An interventional study of RD-X19 and Sham in COVID-19, sponsored by EmitBio Inc.. Completed at 48 sites in United States. Open to participants aged 40 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2024-10-24.
Sponsored by EmitBio Inc. · Not applicable, Interventional, and Treatment
This is a randomized, double-blind, sham controlled, stratified, pivotal efficacy and safety study of the EmitBio RD-X19 treatment device in Individuals 40 Years of age and older with Mild COVID-19 in the at-home setting.
This is a randomized, double-blind, sham controlled, stratified, pivotal efficacy and safety study of the EmitBio RD-X19 device in individuals age 40 and older with mild COVID-19 (as defined by NIH and FDA) in the at-home setting. Study subjects will self-administer treatment twice daily, 5 minutes per treatment for 7 consecutive days. Subjects will remain on study for a total of 14 study days (± 2 days) for treatment and follow-up. Neither study subject nor clinical trial personnel will be aware of the subject's treatment assignment. Clinical safety and efficacy outcomes will be assessed via self-assessed signs and symptoms (e-diary entries twice a day during the entire study period) with daily study staff checks, including home visits, and/or clinic visits for objective clinical assessments (vital signs, targeted physical exams, oropharyngeal exams) on study days 1, 5, 8 and 14.
The primary goal of the study is to evaluate the safety and efficacy of the RD-X19 treatment device to provide sufficient evidence to FDA to justify the authorization and/or approval of the device for treatment of subjects with mild COVID-19, age 40 and older in the home setting. Every attempt will be made to continue to follow safety in any study subject choosing to terminate the study early and all study subjects who progress to moderate or more severe forms of COVID-19 will be immediately referred for appropriate medical care. Medically necessary care of study participants will always take precedence over research.
7,774 studies on the registry are indexed under COVID-19; 482 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 330 is above the median of 100 across 4,175 interventional studies indexed under COVID-19.
Browse COVID-19 studies →EmitBio Inc. is the lead sponsor of 5 studies on the registry; none are open to participants now.
Of its 5 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 4 (80%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Go through the criteria one by one — yes, no or not sure — and take the list to your doctor or the study team. Kept in this browser only.
Exclusion Criteria:
RD-X19 Active Device Investigational device that uses 32 J/cm2 of electromagnetic energy to target the oropharynx.
Device: RD-X19
RD-X19 Sham Device Investigational device that uses safe electromagnetic energy to target the oropharynx but at energy levels with a lower inactivation potential against SARS-CoV2 in vitro.
Device: Sham
Investigational device that uses safe electromagnetic energy to target the oropharynx.
Investigational device that uses safe electromagnetic energy to target the oropharynx but at energy levels with a lower inactivation potential against SARS-CoV-2 in vitro.
Number of Subjects With Sustained Resolution of COVID-19 Signs and Symptoms Without Subsequent Symptom Recurrence or Disease Progression (Until the End of the Study)
Each of eight symptoms (cough, sore throat, nasal congestion, headache, chills and or sweats, myalgia, fatigue, and nausea (with or without vomiting)) will be rated on a 4-point scale from none (0) to severe (3). Time to sustained resolution of COVID-19 signs and symptoms as measured by the time (in hours) when all eight symptoms have been assessed by the subject as none (0) or mild (1) and all symptoms remain at or below 1 until study Day 14. Subjects that are hospitalized will be censored at 360 hours, which corresponds to the end of the time window for the day 14. A subject not satisfying case (i) or (ii), who takes nirmatrelvir/ritonavir or molnupiravir after initiating study treatment will be censored at the time that they first took this antiviral medication. Subjects not satisfying case (i), (ii), or (iii) will be censored at the last time that they have e-diary data recorded.
Time frame: Baseline through Day 14
Kaplan-Meier Estimates for Time to Sustained Resolution of COVID-19 Signs and Symptoms Without Subsequent Symptom Recurrence or Disease Progression (Until the End of the Study) Full Analysis Set (FAS)
Each of eight symptoms (cough, sore throat, nasal congestion, headache, chills and or sweats, myalgia, fatigue, and nausea (with or without vomiting)) will be rated on a 4-point scale from none (0) to severe (3). Time to sustained resolution of COVID-19 signs and symptoms as measured by the time (in hours) when all eight symptoms have been assessed by the subject as none (0) or mild (1) and all symptoms remain at or below 1 until study Day 14. Subjects that are hospitalized will be censored at 360 hours, which corresponds to the end of the time window for the day 14 visit. A subject not satisfying case (i) or (ii), who takes nirmatrelvir/ritonavir or molnupiravir after initiating study treatment will be censored at the time that they first took this antiviral medication. Subjects not satisfying case (i), (ii), or (iii) will be censored at the last time that they have e-diary data recorded.
Time frame: Baseline through Day 14
Number of Subjects With Two Negative SARS-CoV-2 Antigen Tests (With a Minimum Time Between Tests of Six Hours) Without Subsequent Virological Rebound During the Subject's Remaining Time on Study
Number of subjects with two negative SARS-CoV-2 antigen tests (with a minimum time between tests of six hours) without subsequent virological rebound during the subject's remaining time on study. Subjects that are hospitalized will be censored at 360 hours, which corresponds to the end of the time window for the day 14 visit. A subject not satisfying case (i) or (ii), who takes nirmatrelvir/ritonavir or molnupiravir after initiating study treatment will be censored at the time that they first took this antiviral medication. Subjects not satisfying case (i), (ii), or (iii) will be censored at the last time that they have e-diary data recorded
Time frame: Baseline through Day 14
Kaplan-Meier Estimates Time to First of Two Negative SARS-CoV-2 Antigen Tests
time to first of two negative SARS-CoV-2 antigen tests (with a minimum time between tests of six hours) without subsequent virologic rebound (during the subject's remaining time on study) Full Analysis Set (FAS)
Time frame: Baseline through Day 14
Secondary Qualitative Measures: COVID-19-related Assessment at Baseline, Day 5, 8 and 14/ET Visits (Full Analysis Set)
The following are secondary qualitative measures (each taking the values yes, no) recorded at the post-baseline clinic visits for COVID-related assessment: In the past 24 hours, have you returned to your usual health (before your COVID-19 illness)? In the past 24 hours, have you returned to your usual activities (before your COVID-19 illness)?
Time frame: Baseline, Day 5, Day 8, and Day 14 or Early Termination Visit
| Milestone | Active | Sham |
|---|---|---|
| Started | 162 | 168 |
| Completed | 147 | 157 |
| Not completed | 15 | 11 |
| Withdrew: Protocol violation | 0 | 3 |
| Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject | 10 | 7 |
| Withdrew: Physician decision | 3 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Lost to follow-up | 0 | 1 |
| Withdrew: Device deficiency | 1 | 0 |
| Withdrew: System error | 1 | 0 |
Each of eight symptoms (cough, sore throat, nasal congestion, headache, chills and or sweats, myalgia, fatigue, and nausea (with or without vomiting)) will be rated on a 4-point scale from none (0) to severe (3). Time to sustained resolution of COVID-19 signs and symptoms as measured by the time (in hours) when all eight symptoms have been assessed by the subject as none (0) or mild (1) and all symptoms remain at or below 1 until study Day 14. Subjects that are hospitalized will be censored at 360 hours, which corresponds to the end of the time window for the day 14. A subject not satisfying case (i) or (ii), who takes nirmatrelvir/ritonavir or molnupiravir after initiating study treatment will be censored at the time that they first took this antiviral medication. Subjects not satisfying case (i), (ii), or (iii) will be censored at the last time that they have e-diary data recorded.
| Participants | Active | Sham |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Subjects With Sustained Resolution of COVID-19 Signs and Symptoms Without Subsequent Symptom Recurrence or Disease Progression (Until the End of the Study) | 107 | 120 |
Each of eight symptoms (cough, sore throat, nasal congestion, headache, chills and or sweats, myalgia, fatigue, and nausea (with or without vomiting)) will be rated on a 4-point scale from none (0) to severe (3). Time to sustained resolution of COVID-19 signs and symptoms as measured by the time (in hours) when all eight symptoms have been assessed by the subject as none (0) or mild (1) and all symptoms remain at or below 1 until study Day 14. Subjects that are hospitalized will be censored at 360 hours, which corresponds to the end of the time window for the day 14 visit. A subject not satisfying case (i) or (ii), who takes nirmatrelvir/ritonavir or molnupiravir after initiating study treatment will be censored at the time that they first took this antiviral medication. Subjects not satisfying case (i), (ii), or (iii) will be censored at the last time that they have e-diary data recorded.
| hours | Active | Sham |
|---|---|---|
| 25th percentile for time to sustained resolution | 44.22 (26.628 to 64.440) | 62.49 (41.338 to 70.551) |
| Median time to sustained resolution | 100.36 (80.264 to 137.830) | 113.39 (89.617 to 140.690) |
| 75th percentile for time to sustained resolution | NA (209.970 to NA) | 261.35 (205.188 to NA) |
Number of subjects with two negative SARS-CoV-2 antigen tests (with a minimum time between tests of six hours) without subsequent virological rebound during the subject's remaining time on study. Subjects that are hospitalized will be censored at 360 hours, which corresponds to the end of the time window for the day 14 visit. A subject not satisfying case (i) or (ii), who takes nirmatrelvir/ritonavir or molnupiravir after initiating study treatment will be censored at the time that they first took this antiviral medication. Subjects not satisfying case (i), (ii), or (iii) will be censored at the last time that they have e-diary data recorded
| Participants | Active | Sham |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Subjects With Two Negative SARS-CoV-2 Antigen Tests (With a Minimum Time Between Tests of Six Hours) Without Subsequent Virological Rebound During the Subject's Remaining Time on Study | 146 | 157 |
time to first of two negative SARS-CoV-2 antigen tests (with a minimum time between tests of six hours) without subsequent virologic rebound (during the subject's remaining time on study) Full Analysis Set (FAS)
| hours | Active | Sham |
|---|---|---|
| 25th percentile for time to first of two negative SARS-CoV-2 tests | 47.02 (41.241 to 60.457) | 52.89 (40.966 to 66.051) |
| Median time to first of two negative SARS-CoV-2 tests | 74.58 (70.741 to 87.604) | 87.97 (75.473 to 96.581) |
| 75th percentile for time to first of two negative SARS-CoV-2 tests | 111.18 (100.228 to 121.916) | 133.42 (114.496 to 144.960) |
The following are secondary qualitative measures (each taking the values yes, no) recorded at the post-baseline clinic visits for COVID-related assessment: In the past 24 hours, have you returned to your usual health (before your COVID-19 illness)? In the past 24 hours, have you returned to your usual activities (before your COVID-19 illness)?
| Participants | Active | Sham |
|---|---|---|
| Returned to usual health in past 24 hours (Day 5 visit) — Yes | 48 | 48 |
| Returned to usual health in past 24 hours (Day 5 visit) — No | 96 | 108 |
| Returned to usual health in past 24 hours (Day 5 visit) — Missing | 1 | 2 |
| Returned to usual health in past 24 hours (Day 8 visit) — Yes | 97 | 100 |
| Returned to usual health in past 24 hours (Day 8 visit) — No | 46 | 54 |
| Returned to usual health in past 24 hours (Day 8 visit) — Missing | 4 | 4 |
| Returned to usual health in past 24 hours (Day 14/ET visit) — Yes | 129 | 132 |
| Returned to usual health in past 24 hours (Day 14/ET visit) — No | 23 | 22 |
| Returned to usual health in past 24 hours (Day 14/ET visit) — Missing | 2 | 4 |
| Returned to usual activities in past 24 hours (Day 5 visit) — Yes | 67 | 71 |
| Returned to usual activities in past 24 hours (Day 5 visit) — No | 77 | 85 |
| Returned to usual activities in past 24 hours (Day 5 visit) — Missing | 1 | 2 |
| Returned to usual activities in past 24 hours (Day 8 visit) — Yes | 115 | 115 |
| Returned to usual activities in past 24 hours (Day 8 visit) — No | 28 | 38 |
| Returned to usual activities in past 24 hours (Day 8 visit) — Missing | 4 | 5 |
| Returned to usual activities in past 24 hours (Day 14/ET visit) — Yes | 137 | 138 |
| Returned to usual activities in past 24 hours (Day 14/ET visit) — No | 15 | 16 |
| Returned to usual activities in past 24 hours (Day 14/ET visit) — Missing | 2 | 4 |
Collected over 14 days. Non-serious events are listed at a 1% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Active | 0/158 (0%) | 0/158 (0%) | 18/158 (11.4%) |
| Sham | 0/162 (0%) | 0/162 (0%) | 12/162 (7.4%) |
| Event | Active | Sham |
|---|---|---|
| HeadacheNervous system disorders | 4/158 | 1/162 |
| Oropharyngeal PainRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 3/158 | 2/162 |
| Dry MouthGastrointestinal disorders | 3/158 | 1/162 |
| CoughRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 3/158 | 1/162 |
| ErythemaSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders | 3/158 | 1/162 |
| NauseaGastrointestinal disorders | 1/158 | 3/162 |
| PharyngitisInfections and infestations | 1/158 | 3/162 |
Full Analysis Set (FAS): The Full Analysis Set (FAS) will consist of the set of randomized subjects, excluding: (i) subjects who were mis-randomized; and (ii) subject IDs corresponding to study participants that were re-randomized under a different subject ID.
| Age, Continuous(years) | Active | Sham | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 54.39 ± 8.793 | 55.56 ± 10.180 | 54.98 ± 9.526 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Active | Sham | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 99 | 105 | 204 |
| Male | 62 | 61 | 123 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Active | Sham | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 45 | 53 | 98 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 112 | 112 | 224 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 4 | 1 | 5 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Active | Sham | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 2 | 1 | 3 |
| Asian | 7 | 10 | 17 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 | 2 | 2 |
| Black or African American | 38 | 34 | 72 |
| White | 112 | 117 | 229 |
| More than one race | 2 | 2 | 4 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Region of Enrollment(participants) | Active | Sham | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| United States | 161 | 166 | 327 |
| Body Mass Index (BMI)(Kg/m^2) | Active | Sham | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 28.9498 ± 5.01187 | 29.5443 ± 4.92951 | 29.2525 ± 4.97137 |
| Total Baseline Disease Severity Score(units on a scale) | Active | Sham | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 1.4977 ± 0.46739 | 1.4571 ± 0.45741 | 1.4771 ± 0.46209 |
| COVID-19 vaccination status(Participants) | Active | Sham | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Yes | 122 | 118 | 240 |
| No | 38 | 45 | 83 |
| Missing | 1 | 3 | 4 |
5 further baseline measures are reported on the registry.
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
Plan to share: No
Ran from Apr 2023 to primary completion in Jun 2024, 13 months.
Results were first posted in Oct 2024, 4 months after primary completion.
Of 130 industry-sponsored interventional studies with no phase under COVID-19, half reached primary completion within 5 months of starting (the median), counting those still running; a quarter within 2 and three quarters within 11. This study's 13 months is above that.
Counting every sponsor, half of 1,425 studies reached it within 9 months; a quarter within 3 and three quarters within 19.
How these figures are worked out, and which studies are left out of them.
This study is completed, as verified in Oct 2024. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
EmitBio Inc.