CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT05656911DamaskUpdated Feb 18, 2025Results posted

A Study to Learn How Well the Study Treatment Zabedosertib (BAY1834845) Works and How Safe it is Compared to Placebo in Adult Participants With Moderate-to-severe Atopic Dermatitis

A Phase 2 interventional study of Zabedosertib (BAY1834845) and Placebo to zabedosertib (BAY1834845) in Atopic Dermatitis, sponsored by Bayer. Completed at 22 sites in 7 countries. Open to participants aged 18 Years to 65 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2025-02-18.

Sponsored by Bayer · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
77
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
18 Years to 65 Years
Sex
All
01

Study summary

Researchers are looking for a better way to treat atopic dermatitis (AD), an often long-lasting inflammation of the skin. Atopic dermatitis, also called eczema, is causing patches of skin to become swollen, red, cracked, and itchy.

The immune system helps protect the body from diseases. But sometimes the immune system can be too sensitive and overreact. This may then lead to allergies but also to skin conditions like atopic dermatitis.

The study treatment zabedosertib (BAY1834845) is currently under development for the treatment of atopic dermatitis and other inflammatory diseases. It works by reducing the activity of a protein called IRAK4. IRAK4 promotes the production and activation of a series of proteins that trigger inflammation reactions in the immune cells. By reducing the activity of IRAK4, the inflammation reactions are expected to be reduced.

The main purpose of the study is to learn how well zabedosertib works compared to placebo. A placebo is a treatment that looks like a medicine but does not have any medicine in it. How well it works means to find out the efficacy of zabedosertib. To answer this, the researchers will compare how many participants had 75% EASI score reduction after 12 weeks treatment between participants treated with zabedosertib and those treated with placebo. EASI represents Eczema Area and Severity Index (EASI). It is a tool for measuring the amount and severity of atopic dermatitis that a patient has on his or her body. The score ranges from 0-72, with 0 meaning clear skin and 72 meaning severe atopic dermatitis. In addition, the itch of the study participants and other tools for measuring the severity of atopic dermatitis will be assessed.

The secondary purpose of the study is to learn how safe it is compared to placebo. To know this, study team will compare how many participants having adverse events after taking study treatment between participants treated with zabedosertib and those treated with placebo.

In the study, participants will be randomly (by chance) assigned to receive zabedosertib or placebo. The participants from both treatment groups will take zabedosertib or placebo for up to 12 weeks.

The study consists of an up to 28-day screening period (Visits 1 and 2), a 12-week treatment period consisting of 5 visits (Visits 3 to 7), and a 4-week follow-up visits (Visits 8). Thus, the total study duration per participant will be 17 to 20 weeks (approximately 140 days).

During the study, the study team will:

  • take blood and urine samples
  • take skin samples (not obligatory for all patients)
  • check the participants' disease area for assessment
  • provide participants device to record their disease status and to take pictures on their disease areas
  • have participants complete self-reported questionnaires
  • do physical examinations
  • examine heart health using ECG
  • check vital signs
  • ask the participants questions about how they are feeling and what events they are having.

An adverse event is any problem that a participant has during a study. Doctors keep track of all adverse events that happen in studies, even if they do not think the adverse events might be related to the study treatments.

At 28 days after the participants take their last treatment, the study team will check if participants have any events that might be related to the study treatment. This will be the last visit for the study.

02

Conditions studied

03

In context

Dermatitis, Atopic

1,419 studies on the registry are indexed under Dermatitis, Atopic; 258 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 77 is close to the median of 83 across 1,125 interventional studies indexed under Dermatitis, Atopic.

Browse Dermatitis, Atopic studies →

Lead sponsor

Bayer is the lead sponsor of 1,643 studies on the registry; 57 are open to participants now.

Of its 209 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 129 (62%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years to 65 Years
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • 18 to 65 years of age inclusive, at the time of signing the informed consent.
  • Diagnosis of atopic dermatitis (AD) for ≥ 1 year at the screening visit.
  • Moderate-to-severe AD at randomization visit as defined by

    • Eczema Area and Severity Index (EASI) score ≥ 16,
    • Body surface area (BSA) affected by AD ≥ 10%,
    • Validated Investigator Global Assessment for Atopic Dermatitis (vIGA-AD) score ≥ 3, and
    • Peak Pruritus 0-10 numerical rating scale (NRS) ≥ 4 (average score of the daily scores of the 7 days before randomization, with ≥ 4 scores required).
  • Documented history (within 6 months prior to the first screening visit) of inadequate response to treatment with topical corticosteroids (TCS), or if TCS are medically not advisable (e.g., due to important side effects or safety risks).
  • Stable amount of emollient applied to skin over the whole body twice daily for at least the 7 consecutive days before the randomization visit
  • Body mass index (BMI) within the range of 18.5 to 35.0 kg/m\^2 (inclusive) at screening (Visit 1) and randomization visits.
  • Women of childbearing potential and male subjects able to father children must agree to use adequate contraception when sexually active.

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • History of any major surgery within 8 weeks prior to screening or scheduled (elective) surgery, planned hospitalization and/or planned dental treatment during the study that could constitute a risk when participating in a study.
  • Severe invasive infections in medical history and/or active clinically significant viral, bacterial, fungal, or parasitic infection (systemic or severe skin infection) ≤ 3 months prior to the randomization visit.
  • A presence of uncontrolled condition including cardiovascular, respiratory, hepatic renal, gastrointestinal, endocrine, hematological, neurological, or neuropsychiatric disorders or any other unstable illness that, in the opinion of the investigator, could constitute a risk when taking investigational product, study conduct or could interfere with the interpretation of data.
  • Known immunodeficiency disorder or immunocompromised state or, in the opinion of the investigator, unacceptable risk for participating in the study.
  • Use of topical treatments for AD within 7 days before the randomization visit.
  • Systemic immunosuppressive/ immunomodulating therapy or phototherapy within 4 weeks before the randomization visit.
  • Therapy with biologic drugs within 5 half-lives of the biologic drug
  • Known hypersensitivity to the study drug
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
Quadruple (Participant, Care provider, Investigator, Outcomes assessor)
Enrollment
77 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Zabedosertib

    Participants will receive zabedosertib for up to 12 weeks (84 days).

    Drug: Zabedosertib (BAY1834845)

  • Placebo comparator
    Matching placebo to zabedosertib

    Participants will receive placebo to zabedosertib for up to 12 weeks (84 days).

    Drug: Placebo to zabedosertib (BAY1834845)

Interventions

  • DrugZabedosertib (BAY1834845)

    Oral administration, two times a day

  • DrugPlacebo to zabedosertib (BAY1834845)

    Oral administration, two times a day

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Achievement of 75% Reduction From Baseline in the Eczema Area and Severity Index (EASI 75 Response) at Week 12 (Day 84)

    The endpoint was the composite variable defined as follows: - an EASI 75 response at Week 12 (Day 84), - no stop of study intervention for reasons related to lack of efficacy, - no rescue medication use during the 4 weeks before Day 84 and - no use of systemic atopic dermatitis (AD) treatment. The main estimand was the difference in the proportion of responders between treatment groups in adults with moderate-to-severe atopic dermatitis where use of topical rescue medication from Day 56 (Visit 6) onwards, use of systemic standard of care for AD and discontinuation of treatment due to lack of efficacy are handled as non-response (composite strategy). The estimand was regardless of use of rescue medication before Day 56 (Visit 6), regardless of non-compliance with emollients, and had treatment not been discontinued due to other reasons not related to lack of efficacy. Bayesian analysis according to estimand is presented.

    Time frame: Week 12 (Day 84)

Secondary outcomes

  1. Percent Change From Baseline in EASI at Week 12 (Day 84)

    The EASI is a ClinRO assessing the extent of AD at four body regions by measuring the average severity of four clinical signs at each body region, each on a scale of 0 to 3. The minimum EASI score is 0 and the maximum EASI score is 72, with a higher score indicating worse severity of AD. The main estimand was based on the same strategies to address intercurrent events as described above for the primary endpoint. The mean difference between the treatment arms was used as summary measure.

    Time frame: Baseline and Week 12 (Day 84)

  2. Achievement of EASI 50 Response at Week 12 (Day 84)

    The EASI is a ClinRO assessing the extent of AD at four body regions by measuring the average severity of four clinical signs at each body region, each on a scale of 0 to 3. The minimum EASI score is 0 and the maximum EASI score is 72, with a higher score indicating worse severity of AD. EASI 50 corresponds to the achievement of 50% reduction from baseline in EASI. The main estimand was calculated similarly as for EASI 75. Bayesian analysis according to estimand is presented.

    Time frame: Week 12 (Day 84)

  3. Achievement of EASI 90 Response at Week 12 (Day 84)

    The EASI is a ClinRO assessing the extent of AD at four body regions by measuring the average severity of four clinical signs at each body region, each on a scale of 0 to 3. The minimum EASI score is 0 and the maximum EASI score is 72, with a higher score indicating worse severity of AD. EASI 90 corresponds to the achievement of 90% reduction from baseline in EASI. The main estimand was calculated similarly as for EASI 75. Bayesian analysis according to estimand is presented.

    Time frame: Week 12 (Day 84)

  4. Achievement of a vIGA-AD Response (Score 0 or 1 and ≥ 2 Points Improvement) at Week 12 (Day 84)

    vIGA-AD stands for validated Investigator Global Assessment for Atopic Dermatitis. The vIGA-AD is a 1-item static ClinRO using a 5-point scale from 0 (clear) to 4 (severe) based on 4 clinical features of AD lesions: erythema, induration/papulation, lichenification, and oozing/crusting, and takes extent of disease into account. The main estimand was calculated similarly as for EASI 75. Bayesian analysis according to estimand is presented.

    Time frame: Week 12 (Day 84)

  5. Absolute Change From Baseline in Body Surface Area (BSA) Affected by Atopic Dermatitis (AD) at Week 12 (Day 84)

    BSA affected by AD was assessed for each section of the body, e.g. using the rule of nines. The possible highest score for each region is: Head and neck - 9%; Anterior trunk - 18%; Back - 18%; Upper limbs - 18%; Lower limbs - 36%; Genitals - 1%. Affected BSA was reported as a percentage of all major body sections combined. The main estimand was based on the same strategies to address intercurrent events as described above for the primary endpoint. The mean difference between the treatment arms was used as summary measure.

    Time frame: Baseline and Week 12 (Day 84)

  6. Achievement of a ≥ 4 Point-improvement (Reduction) in the Weekly Average of the Peak Pruritus 0-10 NRS Score From Baseline to Week 12 (Day 84) for Participants With Peak Pruritus 0-10 NRS Score ≥ 4 at Baseline

    NRS stands for numerical rating scale. The Peak Pruritus 0-10 NRS is a single patient-reported item designed to measure peak pruritus (itch), or 'worst' itch, over the previous 24 h based on the following question: 'On a scale of 0 to 10, with 0 being "no itch" and 10 being "worst itch imaginable", how would you rate your itch at the worst moment during the previous 24 hours?'. ≥ 4 points reduction of the Peak Pruritus 0-10 NRS is considered a clinically relevant within-person response. NRS was assessed on a daily basis and the average over the last 7 days before the visit day was used for analysis. The main estimand was calculated similarly as for EASI 75. Bayesian analysis according to estimand is presented.

    Time frame: Baseline and Week 12 (Day 84)

  7. Absolute Values of Weekly Average of the Peak Pruritus 0-10 Numerical Rating Scale (NRS) Score at Week 12 (Day 84)

    The Peak Pruritus 0-10 NRS is a single patient-reported item designed to measure peak pruritus (itch), or 'worst' itch, over the previous 24 h based on the following question: 'On a scale of 0 to 10, with 0 being "no itch" and 10 being "worst itch imaginable", how would you rate your itch at the worst moment during the previous 24 hours?'. ≥ 4 points reduction of the Peak Pruritus 0-10 NRS is considered a clinically relevant within-person response. NRS was assessed on a daily basis and the average over the last 7 days before the visit day was used for analysis. The main estimand was based on the same strategies to address intercurrent events as described above for the primary endpoint.

    Time frame: Week 12 (Day 84)

  8. Percent Change of Weekly Average of the Peak Pruritus 0-10 NRS Score From Baseline at Week 12 (Day 84)

    The Peak Pruritus 0-10 NRS is a single patient-reported item designed to measure peak pruritus (itch), or 'worst' itch, over the previous 24 h based on the following question: 'On a scale of 0 to 10, with 0 being "no itch" and 10 being "worst itch imaginable", how would you rate your itch at the worst moment during the previous 24 hours?'. ≥ 4 points reduction of the Peak Pruritus 0-10 NRS is considered a clinically relevant within-person response. NRS was assessed on a daily basis and the average over the last 7 days before the visit day was used for analysis. The main estimand was based on the same strategies to address intercurrent events as described above for the primary endpoint. ANCOVA analysis according to estimand is presented.

    Time frame: Baseline and Week 12 (Day 84)

  9. Frequency and Severity of Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)

    Time frame: From first treatment with the study intervention until 7 days after the last intake of study intervention (approximately up to 91 days)

07

Results

Posted Feb 18, 2025

Participant flow

Study was conducted at 22 centers in Europe and US between 21-DEC-2022 (first participant first visit) and 31-JAN-2024 (last participant last visit).

Treatment Phase
Participant flow — Treatment Phase
MilestoneZabedosertib (BAY1834845)Placebo
Started5225
Completed3619
Not completed166
Withdrew: Physician decision20
Withdrew: Lack of efficacy63
Withdrew: Subject decision42
Withdrew: Other reasons10
Withdrew: Adverse event31
Follow-up Phase
Participant flow — Follow-up Phase
MilestoneZabedosertib (BAY1834845)Placebo
Started3619
Completed3518
Not completed11
Withdrew: Subject decision01
Withdrew: Missing10

Outcome measures

PrimaryAchievement of 75% Reduction From Baseline in the Eczema Area and Severity Index (EASI 75 Response) at Week 12 (Day 84)

The endpoint was the composite variable defined as follows: - an EASI 75 response at Week 12 (Day 84), - no stop of study intervention for reasons related to lack of efficacy, - no rescue medication use during the 4 weeks before Day 84 and - no use of systemic atopic dermatitis (AD) treatment. The main estimand was the difference in the proportion of responders between treatment groups in adults with moderate-to-severe atopic dermatitis where use of topical rescue medication from Day 56 (Visit 6) onwards, use of systemic standard of care for AD and discontinuation of treatment due to lack of efficacy are handled as non-response (composite strategy). The estimand was regardless of use of rescue medication before Day 56 (Visit 6), regardless of non-compliance with emollients, and had treatment not been discontinued due to other reasons not related to lack of efficacy. Bayesian analysis according to estimand is presented.

Time frame:
Week 12 (Day 84)
Reported as:
Number · Percentage (%)
Achievement of 75% Reduction From Baseline in the Eczema Area and Severity Index (EASI 75 Response) at Week 12 (Day 84)
Percentage (%)Zabedosertib (BAY1834845)Placebo
Achievement of 75% Reduction From Baseline in the Eczema Area and Severity Index (EASI 75 Response) at Week 12 (Day 84)32.337.4
Statistical analysis
  • Zabedosertib (BAY1834845) vs Placebo · Mean difference (final values): -5.0 · 95% CI -29.0 to 18.0Posterior probability is 34.0%
SecondaryPercent Change From Baseline in EASI at Week 12 (Day 84)

The EASI is a ClinRO assessing the extent of AD at four body regions by measuring the average severity of four clinical signs at each body region, each on a scale of 0 to 3. The minimum EASI score is 0 and the maximum EASI score is 72, with a higher score indicating worse severity of AD. The main estimand was based on the same strategies to address intercurrent events as described above for the primary endpoint. The mean difference between the treatment arms was used as summary measure.

Time frame:
Baseline and Week 12 (Day 84)
Reported as:
Least squares mean · percentage (%) of change
Percent Change From Baseline in EASI at Week 12 (Day 84)
percentage (%) of changeZabedosertib (BAY1834845)Placebo
Percent Change From Baseline in EASI at Week 12 (Day 84)-44.58 (-55.96 to -33.19)-55.88 (-71.91 to -39.85)
Statistical analysis
  • Zabedosertib (BAY1834845) vs Placebo · ANCOVA · p = 0.257 (two-sided. No adjustment for multiple comparisons.) · Mean difference (final values): 11.31 · 95% CI -8.26 to 30.87LS mean (%)
SecondaryAchievement of EASI 50 Response at Week 12 (Day 84)

The EASI is a ClinRO assessing the extent of AD at four body regions by measuring the average severity of four clinical signs at each body region, each on a scale of 0 to 3. The minimum EASI score is 0 and the maximum EASI score is 72, with a higher score indicating worse severity of AD. EASI 50 corresponds to the achievement of 50% reduction from baseline in EASI. The main estimand was calculated similarly as for EASI 75. Bayesian analysis according to estimand is presented.

Time frame:
Week 12 (Day 84)
Reported as:
Number · Percentage (%)
Achievement of EASI 50 Response at Week 12 (Day 84)
Percentage (%)Zabedosertib (BAY1834845)Placebo
Achievement of EASI 50 Response at Week 12 (Day 84)52.755.4
Statistical analysis
  • Zabedosertib (BAY1834845) vs Placebo · Mean difference (final values): -2.7 · 95% CI -27.0 to 22.1Posterior probability is 41.7%
SecondaryAchievement of EASI 90 Response at Week 12 (Day 84)

The EASI is a ClinRO assessing the extent of AD at four body regions by measuring the average severity of four clinical signs at each body region, each on a scale of 0 to 3. The minimum EASI score is 0 and the maximum EASI score is 72, with a higher score indicating worse severity of AD. EASI 90 corresponds to the achievement of 90% reduction from baseline in EASI. The main estimand was calculated similarly as for EASI 75. Bayesian analysis according to estimand is presented.

Time frame:
Week 12 (Day 84)
Reported as:
Number · Percentage (%)
Achievement of EASI 90 Response at Week 12 (Day 84)
Percentage (%)Zabedosertib (BAY1834845)Placebo
Achievement of EASI 90 Response at Week 12 (Day 84)15.620.4
Statistical analysis
  • Zabedosertib (BAY1834845) vs Placebo · Mean difference (final values): -4.6 · 95% CI -25.6 to 13.4Posterior probability is 31.5%
SecondaryAchievement of a vIGA-AD Response (Score 0 or 1 and ≥ 2 Points Improvement) at Week 12 (Day 84)

vIGA-AD stands for validated Investigator Global Assessment for Atopic Dermatitis. The vIGA-AD is a 1-item static ClinRO using a 5-point scale from 0 (clear) to 4 (severe) based on 4 clinical features of AD lesions: erythema, induration/papulation, lichenification, and oozing/crusting, and takes extent of disease into account. The main estimand was calculated similarly as for EASI 75. Bayesian analysis according to estimand is presented.

Time frame:
Week 12 (Day 84)
Reported as:
Number · Percentage (%)
Achievement of a vIGA-AD Response (Score 0 or 1 and ≥ 2 Points Improvement) at Week 12 (Day 84)
Percentage (%)Zabedosertib (BAY1834845)Placebo
Achievement of a vIGA-AD Response (Score 0 or 1 and ≥ 2 Points Improvement) at Week 12 (Day 84)15.928.5
Statistical analysis
  • Zabedosertib (BAY1834845) vs Placebo · Mean difference (final values): -12.5 · 95% CI -34.1 to 7.0Posterior probability is 10.8%
SecondaryAbsolute Change From Baseline in Body Surface Area (BSA) Affected by Atopic Dermatitis (AD) at Week 12 (Day 84)

BSA affected by AD was assessed for each section of the body, e.g. using the rule of nines. The possible highest score for each region is: Head and neck - 9%; Anterior trunk - 18%; Back - 18%; Upper limbs - 18%; Lower limbs - 36%; Genitals - 1%. Affected BSA was reported as a percentage of all major body sections combined. The main estimand was based on the same strategies to address intercurrent events as described above for the primary endpoint. The mean difference between the treatment arms was used as summary measure.

Time frame:
Baseline and Week 12 (Day 84)
Reported as:
Least squares mean · percentage of BSA (%)
Absolute Change From Baseline in Body Surface Area (BSA) Affected by Atopic Dermatitis (AD) at Week 12 (Day 84)
percentage of BSA (%)Zabedosertib (BAY1834845)Placebo
Absolute Change From Baseline in Body Surface Area (BSA) Affected by Atopic Dermatitis (AD) at Week 12 (Day 84)-13.28 (-18.98 to -7.58)-20.34 (-28.60 to -12.07)
Statistical analysis
  • Zabedosertib (BAY1834845) vs Placebo · ANCOVA · p = 0.166 (two-sided. No adjustment for multiple comparisons.) · Mean difference (final values): 7.06 · 95% CI -2.92 to 17.03
SecondaryAchievement of a ≥ 4 Point-improvement (Reduction) in the Weekly Average of the Peak Pruritus 0-10 NRS Score From Baseline to Week 12 (Day 84) for Participants With Peak Pruritus 0-10 NRS Score ≥ 4 at Baseline

NRS stands for numerical rating scale. The Peak Pruritus 0-10 NRS is a single patient-reported item designed to measure peak pruritus (itch), or 'worst' itch, over the previous 24 h based on the following question: 'On a scale of 0 to 10, with 0 being "no itch" and 10 being "worst itch imaginable", how would you rate your itch at the worst moment during the previous 24 hours?'. ≥ 4 points reduction of the Peak Pruritus 0-10 NRS is considered a clinically relevant within-person response. NRS was assessed on a daily basis and the average over the last 7 days before the visit day was used for analysis. The main estimand was calculated similarly as for EASI 75. Bayesian analysis according to estimand is presented.

Time frame:
Baseline and Week 12 (Day 84)
Reported as:
Number · Percentage (%)
Achievement of a ≥ 4 Point-improvement (Reduction) in the Weekly Average of the Peak Pruritus 0-10 NRS Score From Baseline to Week 12 (Day 84) for Participants With Peak Pruritus 0-10 NRS Score ≥ 4 at Baseline
Percentage (%)Zabedosertib (BAY1834845)Placebo
Achievement of a ≥ 4 Point-improvement (Reduction) in the Weekly Average of the Peak Pruritus 0-10 NRS Score From Baseline to Week 12 (Day 84) for Participants With Peak Pruritus 0-10 NRS Score ≥ 4 at Baseline16.425.0
Statistical analysis
  • Zabedosertib (BAY1834845) vs Placebo · Mean difference (final values): -8.4 · 95% CI -30.4 to 11.0Posterior probability is 20.5%
SecondaryAbsolute Values of Weekly Average of the Peak Pruritus 0-10 Numerical Rating Scale (NRS) Score at Week 12 (Day 84)

The Peak Pruritus 0-10 NRS is a single patient-reported item designed to measure peak pruritus (itch), or 'worst' itch, over the previous 24 h based on the following question: 'On a scale of 0 to 10, with 0 being "no itch" and 10 being "worst itch imaginable", how would you rate your itch at the worst moment during the previous 24 hours?'. ≥ 4 points reduction of the Peak Pruritus 0-10 NRS is considered a clinically relevant within-person response. NRS was assessed on a daily basis and the average over the last 7 days before the visit day was used for analysis. The main estimand was based on the same strategies to address intercurrent events as described above for the primary endpoint.

Time frame:
Week 12 (Day 84)
Reported as:
Mean · Scores on a scale
Absolute Values of Weekly Average of the Peak Pruritus 0-10 Numerical Rating Scale (NRS) Score at Week 12 (Day 84)
Scores on a scaleZabedosertib (BAY1834845)Placebo
Absolute Values of Weekly Average of the Peak Pruritus 0-10 Numerical Rating Scale (NRS) Score at Week 12 (Day 84)5.759 ± 2.2185.36 ± 2.311
SecondaryPercent Change of Weekly Average of the Peak Pruritus 0-10 NRS Score From Baseline at Week 12 (Day 84)

The Peak Pruritus 0-10 NRS is a single patient-reported item designed to measure peak pruritus (itch), or 'worst' itch, over the previous 24 h based on the following question: 'On a scale of 0 to 10, with 0 being "no itch" and 10 being "worst itch imaginable", how would you rate your itch at the worst moment during the previous 24 hours?'. ≥ 4 points reduction of the Peak Pruritus 0-10 NRS is considered a clinically relevant within-person response. NRS was assessed on a daily basis and the average over the last 7 days before the visit day was used for analysis. The main estimand was based on the same strategies to address intercurrent events as described above for the primary endpoint. ANCOVA analysis according to estimand is presented.

Time frame:
Baseline and Week 12 (Day 84)
Reported as:
Least squares mean · percentage of change (%)
Percent Change of Weekly Average of the Peak Pruritus 0-10 NRS Score From Baseline at Week 12 (Day 84)
percentage of change (%)Zabedosertib (BAY1834845)Placebo
Percent Change of Weekly Average of the Peak Pruritus 0-10 NRS Score From Baseline at Week 12 (Day 84)-20.65 (-29.54 to -11.77)-27.33 (-40.00 to -14.66)
Statistical analysis
  • Zabedosertib (BAY1834845) vs Placebo · ANCOVA · p = 0.396 (two-sided. No adjustment for multiple comparisons.) · Mean difference (final values): 6.68 · 95% CI -8.75 to 22.11
SecondaryFrequency and Severity of Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)
Time frame:
From first treatment with the study intervention until 7 days after the last intake of study intervention (approximately up to 91 days)
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Frequency and Severity of Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)
ParticipantsZabedosertib (BAY1834845)Placebo
Any AE237
Maximum intensity for any AE -MILD134
Maximum intensity for any AE -MODERATE103
Any SAE00
AE with outcome death00

Adverse events

Collected over Adverse events tables: from the start of study intervention until 7 days after the last intake (approximately up to 91 days). All-cause mortality is considered after signing informed consent up to the last contact per participant, up to 20 weeks.. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Zabedosertib (BAY1834845)0/52 (0%)0/52 (0%)23/52 (44.2%)
Placebo0/25 (0%)0/25 (0%)7/25 (28%)
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 33
Most frequent other events
EventZabedosertib (BAY1834845)Placebo
NasopharyngitisInfections and infestations4/521/25
Sinus arrhythmiaCardiac disorders0/521/25
HypersensitivityImmune system disorders0/521/25
PustuleInfections and infestations1/521/25
Upper respiratory tract infectionInfections and infestations0/521/25
Oral herpesInfections and infestations0/521/25
Rib fractureInjury, poisoning and procedural complications0/521/25
Limb injuryInjury, poisoning and procedural complications0/521/25
ArthralgiaMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders1/521/25
Pregnancy of partnerSocial circumstances0/521/25

Baseline characteristics

Safety analysis set (SAF): All participants who took at least 1 dose of study intervention.

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Zabedosertib (BAY1834845)PlaceboTotal
Mean35.2 ± 11.332.9 ± 10.334.4 ± 11.0
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Zabedosertib (BAY1834845)PlaceboTotal
Female26733
Male261844
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Zabedosertib (BAY1834845)PlaceboTotal
Hispanic or Latino213
Not Hispanic or Latino502474
Unknown or Not Reported000
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Zabedosertib (BAY1834845)PlaceboTotal
American Indian or Alaska Native000
Asian415
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander000
Black or African American123
White472269
More than one race000
Unknown or Not Reported000
08

Study locations

22 sites
  • NorthShore University HealthSystem | Skokie Hospital - Dermatology Department
    Skokie, Illinois 60077, United States
  • Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center - Dermatology
    Boston, Massachusetts 02115, United States
  • University of Cincinnati College of Medicine - Dermatology
    Cincinnati, Ohio 45219, United States
  • Arlington Research Center, Inc. | Arlington, TX
    Arlington, Texas 76011, United States
  • Dermamedica s.r.o.
    Nachod, Kralovehradecky Kraj 547 01, Czechia
  • Clintrial s.r.o.
    Praha 10, 100 00, Czechia
  • Praglandia
    Praha 5, 150 00, Czechia
  • Clinique Bezannes
    Bezannes, 51430, France
  • Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Nice | L'Archet Hospital - Dermatology Department
    Nice Cedex 3, 6202, France
  • Hôpital Saint Louis
    Paris, 75010, France
  • Hautarztpraxis Prof. Dr. med. Christian Termeer
    Stuttgart, Baden-Württemberg 70499, Germany
  • Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin
    Berlin, 10117, Germany
  • A.O.U. di Ferrara
    Ferrara, Emilia-Romagna 44124, Italy
  • Humanitas Research Hospital | Cardio Center - Clinical, Interventional Cardiology and Coronary Care
    Milano, Lombardia 20089, Italy
  • Fondazione IRCCS Ca' Granda Ospedale Maggiore Policlinico
    Milano, Lombardia 20122, Italy
  • Azienda Ospedaliero-Universitaria Policlinico G. Rodolico-San Marco Di Catania
    Catania, Sicilia 95123, Italy
  • Dermal NZOZ Sp Osrodek Dermatologiczny Bialystok-Podlasie
    Bialystok, 15-453, Poland
  • Centrum Nowoczesnych Terapii Dobry Lekarz
    Krakow, 31-011, Poland
  • Santa Sp. z o.o.
    Lodz, 90-302, Poland
  • Royalderm Agnieszka Nawrocka
    Warszawa, 02-962, Poland
  • Whipps Cross University Hospital - Clinical Research Unit
    Leytonstone, London E11 1NR, United Kingdom
  • Medicines Evaluation Unit
    Wythenshawe, Manchester M23 9QZ, United Kingdom
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Study protocol · Jul 18, 2023
  • Statistical analysis plan · Oct 31, 2023

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No — Availability of this study's data will later be determined according to Bayer's commitment to the EFPIA/PhRMA "Principles for responsible clinical trial data sharing". This pertains to scope, timepoint and process of data access. As such, Bayer commits to sharing upon request from qualified researchers patient-level clinical trial data, study-level clinical trial data, and protocols from clinical trials in patients for medicines and indications approved in the US and EU as necessary for conducting legitimate research. This applies to data on new medicines and indications that have been approved by the EU and US regulatory agencies on or after January 01, 2014. Interested researchers can use www.vivli.org to request access to anonymized patient-level data and supporting documents from clinical studies to conduct research. Information on the Bayer criteria for listing studies and other relevant information is provided in the member section of the portal.

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Feb 18, 2025, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT05656911
Lead sponsor
Bayer
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Dec 19, 2022
Start date
Dec 21, 2022
Primary completion
Jan 3, 2024
Completion
Jan 31, 2024
Results posted
Feb 18, 2025
Last update
Feb 18, 2025

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Feb 2025. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion