A Phase 1 interventional study of INI-822 (A) and Placebo (B) in Metabolic Dysfunction-Associated Steatohepatitis, sponsored by Inipharm Australia Pty Ltd. Recruiting at 11 sites in Australia. Open to participants aged 18 Years to 70 Years, including healthy volunteers. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2026-08-03.
Sponsored by Inipharm Australia Pty Ltd · Phase 1, Interventional, and Treatment
This Phase 1 trial will explore the safety, tolerability, pharmacokinetics (PK) and pharmacodynamics (PD) of single and multiple ascending doses of INI-822 in healthy volunteers in Parts A, B, D and F and in participants with a history of MASH or presumed MASH in Part C and in participants with MASH in E.
The study will consist of 6 parts:
Approximately 168 participants are planned to be enroled into the study.
Note: The total number of participants planned is 168 as Cohort A6 has been removed based on SRC review.
Estimated overall study duration: 18 months
Estimated study duration for each participant:
This is the only study on the registry with Inipharm Australia Pty Ltd as lead sponsor.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Normal renal function (estimated glomerular filtration rate > 60 mL/min using Cockcroft-Gault) at Screening and Day -1 Visits.
For Parts A and B, D, and F only:
For Part C only:
11.18 to 65 years of age (inclusive at the time of informed consent).
12. A diagnosis of MASH confirmed by 1 or more of the following:
FibroScan-aspartate aminotransferase (FAST) score more than equal to 0.35.
13. Alanine aminotransferase (ALT) > 1.00 × ULN at 2 separate time points in the past 6 months. At least 1 time point must be at Screening and the values must be at least 2 weeks apart. Patients with ALT values \<1.00 × ULN may be included in the study on a case-by-case basis after approval by the Sponsor.
14. Fibrosis-4 (FIB-4) score ≤ 2.67, controlled attenuation parameter (CAP) score by FibroScan® ≥ 280 Db/m, and liver stiffness measurement (LSM) by FibroScan® ≤ 14 kPa.
15. No documented weight loss > 5% in the 6 months preceding Screening.
16. If on glucagon-like peptide 1 (GLP1) agonists, sodium-glucose co-transporter 2 (SGLT2) inhibitors, or vitamin E (dose > 400 IU/day), then should have been on a stable dose for at least 3 months.
17. Platelet count > 150,000 and albumin ≥ 35 g/L.
18. BMI Greater than equals to 18.0 and ≤ 40.0 kg/m2
For Part E only:
19. 18 to 70 years of age (inclusive at the time of informed consent).
20. A diagnosis of MASH confirmed by 1 or more of the following:
FibroScan-aspartate aminotransferase (FAST) score ≥ 0.36 and AST ≥ 24.
21. FIB-4 score ≤ 3.25, CAP score by FibroScan® ≥ 280 Db/m, and LSM by FibroScan® ≤ 15 kPa.
22. No documented weight loss > 5% in the 6 months prior to first IP administration.
23. If on GLP1 agonists, SGLT2 inhibitors, or vitamin E (dose ≥ 400 IU/day), then should have been on a stable dose for at least 3 months prior to first IP administration.
24. Platelet count ≥ 150,000 and albumin ≥ 35 g/L at Screening and Day -1 Visits.
25. BMI ≥ 18.0 and ≤ 45.0 kg/m2.
Exclusion Criteria:
A participant who meets any of the following exclusion criteria must be excluded from the study:
Unstable vital sign(s) or the following values seen at Screening or prior to dosing following 5 minutes of resting in the semi-supine position (an abnormal value may be repeated once, separated by at least 5 minutes, with both values documented). If there is a known medical reason for the abnormality, the timepoint may be repeated on a separate day:
Cirrhosis of the liver as defined by:
Cardiovascular disease including heart failure with reduced left ventricular ejection fraction, atrial fibrillation requiring anticoagulation, or any other cardiovascular illness that, in the opinion of the Investigator, warrants exclusion from the study.
For Parts A and B , D, and F only:
History of alcohol use disorder (within 9 months prior to Screening by self-declaration) or habitual consumption of significant amounts of alcohol (by self-declaration), defined as > 10 standard drinks per week or > 4 standard drinks on any single day (where 1 standard drink = 360 mL of beer, 45 mL of 40% spirit, or a 150 mL glass of wine). Participants who are unable to abstain from alcohol 72 hours prior to Screening and Day -1 visits and until study completion are to be excluded.
For Part C only:
History of alcohol use disorder (within 9 months prior to Screening by self-declaration) or habitual consumption of significant amounts of alcohol (by self-declaration), defined as > 10 standard drinks per week or > 4 standard drinks in a day (where 1 standard drink = 360 mL of beer, 45 mL of 40% spirit, or a 150 mL glass of wine). Participants who are unable to abstain from alcohol 72 hours prior to Screening and Day -1 visits are to be excluded. Participants unable to consume 10 standard drinks or fewer in a week or 2 standard drinks in a day or fewer during the study are to be excluded.
For Part E only:
Note: Sites may determine full eligibility and randomize after Day -1 assessments and eligibility review. Any assessments completed prior to dosing on Day 1 should be reviewed by an Investigator prior to the first dose.
Participants will receive INI-822 orally once daily.
Drug: INI-822 (A)
Participants will receive placebo orally once daily.
Other: Placebo (B)
Different dose levels of INI-822
Matching placebo to INI-822
Incidence of adverse events (AEs).
AEs will be graded as per National Cancer Institute Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version 5.0.
Time frame: Part A: Up to 5 Weeks
Incidence of adverse events (AEs).
AEs will be graded as per National Cancer Institute Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version 5.0.
Time frame: Part A fasted fed crossover cohort: Up to 8 weeks
Incidence of adverse events (AEs).
AEs will be graded as per National Cancer Institute Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version 5.0.
Time frame: Part B: Up to 7 weeks
Incidence of adverse events (AEs).
AEs will be graded as per National Cancer Institute Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version 5.0.
Time frame: Part C: Up to 9 weeks
Number of participants with clinical laboratory abnormalities
Abnormal laboratory findings (e.g., haematology, biochemistry, coagulation, and urinalysis) or other abnormal assessments (e.g., ECG and vital signs) per se are not reported as AEs.
Time frame: Part A: Up to 5 Weeks
Number of participants with clinical laboratory abnormalities
Abnormal laboratory findings (e.g., haematology, biochemistry, coagulation, and urinalysis) or other abnormal assessments (e.g., ECG and vital signs) per se are not reported as AEs.
Time frame: Part A fasted fed crossover cohort: Up to 8 weeks
Number of participants with clinical laboratory abnormalities
Abnormal laboratory findings (e.g., haematology, biochemistry, coagulation, and urinalysis) or other abnormal assessments (e.g., ECG and vital signs) per se are not reported as AEs.
Time frame: Part B: Up to 7 weeks
Number of participants with clinical laboratory abnormalities
Abnormal laboratory findings (e.g., haematology, biochemistry, coagulation, and urinalysis) or other abnormal assessments (e.g., ECG and vital signs) per se are not reported as AEs.
Time frame: Part C: Up to 9 weeks
Incidence of adverse events (AEs)
AEs will be graded as per National Cancer Institute Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version 5.0.
Time frame: Part E: Up to 12 weeks
Incidence of adverse events (AEs)
AEs will be graded as per National Cancer Institute Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version 5.0.
Time frame: Part F: Up to 2 weeks
Number of participants with clinical laboratory abnormalities
Abnormal laboratory findings (e.g., haematology, biochemistry, coagulation, and urinalysis) or other abnormal assessments (e.g., ECG and vital signs) per se are not reported as AEs.
Time frame: Part E: Up to 12Weeks
Number of participants with clinical laboratory abnormalities
Abnormal laboratory findings (e.g., haematology, biochemistry, coagulation, and urinalysis) or other abnormal assessments (e.g., ECG and vital signs) per se are not reported as AEs.
Time frame: Part F: Up to 2Weeks
Plasma area under the curve (AUC) from time 0 to t (AUC0-t)
The results of the outcome are collectively measured.
Time frame: Part A: Up to 5 Weeks, Part A fasted fed crossover cohort: Up to 8 weeks, Part B: Up to 7 weeks, Part C: Up to 9 weeks, Part E: Up to 12 Week
AUC from time 0 to infinity (AUC0-inf)
The results of the outcome are collectively measured.
Time frame: Part A: Up to 5 Weeks, Part A fasted fed crossover cohort: Up to 8 weeks, Part B: Up to 7 weeks, Part C: Up to 9 weeks
Maximum concentration (Cmax)
The results of the outcome are collectively measured.
Time frame: Part A: Up to 5 Weeks, Part A fasted fed crossover cohort: Up to 8 weeks, Part B: Up to 7 weeks, Part C: Up to 9 weeks
Plasma area under the curve (AUC) from time 0 to t (AUC0-t)
The results of the outcome are collectively measured.
Time frame: Part E: Up to 12 Week, Part F: Week 2
AUC from time 0 to infinity (AUC0-inf)
The results of the outcome are collectively measured.
Time frame: Part E: Up to 12 Week, Part F: Week 2
Maximum concentration (Cmax)
The results of the outcome are collectively measured.
Time frame: Part E: Up to 12 Week, Part F: Week 2
Eligibility is decided by the study team. Share this record with your doctor or contact the team directly.
Contact study teamGet an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.