ClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT00393861Updated Mar 24, 2016Results posted

Study of Oxaliplatin Plus Bevacizumab in Germ Cell Tumor Patients

A Phase 2 interventional study of Bevacizumab and Oxaliplatin in Neoplasms, Germ Cell and Embryonal, sponsored by Indiana University. Completed at 2 sites in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2016-03-24.

Sponsored by Indiana University · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
29
Allocation
Not applicable
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

The purpose of this study is to evaluate the effectiveness of oxaliplatin and bevacizumab in patients with refractory or relapsed germ cell tumors.

Read the detailed description

This study proposes to look at the established combination of oxaliplatin and bevacizumab as used in colorectal cancer in refractory germ cell tumor patients. Oxaliplatin is a drug of known activity. Although bevacizumab has no single agent data, it combines dramatically well with numerous chemotherapy drugs, such as oxaliplatin increasing response rates and improving survival. Furthermore, VEG-F appears to be an important target in germ cell tumors as it does in so many other types of solid tumors. We will be using the identical dosages of oxaliplatin + bevacizumab as has been utilized in previously treated colorectal cancer, without the addition of 5-FU + leucovorin. This dose and schedule has been proven to be safe and effective.

02

Conditions studied

  • Neoplasms, Germ Cell and Embryonal

Keywords

  • Germ Cell Tumor
  • Germ Cell Cancer
03

In context

Neoplasms, Germ Cell and Embryonal

295 studies on the registry are indexed under Neoplasms, Germ Cell and Embryonal; 51 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 29 is below the median of 36 across 214 interventional studies indexed under Neoplasms, Germ Cell and Embryonal.

Browse Neoplasms, Germ Cell and Embryonal studies →

Lead sponsor

Indiana University is the lead sponsor of 982 studies on the registry; 199 are open to participants now.

Of its 148 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 117 (79%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Go through the criteria one by one — yes, no or not sure — and take the list to your doctor or the study team. Kept in this browser only.

Inclusion criteria

  • Patients must have histological or serologic proof of metastatic germ cell neoplasm (gonadal or extragonadal primary). Patients with seminoma and non-seminoma are eligible, as are women with ovarian germ cell tumors.
  • Patient's disease must not be amenable to cure with either surgery or chemotherapy in the opinion of the investigator.
  • Patients must have failed initial cisplatin combination chemotherapy administered with curative intent such as BEP, EP, VIP, or similar regimens.
  • Patients should have failed and demonstrated progressive disease with high dose chemotherapy such as carboplatin and etoposide. (With the exception of late relapse or primary mediastinal non-seminomatous germ cell tumor.
  • Patients with late relapse or primary mediastinal non-seminomatous germ cell tumors must have failed at least 1 salvage chemotherapy regimen.
  • Patients must have had prior exposure to paclitaxel, gemcitabine, or the combination of paclitaxel + gemcitabine.
  • Patients must have adequate hematologic function (WBC > 4,000/mm3 and platelets > 100,000/mm3) obtained \< 4 weeks prior to registration.
  • Patients must have adequate hepatocellular function (SGOT \< 4 x normal and Bilirubin \<2.0 mg/dl) obtained \< 4 weeks from protocol registration.
  • Serum Creatinine must be \< 2.0 mg/dl obtained \< 4 weeks from protocol registration.
  • Patients must have an ECOG performance status of 0, 1, or 2.
  • Patients must be at least 28 days post major surgery, open biopsy, or significant traumatic injury at time of study registration.
  • Patients must be at least 7 days post any minor surgical procedure, excluding placement of a vascular access device at the time of study registration.
  • Patients must be at least 18 years old at time of consent.

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Patients who have an active, unresolved infection and/or are receiving concurrent treatment with parenteral antibiotics are ineligible. Patients are eligible after antibiotics have been discontinued for at least 7 days.
  • Patients may not have any significant bleeding.
  • Patients with INR > 1.5 are not eligible unless the patient is on anti-coagulants with a therapeutic INR between 1.5 and 3. Patients on coumadin are not eligible unless they are on low dose coumadin to keep a vascular access device patent.
  • Patients with a history of arterial thromboses, unstable angina, transient ischemic attach (TIA), cerebral vascular accident (CVA), or a myocardial infarction within the last 6 months are not eligible.
  • Patients must not have known CNS metastases. A Head CT or MRI will be performed only if clinically indicated.
  • Patients must not have received any radiotherapy or chemotherapy within 28 days prior to study registration, and have recovered from all toxicity from prior treatments.
  • Patients must not have any prior history of hypertensive crisis or hypertensive encephalopathy.
  • Patients must not have New York Heart Association (NYHA) Grade II or greater congestive heart failure.
  • Patients must not have history of significant vascular disease.
  • Patients must not have evidence of bleeding diathesis or coagulopathy.
  • Patients must not have inadequately controlled hypertension (defined as systolic blood pressure 150 and/or diastolic blood pressure > 100 mmHg on antihypertensive medications).
  • Patients must not have history of abdominal fistula, gastrointestinal perforation, or intra-abdominal abscess within 6 months prior to study registration.
  • Patients must not have serious, non-healing would, ulcer or bone fracture.
  • Patients must not have proteinuria at screening as demonstrated by a urine protein: Creatinine (UPC) ratio of ≥ 1.0.
  • Patients must not have a known sensitivity to any component of bevacizumab.
  • Patients must not be pregnant or lactating.
  • Patients must not have grade 3 or 4 neuropathy.
  • Females of child bearing potential must not be pregnant. A negative pregnancy test is required within 7 days prior to beginning treatment.

NOTE THE FOLLOWING GUIDELINES FOR USE IN THIS PROTOCOL:

  • Progressive metastatic disease will be documented by the appearance of metastatic lesions on PA and lateral chest x-ray, C.T. scan, or other imaging studies, or the presence of a rising serum HCG or AFP.
  • If a rising serum marker is the only evidence of progressive disease, at least 2 consecutive determinations must be done exhibiting serologic progression and alternative causes for increased serum levels of these substances must not be present [cross reaction with LH (tested if necessary by testosterone suppression of LH), ingestion of marijuana, hepatitis, etc.].
  • Patients will be considered to have failed a prior regimen if they fail to obtain a complete response per RECIST as outlined in section 6.
  • Patients with clinical situation of growing teratoma (normal or declining markers and radiographic or clinical progression) should be considered for surgery.
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
29 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    oxaliplatin & bevacizumab

    Drug: Bevacizumab and Oxaliplatin

Interventions

  • DrugBevacizumab and Oxaliplatin

    Drug pages: Bevacizumab · Oxaliplatin

    Oxaliplatin 85 mg/M2 IV over 2 hours plus Bevacizumab 10 mg/kg IV over 90 minutes

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Twelve Month Disease-free Survival Rate

    The percent of patients being disease-free at 12 months after treatment initiation will be estimated with a 90% exact binomial confidence interval for the percent of patients receiving drug.

    Time frame: 12 month post completion of treatment

Secondary outcomes

  1. Objective Response Rate (Complete and Partial Response)

    The percent of patients having an objective response (complete or partial response) will be estimated with a 90% exact binomial confidence interval for the percent of patients receiving drug per Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.0) for target lesions and assessed by MRI: Complete Response (CR), Disappearance of all target lesions; Partial Response (PR), \>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions; Overall Response (OR) = CR + PR.

    Time frame: completion of study, up to 5 years

  2. Duration of Remission (CR + PR)

    Will be examined using Kaplan-Meier estimates. Time from earliest confirmed remission criteria until death or progression will be calculated. If a patient continued to be in remission at the end of the study, they will be censored at their last evaluation in the analysis.

    Time frame: completion of study, up to 5 years

  3. Overall Survival

    Will be examined using Kaplan-Meier estimates. Time until death or last evaluation will be calculated. If a patient did not die, they will be censored in the analysis.

    Time frame: completion of study, up to 5 years

07

Results

Posted Jan 29, 2015

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneOxaliplatin & Bevacizumab
Started29
Completed3
Not completed26
Withdrew: Adverse event2
Withdrew: Disease progression24

Outcome measures

PrimaryTwelve Month Disease-free Survival Rate

The percent of patients being disease-free at 12 months after treatment initiation will be estimated with a 90% exact binomial confidence interval for the percent of patients receiving drug.

Time frame:
12 month post completion of treatment
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
Twelve Month Disease-free Survival Rate
percentage of participantsOxaliplatin & Bevacizumab
Twelve Month Disease-free Survival Rate3.5 (0.2 to 15.3)
SecondaryObjective Response Rate (Complete and Partial Response)

The percent of patients having an objective response (complete or partial response) will be estimated with a 90% exact binomial confidence interval for the percent of patients receiving drug per Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.0) for target lesions and assessed by MRI: Complete Response (CR), Disappearance of all target lesions; Partial Response (PR), \>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions; Overall Response (OR) = CR + PR.

Time frame:
completion of study, up to 5 years
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
Objective Response Rate (Complete and Partial Response)
percentage of participantsOxaliplatin & Bevacizumab
Objective Response Rate (Complete and Partial Response)27.6 (14.5 to 44.3)
SecondaryDuration of Remission (CR + PR)

Will be examined using Kaplan-Meier estimates. Time from earliest confirmed remission criteria until death or progression will be calculated. If a patient continued to be in remission at the end of the study, they will be censored at their last evaluation in the analysis.

Time frame:
completion of study, up to 5 years
Reported as:
Median · months
Duration of Remission (CR + PR)
monthsOxaliplatin & Bevacizumab
Duration of Remission (CR + PR)4.7 (2.1 to 17.2)
SecondaryOverall Survival

Will be examined using Kaplan-Meier estimates. Time until death or last evaluation will be calculated. If a patient did not die, they will be censored in the analysis.

Time frame:
completion of study, up to 5 years
Reported as:
Median · months
Overall Survival
monthsOxaliplatin & Bevacizumab
Overall Survival7.7 (5.4 to 13.4)

Adverse events

Collected over beginning of treatment until the end of the study for up to 5 years. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Oxaliplatin & Bevacizumab—0/29 (0%)15/29 (51.7%)
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 21
Most frequent other events
EventOxaliplatin & Bevacizumab
NAUSEAGastrointestinal disorders12/29
FATIGUE (ASTHENIA, LETHARGY, MALAISE)General disorders10/29
NEUROPATHY: SENSORYNervous system disorders10/29
VOMITINGGastrointestinal disorders7/29
CONSTIPATIONGastrointestinal disorders4/29
TASTE ALTERATION (DYSGEUSIA)Gastrointestinal disorders4/29
PAIN - OTHERGeneral disorders4/29
ANOREXIAMetabolism and nutrition disorders4/29
HEARTBURN/DYSPEPSIAGastrointestinal disorders3/29
INSOMNIANervous system disorders3/29

Baseline characteristics

Age, Categorical
Age, Categorical(Participants)Oxaliplatin & Bevacizumab
<=18 years0
Between 18 and 65 years29
>=65 years0
Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Oxaliplatin & Bevacizumab
Mean37.3 ± 12.06
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Oxaliplatin & Bevacizumab
Female3
Male26
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Oxaliplatin & Bevacizumab
Hispanic or Latino0
Not Hispanic or Latino25
Unknown or Not Reported4
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Oxaliplatin & Bevacizumab
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Asian0
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Black or African American0
White28
More than one race1
Unknown or Not Reported0
08

Study locations

2 sites
  • Indiana Univeristy Cancer Center
    Indianapolis, Indiana 46202, United States
  • University of Pennsylvania:Abramson Cancer Center
    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19104, United States
09

Timeline

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
Not marked actual or estimatedDates not marked actual or estimated

The record gives a start of Oct 2006, a primary completion of Oct 2012 and a completion of Nov 2014. It does not say whether these dates are actual or estimated.

Results were first posted in Jan 2015, 2 years 3 months after primary completion.

How these figures are worked out, and which studies are left out of them.

Registered
Oct 26, 2006
First posted
Oct 30, 2006
Start
Oct 2006
Primary completionActual
Oct 2012
CompletionActual
Nov 2014
Results first posted
Jan 29, 2015
Last update
Mar 24, 2016
What these dates mean
Start.
When the first participant enrolled; while estimated, when the study expects to open to recruitment.
Primary completion.
When the last participant was examined or treated to collect data for the study's main question, its primary outcome. A study that stopped early gives the date its data collection stopped.
Completion.
When the last participant's last visit took place, for every outcome, secondary ones and side effects included: the end of the study. Often later than primary completion, sometimes the same day.
Actual and Est.
Actual means the registry says the date has happened. Est. (estimated) is a date the sponsor plans or expects. It can still move, and the sponsor is expected to change it to actual once it has passed.
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Mar 24, 2016, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
10

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT00393861
Lead sponsor
Indiana University
Collaborators
Genentech, Inc.
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Oct 30, 2006
Start date
Oct 2006
Primary completion
Oct 2012
Completion
Nov 2014
Results posted
Jan 29, 2015
Last update
Mar 24, 2016

Study contacts

Lawrence Einhorn, MD
principal investigator · Indiana Univeristy School of Medicine

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Feb 2016. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Studies of the drugs tested here: Bevacizumab · Oxaliplatin

Start the discussion