CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT06381102Updated Aug 24, 2025Results posted

Transcutaneous Vagus Nerve Stimulation (taVNS) Dosage Study 1

An interventional study of transcutaneous auricular vagus nerve stimulation 30/30 and transcutaneous auricular vagus nerve stimulation 10/10 in Healthy, sponsored by University of Miami. Completed at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years to 80 Years, including healthy volunteers. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2025-08-24.

Sponsored by University of Miami · Not applicable, Interventional, and Other

Phase
Not applicable
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
31
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
18 Years to 80 Years
Sex
All
01

Study summary

The purpose of this research study is to investigate the effects of different forms of a gentle form of electrical stimulation applied to the ear, known as transcutaneous auricular vagus nerve stimulation (taVNS). The research team is interested in how the different forms affect comfort and tolerability, as well as how well it works.

02

Conditions studied

  • Healthy
03

In context

Lead sponsor

University of Miami is the lead sponsor of 820 studies on the registry; 161 are open to participants now.

Of its 111 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 93 (84%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years to 80 Years
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
Yes

Inclusion criteria

  1. between the ages of 18-80 years
  2. English speaking (must be able to consent and complete the interviews in English)

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  1. chronic pain (average intensity >2/10 on 0-10 scale, for longer than 3 months)
  2. acute pain of intensity greater than 3/10
  3. chronic inflammatory conditions that are poorly controlled (e.g., diabetes, autoimmune disease)
  4. any unstable medical condition or medical contraindication to moderate physical exertion (e.g., unstable angina or cardiac arrythmia)
  5. pregnancy
  6. currently taking Buprenorphine or recently stopped taking (within 1 month)
  7. presence of cognitive impairment or language barrier that impairs full autonomy in the consent process or in the ability to participate in detailed interviews
  8. implants in the head or neck, cochlear implants, or pacemaker
  9. head or neck metastasis or recent ear trauma
  10. history of epilepsy
  11. history of autonomic nervous system dysfunction (e.g., postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome).
05

Study design

Phase
Not applicable
Primary purpose
Other
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Crossover assignment
Masking
Single (Outcomes assessor)
Enrollment
31 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    taVNS 30/30 group

    Participants in the group taVNS 30/30 will be in this group for up to 3 hours.

    Device: transcutaneous auricular vagus nerve stimulation 30/30

  • Experimental
    taVNS 10/10 group

    Participants in the group taVNS 10/10 will be in this group for up to 3 hours.

    Device: transcutaneous auricular vagus nerve stimulation 10/10

Interventions

  • Devicetranscutaneous auricular vagus nerve stimulation 30/30

    Transauricular vagus nerve stimulation (taVNS) is a simple technique in which small surface electrodes are placed over the skin of the ear that are thought to be innervated by the auricular branch of the vagus nerve (ABVN). Participants in this group will first receive taVNS with a 30 second on and 30 second off, for 1 hour, in-person.

  • Devicetranscutaneous auricular vagus nerve stimulation 10/10

    Transauricular vagus nerve stimulation (taVNS) is a simple technique in which small surface electrodes are placed over the skin of the ear that are thought to be innervated by the auricular branch of the vagus nerve (ABVN). Participants in this group will first receive taVNS with a 10 second on and 10 second off, for 1 hour, in-person.

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Tolerability Measured by Tolerability Questionnaire

    Tolerability will be assessed with a questionnaire with scores ranging from 0 -10 (with 0 being no irritation or discomfort and 10 being the worst possible irritation or discomfort) for irritation from tingling/tickling/pricking during taVNS.

    Time frame: 3 hours

  2. Tolerability Measured by Self-report

    The number of participants who reported mild pain with the intervention.

    Time frame: 3 hours

Secondary outcomes

  1. Change in Heart Rate Variability (HRV)

    HRV will be measured with an H10 chest strap device. Values after stimulation will be subtracted from baseline values; thus, a positive number will indicate an increase in HRV post taVNS measured in milliseconds.

    Time frame: Baseline and 3 hours

07

Results

Posted Aug 24, 2025

Participant flow

Intervention 1
Participant flow — Intervention 1
MilestonetaVNS 30/30 GrouptaVNS 10/10 Group
Started1714
Completed1714
Not completed00
Washout 5 Days
Participant flow — Washout 5 Days
MilestonetaVNS 30/30 GrouptaVNS 10/10 Group
Started1714
Completed1712
Not completed02
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject02
Intervention 2
Participant flow — Intervention 2
MilestonetaVNS 30/30 GrouptaVNS 10/10 Group
Started1712
Completed1712
Not completed00

Outcome measures

PrimaryTolerability Measured by Tolerability Questionnaire

Tolerability will be assessed with a questionnaire with scores ranging from 0 -10 (with 0 being no irritation or discomfort and 10 being the worst possible irritation or discomfort) for irritation from tingling/tickling/pricking during taVNS.

Time frame:
3 hours
Reported as:
Mean · score on a scale
Tolerability Measured by Tolerability Questionnaire
score on a scaletaVNS 30/30 GrouptaVNS 10/10 Group
Tolerability Measured by Tolerability Questionnaire2.2 ± 1.82.2 ± 1.8
PrimaryTolerability Measured by Self-report

The number of participants who reported mild pain with the intervention.

Time frame:
3 hours
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Tolerability Measured by Self-report
ParticipantstaVNS 30/30 GrouptaVNS 10/10 Group
Tolerability Measured by Self-report78
SecondaryChange in Heart Rate Variability (HRV)

HRV will be measured with an H10 chest strap device. Values after stimulation will be subtracted from baseline values; thus, a positive number will indicate an increase in HRV post taVNS measured in milliseconds.

Time frame:
Baseline and 3 hours
Reported as:
Mean · Milliseconds
Change in Heart Rate Variability (HRV)
MillisecondstaVNS 30/30 GrouptaVNS 10/10 Group
Change in Heart Rate Variability (HRV)7.2 ± 12.24.4 ± 12.1

Adverse events

Collected over 72 hours. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
taVNS 30/30 Group0/29 (0%)0/29 (0%)0/29 (0%)
taVNS 10/10 Group0/31 (0%)0/31 (0%)0/31 (0%)

Baseline characteristics

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)taVNS 30/30 GrouptaVNS 10/10 GroupTotal
Mean31.0 ± 13.029.2 ± 6.830.2 ± 10.7
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)taVNS 30/30 GrouptaVNS 10/10 GroupTotal
Female9716
Male8715
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)taVNS 30/30 GrouptaVNS 10/10 GroupTotal
Hispanic or Latino4711
Not Hispanic or Latino13720
Unknown or Not Reported000
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)taVNS 30/30 GrouptaVNS 10/10 GroupTotal
American Indian or Alaska Native000
Asian202
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander000
Black or African American213
White131225
More than one race011
Unknown or Not Reported000
08

Study locations

1 site
  • University of Miami
    Miami, Florida 33136, United States
09

References and documents

Publications

  • Gonzalez G, O'Malley M, Bolanos J, Taylor D, McTeague LM, Canepa A, Wong ML. Participant-centered tolerability of transcutaneous auricular vagus nerve stimulation: insights from two crossover studies. Bioelectron Med. 2026 May 8;12(1):12. doi: 10.1186/s42234-026-00206-y. PubMed 42098884 ↗

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Mar 29, 2024

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Aug 24, 2025, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT06381102
Lead sponsor
University of Miami
Responsible party
Marlon Wong (Associate Professor of Clinical, University of Miami) — Principal investigator
First posted
Apr 24, 2024
Start date
Apr 13, 2024
Primary completion
Oct 1, 2024
Completion
Oct 1, 2024
Results posted
Aug 24, 2025
Last update
Aug 24, 2025

Study contacts

Marlon Wong, DPT, PhD
principal investigator · University of Miami

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
FDA-regulated drug
No
FDA-regulated device
Yes
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Aug 2025. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion