

  5. Number of Participants With Post-operative Mortality

    Post-operative mortality is defined as death within 30 days after surgery.

    Time frame: 30 days after surgery

  6. Number of Participants With Pathologic Downstaging

    Pathologic downstaging (pDS) is defined as a change in the tumor stage from pre-treatment clinical staging to the final pathology of the surgically removed tumor after receiving neoadjuvant treatment (i.e., treatment given before surgery).

    Time frame: up to 9 weeks

  7. Number of Participants With Local Control

    Local control is defined as the time from the start of study treatment to the date of local failure; this outcome is reported below as the number of participants without local failure at 2 years after start of study treatment. Local failure is defined as progressive disease (PD) of the main tumor or at the margins of where the main tumor was surgically removed, as assessed by Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) criteria v1.1 below: * At least a 20% increase in the longest diameter of target tumor lesion and an absolute increase of at least 5 mm, taking as reference the baseline measurement. * The appearance of one or more new lesions is also considered progression. Patients who have not experienced a local failure will be censored at the last date they were known to have local control.

    Time frame: Up to 2 years

07

Results

Posted Aug 5, 2026

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneHydroxychloroquine
Started50
Completed50
Not completed0

Outcome measures

PrimaryProgression-free Survival

Progression-free survival (PFS) will be defined as the time from the start of treatment until the first objective documentation of progressive disease (PD) per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) criteria, or death. PFS is reported as the number of participants without PD after 2 years and 4 years on study. Participants who die without a reported prior progression will be considered to have progressed on the day of their death. Progressive disease (PD) is defined as at least a 20% increase in the sum of longest the diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum diameters. In addition to the relative increase of 20%, the sum must also demonstrate an absolute increase of at least 5 mm. The appearance of one or more new lesions is also considered progression.

Time frame:
up to 4 years
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Progression-free Survival
ParticipantsHydroxychloroquine
2-year PFS16
4-year PFS10
SecondaryNumber of Participants With Pathologic Complete Response

Pathological complete response (pCR) will be defined as the absence of any viable tumor cells within the tissue samples removed during surgery.

Time frame:
up to 9 weeks
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With Pathologic Complete Response
ParticipantsHydroxychloroquine
Number of Participants With Pathologic Complete Response1
SecondaryOverall Survival

Overall survival (OS) is defined as the time from start of study therapy to date of death and will be reported as the number of patients alive after 2 years and 4 years on study. Participants who have not died will be censored at the date they were last known to be alive.

Time frame:
up to 4 years
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Overall Survival
ParticipantsHydroxychloroquine
2-year OS21
4-year OS12
SecondaryTreatment-Emergent Adverse Events

Treatment-emergent adverse events (TEAEs) are grade 3 or higher AEs as assessed by the CTEP Active Version of the NCI Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) v4, and at least possibly related to study treatment capecitabine + hydroxychloroquine and short course radiation therapy. TEAEs are AEs that began after the start of study treatment; or if the event was continuous from baseline and was serious, at least possibly related to study treatment, or resulted in death, discontinuation, or interruption or reduction of study treatment. Participants with multiple occurrences of TEAEs are counted only once per specific category in CTCAE v4.

Time frame:
3 weeks
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events
ParticipantsHydroxychloroquine
Vomiting1
Nausea1
Hyperglycemia2
SecondaryNumber of Participants With Surgical Morbidity

Surgical morbidity is defined as adverse events during an operation and up to 30 days afterwards, grade 3 or higher and at least possibly related to surgery as assessed by the CTEP Active Version of the NCI Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) v4.

Time frame:
up to 30 days after surgery
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With Surgical Morbidity
ParticipantsHydroxychloroquine
Number of Participants With Surgical Morbidity6
SecondaryNumber of Participants With Post-operative Mortality

Post-operative mortality is defined as death within 30 days after surgery.

Time frame:
30 days after surgery
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With Post-operative Mortality
ParticipantsHydroxychloroquine
Number of Participants With Post-operative Mortality0
SecondaryNumber of Participants With Pathologic Downstaging

Pathologic downstaging (pDS) is defined as a change in the tumor stage from pre-treatment clinical staging to the final pathology of the surgically removed tumor after receiving neoadjuvant treatment (i.e., treatment given before surgery).

Time frame:
up to 9 weeks
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With Pathologic Downstaging
ParticipantsHydroxychloroquine
Number of Participants With Pathologic Downstaging47
SecondaryNumber of Participants With Local Control

Local control is defined as the time from the start of study treatment to the date of local failure; this outcome is reported below as the number of participants without local failure at 2 years after start of study treatment. Local failure is defined as progressive disease (PD) of the main tumor or at the margins of where the main tumor was surgically removed, as assessed by Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) criteria v1.1 below: * At least a 20% increase in the longest diameter of target tumor lesion and an absolute increase of at least 5 mm, taking as reference the baseline measurement. * The appearance of one or more new lesions is also considered progression. Patients who have not experienced a local failure will be censored at the last date they were known to have local control.

Time frame:
Up to 2 years
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With Local Control
ParticipantsHydroxychloroquine
Number of Participants With Local Control43

Adverse events

Collected over Up to 5 years. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Hydroxychloroquine39/50 (78%)20/50 (40%)50/50 (100%)
Most frequent serious events
Showing 10 of 20
Most frequent serious events
EventHydroxychloroquine
SepsisInfections and infestations7/50
HypotensionVascular disorders6/50
Respiratory failureRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders4/50
Lymphocyte count decreasedInvestigations4/50
Death NOSGeneral disorders3/50
Intraoperative venous injuryInjury, poisoning and procedural complications2/50
Myocardial infarctionCardiac disorders1/50
FeverGeneral disorders1/50
AspirationRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders1/50
Wound infectionInjury, poisoning and procedural complications1/50
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 107
Most frequent other events
EventHydroxychloroquine
FatigueGeneral disorders49/50
NauseaGastrointestinal disorders47/50
AnorexiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders44/50
Abdominal painGastrointestinal disorders43/50
DiarrheaGastrointestinal disorders41/50
Weight lossInvestigations40/50
ConstipationGastrointestinal disorders32/50
VomitingGastrointestinal disorders31/50
Back painMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders24/50
FeverGeneral disorders22/50

Baseline characteristics

Age, Customized
Age, Customized(Participants)Hydroxychloroquine
Between 50-59 years8
Between 60-69 years18
Between 70-79 years20
Between 80-89 years4
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Hydroxychloroquine
Female24
Male26
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Hydroxychloroquine
Hispanic or Latino2
Not Hispanic or Latino46
Unknown or Not Reported2
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Hydroxychloroquine
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Asian1
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Black or African American0
White47
More than one race0
Unknown or Not Reported2
08

Study locations

1 site
  • Massachusetts General Hospital
    Boston, Massachusetts 02114, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Sep 5, 2025
  • Informed consent form · Feb 7, 2019

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Aug 5, 2026, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT01494155
Lead sponsor
Massachusetts General Hospital
Responsible party
Jennifer Wo (Radiation Oncologist, Massachusetts General Hospital) — Principal investigator
First posted
Dec 16, 2011
Start date
Dec 27, 2011
Primary completion
Sep 16, 2018
Completion
Sep 16, 2018
Results posted
Aug 5, 2026
Last update
Aug 5, 2026

Study contacts

Jennifer Y. Wo, MD
principal investigator · Massachusetts General Hospital

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Dec 2025. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion