CClinicalTrials.gg
Status unknownNCT00006035Updated Sep 17, 2013

Bleomycin With or Without Electroporation Therapy in Treating Patients With Stage III or Stage IV Melanoma

A Phase 1 interventional study of bleomycin sulfate and electroporation therapy in Melanoma (Skin), sponsored by H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute. Status unknown at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2013-09-17.

Sponsored by H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute · Phase 1, Interventional, and Treatment

The sponsor has not verified this record recently (last verified Nov 2000), so the status shown — last known as Active, not recruiting — may be out of date.
Phase
Phase 1
Study type
Interventional
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Electroporation therapy may enhance the ability of chemotherapy drugs to enter tumor cells. Combining chemotherapy with electroporation therapy may kill more tumor cells.

PURPOSE: Randomized phase I trial to compare the effectiveness of bleomycin with or without electroporation therapy in treating patients who have stage III or stage IV melanoma.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES: I. Compare the objective tumor response rate of patients with stage III or IV melanoma when treated with intratumoral bleomycin with or without electroporation therapy. II. Determine the safety of electroporation therapy in these patients. III. Compare the time to heal with these treatments in these patients. IV. Compare the duration of lesion response with these treatments in these patients.

OUTLINE: This is a randomized, multicenter study. Patients are randomized to one of two treatment arms. Arm I: Patients receive bleomycin intratumorally on day 1. Arm II: Patients receive bleomycin intratumorally followed by electroporation therapy intratumorally on day 1. Treatment continues every 4 weeks in the absence of unacceptable toxicity. Patients in arm I with progressive disease after 1 course of treatment may be crossed over to arm II. Patients are followed at 4 and 6 months after final treatment.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 20 patients (10 per treatment arm) will be accrued for this study.

02

Conditions studied

  • Melanoma (Skin)

Browse trials for

Keywords

  • stage III melanoma
  • stage IV melanoma
  • recurrent melanoma
03

In context

Melanoma

3,006 studies on the registry are indexed under Melanoma; 520 are open to participants now.

Browse Melanoma studies →

Lead sponsor

H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute is the lead sponsor of 533 studies on the registry; 74 are open to participants now.

Of its 99 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 57 (58%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Eligibility criteria

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: Histologically confirmed stage III or IV melanoma Progressive disease defined by: Stage III Inoperable due to number of lesions (greater than 5 nodules) OR Recurrence after surgical excision Stage IV Failed to respond to immunotherapy or chemotherapy OR Immunotherapy or chemotherapy contraindicated Bidimensionally measurable disease At least 2 lesions accessible to electroporation electrode

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age: 18 and over Performance status: Not specified Life expectancy: Greater than 6 months Hematopoietic: Not specified Hepatic: Not specified Renal: Creatinine clearance at least 35 mL/min Cardiovascular: No cardiac pacemakers or implantable defibrillators No history of severe cardiac arrhythmia No myocardial infarction in past 6 months Pulmonary: No significant pulmonary fibrosis or other severe pulmonary pathology Other: Not pregnant or nursing Negative pregnancy test Fertile patients must use effective contraception No clinical or bacteriological evidence of active infection No known hypersensitivity to bleomycin including shock, uncontrolled hypothermia, prurit or prurit type toxidermia, Raynaud's syndrome, or digital gangrene No known sensitivity to lidocaine

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: Biologic therapy: See Disease Characteristics Concurrent systemic immunotherapy allowed if disease is stable or progressing at time of study entry after at least 8 weeks of treatment Chemotherapy: See Disease Characteristics At least 12 weeks since prior intralesional chemotherapy Concurrent systemic chemotherapy allowed if disease is stable or progressing at time of study entry after at least 8 weeks of treatment Must not have previously exceeded or will exceed on this study a cumulative dose greater than 400 U of bleomycin Endocrine therapy: Not specified Radiotherapy: At least 12 weeks since prior local radiotherapy to study lesion Surgery: See Disease Characteristics At least 12 weeks since prior local surgery to study lesion Other: At least 12 weeks since prior local cryotherapy to study lesion At least 4 weeks since prior investigational drugs or devices No other concurrent investigational study

05

Study design

Phase
Phase 1
Primary purpose
Treatment

Interventions

  • Biologicalbleomycin sulfate
  • Drugelectroporation therapy
06

Study locations

1 site
  • H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute
    Tampa, Florida 33612, United States
07

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Sep 17, 2013, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
08

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT00006035
Lead sponsor
H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute
Collaborators
National Cancer Institute (NCI)
First posted
Jun 21, 2004
Start date
Jun 2000
Last update
Sep 17, 2013

Study contacts

Ronald C. DeConti, MD
study chair · H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is status unknown, as verified in Nov 2000. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion