CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT00002883Updated Feb 23, 2021

Surgery With or Without Combination Chemotherapy in Treating Patients With Cancer of the Esophagus

A Phase 3 interventional study of cisplatin and fluorouracil in Esophageal Cancer and Gastric Cancer, sponsored by UNICANCER. Completed at 1 site in France. Open to participants aged 0 Years to 75 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2021-02-23.

Sponsored by UNICANCER · Phase 3, Interventional, and Treatment

From the registry’s dates

  • Registered 3 years 1 month after the study started (first participant enrolled Oct 1996, registered Nov 1999).
Phase
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
250
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
0 Years to 75 Years
Sex
All
01

Study summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. It is not known whether combining chemotherapy with surgery is more effective than surgery alone.

PURPOSE: Randomized phase III trial to compare the effectiveness of surgery with or without combination chemotherapy in treating patients with cancer of the esophagus.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Compare survival in patients with operable adenocarcinoma of the lower third of the esophagus or the cardia treated with fluorouracil/cisplatin vs. no chemotherapy prior to surgical resection.
  • Assess whether neoadjuvant fluorouracil/cisplatin increases tumor resectability.

OUTLINE: This study is randomized for neoadjuvant chemotherapy. Patients are stratified by performance status, tumor location, and randomizing center.

Patients randomized to no neoadjuvant chemotherapy undergo resection of the tumor with adequate margins and resection of regional lymph nodes (R2 with at least 8 nodal groups recommended).

Patients randomized to neoadjuvant chemotherapy receive fluorouracil and cisplatin at 3-4 week intervals; fluorouracil is given by continuous intravenous infusion for 5 days and cisplatin is given on the first 2 days of fluorouracil administration. Tumor response is assessed after 2 courses; responding patients with no serious toxicity receive a third course. Surgery, as above, is initiated 4-6 weeks after the second or third course of chemotherapy. Upon recovery (within 3-6 weeks), patients who responded to neoadjuvant chemotherapy receive 3-4 additional courses of postoperative chemotherapy (maximum total of 6 courses). Patients whose best response was stable disease are assessed for postoperative radiotherapy.

Patients on either arm with positive resection margins, positive lymph nodes, or equivocal complete resection are referred for postoperative radiotherapy. Further therapy for patients with incomplete resection is at the discretion of the physician.

Patients are followed every 3-4 months for at least 5 years.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 250 patients will be entered.

02

Conditions studied

  • Esophageal Cancer
  • Gastric Cancer

Keywords

  • stage I gastric cancer
  • stage II gastric cancer
  • stage I esophageal cancer
  • stage II esophageal cancer
  • adenocarcinoma of the stomach
  • adenocarcinoma of the esophagus
03

In context

Stomach Neoplasms

2,851 studies on the registry are indexed under Stomach Neoplasms; 864 are open to participants now.

This study's planned enrollment of 250 is above the median of 67 across 2,096 interventional studies indexed under Stomach Neoplasms.

Browse Stomach Neoplasms studies →

Lead sponsor

UNICANCER is the lead sponsor of 215 studies on the registry; 52 are open to participants now.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
0 Years to 75 Years
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Eligibility criteria

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Adenocarcinoma of the lower third of the esophagus or the cardia for which complete resection is feasible

    • Extension to the cardia allowed
    • Cancer of the cardia with extension to the esophagus or stomach allowed

      • No in situ cancer of the cardia
    • No distant metastases

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age:

  • Not over 75

Performance status:

  • WHO 0 or 1

Hematopoietic:

  • WBC at least 4,000
  • Polymorphonuclear lymphocytes greater than 2,000
  • Platelets at least 100,000

Hepatic:

  • Not specified

Renal:

  • Creatinine less than 1.3 mg/dL (120 micromoles/L)

Cardiovascular:

  • No prior myocardial infarction
  • No other cardiac contraindication to surgery

Pulmonary:

  • No respiratory contraindication to surgery

Other:

  • No second malignancy except:
  • Basal cell carcinoma of the skin
  • Adequately treated in situ carcinoma of the uterine cervix

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy

  • No prior chemotherapy for tumors of the cardia

Endocrine therapy

  • No prior radiotherapy for tumors of the cardia

Radiotherapy

  • Not specified

Surgery

  • Not specified
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Enrollment
250 participants (estimated)

Interventions

  • Drugcisplatin
  • Drugfluorouracil
  • Procedureadjuvant therapy
  • Procedureconventional surgery
  • Procedureneoadjuvant therapy
06

Study locations

1 site
  • Centre Regional de Lutte Contre le Cancer - Centre Val d'Aurelle
    Montpellier, 34298, France
07

References and documents

Publications

  • Boige V, Pignon J, Saint-Aubert B, et al.: Final results of a randomized trial comparing preoperative 5-fluorouracil (F)/cisplatin (P) to surgery alone in adenocarcinoma of stomach and lower esophagus (ASLE): FNLCC ACCORD07-FFCD 9703 trial. [Abstract] J Clin Oncol 25 (Suppl 18): A-4510, 200s, 2007.
  • Ychou M, Pignon JP, Lasser P, et al.: Phase III preliminary results of preoperative fluorouracil (F) and cisplatin (P) versus surgery alone in adenocarcinoma of stomach and lower esophagus (ASLE): FNLCC 94012-FFCD 9703 trial. [Abstract] J Clin Oncol 24 (Suppl 18): A-4026, 2006.
08

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Feb 23, 2021, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
09

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT00002883
Lead sponsor
UNICANCER
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Jan 27, 2003
Start date
Oct 1996
Primary completion
Nov 2006
Completion
Aug 2010
Last update
Feb 23, 2021

Study contacts

Marc Ychou, MD, PhD
study chair · Institut du Cancer de Montpellier - Val d'Aurelle

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
No
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Feb 2021. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion