CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT00316875Updated Nov 8, 2013

Lapatinib and Doxorubicin Hydrochloride Liposome in Treating Patients With Metastatic Breast Cancer

A Phase 1 interventional study of lapatinib ditosylate and Doxil in Breast Cancer, sponsored by Northwestern University. Completed at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2013-11-08.

Sponsored by Northwestern University · Phase 1, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 1
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
23
Allocation
Non-randomized
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

RATIONALE: Lapatinib may stop the growth of tumor cells by blocking some of the enzymes needed for cell growth. Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as doxorubicin hydrochloride liposome work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Giving lapatinib together with doxorubicin hydrochloride liposome may kill more tumor cells.

PURPOSE: This phase I trial is studying the side effects and best dose of doxorubicin hydrochloride liposome when given together with lapatinib in treating patients with metastatic breast cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • Evaluate the safety, tolerability, and feasibility of pegylated doxorubicin HCl liposome (PLD) when administered with lapatinib, particularly in terms of cardiac safety, in patients with metastatic breast cancer.
  • Determine the optimally tolerated regimen (OTR) of PLD when administered with lapatinib in these patients.

Secondary

  • Determine the pharmacokinetic profiles of lapatinib and PLD when given in combination at the OTR.
  • Describe any preliminary evidence of efficacy of lapatinib and PLD in these patients.

OUTLINE: This is an open-label, dose-escalation study of pegylated doxorubicin HCl liposome (PLD).

Patients receive oral lapatinib once daily on days 1-28 and PLD IV over at least 30 minutes on day 1. Treatment repeats every 28 days for up to 8 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Lapatinib may be continued alone in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

Cohorts of 3-6 patients receive escalating doses of PLD until the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) is determined. The MTD is defined as the dose preceding that at which 3 of 6 patients experience dose-limiting toxicity.

After completing study treatment, patients are followed for 30 days.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 25 patients will be accrued for this study.

02

Conditions studied

  • Breast Cancer

Browse trials for

Keywords

  • stage IV breast cancer
  • recurrent breast cancer
  • male breast cancer
03

In context

Breast Neoplasms

12,544 studies on the registry are indexed under Breast Neoplasms; 2,892 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 23 is below the median of 72 across 9,303 interventional studies indexed under Breast Neoplasms.

Browse Breast Neoplasms studies →

Lead sponsor

Northwestern University is the lead sponsor of 1,396 studies on the registry; 199 are open to participants now.

Of its 102 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 73 (72%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Eligibility criteria

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically confirmed adenocarcinoma of the breast with evidence of metastatic disease

    • Epidermal growth factor receptor (EGFR) and/or erbB2 positivity not required
  • Measurable disease, defined as ≥ 1 lesion that can be accurately measured in ≥ 1 dimension as ≥ 20 mm by conventional techniques OR as ≥ 10 mm by spiral CT scan
  • No known brain metastases or leptomeningeal disease
  • Hormone receptor status not specified

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Male or female patients
  • Menopausal status not specified
  • Life expectancy ≥ 12 weeks
  • ECOG performance status 0-1
  • WBC ≥ 3,000/mm\^3
  • Absolute neutrophil count ≥ 1,500/mm\^3
  • Platelet count ≥ 100,000/mm\^3
  • Bilirubin normal
  • AST/ALT ≤ 2.5 times upper limit of normal
  • Creatinine normal OR creatinine clearance ≥ 60 mL/min
  • LVEF ≥ 50%
  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception
  • Able to swallow and retain oral medication
  • No history of allergic reactions attributed to compounds of similar chemical or biologic composition to lapatinib
  • No gastrointestinal (GI) tract disease resulting in inability to take oral medication
  • No malabsorption syndrome or requirement for IV alimentation
  • No uncontrolled inflammatory GI disease (e.g., Crohn's disease, ulcerative colitis)

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

  • Prior trastuzumab (Herceptin ®) allowed
  • Prior anthracyclines allowed provided total dose of doxorubicin hydrochloride ≤ 240 mg/m² or epirubicin ≤ 600 mg/m²
  • More than 4 weeks since prior major surgery, hormonal therapy (other than replacement therapy), chemotherapy (6 weeks for nitrosoureas or mitomycin C), or radiotherapy and recovered
  • No prior surgical procedures affecting absorption
  • No prior EGFR-targeting therapies
  • At least 7 days since prior and no concurrent CYP3A4 inhibitors
  • At least 7 days since prior and no concurrent gastric pH modifiers

    • Antacids allowed within 1 hour before and after lapatinib dosing
  • At least 14 days since prior and no concurrent CYP3A4 inducers, including dexamethasone or dexamethasone equivalent dose > 1.5 mg/day
  • At least 6 months since prior and no concurrent amiodarone
  • No concurrent combination antiretroviral therapy for HIV-positive patients
  • No concurrent prophylactic growth factor support
  • No concurrent herbal medications
  • No other concurrent investigational agents or anticancer therapy
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 1
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Non-randomized
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
23 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Lapatinib Ditosylate and Doxil

    Drug: lapatinib ditosylate · Drug: Doxil

Interventions

  • Druglapatinib ditosylate

    1500 mg orally daily for as long as patients remain on trial (up to 8 cycles).

  • DrugDoxil

    Administered intravenously (IV) every 4 weeks in a dose-escalating fashion according to a set schedule

    Also known as: Doxorubicin HCL Liposome Injection, Dox-SL

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Cardiac safety

    Time frame: Throughout treatment and up to 30 days post-treatment

  2. Maximum tolerated dose

    Time frame: After the first cycle of therapy

Secondary outcomes

  1. Pharmacokinetic profiles

    Time frame: After treatment completion for 12 patients treated at the maximum tolerated dose

  2. Efficacy

    Time frame: At time of disease progression

07

Study locations

1 site
  • Robert H. Lurie Comprehensive Cancer Center at Northwestern University
    Chicago, Illinois 60611-3013, United States
08

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Nov 8, 2013, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
09

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT00316875
Lead sponsor
Northwestern University
Collaborators
National Cancer Institute (NCI)
Responsible party
William Gradishar (Principal Investigator, Northwestern University) — Principal investigator
First posted
Apr 21, 2006
Start date
May 2006
Primary completion
Aug 2011
Completion
Aug 2011
Last update
Nov 8, 2013

Study contacts

William J Gradishar, M.D.
principal investigator · Robert H. Lurie Cancer Center

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Nov 2013. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion