CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT05855967Updated Aug 22, 2025Results posted

A Study of Ixekizumab (LY2439821) in Participants Aged ≥18 Years With Moderate-to-Severe Plaque or Active Psoriatic Arthritis in India

A Phase 4 interventional study of Ixekizumab in Plaque Psoriasis and Psoriatic Arthritis, sponsored by Eli Lilly and Company. Completed at 14 sites in India. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2025-08-22.

Sponsored by Eli Lilly and Company · Phase 4, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 4
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
250
Allocation
Not applicable
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

The main purpose of this study is to investigate the safety and tolerability of ixekizumab in participants in India with moderate-to-severe plaque psoriasis (PsO) or active psoriatic arthritis (PsA)

02

Conditions studied

  • Plaque Psoriasis
  • Psoriatic Arthritis

Browse trials for

03

In context

Arthritis, Psoriatic

579 studies on the registry are indexed under Arthritis, Psoriatic; 132 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 250 is above the median of 135 across 322 interventional studies indexed under Arthritis, Psoriatic.

Browse Arthritis, Psoriatic studies →

Lead sponsor

Eli Lilly and Company is the lead sponsor of 2,048 studies on the registry; 140 are open to participants now.

Of its 521 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 341 (65%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

All participants:

  • Male or nonpregnant, nonbreastfeeding female participants.

For PsO Participants:

  • Present with chronic PsO based on a confirmed diagnosis of chronic PsO vulgaris for at least 6 months prior to baseline
  • Have ≥10% Body Surface Area (BSA) of psoriasis at screening (Visit 1) and baseline
  • Have both an static Physician's Global Assessment (sPGA) score of ≥3 and Psoriasis Area and Severity Index (PASI) score ≥12 at screening and baseline

For PsA Participants

  • Have a diagnosis of active PsA for at least 6 months (based on a detailed medical history provided by the patient, and a physical exam by the Study Investigator, and/or other evidence such as that provided by joint x-rays, that establishes a history consistent with a diagnosis of active PsA of at least 6 months' duration) and currently meet the Classification for PsA (CASPAR) criteria.
  • Have active PsA defined as the presence of at least 3/68 tender and at least 3/66 swollen joints, as determined by the Tender and Swollen Joint Count Assessment Form at screening and baseline.
  • Presence of active PsO or a documented history of psoriasis.

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Have previously completed or withdrawn from this study, participated in any other study with ixekizumab, or have participated in any study investigating other IL-17 antagonists.
  • Have a history of drug-induced PsO.
  • Have a known allergy or hypersensitivity to any biologic therapy that would pose an unacceptable risk to the patient if participating in this study.
  • Had any major surgery within 8 weeks prior to baseline (Week 0; Visit 2), or will require such during the study that, in the opinion of the investigator in consultation with Lilly or its designee, would pose an unacceptable risk to the participant
  • Have diagnosis or history of malignant disease within the 5 years prior to baseline
  • Have any other active or recent infection within 4 weeks of baseline

For PsO Participants:

  • Have received systemic non-biologic PsO therapy (within 4 weeks prior to baseline)
  • Have pustular, erythrodermic, and/or guttate forms of PsO
  • Had a clinically significant flare of PsO during the 12 weeks prior to baseline (Week 0).
  • Have allergy to rubber or latex.

For PsA Participants:

  • Have used conventional synthetic disease-modifying antirheumatic drug (csDMARDs) other than methotrexate (MTX), leflunomide, sulfasalazine, or cyclosporine in the 8 weeks prior to baseline
  • Have received treatment with interleukin (IL)17 or IL-12/23 targeted Mab therapy
  • Are currently receiving treatment with any biologic or small molecule therapy for PsA or PsO, including investigational therapies (such as, but not limited to, a tumor necrosis factor inhibitor (TNFi), IL-1 receptor antagonists, IL-6 inhibitor, anti-IL12/23p40, T cell or B cell targeted therapies, phosphodiesterase (PDE) 4 inhibitors, or Janus Kinase (JAK) inhibitors), or have received denosumab.
  • Have had surgical treatment of a joint within 8 weeks prior to baseline or will require such up to Week 24.
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 4
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
250 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Ixekizumab - PsO With no Active PsA

    Participants with plaque psoriasis (PsO) with no active psoriatic arthritis (PsA) received: * Ixekizumab 160 milligram (mg) subcutaneous (SC) injection as loading dose at Week 0, followed by; * Ixekizumab 80 mg SC injection every 2 weeks (Q2W) at Week 2, 4, 6, 8, and 10 * Ixekizumab 80 mg SC injection every 4 weeks (Q4W) at Week 12, 16, and 20

    Drug: Ixekizumab

  • Experimental
    Ixekizumab - Active PsA

    Participants with active psoriatic arthritis (PsA) with moderate to severe plaque psoriasis (PsO) received: * Ixekizumab 160 mg SC injection as loading dose at Week 0, followed by; * Ixekizumab 80 mg SC injection Q2W at Week 2, 4, 6, 8, and 10 * Ixekizumab 80 mg SC injection Q4W at Week 12, 16, and 20 Participants with active PsA without moderate to severe PsO received: * Ixekizumab 160 mg SC injection as loading dose at Week 0, followed by * Ixekizumab 80 mg SC injection Q4W at Week 4, 8, 12, 16, and 20.

    Drug: Ixekizumab

Interventions

  • DrugIxekizumab

    Administered SC

    Also known as: LY2439821

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Number of Participants Reporting Serious Adverse Events (SAEs), and Treatment Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) and AEs of Special Interests (AESIs) From Week 0 to Week 24

    * An SAE is defined as any untoward medical occurrence that, at any dose, meets one or more of the criteria listed: results in death, is life-threatening, requires inpatient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization, results in persistent disability/incapacity, is a congenital anomaly/birth defect. * TEAE is defined as an event that first occurred or worsened in severity after baseline and on or prior to the date of the last visit within the treatment period.

    Time frame: Week 0 to Week 24

Secondary outcomes

  1. PsO With no Active PsA: Percentage of Participants With PsO Achieving ≥75% Improvement From Baseline in Psoriasis Area and Severity Index (PASI-75) at Week 12

    Participants achieving a PASI-75 without the use of other background antipsoriasis therapy were considered responders. The PASI quantifies the severity of a psoriasis based on lesion severity and the percent of body surface area (BSA) affected. Erythema, thickness, and scaling are scored on a scale of 0 (none) to 4 (very severe) on 4 anatomic regions of the body: head, trunk, upper limbs, and lower limbs. Degree of involvement on each of the 4 anatomic regions is scored on a scale of 0 (no involvement) to 6 (90% to 100% involvement). The sum of severity scores for erythema, thickness, and scaling is multiplied by the degree of involvement for each anatomic region and then multiplied by a constant corresponding to the region's percent BSA (0.1, 0.3, 0.2, and 0.4 for the above 4 regions, respectively). The resultant score for each anatomic region is then summed to yield the final PASI score. It ranges from 0 to 72, with higher scores reflecting greater disease severity.

    Time frame: Week 12

  2. PsO With no Active PsA: Percentage of PsO Participants With a Static Physician Global Assessment (sPGA) Score of 0 (Clear) or 1 (Minimal)

    The sPGA is an assessment by the physician to determine participant's overall psoriatic lesions, at a given time point. For the analysis of responses, the participant's psoriasis indication is assessed on a 5-point scale as: 0 (clear), 1 (minimal), 2 (mild), 3 (moderate), 4 (severe) incorporating an assessment of the severity of the three primary signs of the disease: induration, erythema, and degree of scaling. The investigator examines all of the lesions on the participant and assigns a score ranging from 0 to 5 for induration, erythema and degree of scaling. Scores for induration, erythema and scaling are then summed, and the mean of these 3 scores produces the overall sPGA score. Participants with an sPGA score of 0 (clear) or 1 (minimal) were considered responders and are reported here.

    Time frame: Week 12

  3. Active PsA: Percentage of Active Psoriatic Arthritis Participants Who Achieved 20% Improvement From Baseline in American College of Rheumatology 20 (ACR20) at Week 24

    The ACR 20 is defined as: * 20% improvement from baseline in both tender joint count (68 counts) and swollen joint count (66 counts) * 20% improvements improvement in at least three of the following five items: Patient's global assessment of arthritis pain (measured on a 100-mm visual analog scale \[VAS\]); Patient's global assessment of disease activity (measured on a 100-mm VAS); Physician's global assessment of disease activity (measured on a 100-mm VAS); Patient's assessment of physical function as measured by the Health Assessment Questionnaire - Disability Index (HAQ-DI); Acute-phase reactant as measured by high-sensitivity C-reactive protein (hs-CRP) assay.

    Time frame: Week 24

07

Results

Posted Aug 22, 2025

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneIxekizumab - PsO With no Active PsAIxekizumab - Active PsA
Started150100
Received at least one dose of study drug150100
Q2w/q4w ixekizumab dosing regimen15059
Q4w ixekizumab dosing regimen041
Completed14194
Not completed96
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject75
Withdrew: Lost to follow-up21

Outcome measures

PrimaryNumber of Participants Reporting Serious Adverse Events (SAEs), and Treatment Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) and AEs of Special Interests (AESIs) From Week 0 to Week 24

* An SAE is defined as any untoward medical occurrence that, at any dose, meets one or more of the criteria listed: results in death, is life-threatening, requires inpatient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization, results in persistent disability/incapacity, is a congenital anomaly/birth defect. * TEAE is defined as an event that first occurred or worsened in severity after baseline and on or prior to the date of the last visit within the treatment period.

Time frame:
Week 0 to Week 24
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants Reporting Serious Adverse Events (SAEs), and Treatment Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) and AEs of Special Interests (AESIs) From Week 0 to Week 24
ParticipantsQ2W/Q4W Ixekizumab Dosing RegimenQ4W Ixekizumab Dosing Regimen
SAEs10
TEAEs608
AESIs396
SecondaryPsO With no Active PsA: Percentage of Participants With PsO Achieving ≥75% Improvement From Baseline in Psoriasis Area and Severity Index (PASI-75) at Week 12

Participants achieving a PASI-75 without the use of other background antipsoriasis therapy were considered responders. The PASI quantifies the severity of a psoriasis based on lesion severity and the percent of body surface area (BSA) affected. Erythema, thickness, and scaling are scored on a scale of 0 (none) to 4 (very severe) on 4 anatomic regions of the body: head, trunk, upper limbs, and lower limbs. Degree of involvement on each of the 4 anatomic regions is scored on a scale of 0 (no involvement) to 6 (90% to 100% involvement). The sum of severity scores for erythema, thickness, and scaling is multiplied by the degree of involvement for each anatomic region and then multiplied by a constant corresponding to the region's percent BSA (0.1, 0.3, 0.2, and 0.4 for the above 4 regions, respectively). The resultant score for each anatomic region is then summed to yield the final PASI score. It ranges from 0 to 72, with higher scores reflecting greater disease severity.

Time frame:
Week 12
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participant
PsO With no Active PsA: Percentage of Participants With PsO Achieving ≥75% Improvement From Baseline in Psoriasis Area and Severity Index (PASI-75) at Week 12
percentage of participantIxekizumab - PsO With no Active PsA
PsO With no Active PsA: Percentage of Participants With PsO Achieving ≥75% Improvement From Baseline in Psoriasis Area and Severity Index (PASI-75) at Week 1286.0
SecondaryPsO With no Active PsA: Percentage of PsO Participants With a Static Physician Global Assessment (sPGA) Score of 0 (Clear) or 1 (Minimal)

The sPGA is an assessment by the physician to determine participant's overall psoriatic lesions, at a given time point. For the analysis of responses, the participant's psoriasis indication is assessed on a 5-point scale as: 0 (clear), 1 (minimal), 2 (mild), 3 (moderate), 4 (severe) incorporating an assessment of the severity of the three primary signs of the disease: induration, erythema, and degree of scaling. The investigator examines all of the lesions on the participant and assigns a score ranging from 0 to 5 for induration, erythema and degree of scaling. Scores for induration, erythema and scaling are then summed, and the mean of these 3 scores produces the overall sPGA score. Participants with an sPGA score of 0 (clear) or 1 (minimal) were considered responders and are reported here.

Time frame:
Week 12
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
PsO With no Active PsA: Percentage of PsO Participants With a Static Physician Global Assessment (sPGA) Score of 0 (Clear) or 1 (Minimal)
percentage of participantsIxekizumab - PsO With no Active PsA
PsO With no Active PsA: Percentage of PsO Participants With a Static Physician Global Assessment (sPGA) Score of 0 (Clear) or 1 (Minimal)65.3
SecondaryActive PsA: Percentage of Active Psoriatic Arthritis Participants Who Achieved 20% Improvement From Baseline in American College of Rheumatology 20 (ACR20) at Week 24

The ACR 20 is defined as: * 20% improvement from baseline in both tender joint count (68 counts) and swollen joint count (66 counts) * 20% improvements improvement in at least three of the following five items: Patient's global assessment of arthritis pain (measured on a 100-mm visual analog scale \[VAS\]); Patient's global assessment of disease activity (measured on a 100-mm VAS); Physician's global assessment of disease activity (measured on a 100-mm VAS); Patient's assessment of physical function as measured by the Health Assessment Questionnaire - Disability Index (HAQ-DI); Acute-phase reactant as measured by high-sensitivity C-reactive protein (hs-CRP) assay.

Time frame:
Week 24
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
Active PsA: Percentage of Active Psoriatic Arthritis Participants Who Achieved 20% Improvement From Baseline in American College of Rheumatology 20 (ACR20) at Week 24
percentage of participantsIxekizumab - Active PsA
Active PsA: Percentage of Active Psoriatic Arthritis Participants Who Achieved 20% Improvement From Baseline in American College of Rheumatology 20 (ACR20) at Week 2484.0

Adverse events

Collected over Week 0 up to 36 Weeks. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Q2W/Q4W Ixekizumab Dosing Regimen0/209 (0%)1/209 (0.5%)66/209 (31.6%)
Q4W Ixekizumab Dosing Regimen0/41 (0%)0/41 (0%)9/41 (22%)
Most frequent serious events
Most frequent serious events
EventQ2W/Q4W Ixekizumab Dosing RegimenQ4W Ixekizumab Dosing Regimen
Gastroenteritis viralInfections and infestations1/2090/41
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 42
Most frequent other events
EventQ2W/Q4W Ixekizumab Dosing RegimenQ4W Ixekizumab Dosing Regimen
Latent tuberculosisInfections and infestations18/2094/41
PyrexiaGeneral disorders18/2091/41
Urinary tract infectionInfections and infestations0/2092/41
Injection site erythemaGeneral disorders4/2091/41
PainGeneral disorders0/2091/41
NasopharyngitisInfections and infestations3/2091/41
Upper respiratory tract infectionInfections and infestations2/2091/41
C-reactive protein increasedInvestigations0/2091/41
CoughRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders1/2091/41
Tinea crurisInfections and infestations3/2090/41

Baseline characteristics

All enrolled participants who received at least one dose of study treatment.

Age, Categorical
Age, Categorical(Participants)Ixekizumab - PsO With no Active PsAIxekizumab - Active PsATotal
<=18 years000
Between 18 and 65 years14192233
>=65 years9817
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Ixekizumab - PsO With no Active PsAIxekizumab - Active PsATotal
Female283361
Male12267189
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Ixekizumab - PsO With no Active PsAIxekizumab - Active PsATotal
Hispanic or Latino000
Not Hispanic or Latino82028
Unknown or Not Reported14280222
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Ixekizumab - PsO With no Active PsAIxekizumab - Active PsATotal
American Indian or Alaska Native000
Asian150100250
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander000
Black or African American000
White000
More than one race000
Unknown or Not Reported000
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(Participants)Ixekizumab - PsO With no Active PsAIxekizumab - Active PsATotal
India150100250
08

Study locations

14 sites
  • King George Hospital
    Vizag, Andhra Pradesh 530002, India
  • All India Institute of Medical Sciences
    Raipur, Chhattisgarh 492099, India
  • V.S. General Hospital
    Ahmedabad, Gujarat 380006, India
  • Amber Clinic
    Ahmedabad, Gujarat 380015, India
  • B. J. Medical College & Civil Hospital
    Ahmedabad, Gujarat 380016, India
  • GMERS Medical College & Hospital
    Ahmedabad, Gujarat 380060, India
  • Tristar Hospital
    Surat, Gujarat 395001, India
  • Father Muller Medical College Hospital
    Mangalore, Karnataka 575002, India
  • Dr. D. Y. Patil Medical College & Hospital
    Navi Mumbai, Maharashtra 400706, India
  • Grant Medical Foundation - Ruby Hall Clinic
    Pune, Maharashtra 411001, India
  • Oyster & Pearl Hospitals (Phadnis Clinic Pvt. Ltd.)
    Pune, Maharashtra 411005, India
  • Postgraduate Institute of Medical Education & Research
    Chandigarh, Punjab 160012, India
  • Wizderm Specialty Skin And Hair Clinic
    Kolkata, West Bengal 700017, India
  • Medical College & Hospital
    Kolkata, West Bengal 700073, India
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Study protocol · Feb 14, 2023
  • Statistical analysis plan · Nov 18, 2024

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: Yes — Anonymized individual patient level data will be provided in a secure access environment upon approval of a research proposal and a signed data sharing agreement.

Supporting information: Study protocol, Sap, Csr

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Aug 22, 2025, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT05855967
Lead sponsor
Eli Lilly and Company
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
May 12, 2023
Start date
Jun 27, 2023
Primary completion
Aug 8, 2024
Completion
Sep 23, 2024
Results posted
Aug 22, 2025
Last update
Aug 22, 2025

Study contacts

Call 1-877-CTLILLY (1-877-285-4559) or 1-317-615-4559 Mon - Fri 9 AM - 5 PM Eastern time (UTC/GMT - 5 hours, EST)
study director · Eli Lilly and Company

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Aug 2025. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion