CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT00022412Updated Dec 13, 2019

Doxercalciferol Before Surgery in Treating Localized Prostate Cancer

A Phase 2 interventional study of doxercalciferol and conventional surgery in Prostate Cancer, sponsored by University of Wisconsin, Madison. Completed at 6 sites in United States. Open to male participants aged 21 Years to 120 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2019-12-13.

Sponsored by University of Wisconsin, Madison · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
60
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
21 Years to 120 Years
Sex
Male
01

Study summary

RATIONALE: Doxercalciferol may be an effective way to treat localized prostate cancer before surgery.

PURPOSE: Randomized phase II trial to study the effectiveness of giving doxercalciferol before surgery in treating patients who have localized prostate cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Determine whether doxercalciferol modulates intermediate endpoint biomarkers in the development of prostate cancer in patients with localized prostate cancer.
  • Assess the toxicity of this drug in these patients.

OUTLINE: This is a randomized, open-label, multicenter study. Patients are randomized to one of 2 arms.

  • Arm I: Patients receive doxercalciferol once daily for 28 days. Patients then undergo prostatectomy.
  • Arm II: Patients undergo observation for 28 days. Patients then undergo prostatectomy.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 60 patients (30 per arm) will be accrued for this study within 18 months.

02

Conditions studied

  • Prostate Cancer

Browse trials for

Keywords

  • adenocarcinoma of the prostate
  • stage I prostate cancer
  • stage II prostate cancer
03

In context

Prostatic Neoplasms

6,370 studies on the registry are indexed under Prostatic Neoplasms; 1,400 are open to participants now.

This study's planned enrollment of 60 is close to the median of 58 across 4,822 interventional studies indexed under Prostatic Neoplasms.

Browse Prostatic Neoplasms studies →

Lead sponsor

University of Wisconsin, Madison is the lead sponsor of 1,161 studies on the registry; 182 are open to participants now.

Of its 151 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 114 (75%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
21 Years to 120 Years
Sexes eligible
Male
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Eligibility criteria

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically or cytologically confirmed localized adenocarcinoma of the prostate
  • Candidate for prostatectomy

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age:

  • 21 and over

Performance status:

  • Not specified

Life expectancy:

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic:

  • WBC at least 4,000/mm\^3
  • Platelet count at least 100,000/mm\^3

Hepatic:

  • Bilirubin no greater than 1.4 mg/dL
  • AST no greater than 3 times normal

Renal:

  • Creatinine no greater than 2.0 mg/dL
  • Calcium no greater than 10.2 mg/dL
  • No idiopathic urinary calcium stone disease

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy:

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy:

  • Not specified

Endocrine therapy:

  • No prior hormonal therapy for prostate cancer
  • No concurrent hormonal therapy, including luteinizing hormone-releasing hormone agonists, antiandrogens, glucocorticoids, ketoconazole, finasteride, diethylstilbestrol, or progestins

Radiotherapy:

  • No prior brachytherapy or external beam radiotherapy for prostate cancer

Surgery:

  • See Disease Characteristics

Other:

  • At least 7 days since prior vitamin D therapy or calcium supplements
  • No other concurrent vitamin D analogues or calcium supplements
  • No concurrent magnesium-containing antacids
  • No concurrent thiazide-containing diuretics
  • No concurrent phenytoin, phenobarbital, glutethimide, digoxin, or digitalis
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
60 participants (estimated)

Study arms

  • Placebo comparator
    Observation, then prostatectomy

    Arm 2: Patients undergo observation for 28 days. Patients then undergo prostatectomy.

    Procedure: conventional surgery

  • Active comparator
    Doxercalciferol once daily for 28 days

    Dietary supplement once daily to treat prostate cancer for 28 days

    Dietary Supplement: doxercalciferol

Interventions

  • Dietary supplementdoxercalciferol

    Arm 1: Patients receive doxercalciferol once daily for 28 days. Patients then undergo prostatectomy.

    Also known as: Localized adenocarcinoma of the prostate

  • Procedureconventional surgery

    Procedure: Prostatectomy for prostate cancer

    Also known as: Prostatectomy - no dietary supplement

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Intermediate endpoint biomarker modulation

    Time frame: 18 months

  2. Toxicity

    Time frame: 30 months

07

Study locations

6 sites
  • Holden Comprehensive Cancer Center at University of Iowa
    Iowa City, Iowa 52242-1002, United States
  • James P. Wilmot Cancer Center at University of Rochester Medical Center
    Rochester, New York 14642, United States
  • Veterans Affairs Medical Center - Madison
    Madison, Wisconsin 53705, United States
  • Meriter Hospital
    Madison, Wisconsin 53715, United States
  • University of Wisconsin Comprehensive Cancer Center
    Madison, Wisconsin 53792-6164, United States
  • Medical College of Wisconsin Cancer Center
    Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53226-3596, United States
08

References and documents

09

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Dec 13, 2019, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
10

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT00022412
Lead sponsor
University of Wisconsin, Madison
Collaborators
National Cancer Institute (NCI)
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Jan 27, 2003
Start date
Aug 2001
Primary completion
Feb 2006
Completion
Aug 2008
Last update
Dec 13, 2019

Study contacts

George Wilding, MD
study chair · University of Wisconsin, Madison

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Oct 2016. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion