An observational study in Congestive Heart Failure, sponsored by Mayo Clinic. Completed at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 65 Years and older, including healthy volunteers. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2008-01-08.
Sponsored by Mayo Clinic · Observational
Measurement of brain natriuretic peptide (BNP) in dyspneic patients increases diagnostic accuracy for congestive heart failure (CHF). Limited information is available regarding economic outcomes attributable to BNP assay. The aim of this study was to assess the economic impact of BNP assay in elderly dyspneic patients presenting to the emergency department (ED).
Dyspneic patients 65 years were enrolled in a randomized, controlled trial; hemodynamically unstable patients were excluded. BNP (Biosite assay) levels were measured prior to physician assessment with randomization in 1:1 ratio to either BNP 1) level reported or 2) level not reported. ED physicians made triage decisions guided by clinical judgment and nomogram to aid in interpretation of BNP level. Primary outcome was mean total hospital cost per subject. Secondary outcomes included admission rate, service assignment, discharge diagnosis and length of stay. Differences between groups were compared by t-test with bootstrap. Costs reflect 2005 constant dollars.
5,701 studies on the registry are indexed under Heart Failure; 1,220 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 200 is close to the median of 200 across 1,679 observational studies indexed under Heart Failure.
Browse Heart Failure studies →Mayo Clinic is the lead sponsor of 3,218 studies on the registry; 670 are open to participants now.
Of its 445 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 313 (70%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Dyspneic patients:65 years or older presenting to the ED with chief complaint of shortness of breath, were enrolled in a randomized, controlled trial.
Exclusion Criteria:
BNP level from protocol blood tests initiated in the ED, reported to ED physician prior to ED disposition.
BNP level from protocol blood tests initiated in the ED, NOT reported to ED physician prior to ED disposition.
Mean total hospital cost per subject
Time frame: spans from ED eval through hospitalization discharge
Included admission rate, service assignment, discharge diagnosis, and length of stay.
Time frame: from ED evaluation through hospitalization discharge
This study is completed, as verified in Dec 2007. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Mayo Clinic