CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT06520553Updated May 22, 2026Results posted

A Study in Healthy Men to Test How BI 1569912 is Processed in the Body

A Phase 1 interventional study of BI 1569912 (C-14) and BI 1569912 (C-13) in Healthy, sponsored by Boehringer Ingelheim. Completed at 1 site in Netherlands. Open to male participants aged 18 Years to 55 Years, including healthy volunteers. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2026-05-22.

Sponsored by Boehringer Ingelheim · Phase 1, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 1
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
8
Allocation
Not applicable
Ages
18 Years to 55 Years
Sex
Male
01

Study summary

The main objectives of this trial are:

  • To investigate basic pharmacokinetics of BI 1569912 and total radioactivity, including mass balance, excretion pathways and metabolism following oral administration of BI 1569912 (C-14) to healthy male subjects (test treatment, T).
  • To investigate the absolute bioavailability of BI 1569912 as single oral solution dose, using a single, concomitant intravenous micro-tracer administration of BI 1569912 (C-13) (reference treatment, R)
02

Conditions studied

  • Healthy
03

In context

Lead sponsor

Boehringer Ingelheim is the lead sponsor of 2,245 studies on the registry; 58 are open to participants now.

Of its 162 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 116 (72%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years to 55 Years
Sexes eligible
Male
Accepts healthy volunteers
Yes

Inclusion criteria

Subjects will only be included in the trial if they meet the following criteria:

  1. Healthy male subjects according to the assessment of the investigator, as based on a complete medical history including a physical examination, vital signs (blood pressure (BP), pulse rate (PR)), 12-lead electrocardiogram (ECG), and clinical laboratory tests
  2. Age of 18 to 55 years (inclusive)
  3. Body mass index (BMI) of 18.5 to 29.9 kg/m 2 (inclusive)
  4. Signed and dated written informed consent in accordance with ICH-GCP and local legislation prior to admission to the trial

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria :

Subjects will not be allowed to participate, if any of the following general criteria apply:

  1. Any finding in the medical examination (including BP, PR or ECG) deviating from normal and assessed as clinically relevant by the investigator
  2. Repeated measurement of systolic blood pressure outside the range of 90 to 140 mmHg, diastolic blood pressure outside the range of 50 to 90 mmHg, or pulse rate outside the range of 40 to 100 beats per minute (bpm)
  3. Any laboratory value outside the reference range that the investigator considers to be of clinical relevance, in particular hepatic parameters (alanine aminotransferase (ALT), aspartate aminotransferase (AST), total bilirubin) or renal parameters (creatinine) exceeding the upper limit of normal (ULN) after repeated measurements
  4. Any evidence of a concomitant disease assessed as clinically relevant by the investigator
  5. Further exclusion criteria apply
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 1
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
8 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    10 mg BI 1569912 (C-14) oral solution (test) - 100 μg BI 1569912 (C-13) i.v. infusion (reference)

    Healthy male participants received a single dose of 10 milligram (mg) \[14C\]-labeled BI 1569912 mixed with unlabeled BI 1569912 taken as an oral solution and 30 minutes later received a single dose of 100 microgram (µg) \[13C\]-labeled BI 1569912 taken as an intravenous (i.v.) infusion.

    Drug: BI 1569912 (C-14) · Drug: BI 1569912 (C-13)

Interventions

  • DrugBI 1569912 (C-14)

    10 milligram (mg) \[14C\]-labeled BI 1569912 mixed with unlabeled BI 1569912 taken as an oral solution.

    Also known as: NR2B NAM

  • DrugBI 1569912 (C-13)

    A single dose of 100 microgram (µg) \[13C\]-labeled BI 1569912 taken as an intravenous (i.v.) infusion.

    Also known as: NR2B NAM

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Fraction Excreted in Urine as Percentage of the Administered Dose Over the Time Interval From 0 to the Last Quantifiable Time Point (fe Urine,0-tz) of [14C]-Radioactivity

    Mass balance recovery for \[14C\]-radioactivity in urine after oral administration of BI 1569912 (C-14): Fraction excreted in urine as percentage of the administered dose over the time interval from 0 to the last quantifiable time point (fe urine,0-tz).

    Time frame: Up to 14 days.

  2. Fraction Excreted in Faeces as Percentage of the Administered Dose Over the Time Interval From 0 to the Last Quantifiable Time Point (fe Faeces,0-tz) of [14C]-Radioactivity

    Mass balance recovery for \[14C\]-radioactivity in faeces after oral administration of BI 1569912 (C-14): Fraction excreted in faeces as percentage of the administered dose over the time interval from 0 to the last quantifiable time point (fe faeces,0-tz) of \[14C\]-radioactivity.

    Time frame: Up to 14 days.

  3. Total Recovery of [14C]-Radioactivity

    Mass balance recovery for \[14C\]-radioactivity in urine and faeces after oral administration of BI 1569912 (C-14). The total recovery is calculated based on the individual values and hence can differ from the sum of the urine and faeces gMean values.

    Time frame: Up to 14 days.

  4. Area Under the Concentration-time Curve of BI 1569912 Over the Time Interval From 0 Extrapolated to Infinity in Plasma (AUC0-∞)

    Area under the concentration-time curve of BI 1569912 over the time interval from 0 extrapolated to infinity in plasma (AUC0-∞) for BI 1569912 and \[13C\]-BI 1569912 after a single oral administration of BI 1569912 (C-14) (test treatment) and a single concomitant intravenous administration of BI 1569912 (C-13) (reference treatment). The presented data was derived from an analysis of variance (ANOVA) on the logarithmic scale including the fixed effect for 'treatment' and 'subject' as a random effect.

    Time frame: Within 3 hours before and 0.25*, 0.5#, 0.58, 0.66*, 0.75, 0.92*, 1.08, 1.25*, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, 24, 34, 48, 72, 96, 120, 192# and 288# hours following drug administration. *reference treatment only, #test treatment only.

Secondary outcomes

  1. Maximum Measured Concentration of BI 1569912 in Plasma (Cmax)

    Cmax (maximum measured concentration in plasma) of BI 1569912 and \[14C\]-radioactivity after a single oral administration of BI 1569912 (C-14) and of \[13C\]-BI 1569912 after a single intravenous administration of BI 1569912 (C-13).

    Time frame: Within 3 hours before and 0.25*, 0.5#, 0.58, 0.66*, 0.75, 0.92*, 1.08, 1.25*, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, 24, 34, 48, 72, 96, 120, 192# and 288# hours following drug administration. *reference treatment only, #test treatment only.

  2. Area Under the Concentration-time Curve of BI 1569912 Over the Time Interval From 0 to the Last Quantifiable Time Point in Plasma (AUC 0-tz)

    AUC0-tz (area under the concentration-time curve over the time interval from 0 to the last quantifiable time point in plasma) of BI 1569912 and \[14C\]-radioactivity after a single oral administration of BI 1569912 (C-14) and of \[13C\]-BI 1569912 after a single intravenous administration of BI 1569912 (C-13).

    Time frame: Within 3 hours before and 0.25*, 0.5#, 0.58, 0.66*, 0.75, 0.92*, 1.08, 1.25*, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, 24, 34, 48, 72, 96, 120, 192# and 288# hours following drug administration. *reference treatment only, #test treatment only.

07

Results

Posted May 22, 2026

Participant flow

This was a non-randomised, open-label, single-dose, fixed sequence trial in healthy male participants.

Participant flow — Overall Study
Milestone10 mg BI 1569912 (C-14) Oral Solution (Test) - 100 μg BI 1569912 (C-13) i.v. Infusion (Reference)
Started8
Completed8
Not completed0

Outcome measures

PrimaryFraction Excreted in Urine as Percentage of the Administered Dose Over the Time Interval From 0 to the Last Quantifiable Time Point (fe Urine,0-tz) of [14C]-Radioactivity

Mass balance recovery for \[14C\]-radioactivity in urine after oral administration of BI 1569912 (C-14): Fraction excreted in urine as percentage of the administered dose over the time interval from 0 to the last quantifiable time point (fe urine,0-tz).

Time frame:
Up to 14 days.
Reported as:
Geometric mean · Percentage of administered dose
Fraction Excreted in Urine as Percentage of the Administered Dose Over the Time Interval From 0 to the Last Quantifiable Time Point (fe Urine,0-tz) of [14C]-Radioactivity
Percentage of administered dose10 Milligram (mg) BI 1569912 (C-14) Oral Solution (Test Treatment)
Fraction Excreted in Urine as Percentage of the Administered Dose Over the Time Interval From 0 to the Last Quantifiable Time Point (fe Urine,0-tz) of [14C]-Radioactivity57.0 ± 10.9
PrimaryFraction Excreted in Faeces as Percentage of the Administered Dose Over the Time Interval From 0 to the Last Quantifiable Time Point (fe Faeces,0-tz) of [14C]-Radioactivity

Mass balance recovery for \[14C\]-radioactivity in faeces after oral administration of BI 1569912 (C-14): Fraction excreted in faeces as percentage of the administered dose over the time interval from 0 to the last quantifiable time point (fe faeces,0-tz) of \[14C\]-radioactivity.

Time frame:
Up to 14 days.
Reported as:
Geometric mean · Percentage of administered dose
Fraction Excreted in Faeces as Percentage of the Administered Dose Over the Time Interval From 0 to the Last Quantifiable Time Point (fe Faeces,0-tz) of [14C]-Radioactivity
Percentage of administered dose10 Milligram (mg) BI 1569912 (C-14) Oral Solution (Test Treatment)
Fraction Excreted in Faeces as Percentage of the Administered Dose Over the Time Interval From 0 to the Last Quantifiable Time Point (fe Faeces,0-tz) of [14C]-Radioactivity31.1 ± 62.9
PrimaryTotal Recovery of [14C]-Radioactivity

Mass balance recovery for \[14C\]-radioactivity in urine and faeces after oral administration of BI 1569912 (C-14). The total recovery is calculated based on the individual values and hence can differ from the sum of the urine and faeces gMean values.

Time frame:
Up to 14 days.
Reported as:
Geometric mean · Percentage of administered dose
Total Recovery of [14C]-Radioactivity
Percentage of administered dose10 Milligram (mg) BI 1569912 (C-14) Oral Solution (Test Treatment)
Total Recovery of [14C]-Radioactivity91.2 ± 12.7
PrimaryArea Under the Concentration-time Curve of BI 1569912 Over the Time Interval From 0 Extrapolated to Infinity in Plasma (AUC0-∞)

Area under the concentration-time curve of BI 1569912 over the time interval from 0 extrapolated to infinity in plasma (AUC0-∞) for BI 1569912 and \[13C\]-BI 1569912 after a single oral administration of BI 1569912 (C-14) (test treatment) and a single concomitant intravenous administration of BI 1569912 (C-13) (reference treatment). The presented data was derived from an analysis of variance (ANOVA) on the logarithmic scale including the fixed effect for 'treatment' and 'subject' as a random effect.

Time frame:
Within 3 hours before and 0.25*, 0.5#, 0.58, 0.66*, 0.75, 0.92*, 1.08, 1.25*, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, 24, 34, 48, 72, 96, 120, 192# and 288# hours following drug administration. *reference treatment only, #test treatment only.
Reported as:
Geometric least squares mean · hours*millimole/Liter/kilogram
Area Under the Concentration-time Curve of BI 1569912 Over the Time Interval From 0 Extrapolated to Infinity in Plasma (AUC0-∞)
hours*millimole/Liter/kilogram10 Milligram (mg) BI 1569912 (C-14) Oral Solution (Test Treatment)100 Microgram (µg) BI 1569912 (C-13) Solution for i.v. Infusion (Reference Treatment)
Area Under the Concentration-time Curve of BI 1569912 Over the Time Interval From 0 Extrapolated to Infinity in Plasma (AUC0-∞)122.1 ± na193.59 ± na
Statistical analysis
  • 10 Milligram (mg) BI 1569912 (C-14) Oral Solution (Test Treatment) vs 100 Microgram (µg) BI 1569912 (C-13) Solution for i.v. Infusion (Reference Treatment) · Ratio (%): 63.07 · 90% CI 60.03 to 66.27geometric standard error = 1.03 Ratio (%) = T/R\*100
SecondaryMaximum Measured Concentration of BI 1569912 in Plasma (Cmax)

Cmax (maximum measured concentration in plasma) of BI 1569912 and \[14C\]-radioactivity after a single oral administration of BI 1569912 (C-14) and of \[13C\]-BI 1569912 after a single intravenous administration of BI 1569912 (C-13).

Time frame:
Within 3 hours before and 0.25*, 0.5#, 0.58, 0.66*, 0.75, 0.92*, 1.08, 1.25*, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, 24, 34, 48, 72, 96, 120, 192# and 288# hours following drug administration. *reference treatment only, #test treatment only.
Reported as:
Geometric mean · nanomole/Liter
Maximum Measured Concentration of BI 1569912 in Plasma (Cmax)
nanomole/Liter100 Microgram (µg) BI 1569912 (C-13) Solution for i.v. Infusion (Reference Treatment)10 Milligram (mg) BI 1569912 (C-14) Oral Solution (Test Treatment)10 Milligram (mg) BI 1569912 (C-14) Oral Solution (Test Treatment) - Unlabeled
Maximum Measured Concentration of BI 1569912 in Plasma (Cmax)8.59 ± 43.8729 ± 23.8431 ± 24.4
SecondaryArea Under the Concentration-time Curve of BI 1569912 Over the Time Interval From 0 to the Last Quantifiable Time Point in Plasma (AUC 0-tz)

AUC0-tz (area under the concentration-time curve over the time interval from 0 to the last quantifiable time point in plasma) of BI 1569912 and \[14C\]-radioactivity after a single oral administration of BI 1569912 (C-14) and of \[13C\]-BI 1569912 after a single intravenous administration of BI 1569912 (C-13).

Time frame:
Within 3 hours before and 0.25*, 0.5#, 0.58, 0.66*, 0.75, 0.92*, 1.08, 1.25*, 1.5, 2, 2.5, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, 24, 34, 48, 72, 96, 120, 192# and 288# hours following drug administration. *reference treatment only, #test treatment only.
Reported as:
Geometric mean · hours*nanomole/Liter
Area Under the Concentration-time Curve of BI 1569912 Over the Time Interval From 0 to the Last Quantifiable Time Point in Plasma (AUC 0-tz)
hours*nanomole/Liter100 Microgram (µg) BI 1569912 (C-13) Solution for i.v. Infusion (Reference Treatment)10 Milligram (mg) BI 1569912 (C-14) Oral Solution (Test Treatment)10 Milligram (mg) BI 1569912 (C-14) Oral Solution (Test Treatment) - Unlabeled
Area Under the Concentration-time Curve of BI 1569912 Over the Time Interval From 0 to the Last Quantifiable Time Point in Plasma (AUC 0-tz)17.9 ± 18.210600 ± 28.21220 ± 22.9

Adverse events

Collected over For Adverse Events: Up to 36 hours For All-Cause Mortality: up to 14 days.. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
10 mg BI 1569912 (C-14) Oral Solution (Test) - 100 μg BI 1569912 (C-13) i.v. Infusion (Reference)0/8 (0%)0/8 (0%)5/8 (62.5%)
Most frequent other events
Most frequent other events
Event10 mg BI 1569912 (C-14) Oral Solution (Test) - 100 μg BI 1569912 (C-13) i.v. Infusion (Reference)
Catheter site bruiseGeneral disorders2/8
Catheter site erythemaGeneral disorders1/8
FatigueGeneral disorders1/8
Infusion site inflammationGeneral disorders1/8
DizzinessNervous system disorders1/8
Depressed moodPsychiatric disorders1/8

Baseline characteristics

Treated set (TS): all subjects who were treated with at least one dose of trial drug.

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(Years)10 mg BI 1569912 (C-14) Oral Solution (Test) - 100 μg BI 1569912 (C-13) i.v. Infusion (Reference)
Mean34.9 ± 8.6
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)10 mg BI 1569912 (C-14) Oral Solution (Test) - 100 μg BI 1569912 (C-13) i.v. Infusion (Reference)
Female0
Male8
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)10 mg BI 1569912 (C-14) Oral Solution (Test) - 100 μg BI 1569912 (C-13) i.v. Infusion (Reference)
Hispanic or Latino0
Not Hispanic or Latino8
Unknown or Not Reported0
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)10 mg BI 1569912 (C-14) Oral Solution (Test) - 100 μg BI 1569912 (C-13) i.v. Infusion (Reference)
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Asian0
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Black or African American0
White8
More than one race0
Unknown or Not Reported0
08

Study locations

1 site
  • ICON-Groningen-62040
    Groningen, 9728 NZ, Netherlands
09

References and documents

Related links

Study documents

  • Study protocol · Nov 13, 2024
  • Statistical analysis plan · Dec 10, 2024

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No — Clinical studies sponsored by Boehringer Ingelheim, phases I to IV, interventional and non-interventional, are in scope for sharing of the raw clinical study data and clinical study documents. Exceptions might apply, e.g. studies in products where Boehringer Ingelheim is not the license holder; studies regarding pharmaceutical formulations and associated analytical methods, and studies pertinent to pharmacokinetics using human biomaterials; studies conducted in a single center or targeting rare diseases (in case of low number of patients and therefore limitations with anonymization). For more details refer to: https://www.mystudywindow.com/msw/datatransparency

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on May 22, 2026, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT06520553
Lead sponsor
Boehringer Ingelheim
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Jul 25, 2024
Start date
Aug 26, 2024
Primary completion
Oct 3, 2024
Completion
Oct 3, 2024
Results posted
May 22, 2026
Last update
May 22, 2026

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
FDA-regulated drug
No
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Apr 2026. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion