A Phase 2 interventional study of Sorafenib Plus Capecitabine (SorCape) in Colorectal Cancer Metastatic, sponsored by University of Florida. Completed at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2020-07-23.
Sponsored by University of Florida · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment
Combining Sorafenib with standard cytotoxic fluoropyrimidine therapy for advanced colorectal cancer may provide clinical benefit when no other treatment remains.
The Raf/MEK/ERK pathway is an important mediator of responses to growth factors, and a strong inducer of genes involved in tumorigenesis, angiogenesis, apoptosis, and tumorigenesis in metastatic colorectal cancer (mCRC). Inhibition of this pathway has been previously proven to be highly clinically beneficial for patients with this disease. It has also been clearly demonstrated that the inhibition of VEGF, when coupled with cytotoxic therapy and/or continued beyond initial response, can improve clinical outcomes and survival in this same cohort of patients. Safety and pharmacokinetic data have already been established for this novel doublet oral chemotherapy. This study is intended to determine the activity of a combination of oral fluoropyrimidine plus sorafenib in an advanced mCRC patient population for whom limited treatment options remain.
5,599 studies on the registry are indexed under Colorectal Neoplasms; 1,459 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 43 is below the median of 77 across 4,123 interventional studies indexed under Colorectal Neoplasms.
Browse Colorectal Neoplasms studies →University of Florida is the lead sponsor of 1,254 studies on the registry; 201 are open to participants now.
Of its 170 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 136 (80%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Exclusion Criteria:
Sorafenib 200-400 mg PO twice daily on days 1-21 (dose escalation schema) plus Capecitabine 1000 mg/m2 PO twice daily on days 1-14 repeated every 21 days. Single arm study.
Drug: Sorafenib Plus Capecitabine (SorCape)
Sorafenib 200-400 mg PO twice daily on days 1-21 (dose escalation schema) plus Capecitabine 1000 mg/m2 PO twice daily on days 1-14 repeated every 21 days
Also known as: Nexavar, Xeloda, Chemotherapy
Sorafenib Activity
Determine activity of sorafenib plus capecitabine on progression free survival (PFS) in patients with advanced colorectal cancer. Progression is defined using Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.0), as a 20% increase in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions, or a measurable increase in a non-target lesion, or the appearance of new lesions
Time frame: 2 years
Overall Survival
Evaluate overall survival after treatment.
Time frame: 5 years
Response Rate
This is the percentage of subjects that achieved either a complete response or a partial response per RECIST 1.1 criteria
Time frame: 3 months
Response Duration
This is the median response duration (median time from date of a complete or partial response to date of disease progression per RECIST 1.1 criteria) and includes only subjects that achieved either a complete or partial response to treatment per RECIST 1.1 criteria.
Time frame: up to 12 months
Toxicity (Percentage of Subjects That Experienced an Adverse Event)
Evaluate acute toxicity of treatment. The toxicity assessments were graded by the NCI CTCAE (Clinical Trial Common Adverse Event) grading system - a global standard for assessments of clinical and laboratory toxicities. All toxicities are scored 1(mild) through 5 (death related to the event) based upon well-defined and reproducible definitions.
Time frame: 12 months
Correlative Tissue Analysis
Exploratory tissue analysis in patients receiving sorafenib plus capecitabine
Time frame: 6 months
| Milestone | Sorafenib Plus Capecitabine (SorCape) |
|---|---|
| Started | 42 |
| Completed | 39 |
| Not completed | 3 |
| Withdrew: Remain on study | 3 |
Determine activity of sorafenib plus capecitabine on progression free survival (PFS) in patients with advanced colorectal cancer. Progression is defined using Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.0), as a 20% increase in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions, or a measurable increase in a non-target lesion, or the appearance of new lesions
| days | Sorafenib Plus Capecitabine (SorCape) |
|---|---|
| Sorafenib Activity | 123 (62 to 132) |
Evaluate overall survival after treatment.
| days | Sorafenib Plus Capecitabine (SorCape) |
|---|---|
| Overall Survival | 261 (132 to 370) |
This is the percentage of subjects that achieved either a complete response or a partial response per RECIST 1.1 criteria
| percentage of participants | Sorafenib Plus Capecitabine (SorCape) |
|---|---|
| Response Rate | 2.38 (0.06 to 12.57) |
This is the median response duration (median time from date of a complete or partial response to date of disease progression per RECIST 1.1 criteria) and includes only subjects that achieved either a complete or partial response to treatment per RECIST 1.1 criteria.
No measurements were reported for this outcome.
Evaluate acute toxicity of treatment. The toxicity assessments were graded by the NCI CTCAE (Clinical Trial Common Adverse Event) grading system - a global standard for assessments of clinical and laboratory toxicities. All toxicities are scored 1(mild) through 5 (death related to the event) based upon well-defined and reproducible definitions.
| percentage of participants | Sorafenib Plus Capecitabine (SorCape) |
|---|---|
| Adverse Events - Any Grade | 100 |
| Adverse Events - Grade 3 | 74 |
| Adverse Events - Grade 4 | 2 |
Exploratory tissue analysis in patients receiving sorafenib plus capecitabine
No measurements were reported for this outcome.
Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sorafenib Plus Capecitabine (SorCape) | — | 13/42 (31%) | 42/42 (100%) |
| Event | Sorafenib Plus Capecitabine (SorCape) |
|---|---|
| Abdominal PainGastrointestinal disorders | 2/42 |
| Non-Cardiac Chest PainGeneral disorders | 2/42 |
| DehydrationMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 2/42 |
| DeliriumPsychiatric disorders | 2/42 |
| AnemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 1/42 |
| Spleen DisorderBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 1/42 |
| Sinus TachycardiaCardiac disorders | 1/42 |
| Colonic ObstructionGastrointestinal disorders | 1/42 |
| Gastrointestinal Disorders - Other, Bowel PerforationGastrointestinal disorders | 1/42 |
| FatigueGeneral disorders | 1/42 |
| Event | Sorafenib Plus Capecitabine (SorCape) |
|---|---|
| Palmar-Plantar Erythrodysesthesia SyndromeSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders | 36/42 |
| FatigueGeneral disorders | 25/42 |
| AnorexiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 17/42 |
| NauseaGastrointestinal disorders | 17/42 |
| DiarrheaGastrointestinal disorders | 16/42 |
| VomitingGastrointestinal disorders | 11/42 |
| Abdominal PainGastrointestinal disorders | 9/42 |
| HypertensionVascular disorders | 9/42 |
| Weight LossInfections and infestations | 9/42 |
| Mucositis OralGastrointestinal disorders | 7/42 |
Adults with metastatic colorectal cancer who had previously received two or more lines of systemic therapy.
| Age, Categorical(Participants) | Sorafenib Plus Capecitabine (SorCape) |
|---|---|
| <=18 years | 0 |
| Between 18 and 65 years | 29 |
| >=65 years | 13 |
| Age, Continuous(years) | Sorafenib Plus Capecitabine (SorCape) |
|---|---|
| Mean | 57 (36 to 79) |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Sorafenib Plus Capecitabine (SorCape) |
|---|---|
| Female | 9 |
| Male | 33 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Sorafenib Plus Capecitabine (SorCape) |
|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 0 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 42 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Sorafenib Plus Capecitabine (SorCape) |
|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 |
| Asian | 0 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 |
| Black or African American | 11 |
| White | 31 |
| More than one race | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 |
| Region of Enrollment(participants) | Sorafenib Plus Capecitabine (SorCape) |
|---|---|
| United States | 42 |
This study is completed, as verified in Jul 2020. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
University of Florida