A Phase 1/2 interventional study of DTG film-coated tablets and DTG granules for suspension in HIV Infections, sponsored by National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID). Completed at 33 sites in 8 countries. Open to participants aged 4 Weeks to 17 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2024-12-12.
Sponsored by National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) · Phase 1/2, Interventional, and Treatment
Dolutegravir (DTG) is an HIV drug in the integrase inhibitor drug class. This study evaluated the pharmacokinetics (PK), safety, tolerability of and immune response to DTG when used concurrently with optimized background therapy (OBT) in HIV-1 infected infants, children, and adolescents.
DTG is an HIV medicine in the integrase inhibitor drug class. The purpose of this study was to evaluate the pharmacokinetics, safety, tolerability, and antiviral activity of DTG when used concurrently with OBT in HIV-1 infected infants, children, and adolescents.
Participants in this study were evaluated for PK, safety and tolerability through 48 weeks, followed by additional long-term study follow-up that lasted for approximately 144 weeks (3 years), for a total of 192 weeks on study. This study had two stages. Stage I provided pharmacokinetics, short-term tolerability and safety data on DTG on a limited number of participants to permit dose selection for further study in Stage II. Once a Stage I dose was accepted, enrollment to Stage II began to complete enrollment to the cohort. Stage II provided longer-term safety and antiviral activity data among a larger number of participants.
Infants, children and adolescents with HIV-1, aged ≥ 4 weeks to \< 18 years enrolled in the age and formulation cohorts specified below:
Cohorts were opened sequentially according by age group (starting with the older age group), DTG formulation, and study stage, i.e. Initial study enrollment was for Cohort I and progressed to Cohort IIA once Cohort I Stage I met the PK and safety criteria, followed by opening of Cohort IIB. Each cohort enrolled in two sequential stages: Stage I and II (the only exception is Cohort IIB, which only enrolled through Stage I). Sequential enrollment for Cohort III and IV proceeded in the same manner. Cohort V never enrolled because of the recommended changes in dosing and inclusion of enrollment weight band in the criteria for dose finding.
Stage I participants had physical examinations and had blood draws for safety assessments at study visits: Day 0; Day 5 (+5 days); and Weeks 4, 8, 12, 16, 24, 32, 40, and 48. Stage I participants also had intensive PK sampling with blood samples collected at time 0 (pre-dose), and at 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8 and 24 hours post dosing. Once a Stage I treatment dose was accepted, enrollment to Stage II began to complete enrollment to the cohort. Stage II participants had physical examinations and blood draws for safety assessment at study visits: Day 0; Day 10; and Weeks 4, 8, 12, 16, 24, 32, 40, and 48. Blood, plasma, and urine were collected and tested to measure immune response. Females of childbearing potential underwent pregnancy testing at screening and at every study visit.
After 48 weeks, all Stage I and Stage II participants entered the long-term study follow-up and continued to receive DTG. During this time, participants had safety and/or antiviral activity assessments every 12 weeks for up to 3 years.
The study was able to determine a proposed dose (i.e. optimal dose) for Cohorts I, IIA, III-DT, IV-DT, and V-DT but not for Cohorts IIB, III, and IV. Participants on the proposed dose had intensive PK sampling between days 5 and10 of DTG initiation with blood samples collected at time 0 (pre-dose), and at 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8 and 24 hours post dosing.
The study is closed to accrual and study follow-up was completed on Oct 18, 2023.
4,340 studies on the registry are indexed under HIV Infections; 240 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 181 is above the median of 83 across 3,312 interventional studies indexed under HIV Infections.
Browse HIV Infections studies →National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) is the lead sponsor of 2,445 studies on the registry; 182 are open to participants now.
Of its 402 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 300 (75%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Go through the criteria one by one — yes, no or not sure — and take the list to your doctor or the study team. Kept in this browser only.
Participant belonged to one of the ARV exposure groups below:
ARV-treatment experienced (not including receipt of ARVs as prophylaxis or for prevention of perinatal transmission)
Agreed to stay on optimized background therapy (OBT) while on study:
Exclusion Criteria:
Adolescents 12 to younger than 18 years of age who received DTG film-coated tablets
Drug: DTG film-coated tablets
Children 6 to younger than 12 years of age who received DTG film-coated tablets
Drug: DTG film-coated tablets
Children 6 to younger than 12 years of age who received DTG granules for suspension
Drug: DTG granules for suspension
Children 2 to younger than 6 years of age who received DTG granules for suspension
Drug: DTG granules for suspension
Children 6 months to younger than 2 years of age who received DTG granules for suspension
Drug: DTG granules for suspension
Children 2 to younger than 6 years of age who received DTG dispersible tablets
Drug: DTG dispersible tablets
Children 6 months to younger than 2 years of age who received DTG dispersible tablets
Drug: DTG dispersible tablets
Infants 4 weeks to younger than 6 months of age who received DTG dispersible tablets
Drug: DTG dispersible tablets
DTG film-coated tablets initial starting dose at \~1 mg/kg with a maximum dose of 50 mg; orally once daily. Participants weighing ≥ 35kg received the proposed dose of 50 mg of DTG film-coated tablets.
DTG granules for suspension initial starting dose at \~0.64 mg/kg with a maximum dose of 32 mg; orally once daily.
DTG dispersible tablets initial starting dose of \~0.8 mg/kg with a maximum dose of 30 mg; orally once daily. The proposed weight-band dosing was: Weight band 3 to \<6 kg: 5 mg DTG dispersible tablets; Weight band 6 to \<10 kg: 15 mg DTG dispersible tablets; Weight band 10 to \<14 kg: 20 mg DTG dispersible tablets; Weight band 14 to \<20 kg: 25 mg DTG dispersible tablets; Weight band ≥20 kg: 30 mg DTG dispersible tablets.
DTG dispersible tablets initial starting dose of \~1.25 mg/kg with a maximum dose of 30 mg; orally once daily. The proposed weight-band dosing was: Weight band 3 to \<6 kg: 5 mg DTG dispersible tablets; Weight band 6 to \<10 kg: 15 mg DTG dispersible tablets; Weight band 10 to \<14 kg: 20 mg DTG dispersible tablets; Weight band 14 to \<20 kg: 25 mg DTG dispersible tablets; Weight band ≥20 kg: 30 mg DTG dispersible tablets.
DTG dispersible tablets initial starting dose of \~1.25 mg/kg with a maximum dose of 30 mg; orally once daily. The proposed weight-band dosing was: Weight band 3 to \<6 kg: 5 mg DTG dispersible tablets; Weight band 6 to \<10 kg: 15 mg DTG dispersible tablets.
Percentage of Participants With Grade 3 or Higher Adverse Events (AEs)
All grade 3 or higher signs/symptoms, diagnoses, and laboratory AEs were included. AE grading was based on DAIDS AE Grading Table, Version 1.0, December 2004 (Clarification, August 2009). A 2-sided 95% Confidence Interval (CI) was calculated for the percentage using the binominal exact method.
Time frame: From treatment initiation through Weeks 24 and 48
Percentage of Participants With Grade 3 or Higher Adverse Events (AEs) Assessed as Related to Study Drug
All grade 3 or higher signs/symptoms, diagnoses, and laboratory AEs were included. AE grading was based on DAIDS AE Grading Table, Version 1.0, December 2004 (Clarification, August 2009). A 2-sided 95% Confidence Interval (CI) was calculated for the percentage using the binominal exact method.
Time frame: From treatment initiation through Weeks 24 and 48
Number of Participants With Permanent Discontinuation of Study Drug Due to Adverse Events (AEs) Assessed as Related to Study Drug
Number of participants with permanent discontinuation of study drug due to AEs assessed by the site investigator as related to the study drug.
Time frame: From treatment initiation through Weeks 24 and 48
Number of Participants Who Died
Number of participants who died were summarized
Time frame: From treatment initiation through Weeks 24 and 48
PK Parameter: Area-under-the-curve From 0 to 24 Hours (AUC0-24)
Pharmacokinetic parameters were determined from plasma concentration-time profiles using non-compartmental methods (Phoenix WinNonlin 8.0 or current, Certara, Princeton, NJ). AUC0-24 was determined using linear up-log down estimation in WinNonlin.
Time frame: One intensive PK visit between 5 and 10 days of DTG initiation. At intensive PK visit, blood samples were drawn pre-dose and at 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8 and 24 hours post dosing
Percentage of Participants With Grade 3 or Higher Adverse Events (AEs)
Percentage and exact 95% Confidence Interval (CI) of participants with Grade 3 or higher AEs. AEs were graded based on the Division of AIDS Table for Grading the Severity of Adult and Pediatric Adverse Events (DAIDS AE Grading Table), Version 1.0, December 2004, Clarification August 2009 (see References). All grade 3 or higher signs, symptoms, and laboratory toxicities were included.
Time frame: From treatment initiation through Week 192. AEs after that time were censored.
Percentage of Participants With Grade 3 or Higher Adverse Events (AEs) Assessed as Related to Study Drug
Percentage and exact 95% Confidence Interval (CI) of participants with Grade 3 or higher AEs assessed by the site investigator as related to the study drug.
Time frame: From treatment initiation through Week 192. AEs after that time were censored.
Number of Participants With Permanent Discontinuation of Study Drug Due to Adverse Events (AEs) Assessed as Related to Study Drug
Number of participants with permanent discontinuation of study drug due to AEs assessed by the site investigator as related to the study drug.
Time frame: From treatment initiation through Week 192. AEs after that time were censored.
Number of Participants Who Died
Number of participants who died were summarized.
Time frame: From treatment initiation through Week 192. AEs after that time were censored.
Percentage of Participants With Plasma HIV-1 RNA Less Than 400 Copies/ml
Virologic responses were assessed at weeks 24 and 48 as percentages of participants and exact 95% Confidence Interval (CI). The virologic response or virologic failure was defined and calculated according to FDA's Snapshot algorithm.
Time frame: Week 24 and Week 48
Percentage of Participants With Plasma HIV-1 RNA Less Than 50 Copies/ml
Virologic responses were assessed at weeks 24 and 48 as percentages of participants and exact 95% Confidence Interval (CI), The virologic response or virologic failure was defined and calculated according to FDA's Snapshot algorithm.
Time frame: Week 24 and Week 48
PK Parameter: Plasma Concentration Observed at End of 24 Hour Dosing Interval (C24h)
Determined from plasma concentration-time profiles using non-compartmental methods (Phoenix WinNonlin 8.0 or current, Certara, Princeton, NJ). C24h was taken directly from the observed concentration-time data or estimated using the elimination rate constant.
Time frame: One intensive PK visit between 5 and 10 days of DTG initiation. At intensive PK visit, blood samples were drawn pre-dose and at 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8 and 24 hours post dosing
PK Parameter: Plasma Concentration Observed Immediately to Dosing of 24 Hour Dosing Interval (C0h)
Determined from plasma concentration-time profiles using non-compartmental methods (Phoenix WinNonlin 8.0 or current, Certara, Princeton, NJ). C0h was taken directly from the observed concentration-time data.
Time frame: One intensive PK visit between 5 and 10 days of DTG initiation. At intensive PK visit, blood samples were drawn pre-dose and at 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8 and 24 hours post dosing
PK Parameter: Minimum Plasma Concentration (Cmin)
Determined from plasma concentration-time profiles using non-compartmental methods (Phoenix WinNonlin 8.0 or current, Certara, Princeton, NJ) and were performed in real-time. Cmin was taken directly from the observed concentration-time data.
Time frame: One intensive PK visit between 5 and 10 days of DTG initiation. At intensive PK visit, blood samples were drawn pre-dose and at 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8 and 24 hours post dosing
PK Parameter: Maximum Plasma Concentration (Cmax)
Determined from plasma concentration-time profiles using non-compartmental methods (Phoenix WinNonlin 8.0 or current, Certara, Princeton, NJ). Cmax was taken directly from the observed concentration-time data.
Time frame: One intensive PK visit between 5 and 10 days of DTG initiation. At intensive PK visit, blood samples were drawn pre-dose and at 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8 and 24 hours post dosing
PK Parameter: Apparent Clearance (CL/F)
Determined from plasma concentration-time profiles using non-compartmental methods (Phoenix WinNonlin 8.0 or current, Certara, Princeton, NJ). CL/F was calculated as Dose/AUC.
Time frame: One intensive PK visit between 5 and 10 days of DTG initiation. At intensive PK visit, blood samples were drawn pre-dose and at 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8 and 24 hours post dosing
PK Parameter: Apparent Volume of Distribution (Vz/F)
Determined from plasma concentration-time profiles using non-compartmental methods (Phoenix WinNonlin 8.0 or current, Certara, Princeton, NJ). Vz/F was calculated as Dose/(ke x AUC).
Time frame: One intensive PK visit between 5 and 10 days of DTG initiation. At intensive PK visit, blood samples were drawn pre-dose and at 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8 and 24 hours post dosing
PK Parameter: Terminal Half-life (t1/2)
Determined from plasma concentration-time profiles using non-compartmental methods (Phoenix WinNonlin 8.0 or current, Certara, Princeton, NJ). t1/2 was calculated as ln(2)/ke.
Time frame: One intensive PK visit between 5 and 10 days of DTG initiation. At intensive PK visit, blood samples were drawn pre-dose and at 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8 and 24 hours post dosing
Summary of Changes in CD4 Count From Baseline
The median differences between CD4 count at Week 24 and 48 minus at the Day 0 (baseline), and Interquartile Ranges (IQRs) are presented.
Time frame: Measured at Day 0, Week 24, and Week 48
Summary of Changes in CD4 Percent From Baseline
The median differences between CD4 percent at Week 24 and 48 minus at the Day 0 (baseline), and Interquartile Ranges (IQRs) are presented.
Time frame: Measured at Day 0, Week 24, and Week 48
Summary of Changes in CD8 Count From Baseline
The median differences between CD8 count at Week 24 and 48 minus at the Day 0 (baseline), and Interquartile Ranges (IQRs) are presented.
Time frame: Measured at Day 0, Week 24, and Week 48
Summary of Changes in CD8 Percent From Baseline
The median differences between CD8 percent at Week 24 and 48 minus at the Day 0 (baseline), and Interquartile Ranges (IQRs) are presented.
Time frame: Measured at Day 0, Week 24, and Week 48
Genotypic Measures of Resistance to Integrase
Genes were sequenced and compared to a reference sequence to identify mutations
Time frame: At baseline
Genotypic Measures of Resistance to Integrase
Genes were sequenced and compared to a reference sequence to identify mutations
Time frame: at virological failure visit at or prior to Week 192
Genotypic Measures of Resistance to Protease
Genes were sequenced and compared to a reference sequence to identify mutations
Time frame: at baseline
Genotypic Measures of Resistance to Protease
Genes were sequenced and compared to a reference sequence to identify mutations
Time frame: at virological failures at or prior to Week 192
Genotypic Measures of Resistance to Reverse Transcriptase
Genes were sequenced and compared to a reference sequence to identify mutations
Time frame: at baseline
Genotypic Measures of Resistance to Reverse Transcriptase
Genes were sequenced and compared to a reference sequence to identify mutations
Time frame: at virologic failure at or prior to Week 192
Phenotypic Measures of Resistance
The participant viral culture is considered to be reduced susceptibility if more DTG is needed to inactivate 50% of the participant viral culture compared to the control viral specimen
Time frame: Whenever virological failures took place from baseline to week 192
Worst Case CDC HIV Classification Status
Disease progression as measured by change from baseline to the worst case CDC HIV classification status
Time frame: From baseline through Week 192
Participants were enrolled from April 20, 2011 to February 19, 2020. Participants were recruited from 9 countries in North America, South America, Africa, and Asia.
| Milestone | Cohort I | Cohort IIA | Cohort IIB | Cohort III | Cohort IV | Cohort III-DT | Cohort IV-DT | Cohort V-DT |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Started | 23 | 23 | 15 | 17 | 7 | 36 | 35 | 25 |
| Completed | 10 | 16 | 14 | 15 | 5 | 31 | 30 | 20 |
| Not completed | 13 | 7 | 1 | 2 | 2 | 5 | 5 | 5 |
| Withdrew: Death | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Pregnancy | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Virologic failure | 0 | 2 | 0 | 2 | 1 | 3 | 1 | 2 |
| Withdrew: Severe debilitation, unable to continue | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Not able to get to clinic | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Site closing | 2 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Withdrew: Not willing to adhere to requirements | 5 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 |
| Withdrew: Site unable to contact participant | 2 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 |
All grade 3 or higher signs/symptoms, diagnoses, and laboratory AEs were included. AE grading was based on DAIDS AE Grading Table, Version 1.0, December 2004 (Clarification, August 2009). A 2-sided 95% Confidence Interval (CI) was calculated for the percentage using the binominal exact method.
| percentage of participants | Cohort I | Cohort IIA | Cohort IIB | Cohort III | Cohort IV | Cohort III-DT | Cohort IV-DT | Cohort V-DT |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Through Week 24 | 4.3 (0.1 to 22.0) | 8.7 (1.1 to 28.0) | 6.7 (0.2 to 32.0) | 29.4 (10.3 to 56.0) | 57.1 (18.4 to 90.1) | 38.9 (23.1 to 56.5) | 42.9 (26.3 to 60.7) | 60 (38.7 to 78.9) |
| Through Week 48 | 8.7 (1.1 to 28.0) | 17.4 (5.0 to 38.8) | 13.3 (1.7 to 40.5) | 35.3 (14.2 to 61.7) | 57.1 (18.4 to 90.1) | 41.7 (25.5 to 59.2) | 51.4 (34.0 to 68.6) | 64 (42.5 to 82.0) |
All grade 3 or higher signs/symptoms, diagnoses, and laboratory AEs were included. AE grading was based on DAIDS AE Grading Table, Version 1.0, December 2004 (Clarification, August 2009). A 2-sided 95% Confidence Interval (CI) was calculated for the percentage using the binominal exact method.
| percentage of participants | Cohort I | Cohort IIA | Cohort IIB | Cohort III | Cohort IV | Cohort III-DT | Cohort IV-DT | Cohort V-DT |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Through Week 24 | 0 (0.0 to 14.8) | 0 (0.0 to 14.8) | 0 (0.0 to 21.8) | 0 (0.0 to 19.5) | 14.3 (0.4 to 57.9) | 0 (0.0 to 9.7) | 0 (0.0 to 10.0) | 0 (0.0 to 13.7) |
| Through Week 48 | 0 (0.0 to 14.8) | 0 (0.0 to 14.8) | 0 (0.0 to 21.8) | 0 (0.0 to 19.5) | 14.3 (0.4 to 57.9) | 0 (0.0 to 9.7) | 0 (0.0 to 10.0) | 0 (0.0 to 13.7) |
Number of participants with permanent discontinuation of study drug due to AEs assessed by the site investigator as related to the study drug.
| Participants | Cohort I | Cohort IIA | Cohort IIB | Cohort III | Cohort IV | Cohort III-DT | Cohort IV-DT | Cohort V-DT |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Through Week 24 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Through Week 48 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Number of participants who died were summarized
| Participants | Cohort I | Cohort IIA | Cohort IIB | Cohort III | Cohort IV | Cohort III-DT | Cohort IV-DT | Cohort V-DT |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Through Week 24 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 0 |
| Through Week 48 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 0 |
Pharmacokinetic parameters were determined from plasma concentration-time profiles using non-compartmental methods (Phoenix WinNonlin 8.0 or current, Certara, Princeton, NJ). AUC0-24 was determined using linear up-log down estimation in WinNonlin.
| hr*mg/L | Cohort I | Cohort IIA | Cohort III-DT | Cohort IV-DT | Cohort V-DT |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PK Parameter: Area-under-the-curve From 0 to 24 Hours (AUC0-24) | 52.98 ± 23.11 | 68.33 ± 43.33 | 63.16 ± 37.77 | 82.67 ± 47.05 | 71.45 ± 28.21 |
Percentage and exact 95% Confidence Interval (CI) of participants with Grade 3 or higher AEs. AEs were graded based on the Division of AIDS Table for Grading the Severity of Adult and Pediatric Adverse Events (DAIDS AE Grading Table), Version 1.0, December 2004, Clarification August 2009 (see References). All grade 3 or higher signs, symptoms, and laboratory toxicities were included.
| percentage of participants | Cohort I | Cohort IIA | Cohort IIB | Cohort III | Cohort IV | Cohort III-DT | Cohort IV-DT | Cohort V-DT |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants With Grade 3 or Higher Adverse Events (AEs) | 34.8 (16.4 to 57.3) | 30.4 (13.2 to 52.9) | 20 (4.3 to 48.1) | 52.9 (27.8 to 77.0) | 57.1 (18.4 to 90.1) | 58.3 (40.8 to 74.5) | 51.4 (34.0 to 68.6) | 64 (42.5 to 82.0) |
Percentage and exact 95% Confidence Interval (CI) of participants with Grade 3 or higher AEs assessed by the site investigator as related to the study drug.
| percentage of participants | Cohort I | Cohort IIA | Cohort IIB | Cohort III | Cohort IV | Cohort III-DT | Cohort IV-DT | Cohort V-DT |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants With Grade 3 or Higher Adverse Events (AEs) Assessed as Related to Study Drug | 0 (0.0 to 14.8) | 0 (0.0 to 14.8) | 0 (0.0 to 21.8) | 0 (0.0 to 19.5) | 14.3 (0.4 to 57.9) | 0 (0.0 to 9.7) | 0 (0.0 to 10.0) | 0 (0.0 to 13.7) |
Number of participants with permanent discontinuation of study drug due to AEs assessed by the site investigator as related to the study drug.
| Participants | Cohort I | Cohort IIA | Cohort IIB | Cohort III | Cohort IV | Cohort III-DT | Cohort IV-DT | Cohort V-DT |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Number of Participants With Permanent Discontinuation of Study Drug Due to Adverse Events (AEs) Assessed as Related to Study Drug | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Number of participants who died were summarized.
| Participants | Cohort I | Cohort IIA | Cohort IIB | Cohort III | Cohort IV | Cohort III-DT | Cohort IV-DT | Cohort V-DT |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Number of Participants Who Died | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 0 |
Virologic responses were assessed at weeks 24 and 48 as percentages of participants and exact 95% Confidence Interval (CI). The virologic response or virologic failure was defined and calculated according to FDA's Snapshot algorithm.
| percentage of participants | Cohort I | Cohort IIA | Cohort IIB | Cohort III | Cohort IV | Cohort III-DT | Cohort IV-DT | Cohort V-DT |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Week 24 | 82.6 (61.2 to 95) | 78.3 (56.3 to 92.5) | 100 (78.2 to 100) | 88.2 (63.6 to 98.5) | 71.4 (29 to 96.3) | 86.1 (70.5 to 95.3) | 88.6 (73.3 to 96.8) | 68 (46.5 to 85.1) |
| Week 48 | 73.9 (51.6 to 89.8) | 78.3 (56.3 to 92.5) | 93.3 (68.1 to 99.8) | 94.1 (71.3 to 99.9) | 71.4 (29 to 96.3) | 86.1 (70.5 to 95.3) | 85.7 (69.7 to 95.2) | 72 (50.6 to 87.9) |
Virologic responses were assessed at weeks 24 and 48 as percentages of participants and exact 95% Confidence Interval (CI), The virologic response or virologic failure was defined and calculated according to FDA's Snapshot algorithm.
| percentage of participants | Cohort I | Cohort IIA | Cohort IIB | Cohort III | Cohort IV | Cohort III-DT | Cohort IV-DT | Cohort V-DT |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Week 24 | 69.6 (47.1 to 86.8) | 60.9 (38.5 to 80.3) | 93.3 (68.1 to 99.8) | 58.8 (32.9 to 81.6) | 42.9 (9.9 to 81.6) | 61.1 (43.5 to 76.9) | 51.4 (34 to 68.6) | 32 (14.9 to 53.5) |
| Week 48 | 60.9 (38.5 to 80.3) | 69.6 (47.1 to 86.8) | 93.3 (68.1 to 99.8) | 64.7 (38.3 to 85.8) | 42.9 (9.9 to 81.6) | 69.4 (51.9 to 83.7) | 65.7 (47.8 to 80.9) | 36 (18 to 57.5) |
Determined from plasma concentration-time profiles using non-compartmental methods (Phoenix WinNonlin 8.0 or current, Certara, Princeton, NJ). C24h was taken directly from the observed concentration-time data or estimated using the elimination rate constant.
| ng/mL | Cohort I | Cohort IIA | Cohort III-DT | Cohort IV-DT | Cohort V-DT |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PK Parameter: Plasma Concentration Observed at End of 24 Hour Dosing Interval (C24h) | 1145.36 ± 659.65 | 1475.46 ± 1139.52 | 1065.12 ± 1112.46 | 1488.24 ± 1175.44 | 1765.19 ± 929.97 |
Determined from plasma concentration-time profiles using non-compartmental methods (Phoenix WinNonlin 8.0 or current, Certara, Princeton, NJ). C0h was taken directly from the observed concentration-time data.
| ng/mL | Cohort I | Cohort IIA | Cohort III-DT | Cohort IV-DT | Cohort V-DT |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PK Parameter: Plasma Concentration Observed Immediately to Dosing of 24 Hour Dosing Interval (C0h) | 1429.09 ± 738.69 | 1508.44 ± 1271.93 | 944.22 ± 549.36 | 1584.29 ± 1388.27 | 1376.15 ± 1132.28 |
Determined from plasma concentration-time profiles using non-compartmental methods (Phoenix WinNonlin 8.0 or current, Certara, Princeton, NJ) and were performed in real-time. Cmin was taken directly from the observed concentration-time data.
| ng/mL | Cohort I | Cohort IIA | Cohort III-DT | Cohort IV-DT | Cohort V-DT |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PK Parameter: Minimum Plasma Concentration (Cmin) | 1193.94 ± 668.76 | 1155.52 ± 1152.98 | 757.92 ± 439.83 | 1343.74 ± 1370.79 | 1213.68 ± 886.21 |
Determined from plasma concentration-time profiles using non-compartmental methods (Phoenix WinNonlin 8.0 or current, Certara, Princeton, NJ). Cmax was taken directly from the observed concentration-time data.
| ng/mL | Cohort I | Cohort IIA | Cohort III-DT | Cohort IV-DT | Cohort V-DT |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PK Parameter: Maximum Plasma Concentration (Cmax) | 3945.97 ± 1499.34 | 5111.10 ± 2459.92 | 5530.16 ± 2466.62 | 6256.67 ± 2508.57 | 4832.58 ± 1679.69 |
Determined from plasma concentration-time profiles using non-compartmental methods (Phoenix WinNonlin 8.0 or current, Certara, Princeton, NJ). CL/F was calculated as Dose/AUC.
| L/h | Cohort I | Cohort IIA | Cohort III-DT | Cohort IV-DT | Cohort V-DT |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PK Parameter: Apparent Clearance (CL/F) | 1.29 ± 1.03 | 1.11 ± 0.92 | 0.49 ± 0.31 | 0.23 ± 0.11 | 0.11 ± 0.05 |
Determined from plasma concentration-time profiles using non-compartmental methods (Phoenix WinNonlin 8.0 or current, Certara, Princeton, NJ). Vz/F was calculated as Dose/(ke x AUC).
| L | Cohort I | Cohort IIA | Cohort III-DT | Cohort IV-DT | Cohort V-DT |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PK Parameter: Apparent Volume of Distribution (Vz/F) | 21.95 ± 13.71 | 19.11 ± 16.51 | 5.75 ± 3.66 | 3.19 ± 1.50 | 2.37 ± 1.04 |
Determined from plasma concentration-time profiles using non-compartmental methods (Phoenix WinNonlin 8.0 or current, Certara, Princeton, NJ). t1/2 was calculated as ln(2)/ke.
| h | Cohort I | Cohort IIA | Cohort III-DT | Cohort IV-DT | Cohort V-DT |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PK Parameter: Terminal Half-life (t1/2) | 13.21 ± 5.51 | 12.22 ± 2.63 | 9.10 ± 3.40 | 9.93 ± 2.58 | 16.85 ± 8.22 |
The median differences between CD4 count at Week 24 and 48 minus at the Day 0 (baseline), and Interquartile Ranges (IQRs) are presented.
| cells/mm^3 | Cohort I | Cohort IIA | Cohort IIB | Cohort III | Cohort IV | Cohort III-DT | Cohort IV-DT | Cohort V-DT |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| From baseline to Week 24 | 63 (-56 to 180) | 209 (30 to 403) | 268 (142 to 372) | 199 (-59 to 644) | 472 (-20 to 883) | 249 (47 to 535) | 110 (-284 to 434) | 441 (-114 to 1023) |
| From baseline to Week 48 | 84 (-81 to 238) | 387 (49 to 575) | 246 (160 to 466) | 134.5 (-183.5 to 569.5) | 577 (135 to 777) | 191 (-202 to 541) | -1 (-449 to 577) | 721 (-114 to 972) |
The median differences between CD4 percent at Week 24 and 48 minus at the Day 0 (baseline), and Interquartile Ranges (IQRs) are presented.
| Percentage of total lymphocytes | Cohort I | Cohort IIA | Cohort IIB | Cohort III | Cohort IV | Cohort III-DT | Cohort IV-DT | Cohort V-DT |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| From baseline to Week 24 | 4.9 (1 to 8) | 8 (5 to 11) | 6 (3.3 to 9.1) | 6 (4.5 to 9) | 5.7 (3.9 to 8.1) | 6.1 (3.4 to 10.9) | 6 (2.5 to 12) | 5.1 (1 to 10) |
| From baseline to Week 48 | 4.7 (0 to 9.4) | 9 (7 to 14) | 9.2 (5 to 11.9) | 5.6 (1.5 to 11) | 9.9 (8.5 to 10) | 9.1 (4.4 to 13.4) | 8.8 (0.7 to 14) | 9.7 (4.1 to 11) |
The median differences between CD8 count at Week 24 and 48 minus at the Day 0 (baseline), and Interquartile Ranges (IQRs) are presented.
| cells/mm^3 | Cohort I | Cohort IIA | Cohort IIB | Cohort III | Cohort IV | Cohort III-DT | Cohort IV-DT | Cohort V-DT |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| From baseline to Week 24 | -36 (-371 to 30) | -147 (-804 to 30) | -43 (-247 to 151) | -282 (-533 to 176) | 223 (-592 to 668) | -395 (-732 to 69) | -813 (-2013 to -65) | -210 (-1206 to 910) |
| From baseline to Week 48 | -52.5 (-365 to 105) | -117 (-607 to 131) | -126 (-302 to 166) | -431.5 (-782 to -169.5) | -376 (-411 to 21) | -464 (-1013 to -94) | -1242 (-2433 to -280) | -442 (-1435 to 870) |
The median differences between CD8 percent at Week 24 and 48 minus at the Day 0 (baseline), and Interquartile Ranges (IQRs) are presented.
| Percentage of total lymphocytes | Cohort I | Cohort IIA | Cohort IIB | Cohort III | Cohort IV | Cohort III-DT | Cohort IV-DT | Cohort V-DT |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| From baseline to Week 24 | -5 (-9.7 to -2.3) | -10 (-17.4 to -6) | -7 (-9.2 to -4) | -6.8 (-9.9 to 2.5) | -2 (-4.1 to 3.5) | -3 (-9 to 0.1) | -4.2 (-9.9 to -1.3) | -4 (-10.2 to 2) |
| From baseline to Week 48 | -6 (-12 to -2.4) | -11.4 (-22 to -7) | -8 (-15 to -5) | -6.5 (-14.5 to -3) | -1.8 (-4 to 0.3) | -6.5 (-10 to -1.9) | -9 (-15.2 to -4.9) | -3.5 (-11.5 to 1.7) |
Genes were sequenced and compared to a reference sequence to identify mutations
| Participants | All VF Participants |
|---|---|
| A128T | 2 |
| Gene not found | 3 |
| L74I | 7 |
| L74I,S230N | 1 |
| S230N | 1 |
| T97A | 1 |
| V151I | 1 |
| None | 40 |
Genes were sequenced and compared to a reference sequence to identify mutations
| Participants | All VF Participants |
|---|---|
| A128T | 1 |
| A128T,S153AFSV | 1 |
| E138AEKT,E138T,S147G,S147GS,R263K,R263KR | 1 |
| E138K,Q148K | 1 |
| E157Q | 1 |
| E92EG,T97A,N155H,N155HN | 1 |
| E92EQ,G118GR | 1 |
| H51HY | 1 |
| L74I | 4 |
| L74I,G118R | 1 |
| L74I,S230N | 1 |
| L74M,G118R | 1 |
| R263K | 1 |
| S230N | 1 |
| T66I,G118R,E138A | 1 |
| T66I,L74I,G118R | 1 |
| T97A,G118R,E138EK,S147G,V151I,N155H | 1 |
| missing | 11 |
| None | 25 |
Genes were sequenced and compared to a reference sequence to identify mutations
| Participants | All VF Participants |
|---|---|
| A71T | 1 |
| D30N,A71T,N88D | 1 |
| D30N,M46I,Q58EQ,A71T,N88D | 1 |
| I84V | 1 |
| K20I | 2 |
| K20I,V82I | 1 |
| K20R | 8 |
| K20R,A71T | 1 |
| K20R,L33F,M46I,I50V,I54V,T74P,V82A | 1 |
| K20R,T74S | 1 |
| K20R,T74S,V82A | 1 |
| K20T,V82I | 1 |
| K43T,A71T,V82A | 1 |
| L10I,K20KR,M46LM,I54IL,A71AV,V82AFSV | 3 |
| L10I | 1 |
| L10V | 2 |
| T74S | 3 |
| None | 26 |
Genes were sequenced and compared to a reference sequence to identify mutations
| Participants | All VF Participants |
|---|---|
| A71T | 2 |
| D30N,A71T,N88D | 1 |
| D30N,M46I,Q58E,Q58EQ,A71T,N88D | 1 |
| I84V | 1 |
| K20I | 1 |
| K20R | 7 |
| K20R,T74S | 1 |
| K20R,T74S,V82A | 1 |
| K20T,V82I | 1 |
| L10I | 6 |
| L10I,K20R | 1 |
| L10I,K43T,I54V,A71T,V82A | 1 |
| L10I,L10IV | 1 |
| L10IL,K20KR,L33FL,M46IM,I50IV,I54IV,T74PT,V82AV | 1 |
| L10V | 2 |
| L10V,K20IV,K20V | 1 |
| T74S | 3 |
| V11IV,K20I,V82I | 1 |
| missing | 8 |
| None | 15 |
Genes were sequenced and compared to a reference sequence to identify mutations
| Participants | All VF Participants |
|---|---|
| A62V,K65R,S68G,K70R,V75I,F77L,K101Q,K103N,F116Y,Q151M,P225H | 1 |
| D67DN,K238R | 1 |
| D67DN,V179I,V179IV,M184V,K219Q,N348I | 1 |
| E138A | 1 |
| E44D,K103N,M184V | 1 |
| K103N | 4 |
| K103N,M184V | 1 |
| K103N,M184V,M184MV | 1 |
| K103N,P225H | 1 |
| K103N,V179I | 1 |
| K103N,V179I,M184V | 1 |
| K103N,Y181C | 1 |
| K103S,V179I,G190A,Y318F | 1 |
| K65R,V106M,G190A | 1 |
| K70KR,T215F,T215FIST,K238R | 1 |
| L74LV,Y181CY,M184V | 1 |
| L74V,K103N,E138G,M184V,M230L | 1 |
| L74V,V106M,Y181C | 1 |
| M184V | 2 |
| M184V,H221Y | 1 |
| M184V,K238R | 1 |
| M41L,D67N,T69N,K70R,L74I,A98G,M184V,T215F,K219Q,K238R | 1 |
| M41L,K101E,V179I,M184V,G190A,T215F | 1 |
| M41L,T215L | 1 |
| S68G,K103N,E138Q,M184V,Y318F | 1 |
| S68G,V106I,K238R | 1 |
| S68G,V90I,K103N,V179I | 1 |
| T69D | 1 |
| V118I,E138A | 1 |
| V118IV,V179I,M184V | 1 |
| V179E,P225H | 1 |
| V179I | 1 |
| V179I,M184V | 2 |
| V179I,M184V,G190A,K219R | 1 |
| V179I,M184V,K238R | 1 |
| V179I,M184V,Y188L | 1 |
| V179S | 1 |
| V75M,K103N | 1 |
| V90I | 2 |
| Y181C | 1 |
| None | 10 |
Genes were sequenced and compared to a reference sequence to identify mutations
| Participants | All VF Participants |
|---|---|
| 101i,V179I,M184V | 1 |
| A62V,K65R,S68G,K70R,V75I,F77L,K101Q,K103N,F116Y,Q151M,P225H | 1 |
| D67N,K219Q,N348I | 1 |
| E138A | 1 |
| E44D,E44DE,K103N,M184V | 1 |
| E44DE | 1 |
| K103KN,K103N,M184V | 1 |
| K103N | 4 |
| K103N,M184V | 1 |
| K103N,V179I | 1 |
| K103N,V179I,M184V | 1 |
| K103S,M184V,G190A,Y318F | 1 |
| K238R | 2 |
| K238R,M41LM,D67DN,T69NT,K70KR,L74IL,A98AG,M184MV,T215FIST,K219Q,M230IM | 1 |
| L74IL,L74V,K103N,E138G,M184V,M230L | 1 |
| M184V | 3 |
| M184V,H221Y | 1 |
| M184V,K238R | 1 |
| M41L,T215FL | 1 |
| M41LM,M184V,S68G,S68GS,Y181CY,M184MV | 1 |
| S68G,V106I,K238R | 1 |
| S68G,V90I,K103N,V179I,M184V | 1 |
| S68GS,K103KN,K238KR,K238R | 1 |
| T69NT,K103N,P225H | 1 |
| V106M,Y181C,P236LP | 1 |
| V179D,V179DV,G190A,G190AG | 1 |
| V179E,P225H | 1 |
| V179I | 1 |
| V179I,M184V | 1 |
| V179I,M184V,G190A,K219R | 1 |
| V179I,M184V,K238R | 1 |
| V179I,M184V,Y188L | 1 |
| V179S,M184V | 1 |
| V75M,K103N | 1 |
| V90I | 1 |
| missing | 6 |
| None | 9 |
The participant viral culture is considered to be reduced susceptibility if more DTG is needed to inactivate 50% of the participant viral culture compared to the control viral specimen
| Participants | Cohort I | Cohort IIA | Cohort IIB | Cohort III | Cohort IV | Cohort III-DT | Cohort IV-DT | Cohort V-DT |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sensitive to DTG | 8 | 4 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 5 | 4 | 9 |
| Reduced susceptibility to DTG | 2 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 |
| missing | 1 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 2 | 4 | 7 | 3 |
Disease progression as measured by change from baseline to the worst case CDC HIV classification status
| Participants | Not Symptomatic | Mildly Symptomatic | Moderately Symptomatic | Severely Symptomatic | Stage III | Stage I or II |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Not symptomatic at entry | 74 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Mildly symptomatic at entry | 0 | 37 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Moderately symptomatic at entry | 0 | 0 | 20 | 1 | 0 | 0 |
| Severely symptomatic at entry | 0 | 0 | 0 | 31 | 0 | 0 |
| Stage III at entry | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 7 | 0 |
| Stage I or II at entry | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 10 |
Collected over From study entry to completion of follow-up by Week 192 or longer, for participants on long-term follow-up. Five, 4, 3, 1 and 1 participants completed visit week 216, 228, 240, 278 and 284, respectively; all follow-up was included.. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cohort I | 0/23 (0%) | 8/23 (34.8%) | 23/23 (100%) |
| Cohort IIA | 1/23 (4.3%) | 5/23 (21.7%) | 23/23 (100%) |
| Cohort IIB | 0/15 (0%) | 1/15 (6.7%) | 15/15 (100%) |
| Cohort III | 0/17 (0%) | 8/17 (47.1%) | 17/17 (100%) |
| Cohort IV | 0/7 (0%) | 2/7 (28.6%) | 7/7 (100%) |
| Cohort III-DT | 1/36 (2.8%) | 12/36 (33.3%) | 36/36 (100%) |
| Cohort IV-DT | 1/35 (2.9%) | 8/35 (22.9%) | 35/35 (100%) |
| Cohort V-DT | 0/25 (0%) | 2/25 (8%) | 25/25 (100%) |
| Event | Cohort I | Cohort IIA | Cohort IIB | Cohort III | Cohort IV | Cohort III-DT | Cohort IV-DT | Cohort V-DT |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PyrexiaGeneral disorders | 0/23 | 0/23 | 0/15 | 0/17 | 1/7 | 0/36 | 0/35 | 0/25 |
| GastroenteritisInfections and infestations | 0/23 | 0/23 | 0/15 | 0/17 | 1/7 | 0/36 | 2/35 | 1/25 |
| PneumoniaInfections and infestations | 0/23 | 1/23 | 0/15 | 0/17 | 1/7 | 1/36 | 1/35 | 1/25 |
| Pneumonia viralInfections and infestations | 0/23 | 0/23 | 0/15 | 0/17 | 1/7 | 1/36 | 0/35 | 0/25 |
| Alanine aminotransferase increasedInvestigations | 0/23 | 0/23 | 0/15 | 0/17 | 1/7 | 0/36 | 1/35 | 0/25 |
| PregnancyPregnancy, puerperium and perinatal conditions | 3/23 | 0/23 | 0/15 | 0/17 | 0/7 | 0/36 | 0/35 | 0/25 |
| CellulitisInfections and infestations | 0/23 | 0/23 | 0/15 | 2/17 | 0/7 | 0/36 | 0/35 | 0/25 |
| Pneumonia bacterialInfections and infestations | 0/23 | 0/23 | 0/15 | 2/17 | 0/7 | 1/36 | 0/35 | 0/25 |
| Pelvic inflammatory diseaseInfections and infestations | 2/23 | 0/23 | 0/15 | 0/17 | 0/7 | 0/36 | 0/35 | 0/25 |
| Deep vein thrombosisVascular disorders | 2/23 | 0/23 | 0/15 | 0/17 | 0/7 | 0/36 | 0/35 | 0/25 |
| Event | Cohort I | Cohort IIA | Cohort IIB | Cohort III | Cohort IV | Cohort III-DT | Cohort IV-DT | Cohort V-DT |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Blood sodium decreasedInvestigations | 6/23 | 8/23 | 9/15 | 8/17 | 7/7 | 24/36 | 27/35 | 14/25 |
| Blood bicarbonate decreasedInvestigations | 11/23 | 10/23 | 6/15 | 13/17 | 6/7 | 33/36 | 34/35 | 23/25 |
| CoughRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 14/23 | 15/23 | 8/15 | 15/17 | 6/7 | 29/36 | 21/35 | 15/25 |
| PyrexiaGeneral disorders | 8/23 | 7/23 | 5/15 | 9/17 | 6/7 | 18/36 | 13/35 | 7/25 |
| Haemoglobin decreasedInvestigations | 1/23 | 6/23 | 0/15 | 5/17 | 3/7 | 14/36 | 24/35 | 20/25 |
| Neutrophil count decreasedInvestigations | 4/23 | 6/23 | 7/15 | 6/17 | 3/7 | 19/36 | 20/35 | 19/25 |
| Decreased appetiteMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 7/23 | 3/23 | 3/15 | 5/17 | 5/7 | 4/36 | 10/35 | 4/25 |
| RhinorrhoeaRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 7/23 | 8/23 | 8/15 | 10/17 | 5/7 | 15/36 | 11/35 | 6/25 |
| DiarrhoeaGastrointestinal disorders | 8/23 | 6/23 | 2/15 | 9/17 | 4/7 | 10/36 | 19/35 | 6/25 |
| Nasal congestionRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 10/23 | 10/23 | 5/15 | 6/17 | 4/7 | 8/36 | 5/35 | 5/25 |
Participants who received at least one dose of DTG.
| Age, Continuous(years) | Cohort I | Cohort IIA | Cohort IIB | Cohort III | Cohort IV | Cohort III-DT | Cohort IV-DT | Cohort V-DT | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 14.26 ± 1.79 | 8.96 ± 1.99 | 7.73 ± 1.79 | 3.59 ± 1.00 | 1.14 ± 0.41 | 3.25 ± 1.18 | 1.13 ± 0.44 | 0.03 ± 0.01 | 4.84 ± 4.78 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Cohort I | Cohort IIA | Cohort IIB | Cohort III | Cohort IV | Cohort III-DT | Cohort IV-DT | Cohort V-DT | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 18 | 7 | 3 | 8 | 5 | 13 | 20 | 12 | 86 |
| Male | 5 | 16 | 12 | 9 | 2 | 23 | 15 | 13 | 95 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Cohort I | Cohort IIA | Cohort IIB | Cohort III | Cohort IV | Cohort III-DT | Cohort IV-DT | Cohort V-DT | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 6 | 6 | 4 | 8 | 1 | 6 | 4 | 2 | 37 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 16 | 13 | 6 | 6 | 6 | 28 | 31 | 23 | 129 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 1 | 4 | 5 | 3 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 15 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Cohort I | Cohort IIA | Cohort IIB | Cohort III | Cohort IV | Cohort III-DT | Cohort IV-DT | Cohort V-DT | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Asian | 3 | 3 | 3 | 2 | 3 | 7 | 1 | 3 | 25 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Black or African American | 12 | 12 | 10 | 11 | 3 | 25 | 30 | 20 | 123 |
| White | 7 | 3 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 1 | 2 | 0 | 15 |
| More than one race | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 3 | 2 | 2 | 9 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 1 | 3 | 2 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 8 |
| Region of Enrollment(Participants) | Cohort I | Cohort IIA | Cohort IIB | Cohort III | Cohort IV | Cohort III-DT | Cohort IV-DT | Cohort V-DT | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| United States | 20 | 16 | 5 | 5 | 0 | 3 | 2 | 0 | 51 |
| Botswana | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 2 | 5 |
| Tanzania | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 3 | 3 | 3 | 10 |
| Brazil | 0 | 0 | 2 | 5 | 1 | 6 | 2 | 3 | 19 |
| South Africa | 0 | 4 | 6 | 4 | 2 | 6 | 4 | 2 | 28 |
| Uganda | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 1 | 3 |
| Zimbabwe | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 15 | 10 | 28 |
| Kenya | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 8 | 5 | 1 | 14 |
| Thailand | 3 | 3 | 2 | 2 | 3 | 6 | 1 | 3 | 23 |
| Weight(kg) | Cohort I | Cohort IIA | Cohort IIB | Cohort III | Cohort IV | Cohort III-DT | Cohort IV-DT | Cohort V-DT | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 55.1 ± 15.6 | 30.1 ± 10.4 | 23.0 ± 4.6 | 14.4 ± 2.9 | 8.4 ± 2.0 | 13.7 ± 2.6 | 8.5 ± 1.8 | 5.7 ± 1.1 | 19.6 ± 17.0 |
| Height(cm) | Cohort I | Cohort IIA | Cohort IIB | Cohort III | Cohort IV | Cohort III-DT | Cohort IV-DT | Cohort V-DT | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 155.4 ± 8.9 | 131.1 ± 14.0 | 121.2 ± 9.6 | 95.9 ± 8.7 | 71.0 ± 6.0 | 93.4 ± 8.9 | 71.9 ± 5.7 | 59.2 ± 3.7 | 98.9 ± 32.4 |
| CD4 Cell Count(cells/mm^3) | Cohort I | Cohort IIA | Cohort IIB | Cohort III | Cohort IV | Cohort III-DT | Cohort IV-DT | Cohort V-DT | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Median | 466.0 (297 to 771) | 645.0 (466 to 732) | 749.0 (306 to 1041) | 900.0 (565 to 1399) | 1482.5 (1190 to 1827) | 1049.5 (559.5 to 1883) | 2121.0 (1422 to 2384) | 1916.0 (1357 to 2680) | 1053.0 (618 to 1914.5) |
6 further baseline measures are reported on the registry.
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
This study is completed, as verified in Oct 2024. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Studies of the drug tested here: Dolutegravir
National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) →