CClinicalTrials.gg
Active, not recruitingNCT01411345MAPSUpdated May 5, 2026Results posted

MRI-Mapped Dose-Escalated Salvage Radiotherapy Post-Prostatectomy: The MAPS Trial

An interventional study of Standard Salvage Radiation Treatment (SSRT) and Mapped Tumor Salvage RT (MTSRT) in Prostate Cancer and Prostate Adenocarcinoma, sponsored by University of Miami. Active, not recruiting at 1 site in United States. Open to male participants aged 35 Years to 85 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2026-05-05.

Sponsored by University of Miami · Not applicable, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Not applicable
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
37
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
35 Years to 85 Years
Sex
Male
01

Study summary

  1. The investigators hypothesize that increasing radiation dose to the functional MRI-defined lesion in the prostate bed will result in an improved initial complete response (reduction in prostate-specific antigen (PSA) to \< 0.1 ng/mL), which is related to long-term outcome biochemically.
  2. Biomarker expression levels differ in the DCE-MRI enhancing and non-enhancing tumor regions (when applicable).
  3. 10-15% of men undergoing RT have free circulating DNA (fcDNA) or tumor cells (CTC) that are related to an adverse treatment outcome.
  4. Prostate cancer-related anxiety will be reduced in the MRI targeted SRT arm, because the patients will be aware that the dominant tumor will be targeted with higher radiation dose (compared to those pts who were treated on standard arm prior to its closure).
Read the detailed description

Phase 3 arms I (SSRT) and II (MTSRT) were closed. Study recruitment was suspended until re-opening as a single-arm Phase 2 (MTSRT) study.

02

Conditions studied

  • Prostate Cancer
  • Prostate Adenocarcinoma

Browse trials for

03

In context

Prostatic Neoplasms

6,367 studies on the registry are indexed under Prostatic Neoplasms; 1,397 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 37 is below the median of 58 across 4,821 interventional studies indexed under Prostatic Neoplasms.

Browse Prostatic Neoplasms studies →

Lead sponsor

University of Miami is the lead sponsor of 820 studies on the registry; 161 are open to participants now.

Of its 111 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 93 (84%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
35 Years to 85 Years
Sexes eligible
Male
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  1. Prostate cancer patients with a PSA after prostatectomy of at least 0.1 ng/mL and up to 4.0 ng/mL within 3 months prior to enrollment.
  2. Patients with or without palpable abnormalities on digital rectal exam (DRE) are eligible.
  3. Minimum of 3 months since prostatectomy to allow for return of urinary continence and healing.
  4. Imaging detectable lesion or lesions in prostate bed or regional lymph node (LN). Each lesion should be at least 0.4 cc and a maximum of 6 cc and was obtained ≤ 3 months prior to protocol entry or enrollment.
  5. No evidence of metastatic (distant) disease (pelvic nodes are allowed up to common iliac).
  6. Negative bone scan if deemed necessary by treating physician obtained ≤ 4 months prior to protocol entry or enrollment.
  7. No previous pelvic radiotherapy.
  8. Serum total testosterone taken within 3 months prior to enrollment.
  9. No concurrent, active malignancy, other than nonmetastatic skin cancer or early stage chronic lymphocytic leukemia (well-differentiated small cell lymphocytic lymphoma). If a prior malignancy is in remission for ≥ 3 years then the patient is eligible.
  10. Ability to understand and the willingness to sign a written informed consent document.
  11. Zubrod performance status \< 2.
  12. Patients must agree to fill out quality of life/psychosocial questionnaires.
  13. Age ≥ 35 and ≤ 85 years.

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

a. Prior androgen deprivation therapy is not permitted if it was within 6 months previous to signing consent form. (NOTE: Therapy given as part of the planned course of radiation is allowed).

05

Study design

Phase
Not applicable
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
37 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Other
    Phase 3 - Arm I: Standard Salvage Radiation Treatment (SSRT)

    Phase 3 total dose of 68 Gy will be delivered in 34 fractions to the Clinical Target Volume (CTV), 51 Gy in 34 fractions can be given to the pelvic nodes. this arm is closed

    Radiation: Standard Salvage Radiation Treatment (SSRT)

  • Experimental
    Phase 3 - Arm II: Mapped Tumor Salvage RT (MTSRT)

    Phase 3 Patients will receive the same treatment to the CTV of 68 Gy in 34 fractions and the Gross Tumor Volume (GTV) defined by functional imaging will receive 2.25 Gy per day for a total of 76.5 Gy (biological equivalent to 80 Gy in 2.0 Gy fractions assuming an α/β ratio of 3). this arm was continues as single arm phase 2

    Radiation: Mapped Tumor Salvage RT (MTSRT)

  • Experimental
    Phase 2: Mapped Tumor Salvage RT (MTSRT)

    Phase 2 Patients will receive the same treatment to the CTV of 68 Gy in 34 fractions and the Gross Tumor Volume (GTV) defined by functional imaging will receive 2.25 Gy per day for a total of 76.5 Gy (biological equivalent to 80 Gy in 2.0 Gy fractions assuming an α/β ratio of 3).

    Radiation: Mapped Tumor Salvage RT (MTSRT)

Interventions

  • RadiationStandard Salvage Radiation Treatment (SSRT)

    A total dose of 68 Gy delivered in 34 fractions to the Clinical Target Volume (CTV), 51 Gy in 34 fractions can be given to the pelvic nodes.

    Also known as: SSRT

  • RadiationMapped Tumor Salvage RT (MTSRT)

    Dose escalation to the imaging or Dynamic Contrast Enhanced MRI (DCE-MRI)-defined dominant region(s) by dose painting at 2.25 Gy per fraction, while the rest of the Clinical Target Volume (CTV) receives 2.0 Gy a fraction to 68 Gy. The mapped tumor (MT) boost region will receive an absolute dose of 76.5 Gy. Assuming an α/β ratio of 3.0, this would be equivalent to 80 Gy in 2.0 Gy fractions.

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. PSA Response Rate

    Prostate-Specific Antigen (PSA) response rate is defined as the percentage of study patients with PSA less than 0.1 ng/mL at 21 months after completion of study treatment.

    Time frame: Up to 23 months

Secondary outcomes

  1. Incidence of Treatment-Emergent Toxicity

    Incidence of treatment-emergent toxicity in study participants. Toxicity is defined as adverse events (AEs), serious adverse events (SAEs) and dose-limiting toxicities (DLTs)Acute toxicity is defined as toxicity occurring during treatment and within three months of completing treatment. Late toxicity is toxicity occurring more than three months after treatment completion. Toxicity will be assessed using the NCI Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version 4.0

    Time frame: Up to 8 months

  2. Health-Related Quality of Life Scores: EPIC SF-12

    Health-related Quality of Life (HRQOL) will be measured using the Expanded Prostate Cancer Index Composite and Medical Outcomes Study SF-12 (EPIC SF-12) to evaluate patient function and satisfaction after prostate cancer treatment. Response options for each item form a Likert scale, and multi-item scale scores are transformed linearly to a 0-100 scale, with higher scores representing better HRQOL.

    Time frame: Up to 65 months

  3. Health-Related Quality of Life Scores: MAX-PC

    Health-related quality of life (HRQOL) will be measured using the scores on the Modified 18-item Memorial Anxiety Scale for Prostate Cancer (MAX-PC) from pre-treatment to post-treatment. The scale consists of 18 items (e.g. "I thought about prostate cancer even though I didn't mean to.") scored on a scale from 0 ("not at all") to 3 ("often"). Total scores range from 0 to 54, with higher scores indicating higher levels of anxiety.

    Time frame: Up to 65 months

  4. Health-Related Quality of Life Scores: IPSS

    Health-related quality of life (HRQOL) will be measured using the International Prostate Symptom Score (IPSS) to evaluate patient urinary function and quality of life. There are 7 questions related to urinary function. Responses are on a scale from 0 ("not at all") to 5 ("almost always"), with higher scores indicating higher levels of urinary dysfunction. There is 1 quality of life question related to urinary symptoms. Responses are on a scale from 0 ("delighted") to 6 ("terrible").

    Time frame: Up to 65 months

  5. Biochemical and Clinical Failure

    The cumulative incidence of biochemical or clinical failure allowing for competing risk as needed. Clinical failure is defined as at least a 25% increase in the size of the tumor relative to the smallest volume recorded, or new extension of tumor beyond the capsule, or re-extension of tumor beyond the capsule after initial regression, or urinary obstructive symptoms with carcinoma found at transurethral resection of the prostate (TURP). Biochemical failure is defined as PSA ≥ nadir + 2 ng/mL.

    Time frame: Up to 65 months

  6. Failure-free Survival (FFS)

    Rate of failure-free survival in study participants. Failure-free survival is defined as the elapsed time from start of radiotherapy to first documented evidence of biochemical or clinical failure or death from any cause, whichever occurs first. In the absence of any event defining failure, follow-up time will be censored at the date of last documented failure-free status.

    Time frame: Up to 65 months

  7. Overall Survival (OS)

    Rate of overall survival in study participants. Overall survival is defined as the elapsed time from start of radiotherapy to death from any cause. For surviving patients, follow-up will be censored at the date of last contact.

    Time frame: Up to 65 months

  8. Measurement of Tissue Biomarker Expression

    The distribution and degree of expression of tissue biomarkers by ultrasound-directed biopsies for patients who choose to undergo the optional biopsies. Quantification of the amount of the biomarker specific immunohistochemical staining in the area of tumor.

    Time frame: Up to 65 months

  9. Incidence and Relationship of Circulating DNA and Tumor Cells to Tissue Biomarkers

    To determine the incidence and relationship of circulating DNA and tumor cells to tissue biomarkers and initial complete biochemical response.

    Time frame: Up to 65 months

07

Results

Posted Apr 8, 2025

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneArm I: Standard Salvage Radiation Treatment (SSRT)Arm II: Mapped Tumor Salvage RT (MTSRT)
Started1522
Completed1522
Not completed00

Outcome measures

PrimaryPSA Response Rate

Prostate-Specific Antigen (PSA) response rate is defined as the percentage of study patients with PSA less than 0.1 ng/mL at 21 months after completion of study treatment.

Time frame:
Up to 23 months
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
PSA Response Rate
percentage of participantsArm I: Standard Salvage Radiation Treatment (SSRT)Arm II: Mapped Tumor Salvage RT (MTSRT)
PSA Response Rate66.685
SecondaryIncidence of Treatment-Emergent Toxicity

Incidence of treatment-emergent toxicity in study participants. Toxicity is defined as adverse events (AEs), serious adverse events (SAEs) and dose-limiting toxicities (DLTs)Acute toxicity is defined as toxicity occurring during treatment and within three months of completing treatment. Late toxicity is toxicity occurring more than three months after treatment completion. Toxicity will be assessed using the NCI Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version 4.0

Time frame:
Up to 8 months

Results for this outcome have not been posted.

SecondaryHealth-Related Quality of Life Scores: EPIC SF-12

Health-related Quality of Life (HRQOL) will be measured using the Expanded Prostate Cancer Index Composite and Medical Outcomes Study SF-12 (EPIC SF-12) to evaluate patient function and satisfaction after prostate cancer treatment. Response options for each item form a Likert scale, and multi-item scale scores are transformed linearly to a 0-100 scale, with higher scores representing better HRQOL.

Time frame:
Up to 65 months

Results for this outcome have not been posted.

SecondaryHealth-Related Quality of Life Scores: MAX-PC

Health-related quality of life (HRQOL) will be measured using the scores on the Modified 18-item Memorial Anxiety Scale for Prostate Cancer (MAX-PC) from pre-treatment to post-treatment. The scale consists of 18 items (e.g. "I thought about prostate cancer even though I didn't mean to.") scored on a scale from 0 ("not at all") to 3 ("often"). Total scores range from 0 to 54, with higher scores indicating higher levels of anxiety.

Time frame:
Up to 65 months

Results for this outcome have not been posted.

SecondaryHealth-Related Quality of Life Scores: IPSS

Health-related quality of life (HRQOL) will be measured using the International Prostate Symptom Score (IPSS) to evaluate patient urinary function and quality of life. There are 7 questions related to urinary function. Responses are on a scale from 0 ("not at all") to 5 ("almost always"), with higher scores indicating higher levels of urinary dysfunction. There is 1 quality of life question related to urinary symptoms. Responses are on a scale from 0 ("delighted") to 6 ("terrible").

Time frame:
Up to 65 months

Results for this outcome have not been posted.

SecondaryBiochemical and Clinical Failure

The cumulative incidence of biochemical or clinical failure allowing for competing risk as needed. Clinical failure is defined as at least a 25% increase in the size of the tumor relative to the smallest volume recorded, or new extension of tumor beyond the capsule, or re-extension of tumor beyond the capsule after initial regression, or urinary obstructive symptoms with carcinoma found at transurethral resection of the prostate (TURP). Biochemical failure is defined as PSA ≥ nadir + 2 ng/mL.

Time frame:
Up to 65 months

Results for this outcome have not been posted.

SecondaryFailure-free Survival (FFS)

Rate of failure-free survival in study participants. Failure-free survival is defined as the elapsed time from start of radiotherapy to first documented evidence of biochemical or clinical failure or death from any cause, whichever occurs first. In the absence of any event defining failure, follow-up time will be censored at the date of last documented failure-free status.

Time frame:
Up to 65 months

Results for this outcome have not been posted.

SecondaryOverall Survival (OS)

Rate of overall survival in study participants. Overall survival is defined as the elapsed time from start of radiotherapy to death from any cause. For surviving patients, follow-up will be censored at the date of last contact.

Time frame:
Up to 65 months

Results for this outcome have not been posted.

SecondaryMeasurement of Tissue Biomarker Expression

The distribution and degree of expression of tissue biomarkers by ultrasound-directed biopsies for patients who choose to undergo the optional biopsies. Quantification of the amount of the biomarker specific immunohistochemical staining in the area of tumor.

Time frame:
Up to 65 months

Results for this outcome have not been posted.

SecondaryIncidence and Relationship of Circulating DNA and Tumor Cells to Tissue Biomarkers

To determine the incidence and relationship of circulating DNA and tumor cells to tissue biomarkers and initial complete biochemical response.

Time frame:
Up to 65 months

Results for this outcome have not been posted.

Adverse events

Collected over 12 years. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Arm I: Standard Salvage Radiation Treatment (SSRT)1/15 (6.7%)0/15 (0%)15/15 (100%)
Arm II: Mapped Tumor Salvage RT (MTSRT)0/22 (0%)4/22 (18.2%)21/22 (95.5%)
Most frequent serious events
Most frequent serious events
EventArm I: Standard Salvage Radiation Treatment (SSRT)Arm II: Mapped Tumor Salvage RT (MTSRT)
Cardiac Disorders, OtherCardiac disorders0/151/22
HematuriaRenal and urinary disorders0/151/22
Sick Sinus SyndromeCardiac disorders0/151/22
Ventricular tachycardiaCardiac disorders0/151/22
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 63
Most frequent other events
EventArm I: Standard Salvage Radiation Treatment (SSRT)Arm II: Mapped Tumor Salvage RT (MTSRT)
FatigueGeneral disorders13/1513/22
Urinary frequencyRenal and urinary disorders8/1513/22
Testicular disorderReproductive system and breast disorders3/1512/22
Urinary frequencyRenal and urinary disorders7/157/22
Cystitis noninfectiveRenal and urinary disorders3/1510/22
HematuriaRenal and urinary disorders5/1510/22
DiarrheaGastrointestinal disorders6/155/22
Urinary incontinenceRenal and urinary disorders6/158/22
Hot flashesVascular disorders2/157/22
NauseaGastrointestinal disorders4/154/22

Baseline characteristics

Age, Categorical
Age, Categorical(Participants)Arm I: Standard Salvage Radiation Treatment (SSRT)Arm II: Mapped Tumor Salvage RT (MTSRT)Total
<=18 years000
Between 18 and 65 years91524
>=65 years6713
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Arm I: Standard Salvage Radiation Treatment (SSRT)Arm II: Mapped Tumor Salvage RT (MTSRT)Total
Female000
Male152237
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Arm I: Standard Salvage Radiation Treatment (SSRT)Arm II: Mapped Tumor Salvage RT (MTSRT)Total
Hispanic or Latino4812
Not Hispanic or Latino111425
Unknown or Not Reported000
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Arm I: Standard Salvage Radiation Treatment (SSRT)Arm II: Mapped Tumor Salvage RT (MTSRT)Total
American Indian or Alaska Native000
Asian000
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander000
Black or African American246
White131831
More than one race000
Unknown or Not Reported000
08

Study locations

1 site
  • University of Miami
    Miami, Florida 33136, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Feb 10, 2025

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on May 5, 2026, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT01411345
Lead sponsor
University of Miami
Responsible party
Matthew Abramowitz, MD (Assistant Professor of Clinical, University of Miami) — Principal investigator
First posted
Aug 8, 2011
Start date
Jul 12, 2012
Primary completion
Feb 13, 2024
Completion
Feb 13, 2028 (estimated)
Results posted
Apr 8, 2025
Last update
May 5, 2026

Study contacts

Matthew C Abramowitz, MD
principal investigator · University of Miami

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
No
FDA-regulated device
Yes
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is active, not recruiting, as verified in Mar 2026. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion