CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT00494234ICEBERG 1Updated Jan 19, 2024Results posted

Study to Assess The Efficacy and Safety of a PARP Inhibitor For The Treatment of BRCA-positive Advanced Breast Cancer

A Phase 2 interventional study of Olaparib in Breast Neoplasms, sponsored by AstraZeneca. Completed at 17 sites in 8 countries. Open to female participants aged 18 Years to 130 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2024-01-19.

Sponsored by AstraZeneca · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
54
Allocation
Non-randomized
Ages
18 Years to 130 Years
Sex
Female
01

Study summary

The purpose of the study is to see if the drug KU-0059436 (olaparib) is effective and well tolerated in treating participants with measurable breast cancer gene (BRCA)1- or BRCA2-positive advanced breast cancer and for whom no curative therapeutic option exists.

Read the detailed description

This is a Phase II, open-label, non-comparative, international, multicenter study to assess the efficacy and safety of olaparib when given orally twice daily (bd) in participants with advanced BRCA1- or BRCA2- associated breast cancer. Two sequential participant cohorts will receive continuous oral olaparib in 28-day cycles. The first cohort will receive 400 mg bd and the second cohort will receive 100 mg bd.

02

Conditions studied

  • Breast Neoplasms

Browse trials for

Keywords

  • Advanced breast cancer
  • Poly(ADP ribose) polymerases
  • AZD2281,KU-0059436 (olaparib)
  • BRCA1 protein
  • BRCA2 protein
03

In context

Breast Neoplasms

12,544 studies on the registry are indexed under Breast Neoplasms; 2,892 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 54 is below the median of 72 across 9,303 interventional studies indexed under Breast Neoplasms.

Browse Breast Neoplasms studies →

Lead sponsor

AstraZeneca is the lead sponsor of 3,429 studies on the registry; 270 are open to participants now.

Of its 357 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 173 (48%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years to 130 Years
Sexes eligible
Female
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Advanced breast cancer with positive BRCA1 or BRCA2 status
  • Failed at least one prior chemotherapy
  • In investigators opinion, no curative standard therapy exists
  • Measurable disease

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Brain metastases
  • Less than 28 days since last treatment used to treat the disease
  • Considered a poor medical risk due to a serious uncontrolled disorder
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Non-randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
54 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Olaparib 100 mg

    Participants will receive two 50 mg capsules in the morning and two 50 mg capsules in the evening in 28-days cycle until confirmed disease progression, continuous treatment interruption, unacceptable toxicity or any other discontinuation criterion is met.

    Drug: Olaparib

  • Experimental
    Olaparib 400 mg

    Participants will receive eight 50 mg capsules in the morning and eight 50 mg capsules in the evening in 28-days cycle until confirmed disease progression, continuous treatment interruption, unacceptable toxicity or any other discontinuation criterion is met.

    Drug: Olaparib

Interventions

  • DrugOlaparib

    Participants will receive capsules of olaparib orally as stated in arm description.

    Also known as: AZD2281, KU-0059436

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Confirmed Objective Response Rate (ORR) According to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) Criteria

    The ORR is the percentage of participants whose best tumor response is either complete response (CR) or partial response (PR), according to the RECIST v1.0 criteria. The CR is defined as disappearance of all target lesions (TLs). The PR is defined as at least a 30% decrease in the sum of longest diameters (LD) taking as reference the baseline sum of LD. Percentage of participants with ORR is reported.

    Time frame: Baseline (Days -28 to 0), Day 1 of Cycle 3, thereafter every alternate cycles until study termination or withdrawal (approximately up to 2 years)

Secondary outcomes

  1. Duration of Response (DoR) to Olaparib

    Duration of response is defined as the date of progression per RECIST criteria - the date when CR or PR \[whichever is earliest\] is confirmed + 1. The CR is defined as disappearance of all TLs. The PR is defined as at least a 30% decrease in the sum of LD taking as reference the baseline sum of LD. Duration of response was analyzed for those participants who had OR.

    Time frame: Baseline (Days -28 to 0), Day 1 of Cycle 3, thereafter every alternate cycles until study termination or withdrawal (approximately up to 2 years)

  2. Clinical Benefit Rate (CBR)

    The CBR is defined as the percentage of participants with a RECIST tumor response of confirmed CR, PR or stable disease (SD) for ≥ 8 weeks +/- 1 week visit window. The CR is defined as disappearance of all TLs. The PR is defined as at least a 30% decrease in the sum of LD taking as reference the baseline sum of LD. Stable disease is neither sufficient shrinkage to qualify for PR nor sufficient increase to qualify for PD taking as references the smallest sum of LD since the treatment started.

    Time frame: From Day 1 of Cycle 3 through study withdrawal (approximately up to 2 years)

  3. Best Percentage Change in Tumor Size

    The tumor size is defined as the sum of the longest diameters as measured among all target lesions. At each assessment, the percentage change in tumor size is defined as 100 × 1 - (sum of all target lesion diameters at visit/sum of all target lesion diameters at baseline).

    Time frame: Baseline (Days -28 to 0) through study withdrawal (approximately up to 2 years)

  4. Progression-free Survival (PFS)

    PFS is defined as the time from first dose to the earlier date of radiologic progression (as per RECIST criteria) or death by any cause in the absence of objective progression. Those participants who were withdrawn from the study without disease progression were regarded as censored at their last evaluable RECIST assessment. Where participants had not progressed at the termination of the study, they were also regarded as censored at their last evaluable RECIST assessment. PFS was analyzed using Kaplan-Meier estimate.

    Time frame: Baseline (Days -28 to 0), Day 1 of Cycle 3, thereafter every alternate cycles until study termination or withdrawal (approximately up to 2 years)

  5. Number of Participants With Improvement in Eastern Co-operative Oncology Group (ECOG) Performance Status Total Score From Baseline

    ECOG performance status is used by researchers to assess how a participant's disease is progressing. The scores are: 0=Fully Active, able to carry out work without restrictions; 1=Restricted activity and able to carry out light work or sedentary nature; 2=capable of self-care but unable to carry out work activities; 3=Capable of only limited self-care, confined to bed or chair more than 50% of waking hours; 4=Completely Disabled, and totally confined to bed or chair; 5=Dead. Change in ECOG performance status was defined as improved (less than the baseline value), no change (same as at baseline), worsened (greater than the baseline value) or missing (score is missing or was not recorded at baseline). If no measurement was recorded at Cycle 1 Day 1, the change was calculated in relation to the last recorded ECOG value prior to Day 1.

    Time frame: Screening (Days -7 to 0), Day 1 Cycle 7 (ie, after completing 6 cycles of treatment) and study withdrawal (approximately up to 2 years).

  6. Number of Participants With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) and Treatment-emergent Serious Adverse Events (TESAEs)

    An adverse event (AE) is any untoward medical occurrence in a participant who received study drug without regard to possibility of causal relationship. A serious adverse event (SAE) is an AE resulting in any of the following outcomes or deemed significant for any other reason: death; initial or prolonged inpatient hospitalization; life threatening experience (immediate risk of dying); persistent or significant disability/incapacity; congenital anomaly. The TEAEs are defined as events present at baseline that worsened in intensity after administration of study drug or events absent at baseline that emerged after administration of study drug.

    Time frame: Day 1 through Day 480 (maximum observed duration)

  7. Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Changes in Vital Signs From Baseline

    Number of participants with clinically significant changes in vital signs are reported. Vital sign parameters included body temperature, blood pressure, and pulse rate.

    Time frame: Day 1 through Day 480 (maximum observed duration)

  8. Number of Participants With at Least 2-Grade Change From Baseline to Worst Toxicity Grade in Clinical Laboratory Parameters

    Number of participants with at least 2-grade change from baseline to worst toxicity grade in clinical laboratory parameters are reported. Laboratory parameters included hematology, clinical chemistry, and urinalysis.

    Time frame: Day 1 through Day 480 (maximum observed duration)

07

Results

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Limitations and caveats
The plasma concentration data was analysed using a population approach and polyadenosine 5' diphosphoribose polymerase (PARP) inhibition data had already been obtained from Study D0810C00002. Hence no pharmacokinetic and PARP inhibition data are included.

Participant flow

The study was conducted at 13 centers in 5 countries (Australia, Germany, Sweden, UK and the USA).

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneOlaparib 100 mgOlaparib 400 mg
Started2727
Completed1318
Not completed149
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject10
Withdrew: Disease progression118
Withdrew: Death21

Outcome measures

PrimaryConfirmed Objective Response Rate (ORR) According to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) Criteria

The ORR is the percentage of participants whose best tumor response is either complete response (CR) or partial response (PR), according to the RECIST v1.0 criteria. The CR is defined as disappearance of all target lesions (TLs). The PR is defined as at least a 30% decrease in the sum of longest diameters (LD) taking as reference the baseline sum of LD. Percentage of participants with ORR is reported.

Time frame:
Baseline (Days -28 to 0), Day 1 of Cycle 3, thereafter every alternate cycles until study termination or withdrawal (approximately up to 2 years)
Reported as:
Number · Percentage of participants
Confirmed Objective Response Rate (ORR) According to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) Criteria
Percentage of participantsOlaparib 100 mgOlaparib 400 mg
Confirmed Objective Response Rate (ORR) According to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) Criteria25.042.3
SecondaryDuration of Response (DoR) to Olaparib

Duration of response is defined as the date of progression per RECIST criteria - the date when CR or PR \[whichever is earliest\] is confirmed + 1. The CR is defined as disappearance of all TLs. The PR is defined as at least a 30% decrease in the sum of LD taking as reference the baseline sum of LD. Duration of response was analyzed for those participants who had OR.

Time frame:
Baseline (Days -28 to 0), Day 1 of Cycle 3, thereafter every alternate cycles until study termination or withdrawal (approximately up to 2 years)
Reported as:
Median · Days
Duration of Response (DoR) to Olaparib
DaysOlaparib 100 mgOlaparib 400 mg
Duration of Response (DoR) to Olaparib140.5 ± 55144.0 ± 92
SecondaryClinical Benefit Rate (CBR)

The CBR is defined as the percentage of participants with a RECIST tumor response of confirmed CR, PR or stable disease (SD) for ≥ 8 weeks +/- 1 week visit window. The CR is defined as disappearance of all TLs. The PR is defined as at least a 30% decrease in the sum of LD taking as reference the baseline sum of LD. Stable disease is neither sufficient shrinkage to qualify for PR nor sufficient increase to qualify for PD taking as references the smallest sum of LD since the treatment started.

Time frame:
From Day 1 of Cycle 3 through study withdrawal (approximately up to 2 years)
Reported as:
Number · Percentage of Participants
Clinical Benefit Rate (CBR)
Percentage of ParticipantsOlaparib 100 mgOlaparib 400 mg
Clinical Benefit Rate (CBR)70.8 ± 50.884.6 ± 66.5
SecondaryBest Percentage Change in Tumor Size

The tumor size is defined as the sum of the longest diameters as measured among all target lesions. At each assessment, the percentage change in tumor size is defined as 100 × 1 - (sum of all target lesion diameters at visit/sum of all target lesion diameters at baseline).

Time frame:
Baseline (Days -28 to 0) through study withdrawal (approximately up to 2 years)
Reported as:
Median · Best percentage change in tumor size
Best Percentage Change in Tumor Size
Best percentage change in tumor sizeOlaparib 100 mgOlaparib 400 mg
Best Percentage Change in Tumor Size-10.14 (-68.9 to 286.7)-29.43 (-100.0 to 26.7)
SecondaryProgression-free Survival (PFS)

PFS is defined as the time from first dose to the earlier date of radiologic progression (as per RECIST criteria) or death by any cause in the absence of objective progression. Those participants who were withdrawn from the study without disease progression were regarded as censored at their last evaluable RECIST assessment. Where participants had not progressed at the termination of the study, they were also regarded as censored at their last evaluable RECIST assessment. PFS was analyzed using Kaplan-Meier estimate.

Time frame:
Baseline (Days -28 to 0), Day 1 of Cycle 3, thereafter every alternate cycles until study termination or withdrawal (approximately up to 2 years)
Reported as:
Median · Days
Progression-free Survival (PFS)
DaysOlaparib 100 mgOlaparib 400 mg
Progression-free Survival (PFS)122 (67 to 167)193.5 (140 to 226)
SecondaryNumber of Participants With Improvement in Eastern Co-operative Oncology Group (ECOG) Performance Status Total Score From Baseline

ECOG performance status is used by researchers to assess how a participant's disease is progressing. The scores are: 0=Fully Active, able to carry out work without restrictions; 1=Restricted activity and able to carry out light work or sedentary nature; 2=capable of self-care but unable to carry out work activities; 3=Capable of only limited self-care, confined to bed or chair more than 50% of waking hours; 4=Completely Disabled, and totally confined to bed or chair; 5=Dead. Change in ECOG performance status was defined as improved (less than the baseline value), no change (same as at baseline), worsened (greater than the baseline value) or missing (score is missing or was not recorded at baseline). If no measurement was recorded at Cycle 1 Day 1, the change was calculated in relation to the last recorded ECOG value prior to Day 1.

Time frame:
Screening (Days -7 to 0), Day 1 Cycle 7 (ie, after completing 6 cycles of treatment) and study withdrawal (approximately up to 2 years).
Reported as:
Number · Participants
Number of Participants With Improvement in Eastern Co-operative Oncology Group (ECOG) Performance Status Total Score From Baseline
ParticipantsOlaparib 100 mgOlaparib 400 mg
Cycle 7 Day 116
Withdrawal visit02
SecondaryNumber of Participants With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) and Treatment-emergent Serious Adverse Events (TESAEs)

An adverse event (AE) is any untoward medical occurrence in a participant who received study drug without regard to possibility of causal relationship. A serious adverse event (SAE) is an AE resulting in any of the following outcomes or deemed significant for any other reason: death; initial or prolonged inpatient hospitalization; life threatening experience (immediate risk of dying); persistent or significant disability/incapacity; congenital anomaly. The TEAEs are defined as events present at baseline that worsened in intensity after administration of study drug or events absent at baseline that emerged after administration of study drug.

Time frame:
Day 1 through Day 480 (maximum observed duration)
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) and Treatment-emergent Serious Adverse Events (TESAEs)
ParticipantsOlaparib 100 mgOlaparib 400 mg
Any TEAE2727
Any TESAE59
SecondaryNumber of Participants With Clinically Significant Changes in Vital Signs From Baseline

Number of participants with clinically significant changes in vital signs are reported. Vital sign parameters included body temperature, blood pressure, and pulse rate.

Time frame:
Day 1 through Day 480 (maximum observed duration)
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Changes in Vital Signs From Baseline
ParticipantsOlaparib 100 mgOlaparib 400 mg
Tachycardia10
Supraventricular arrhythmia10
SecondaryNumber of Participants With at Least 2-Grade Change From Baseline to Worst Toxicity Grade in Clinical Laboratory Parameters

Number of participants with at least 2-grade change from baseline to worst toxicity grade in clinical laboratory parameters are reported. Laboratory parameters included hematology, clinical chemistry, and urinalysis.

Time frame:
Day 1 through Day 480 (maximum observed duration)
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With at Least 2-Grade Change From Baseline to Worst Toxicity Grade in Clinical Laboratory Parameters
ParticipantsOlaparib 100 mgOlaparib 400 mg
Hemoglobin23
White blood cells511
Absolute neutrophil count36
Lymphocytes32
Platelets02
Activated partial thromboplastin time12
Alanine aminotransferase23
Aspartate aminotransferase31
Alkaline phosphatase10
Gamma glutamyl transferase42
Albumin10
Total bilirubin04
Sodium (decrease)10
Potassium (increase)01
Creatinine02
Glucose (increase)22
Glucose (decrease)33
Calcium (decrease)33
Amylase10
Lipase20

Adverse events

Collected over Day 1 to 480 (maximum observed duration). Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Olaparib 100 mg3/27 (11.1%)5/27 (18.5%)27/27 (100%)
Olaparib 400 mg6/27 (22.2%)9/27 (33.3%)26/27 (96.3%)
Most frequent serious events
Showing 10 of 15
Most frequent serious events
EventOlaparib 100 mgOlaparib 400 mg
NauseaGastrointestinal disorders0/273/27
VomitingGastrointestinal disorders0/272/27
DyspnoeaRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders2/270/27
AnaemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders1/271/27
Angina pectorisCardiac disorders0/271/27
Allergic transfusion reactionInjury, poisoning and procedural complications0/271/27
Haemoglobin decreasedInvestigations0/271/27
Musculoskeletal chest painMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders1/270/27
Cerebral haemorrhageNervous system disorders1/270/27
ConvulsionNervous system disorders1/270/27
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 53
Most frequent other events
EventOlaparib 100 mgOlaparib 400 mg
FatigueGeneral disorders17/2719/27
NauseaGastrointestinal disorders15/2714/27
VomitingGastrointestinal disorders6/2710/27
HeadacheNervous system disorders6/2710/27
DyspnoeaRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders9/271/27
ConstipationGastrointestinal disorders8/276/27
DiarrhoeaGastrointestinal disorders4/278/27
CoughRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders8/274/27
Pain in extremityMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders7/272/27
InsomniaPsychiatric disorders7/272/27

Baseline characteristics

The full analysis set comprised of all enrolled participants with positive BRCA status, who took at least one dose of investigational medicinal product irrespective of whether they completed the trial schedule and IMP regime or not.

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(Years)Olaparib 100 mgOlaparib 400 mgTotal
Mean44.7 ± 11.9944.7 ± 9.5544.7 ± 10.74
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Olaparib 100 mgOlaparib 400 mgTotal
Female272754
Male000
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Olaparib 100 mgOlaparib 400 mgTotal
Hispanic or Latino224
Not Hispanic or Latino4610
Unknown or Not Reported211940
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Olaparib 100 mgOlaparib 400 mgTotal
American Indian or Alaska Native000
Asian112
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander000
Black or African American101
White252651
More than one race000
Unknown or Not Reported000
08

Study locations

17 sites
  • Research Site
    West Hollywood, California 90048, United States
  • Research Site
    Boston, Massachusetts 02115, United States
  • Research Site
    Melbourne, 3000, Australia
  • Research Site
    Randwick, 2031, Australia
  • Research Site
    Duarte, CA 91010, Canada
  • Research Site
    Kiel, 24105, Germany
  • Research Site
    Köln, 50937, Germany
  • Research Site
    München, 81675, Germany
  • Research Site
    Tel-Aviv, 6423906, Israel
  • Research Site
    Hospitalet deLlobregat, 08907, Spain
  • Research Site
    Madrid, 08035, Spain
  • Research Site
    Lund, 221 85, Sweden
  • Research Site
    Cambridge, CB2 0QQ, United Kingdom
  • Research Site
    Edinburgh, EH4 2XR, United Kingdom
  • Research Site
    Fulham, SW3 6JJ, United Kingdom
  • Research Site
    London, SE1 9RT, United Kingdom
  • Research Site
    Manchester, M20 4BX, United Kingdom
09

References and documents

Publications

  • Tutt A, Robson M, Garber JE, Domchek SM, Audeh MW, Weitzel JN, Friedlander M, Arun B, Loman N, Schmutzler RK, Wardley A, Mitchell G, Earl H, Wickens M, Carmichael J. Oral poly(ADP-ribose) polymerase inhibitor olaparib in patients with BRCA1 or BRCA2 mutations and advanced breast cancer: a proof-of-concept trial. Lancet. 2010 Jul 24;376(9737):235-44. doi: 10.1016/S0140-6736(10)60892-6. Epub 2010 Jul 6. PubMed 20609467 ↗

Individual participant data

Plan to share: Yes — Qualified researchers can request access to anonymized individual patient-level data from AstraZeneca group of companies sponsored clinical trials via the request portal. All request will be evaluated as per the AZ disclosure commitment: https://astrazenecagrouptrials.pharmacm.com/ST/Submission/Disclosure.

Supporting information: Study protocol, Sap

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Jan 19, 2024, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT00494234
Lead sponsor
AstraZeneca
Collaborators
KuDOS Pharmaceuticals Limited
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Jun 29, 2007
Start date
Jun 15, 2007
Primary completion
Feb 27, 2009
Completion
Dec 21, 2022
Results posted
Jan 26, 2015
Last update
Jan 19, 2024

Study contacts

James Carmichael, BSc, MBChB, MD, FRCP
study director · KuDOS Pharmaceuticals Limited
Andrew Tutt, PhD MRCP FRCR
principal investigator · Guy's and St Thomas's NHS Foundation Trust, London, UK

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Jan 2024. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion