CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT00002581Updated Nov 6, 2013

Tamoxifen With or Without Combination Chemotherapy in Treating Postmenopausal Women With Operable Invasive Breast Cancer

A Phase 3 interventional study of cyclophosphamide and fluorouracil in Breast Cancer, sponsored by Scottish Cancer Therapy Network. Completed at 9 sites in United Kingdom. Open to female participants aged Up to 70 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2013-11-06.

Sponsored by Scottish Cancer Therapy Network · Phase 3, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
1,000
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
Up to 70 Years
Sex
Female
01

Study summary

RATIONALE: Estrogen can stimulate the growth of breast cancer cells. Hormone therapy using tamoxifen may fight breast cancer by blocking the uptake of estrogen. Combining combination chemotherapy with hormone therapy may kill more tumor cells.

PURPOSE: Randomized phase III trial to compare the effectiveness of tamoxifen with or without combination chemotherapy in treating postmenopausal women with stage I or stage II breast cancer that can be surgically removed.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES: I. Compare the potential benefits of adjuvant tamoxifen with or without cyclophosphamide, methotrexate, and fluorouracil (CMF) in postmenopausal women with stage I-IIIA, unilateral, invasive breast cancer.

OUTLINE: This is a randomized study, multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to nodal status (positive vs negative or unknown) and hospital region. Patients undergo surgical resection with or without local radiotherapy, as appropriate. Radiotherapy begins within 8 weeks of surgery for patients randomized to arm I and within 4 weeks after completion of chemotherapy for patients randomized to arm II. Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms, preferably within 2 weeks after surgery. Arm I: Beginning within 4 weeks after surgery, patients receive oral tamoxifen daily. Treatment continues for 5 years. Arm II: Beginning within 4 weeks after surgery, patients receive tamoxifen as in arm I and cyclophosphamide IV, methotrexate IV, and fluorouracil IV on day 1 (CMF). Chemotherapy continues every 3 weeks for 6 courses. Patients are followed every 6 months for 5 years and then annually thereafter.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 1,000 patients will be accrued for this study.

02

Conditions studied

  • Breast Cancer

Browse trials for

Keywords

  • stage I breast cancer
  • stage II breast cancer
  • stage IIIA breast cancer
03

In context

Breast Neoplasms

12,544 studies on the registry are indexed under Breast Neoplasms; 2,892 are open to participants now.

This study's planned enrollment of 1,000 is above the median of 72 across 9,303 interventional studies indexed under Breast Neoplasms.

Browse Breast Neoplasms studies →

Lead sponsor

Scottish Cancer Therapy Network is the lead sponsor of 7 studies on the registry; none are open to participants now.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
Up to 70 Years
Sexes eligible
Female
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Eligibility criteria

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: Histologically proven unilateral, invasive breast cancer Stage T0-3, N0-1, M0 No evidence of distant disease, including ipsilateral supraclavicular node enlargement unless proven benign No carcinoma in situ alone, including Paget's disease of the nipple without underlying invasion No evidence of distant disease, including ipsilateral supraclavicular node enlargement unless proven benign No history of pure carcinoma in situ in either breast Hormone receptor status: Not specified

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age: 70 and under Sex: Female Menopausal status: Postmenopausal, defined by 1 of the following criteria: Last menstrual period more than 1 year before initial surgery Any age with prior bilateral oophorectomy (for nonmalignant reason) Age 50 and over with prior hysterectomy (for nonmalignant reason) without oophorectomy If at variance with the above definitions, hormonal assays in postmenopausal range take precedence Performance status: Not specified Life expectancy: Not specified Hematopoietic: Not specified Hepatic: Not specified Renal: Not specified Other: No other serious illness No other prior invasive malignancy except adequately treated basal cell or squamous cell skin cancer

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: Not specified

05

Study design

Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Enrollment
1,000 participants (estimated)

Interventions

  • Drugcyclophosphamide
  • Drugfluorouracil
  • Drugmethotrexate
  • Drugtamoxifen citrate
  • Procedureconventional surgery
  • Radiationradiation therapy
06

Study locations

9 sites
  • Aberdeen Royal Infirmary
    Aberdeen, Scotland AB25 2ZN, United Kingdom
  • Ninewells Hospital and Medical School
    Dundee, Scotland DD1 9SY, United Kingdom
  • Western General Hospital
    Edinburgh, Scotland EH4 9NQ, United Kingdom
  • Beatson Oncology Centre
    Glasgow, Scotland G11 6NT, United Kingdom
  • University of Glasgow
    Glasgow, Scotland G61 1BD, United Kingdom
  • Raigmore Hospital
    Inverness, Scotland 1V2 3UJ, United Kingdom
  • Royal Alexandra Hospital
    Paisley, Scotland, United Kingdom
  • Ayr Hospital
    Ayr, KA6 6DX, United Kingdom
  • Falkirk Royal Infirmary
    Falkirk, FK1 5RE, United Kingdom
07

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Nov 6, 2013, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
08

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT00002581
Lead sponsor
Scottish Cancer Therapy Network
First posted
Mar 11, 2004
Start date
Jun 1993
Last update
Nov 6, 2013

Study contacts

W.D. George, MD, MS, FRCS
study chair · University of Glasgow
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in May 2007. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion