A Phase 2 interventional study of LEO 138559 and Placebo in Atopic Dermatitis, sponsored by LEO Pharma. Completed at 73 sites in 11 countries. Open to participants aged 18 Years to 75 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2026-02-12.
Sponsored by LEO Pharma · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment
The purpose of this trial is to test different doses of the trial medicine (LEO 138559) and see how well they work and how safe they are at treating moderate to severe atopic dermatitis in adults. There will be 4 different doses, that will also be compared to a placebo (a dummy medicine that doesn't contain the active ingredient of LEO 138559). Each participant will be randomly assigned to one of the 4 doses of LEO 138559 or placebo. In all arms, injections of placebo may be used to mask the different doses.
The trial will last up to 36 weeks, including a screening/washout period (up to 4 weeks), a treatment period (16 weeks), and a follow up period (16 weeks). The participants will visit the clinic 17 times. For the first 4 weeks of the treatment period, participants will visit the clinic every week. For the next 12 weeks of the treatment period, participants will visit the clinic every 2 weeks. For the 16 week follow up period, participants will visit the clinic every 4 weeks.
The treatments will be given to the participants by staff at the clinic. They are given as an injection just under the skin.
At each visit the doctor will check the participants atopic dermatitis and if they have had any side effects. Participants will also complete an electronic diary every day about their atopic dermatitis and quality of life.
LEO 138559 is also called "Temtokibart".
1,419 studies on the registry are indexed under Dermatitis, Atopic; 258 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 262 is above the median of 83 across 1,125 interventional studies indexed under Dermatitis, Atopic.
Browse Dermatitis, Atopic studies →LEO Pharma is the lead sponsor of 221 studies on the registry; 5 are open to participants now.
Of its 31 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 24 (77%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
At screening, diagnosis of atopic dermatitis (AD) as defined by the Hanifin and Rajka (1980) criteria for AD.
Exclusion Criteria:
History of cancer, with the following exceptions:
Any disorder at screening and/or baseline, which is not stable in the opinion of the investigator, and could:
Any significant abnormal finding at screening and/or baseline which may, in the opinion of the investigator:
Treatment with:
Dose A every week from Week 0 to Week 3, then every 2 weeks from Week 4 to Week 16
Drug: LEO 138559
Dose B every week from Week 0 to Week 2, then every 2 weeks from Week 4 to Week 16
Drug: LEO 138559
Dose A at Week 0 and Week 2, then dose C every 2 weeks from Week 4 to Week 16
Drug: LEO 138559
Dose C at Week 0 and Week 2, then dose D every 2 weeks from Week 4 to Week 16
Drug: LEO 138559
Placebo every week from Week 0 to Week 3, then every 2 weeks from Week 4 to Week 16
Drug: Placebo
LEO 138559 given by injection just under the skin
Also known as: LEO 138559 is also called "temtokibart"
Placebo given by injection just under the skin
Percent Change in Eczema Area and Severity Index (EASI) Score
The EASI is a validated measure used in clinical practice and clinical trials to assess the severity and extent of atopic dermatitis. The EASI is a composite index with scores ranging from 0 to 72, with higher values indicating more severe, and/or more extensive condition.
Time frame: From baseline to Week 16
Number of Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)
An event will be considered treatment emergent if started after the first dose of IMP or if started before the first dose of IMP and worsened in severity after first dose of IMP.
Time frame: From baseline (Week 0) to Week 16
This trial was conducted at sites in 11 countries (Canada, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Japan, Poland, Romania, Spain, United Kingdom, and United States).
| Milestone | Dose Regimen 1 | Dose Regimen 2 | Dose Regimen 3 | Dose Regimen 4 | Placebo Regimen |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Started | 52 | 53 | 52 | 53 | 52 |
| Completed | 40 | 45 | 40 | 38 | 35 |
| Not completed | 12 | 8 | 12 | 15 | 17 |
| Withdrew: Adverse event | 0 | 0 | 1 | 2 | 1 |
| Withdrew: Lack of efficacy | 1 | 2 | 1 | 1 | 6 |
| Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject | 8 | 4 | 8 | 10 | 8 |
| Withdrew: Lost to follow-up | 2 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 1 |
| Withdrew: Protocol-specified withdrawal criteria, withdrawal by investigator, prohibited medication used | 1 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 1 |
The EASI is a validated measure used in clinical practice and clinical trials to assess the severity and extent of atopic dermatitis. The EASI is a composite index with scores ranging from 0 to 72, with higher values indicating more severe, and/or more extensive condition.
| percent of change | Dose Regimen 1 | Dose Regimen 2 | Dose Regimen 3 | Dose Regimen 4 | Placebo Regimen |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Percent Change in Eczema Area and Severity Index (EASI) Score | -61.15 (-71.38 to -50.91) | -57.05 (-67.13 to -46.96) | -64.27 (-74.55 to -53.99) | -51.42 (-61.91 to -40.92) | -41.74 (-52.18 to -31.31) |
An event will be considered treatment emergent if started after the first dose of IMP or if started before the first dose of IMP and worsened in severity after first dose of IMP.
| adverse events | Dose Regimen 1 | Dose Regimen 2 | Dose Regimen 3 | Dose Regimen 4 | Placebo Regimen |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Number of Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) | 98 | 124 | 83 | 118 | 78 |
Collected over 32 weeks (Treatment period: Week 0 to Week 16; Safety follow-up period: Week 16 to Week 32). Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dose Regimen 1 | 0/52 (0%) | 1/52 (1.9%) | 27/52 (51.9%) |
| Dose Regimen 2 | 0/53 (0%) | 2/53 (3.8%) | 27/53 (50.9%) |
| Dose Regimen 3 | 0/52 (0%) | 1/52 (1.9%) | 24/52 (46.2%) |
| Dose Regimen 4 | 0/53 (0%) | 2/53 (3.8%) | 31/53 (58.5%) |
| Placebo Regimen | 0/52 (0%) | 0/52 (0%) | 21/52 (40.4%) |
| Event | Dose Regimen 1 | Dose Regimen 2 | Dose Regimen 3 | Dose Regimen 4 | Placebo Regimen |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ManiaPsychiatric disorders | 0/52 | 0/53 | 1/52 | 0/53 | 0/52 |
| Dermatitis atopicSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders | 1/52 | 0/53 | 0/52 | 0/53 | 0/52 |
| Joint swellingMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders | 0/52 | 0/53 | 0/52 | 1/53 | 0/52 |
| Sympathetic posterior cervical syndromeMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders | 0/52 | 0/53 | 0/52 | 1/53 | 0/52 |
| Loss of consciousnessNervous system disorders | 0/52 | 1/53 | 0/52 | 0/53 | 0/52 |
| Pulmonary embolismRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 0/52 | 1/53 | 0/52 | 0/53 | 0/52 |
| Event | Dose Regimen 1 | Dose Regimen 2 | Dose Regimen 3 | Dose Regimen 4 | Placebo Regimen |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NasopharyngitisInfections and infestations | 15/52 | 11/53 | 9/52 | 13/53 | 11/52 |
| Dermatitis atopicSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders | 4/52 | 10/53 | 12/52 | 15/53 | 12/52 |
| DiarrhoeaGastrointestinal disorders | 1/52 | 6/53 | 0/52 | 1/53 | 0/52 |
| COVID-19Infections and infestations | 0/52 | 1/53 | 2/52 | 5/53 | 1/52 |
| HeadacheNervous system disorders | 4/52 | 3/53 | 2/52 | 1/53 | 2/52 |
| ArthralgiaMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders | 1/52 | 4/53 | 0/52 | 0/53 | 0/52 |
| PyrexiaGeneral disorders | 3/52 | 0/53 | 1/52 | 3/53 | 1/52 |
| RhinitisInfections and infestations | 0/52 | 1/53 | 1/52 | 1/53 | 3/52 |
| FatigueGeneral disorders | 1/52 | 3/53 | 1/52 | 3/53 | 1/52 |
| ConjunctivitisInfections and infestations | 2/52 | 0/53 | 0/52 | 3/53 | 0/52 |
| Age, Continuous(years) | Dose Regimen 1 | Dose Regimen 2 | Dose Regimen 3 | Dose Regimen 4 | Placebo Regimen | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 34.9 ± 13.8 | 35.7 ± 14.3 | 39.0 ± 15.7 | 35.9 ± 14.4 | 32.1 ± 11.1 | 35.5 ± 14.0 |
| Age, Customized(Participants) | Dose Regimen 1 | Dose Regimen 2 | Dose Regimen 3 | Dose Regimen 4 | Placebo Regimen | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 18 to <65 years | 50 | 51 | 50 | 50 | 52 | 253 |
| 65 to <85 years | 2 | 2 | 2 | 3 | 0 | 9 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Dose Regimen 1 | Dose Regimen 2 | Dose Regimen 3 | Dose Regimen 4 | Placebo Regimen | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 26 | 24 | 26 | 28 | 26 | 130 |
| Male | 26 | 29 | 26 | 25 | 26 | 132 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Dose Regimen 1 | Dose Regimen 2 | Dose Regimen 3 | Dose Regimen 4 | Placebo Regimen | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 3 | 4 | 7 | 4 | 2 | 20 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 42 | 42 | 41 | 47 | 44 | 216 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 7 | 7 | 4 | 2 | 6 | 26 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Dose Regimen 1 | Dose Regimen 2 | Dose Regimen 3 | Dose Regimen 4 | Placebo Regimen | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Asian | 7 | 12 | 9 | 13 | 11 | 52 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Black or African American | 5 | 0 | 2 | 3 | 0 | 10 |
| White | 33 | 34 | 36 | 35 | 34 | 172 |
| More than one race | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 2 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 7 | 6 | 4 | 2 | 6 | 25 |
| Region of Enrollment(participants) | Dose Regimen 1 | Dose Regimen 2 | Dose Regimen 3 | Dose Regimen 4 | Placebo Regimen | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Canada | 2 | 4 | 7 | 4 | 3 | 20 |
| Romania | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 |
| Hungary | 1 | 0 | 2 | 3 | 2 | 8 |
| United States | 6 | 3 | 5 | 8 | 4 | 26 |
| Czechia | 5 | 5 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 25 |
| Japan | 6 | 7 | 7 | 7 | 7 | 34 |
| Poland | 12 | 9 | 9 | 11 | 13 | 54 |
| United Kingdom | 2 | 2 | 3 | 2 | 5 | 14 |
| France | 7 | 5 | 4 | 1 | 6 | 23 |
| Germany | 7 | 13 | 7 | 7 | 4 | 38 |
| Spain | 3 | 4 | 4 | 5 | 2 | 18 |
| EASI score(scores on a scale) | Dose Regimen 1 | Dose Regimen 2 | Dose Regimen 3 | Dose Regimen 4 | Placebo Regimen | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 25.74 ± 9.51 | 25.61 ± 8.95 | 26.73 ± 11.28 | 26.53 ± 10.41 | 26.13 ± 10.97 | 26.15 ± 10.19 |
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
Plan to share: No
This study is completed, as verified in Dec 2025. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
LEO Pharma