CClinicalTrials.gg
TerminatedNCT00985907DMVUpdated Jun 17, 2020Results posted

Doxil® + Melphalan + Velcade (DMV) in Relapsed/Refractory Multiple Myeloma

A Phase 1/2 interventional study of Doxil, melphalan, bortezomib in Multiple Myeloma and Patient Participation, sponsored by University of California, San Francisco. Terminated at 2 sites in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2020-06-17.

Sponsored by University of California, San Francisco · Phase 1/2, Interventional, and Treatment

Why this study was terminated
Low Accrual

From the registry’s dates

  • Registered 4 years 10 months after the study started (first participant enrolled Oct 2004, registered Sep 2009).
Phase
Phase 1/2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
13
Allocation
Not applicable
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

The median overall survival (OS) of relapsed/refractory multiple myeloma (MM) is less than nine months. However, phase II data with the proteasome inhibitor bortezomib (Velcade®) has been heartening, with 35% overall response rates and median survival of 16 months. In-vitro data has shown that this agent dramatically increases the sensitivity to chemotherapeutic agents. Liposomal doxorubicin (Doxil), melphalan, and bortezomib all have different mechanisms of action and toxicity profiles. Clinical studies employing two drug combinations with these agents in patients with refractory MM have found favorable efficacy (nearly no progression of disease) and tolerance data. Thus, the investigators are initiating a phase I/II study to examine the safety and efficacy of combining all three agents into the regimen DMV (Doxil® + melphalan + Velcade).

Read the detailed description

Dose Level 1: Doxil 10 mg/m2, Melphalan 5 mg/m2, Velcade 0.7 mg/m2

Dose Level 2: Doxil 10 mg/m2, Melphalan 10 mg/m2, Velcade 0.7 mg/m2

Dose Level 3: Doxil 20 mg/m2, Melphalan 10 mg/m2, Velcade 0.7 mg/m2

Dose Level 4: Doxil 20 mg/m2, Melphalan 10 mg/m2, Velcade 1.0 mg/m2

Adjunctive therapy with a bisphosphonate, either pamidronate or zoledronic acid, will be given monthly.

Dose Escalation Schedule: Dose escalation will occur only after patients have completed at least two cycles at a given dose level.

  1. If 0/3 experience DLT (as defined in attachment Section 6.0), the next three patients will be escalated by one dose level.
  2. If 1/3 experience DLT, 3 additional patients enrolled at this dose level.

    • If 0, 1, or 2 of these additional patients experience DLT (i.e. total 3/6), the dose will be escalated.
    • If 3/3 experience DLT (i.e. total 4/6) then the next lower dose will be considered the MTD..
  3. If 2/3 experience DLT, 3 additional patients enrolled at this dose level.

    • If 0 or 1 of these additional patients experience DLT (i.e. total 3/6), the dose will be escalated.
    • If 2 or more/3 experience DLT (i.e. total more than 3/6) then the next lower dose level is MTD
02

Conditions studied

  • Multiple Myeloma
  • Patient Participation

Keywords

  • myeloma
  • DMV
03

In context

Multiple Myeloma

3,632 studies on the registry are indexed under Multiple Myeloma; 745 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 13 is below the median of 41 across 2,907 interventional studies indexed under Multiple Myeloma.

Browse Multiple Myeloma studies →

Lead sponsor

University of California, San Francisco is the lead sponsor of 2,132 studies on the registry; 375 are open to participants now.

Of its 262 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 196 (75%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

Disease Characteristics:

  1. Patient previously diagnosed with multiple myeloma; Durie-Salmon Stage I, II, or III based on standard criteria
  2. Progressive disease. For non-secretory multiple myeloma, progressive disease is defined as bone marrow biopsy with > 25% increase in plasma cells or an absolute increase of at least 10% over prior known level. Alternatively, development of new or worsening of existing lytic bone lesions or soft tissue plasmacytomas, or hypercalcemia (serum calcium >11.5 mg/dL), or relapse from complete response.

Patient Characteristics:

  1. 18 yrs or older
  2. Patient has given voluntary written informed consent.
  3. Unless post-menopausal or surgically sterilized, a female must be willing to use an acceptable method of birth control
  4. Male patient must agree to use an acceptable method for contraception for the duration of the study.
  5. Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) Performance Status 0-2.
  6. Life expectancy is at least 3 months.
    • Absolute Neutrophil Count (ANC) over 1,000/ul without the use of colony stimulating factors

      • Platelets over 50,000/ul without transfusion support 7 days
      • Bilirubin 2.0 mg/dl or less
      • aspartate aminotransferase (AST) 4 times or less upper limit normal Prior Therapy for Multiple Myeloma: Patients must have had at least 2 prior therapeutic regimens

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Pregnant or breast feeding
  • History of allergic reaction to compounds containing boron or mannitol.
  • Active uncontrolled viral (including HIV), bacterial, or fungal infection.
  • Grade III or IV toxicity due to previous anti-neoplastic therapy
  • More than Grade 2 motor or sensory neuropathy
  • Myocardial infarction within 6 months of enrollment or New York Heart Association (NYHA) Class III or IV heart failure, uncontrolled angina, severe uncontrolled arrhythmias, or electrocardiographic evidence of acute ischemia.
  • For any patients whose lifetime cumulative doxorubicin dose exceeds 400mg/m2, patients with left ventricular ejection fraction (LVEF) less than 35% by multigated acquisition (MUGA) .
  • Concurrent administration of liposomal doxorubicin, melphalan, and bortezomib (single or two drug combinations of these are permissible)
  • Less than 3 weeks since most recent chemotherapy or concurrent chemotherapy
  • Use of corticosteroids (mroe than 10 mg prednisone/day or equivalent)
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 1 / Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
13 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Doxil® + Melphalan + Velcade (DMV)

    Drug: Doxil, melphalan, bortezomib

Interventions

  • DrugDoxil, melphalan, bortezomib

    Doxil®: IV over 30-60 min, Day 1 q28d Melphalan: IV over 30 min, Day 1 q28d Velcade®: IV bolus, Day 1, 4, 8, 11 q28d Dose Level 1: Doxil 10 mg/m2, Melphalan 5 mg/m2, Velcade 0.7 mg/m2 Dose Level 2: Doxil 10 mg/m2, Melphalan 10 mg/m2, Velcade 0.7 mg/m2 Dose Level 3: Doxil 20 mg/m2, Melphalan 10 mg/m2, Velcade 0.7 mg/m2 Dose Level 4: Doxil 20 mg/m2, Melphalan 10 mg/m2, Velcade 1.0 mg/m2

    Also known as: Doxil, melphalan, Velcade

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Number of Participants With Dose Limiting Toxicities (DLT) (Phase 1)

    Safety assessments will be evaluated as the proportion of patients experiencing the following: treatment-related grade 3 or higher toxicity (hematologic and nonhematologic) and treatment-related death.

    Time frame: Up to 2 cycles of treatment, approximately 56 days

  2. Maximum Tolerated Dose (MTD) (Phase 1)

    The MTD will be considered the dose below where \<= 3 patients experience a DLT and the dose that two cycles can be given without meeting toxicity criteria.

    Time frame: Up to 1 year

Secondary outcomes

  1. Number of All Treatment-related Toxicities at the MTD (Phase 1)

    NCI Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version 3 will be used to determine all treatment related toxicities at the MTD. Participants entered at the MTD Dose level from the phase I portion of the study will also be included in this analysis

    Time frame: 5 years

  2. Overall Response Rate

    At each cycle, participants will be assessed for treatment response: Complete Response (CR), Near CR(nCR), Partial Response (PR), Minimal Response (MR), Stable Disease (SD), or Progressive Disease (PD) on at least 2 measurements at minimum of a 4 week interval. The overall response rate will use the best response of CR, nCR, PR, MR, or SD. In order to qualify for responses, the following events may NOT have occurred - new/increased size of plasmacytomas or bone lesions, recurrence or persistence of hypercalcemia. Collapse of bony structure from previous disease will not constitute progression or failure to respond. Participants entered at the MTD Dose level from the phase I portion of the study will also be included in this analysis

    Time frame: Up to 5 years

  3. Time to Response (Phase 2)

    Efficacy of DMV as determined by time to first observed response. Participants entered at the MTD Dose level from the phase I portion of the study will also be included in this analysis

    Time frame: 28 days

  4. Progression-free Survival (Phase 2)

    Efficacy of DMV as determined by progression free survival. Participants entered at the MTD Dose level from the phase I portion of the study will also be included in this analysis

    Time frame: Up to 5 years

  5. Overall Survival (Phase 2)

    Overall survival is defined as the amount of time from start of study therapy until death, or study completion. Participants entered at the MTD Dose level from the phase I portion of the study will also be included in this analysis

    Time frame: Up to 5 years

07

Results

Posted Jun 17, 2020
Limitations and caveats
Enrollment was terminated early due to low accrual in Phase 1. No participants were enrolled in Phase 2. Participant flow, baseline, and adverse event data was electronically transferred from a legacy clinical trials database by phase group only.

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestonePhase 1
Started13
Completed0
Not completed13

Outcome measures

PrimaryNumber of Participants With Dose Limiting Toxicities (DLT) (Phase 1)

Safety assessments will be evaluated as the proportion of patients experiencing the following: treatment-related grade 3 or higher toxicity (hematologic and nonhematologic) and treatment-related death.

Time frame:
Up to 2 cycles of treatment, approximately 56 days
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With Dose Limiting Toxicities (DLT) (Phase 1)
ParticipantsDoxil® + Melphalan + Velcade (DMV)
Number of Participants With Dose Limiting Toxicities (DLT) (Phase 1)0
PrimaryMaximum Tolerated Dose (MTD) (Phase 1)

The MTD will be considered the dose below where \<= 3 patients experience a DLT and the dose that two cycles can be given without meeting toxicity criteria.

Time frame:
Up to 1 year

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

SecondaryNumber of All Treatment-related Toxicities at the MTD (Phase 1)

NCI Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version 3 will be used to determine all treatment related toxicities at the MTD. Participants entered at the MTD Dose level from the phase I portion of the study will also be included in this analysis

Time frame:
5 years

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

SecondaryOverall Response Rate

At each cycle, participants will be assessed for treatment response: Complete Response (CR), Near CR(nCR), Partial Response (PR), Minimal Response (MR), Stable Disease (SD), or Progressive Disease (PD) on at least 2 measurements at minimum of a 4 week interval. The overall response rate will use the best response of CR, nCR, PR, MR, or SD. In order to qualify for responses, the following events may NOT have occurred - new/increased size of plasmacytomas or bone lesions, recurrence or persistence of hypercalcemia. Collapse of bony structure from previous disease will not constitute progression or failure to respond. Participants entered at the MTD Dose level from the phase I portion of the study will also be included in this analysis

Time frame:
Up to 5 years

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

SecondaryTime to Response (Phase 2)

Efficacy of DMV as determined by time to first observed response. Participants entered at the MTD Dose level from the phase I portion of the study will also be included in this analysis

Time frame:
28 days

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

SecondaryProgression-free Survival (Phase 2)

Efficacy of DMV as determined by progression free survival. Participants entered at the MTD Dose level from the phase I portion of the study will also be included in this analysis

Time frame:
Up to 5 years

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

SecondaryOverall Survival (Phase 2)

Overall survival is defined as the amount of time from start of study therapy until death, or study completion. Participants entered at the MTD Dose level from the phase I portion of the study will also be included in this analysis

Time frame:
Up to 5 years

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

Adverse events

Collected over Up to 5 years. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Phase 1 Doxil® + Melphalan + Velcade (DMV)2/13 (15.4%)6/13 (46.2%)—
Most frequent serious events
Most frequent serious events
EventPhase 1 Doxil® + Melphalan + Velcade (DMV)
HyperbilirubinemiaInvestigations1/13
InfectionInfections and infestations1/13
Neurological disorder NOSNervous system disorders1/13
CholecystitisHepatobiliary disorders1/13
Bone FractureMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders1/13
HypotensionVascular disorders1/13
ThrombosisVascular disorders1/13
Lung InfectionInfections and infestations1/13

Baseline characteristics

Arms/Groups are not separated by individual cohorts within Phase 1 as the information was lost when it was transferred from our legacy system. Paper records were lost in a flood. So the participants were only grouped electronically by which phase they were enrolled

Age, Customized
Age, Customized(Participants)Doxil® + Melphalan + Velcade (DMV)
30-39 years old1
40-49 years old1
50-59 years old6
60-69 years old3
70-79 years old2
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Doxil® + Melphalan + Velcade (DMV)
Female6
Male7
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Doxil® + Melphalan + Velcade (DMV)
Hispanic or Latino4
Not Hispanic or Latino9
Unknown or Not Reported0
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Doxil® + Melphalan + Velcade (DMV)
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Asian1
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Black or African American1
White9
More than one race0
Unknown or Not Reported2
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(participants)Doxil® + Melphalan + Velcade (DMV)
United States13
08

Study locations

2 sites
  • University of California, San Francisco
    San Francisco, California 94143, United States
  • St. Vincent's Comprehensive Cancer Center
    New York, New York 10011, United States
09

References and documents

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No

No publications or documents are linked to this record.

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Jun 17, 2020, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT00985907
Lead sponsor
University of California, San Francisco
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Sep 29, 2009
Start date
Oct 28, 2004
Primary completion
Oct 7, 2008
Completion
Jan 12, 2010
Results posted
Jun 17, 2020
Last update
Jun 17, 2020

Study contacts

Thomas Martin, MD
principal investigator · University of California, San Francisco

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is terminated, as verified in Jun 2020. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion