A Phase 2 interventional study of Carfilzomib in Multiple Myeloma, sponsored by Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center. Completed at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2017-04-13.
Sponsored by Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment
The purpose of this study is to test a new drug called carfilzomib. It is a type of drug called a proteasome inhibitor. Proteasome breaks down proteins that are no longer useful to the cell. When the proteasome is turned off by a drug (like carfilzomib), useless proteins cannot be broken down. Instead the proteins build up and cause the cell to die. Myeloma cells make a lot of protein and are especially in need of a functional proteasome to survive.
Carfilzomib is not approved for use by the Food and Drug Administration to treat myeloma. It is considered an experimental drug. Previous studies have shown that carfilzomib is safe to use. This study will look at what the effects, good and/or bad, carfilzomib has on myeloma.
3,632 studies on the registry are indexed under Multiple Myeloma; 744 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 44 is close to the median of 41 across 2,907 interventional studies indexed under Multiple Myeloma.
Browse Multiple Myeloma studies →Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center is the lead sponsor of 1,930 studies on the registry; 325 are open to participants now.
Of its 129 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 66 (51%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Serum M-protein ≥1 gm/dL (≥10 gm/L) Urine M-protein ≥200 mg/24 hr Serum FLC assay: involved FLC ≥10 mg/dL (≥100 mg/L) provided serum FLC ratio is abnormal.
Exclusion Criteria:
A single arm, open-label, single institution phase 2 clinical trial is planned.
Drug: Carfilzomib
Following enrollment patients will be treated with single agent infusional carfilzomib at 56mg/m2. Carfilzomib will be administered intravenously over 30 minutes on Days 1, 2, 8, 9, 15 and 16 of a 28-day cycle. Dexamethasone 8 mg PO/IV will be administered prior to all carfilzomib doses during the first cycle.
To Evaluate the Best Overall Response Rate (ORR)
Per Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.0) for target lesions and assessed by MRI and/or CT: Partial Response (PR), \>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions; Stable Disease (SD), neither sufficient shrinkage to qualify for a Partial Response nor sufficient increase to qualify for Progression of Disease (POD); POD, 20% increase in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions, or a measurable increase in a non-target lesion, or the appearance of new lesions; Complete Response (CR), Disappearance of all target lesions
Time frame: 2 years
| Milestone | Carfilzomib |
|---|---|
| Started | 44 |
| Completed | 35 |
| Not completed | 9 |
| Withdrew: Protocol violation | 2 |
| Withdrew: Adverse event | 4 |
| Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject | 1 |
| Withdrew: Death | 2 |
Per Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.0) for target lesions and assessed by MRI and/or CT: Partial Response (PR), \>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions; Stable Disease (SD), neither sufficient shrinkage to qualify for a Partial Response nor sufficient increase to qualify for Progression of Disease (POD); POD, 20% increase in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions, or a measurable increase in a non-target lesion, or the appearance of new lesions; Complete Response (CR), Disappearance of all target lesions
| Participants | Carfilzomib |
|---|---|
| Complete Response/CR | 1 |
| Very Good Partial Response/PR | 8 |
| Partial Response/PR | 9 |
| Minimal Response/MR | 3 |
| Stable Disease/SD | 2 |
| Progressin of Disease/POD | 12 |
Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Carfilzomib | — | 28/44 (63.6%) | 44/44 (100%) |
| Event | Carfilzomib |
|---|---|
| Lung infectionRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 6/44 |
| DyspneaRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 5/44 |
| Platelet count decreasedBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 5/44 |
| Acute kidney injuryRenal and urinary disorders | 4/44 |
| Death NOSBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 4/44 |
| HypertensionCardiac disorders | 4/44 |
| Pulmonary edemaRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 4/44 |
| AnemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 3/44 |
| Heart failureCardiac disorders | 3/44 |
| Infections and infestations - OtherInfections and infestations | 3/44 |
| Event | Carfilzomib |
|---|---|
| DiarrheaGastrointestinal disorders | 29/44 |
| NauseaGeneral disorders | 26/44 |
| FatigueGeneral disorders | 24/44 |
| HeadacheGeneral disorders | 23/44 |
| ConstipationGastrointestinal disorders | 22/44 |
| LymphopeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 22/44 |
| LeukopeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 19/44 |
| Upper respiratory infectionRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 18/44 |
| Peripheral edemaCardiac disorders | 17/44 |
| ThrombocytopeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 17/44 |
| Age, Continuous(years) | Carfilzomib |
|---|---|
| Median | 63 (45 to 86) |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Carfilzomib |
|---|---|
| Female | 25 |
| Male | 19 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Carfilzomib |
|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 9 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 34 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 1 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Carfilzomib |
|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 |
| Asian | 2 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 |
| Black or African American | 18 |
| White | 23 |
| More than one race | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 1 |
| Region of Enrollment(participants) | Carfilzomib |
|---|---|
| United States | 44 |
This study is completed, as verified in Mar 2017. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center