CClinicalTrials.gg
TerminatedNCT05580588Updated Jun 13, 2025Results posted

Open-Label Study of the CDK4/6 Inhibitor SPH4336 in Subjects With Locally Advanced or Metastatic Liposarcomas

A Phase 2 interventional study of SPH4336 in Liposarcoma, Dedifferentiated, sponsored by Shanghai Pharma Biotherapeutics USA Inc.. Terminated at 9 sites in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2025-06-13.

Sponsored by Shanghai Pharma Biotherapeutics USA Inc. · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

Why this study was terminated
Although no safety issues with SPH4336 were identified, efficacy in liposarcoma patient was less than anticipated.
Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
14
Allocation
Not applicable
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

Study SPH4336-US-01 is an open-label (no placebo), multicenter clinical trial to evaluate the safety, blood levels (pharmacokinetics) and preliminary anti-tumor effects of SPH4336, a selective enzyme blocker, in patients with specific types of liposarcomas (tumors expressing the target of the study drug).

Read the detailed description

Study SPH4336-US-01 is a multicenter, non-randomized, open-label Phase 2 study of SPH4336 with a safety lead-in in subjects with CDK4-positive liposarcomas (dedifferentiated or well-differentiated/dedifferentiated liposarcomas). SPH4336 is an orally administered, molecularly targeted chemotherapy drug called a cyclin-dependent kinase inhibitor (CDK4/6 inhibitor), which acts to block the ability of cancer cells to divide and thus prevents tumors from growing. SPH4336 (tablets) will be administered orally once each day in successive 28-day cycles until demonstration of progressive disease or the development of unacceptable toxicity.

The study will incorporate a safety lead-in for the initial 10 subjects. Safety will be evaluated after 10 subjects (minimum 1 cycle completed) by a Safety Review Committee (SRC). The study will be stopped if unacceptable toxicity is observed in more than 2 subjects.

Tumor assessments according to RECIST v1.1 will be performed at baseline and every 6 weeks (from Cycle 1, Day 1 (C1D1)) for 36 weeks, then every 12 weeks thereafter. Plasma samples for pharmacokinetics will be collected in all subjects. Baseline (pretreatment) tumor tissue (archival or fresh) will be collected from all subjects to confirm histologically a liposarcoma with a dedifferentiated component and CDK4 positivity. Tumor tissue biomarkers (e.g., phospho-Rb, Ki-67) will be analyzed in the first 10 study subjects in baseline (pretreatment) and C1D15 tumor tissue samples.

02

Conditions studied

  • Liposarcoma, Dedifferentiated

Browse trials for

Keywords

  • CDK4/6 inhibitor
03

In context

Liposarcoma

143 studies on the registry are indexed under Liposarcoma; 37 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 14 is below the median of 40 across 119 interventional studies indexed under Liposarcoma.

Browse Liposarcoma studies →

Lead sponsor

Shanghai Pharma Biotherapeutics USA Inc. is the lead sponsor of 2 studies on the registry; none are open to participants now.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Informed consent
  • ≥ 18 years of age
  • ECOG performance status 0 or 1
  • Histologically confirmed, locally advanced or metastatic sarcoma

    • Dedifferentiated or well-differentiated/dedifferentiated liposarcomas
  • No more than 3 prior lines of treatment
  • Evidence of progression as evidenced by at least one of the following within the past 3 months:

    • An increase of at least 20% in measurable tumors
    • The appearance of new lesions
    • Unequivocal progression of non-measurable lesions
  • Measurable disease per RECIST v1.1
  • If residual treatment-related toxicity from prior therapy:

    • All treatment-related toxicity resolved to Grade 1 or baseline (alopecia excepted)
  • ANC ≥ 1,500/μL
  • Platelets ≥ 100,000/μL
  • Hgb ≥ 9.0 g/dL (in the absence of pRBC transfusion over the prior 4 weeks)
  • Estimated glomerular filtration rate of ≥ 60 mL/min (based on the Cockcroft and Gault formula for individualized estimates of GFR)
  • Total bilirubin ≤ 1.5 x the Upper Limit of Normal (ULN) or ≤ 3 x ULN if known Gilbert's disease
  • AST and ALT ≤ 3 x ULN or ≤ 5 x ULN if malignant involvement of the liver
  • Sterile or willing to use effective contraception (approved hormonal contraceptive such as oral contraceptives, patches, implants, injections, rings or hormonally-impregnated intrauterine device (IUD), or an IUD in women of childbearing potential and a condom in men) during the study and for 3 months following the last dose of study drug
  • Availability of archived tumor tissue or willingness to undergo a baseline tumor biopsy, and in the first 10 study subjects, to determine baseline tumor biomarker levels and a willingness to undergo a second tumor biopsy at C1D15 to assess treatment-induced changes in tumor biomarker levels

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Prior treatment with a CDK4/6-targeted agent
  • Patient's tumor known to be CDK4 negative
  • Anticancer therapy (e.g., chemotherapy, biologics, irradiation) within 14 days or 5 half-lives (whichever is greater) of screening
  • Major surgery within 28 days of screening
  • Requirement for systemic treatment with strong CYP3A4 inhibitors or inducers of CYP3A4 at study entry
  • Central nervous system metastases or leptomeningeal disease, unless appropriately treated and neurologically stable without steroids for ≥ 28 days
  • Other malignancy unless disease-free for ≥ 2 years and not expected to relapse or require treatment during study participation
  • Active systemic infection or severe localized infection
  • Known HIV-positive with CD4+ cell counts \< 350 cells/uL or a history of an AIDS-defining opportunistic infection
  • Known hepatitis B virus (HBV) or hepatitis C virus (HCV) infection with viral load above the limit of quantification
  • Active COVID-19 infection
  • Major cardiac abnormalities (e.g., uncontrolled angina, unstable arrhythmias, myocardial infarction, NYHA Class ≥ 3 CHF) ≤ 6 months of C1D1
  • Persistent (3 ECGs ≥ 5 mins apart) prolongation of the QTcF (Fridericia) > 470 msec
  • [Females] Pregnant or nursing
  • Any other medical or psychiatric condition, or laboratory abnormality that would result in an unacceptable risk with study participation
  • Presence of active gastrointestinal disease or other condition expected to interfere significantly with absorption, distribution, metabolism or excretion of oral therapy (e.g., ulcerative disease, uncontrolled nausea, vomiting, chronic diarrhea, malabsorption syndrome)
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
14 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    SPH4336

    400 mg (2 - 200 mg tablets) PO QD

    Drug: SPH4336

Interventions

  • DrugSPH4336

    400 mg SPH4336 PO QD

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Progression-free Survival (PFS) at 12 Weeks

    Number of total patients who are progression-free, as defined as RECIST v1.1 (a 20% increase in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions, or a measurable increase in a non-target lesion, or the appearance of new lesions), at 12 weeks

    Time frame: 12 weeks

07

Results

Posted Jun 13, 2025

Participant flow

Study terminated for efficacy lower than company standards

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneSPH4336
Started14
Completed2
Not completed12
Withdrew: Lack of efficacy12

Outcome measures

PrimaryProgression-free Survival (PFS) at 12 Weeks

Number of total patients who are progression-free, as defined as RECIST v1.1 (a 20% increase in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions, or a measurable increase in a non-target lesion, or the appearance of new lesions), at 12 weeks

Time frame:
12 weeks
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Progression-free Survival (PFS) at 12 Weeks
ParticipantsSPH4336
Progression-free Survival (PFS) at 12 Weeks2

Adverse events

Collected over Adverse events were collected for individual patients from signing of the Informed Consent until their discontinuation from the study due to disease progression, pregnancy, serious adverse events, death, or termination of the study by the Sponsor (on average, less than 1 year).. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
SPH43360/14 (0%)2/14 (14.3%)13/14 (92.9%)
Most frequent serious events
Most frequent serious events
EventSPH4336
elevated ALTInvestigations2/14
elevated ASTInvestigations2/14
Most frequent other events
Most frequent other events
EventSPH4336
diarrheaGastrointestinal disorders10/14
fatigueGeneral disorders5/14
vomitingGastrointestinal disorders2/14
blood creatinineInvestigations2/14
neutrophil count decreasedInvestigations2/14
decreased appetiteGeneral disorders2/14

Baseline characteristics

Age, Categorical
Age, Categorical(Participants)SPH4336
<=18 years0
Between 18 and 65 years14
>=65 years0
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)SPH4336
Female3
Male11
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)SPH4336
Hispanic or Latino1
Not Hispanic or Latino13
Unknown or Not Reported0
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)SPH4336
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Asian2
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Black or African American1
White11
More than one race0
Unknown or Not Reported0
08

Study locations

9 sites
  • Mayo Clinic Hospital
    Phoenix, Arizona 85054, United States
  • City of Hope
    Duarte, California 91010, United States
  • Mayo Clinic Florida
    Jacksonville, Florida 32224, United States
  • University of Miami
    Miami, Florida 33136, United States
  • University of Michigan
    Ann Arbor, Michigan 48109, United States
  • Hackensack University Medical Center
    Hackensack, New Jersey 07601, United States
  • Seidman Cancer Center, University Hospitals
    Cleveland, Ohio 44106, United States
  • The Ohio State University
    Columbus, Ohio 43210, United States
  • Vanderbilt University Medical Center
    Nashville, Tennessee 37232, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Study protocol · Jul 26, 2022
  • Statistical analysis plan · Oct 28, 2024

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Jun 13, 2025, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT05580588
Lead sponsor
Shanghai Pharma Biotherapeutics USA Inc.
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Oct 14, 2022
Start date
Aug 31, 2023
Primary completion
Oct 4, 2024
Completion
Oct 31, 2024
Results posted
Jun 13, 2025
Last update
Jun 13, 2025

Study contacts

Kenneth W Locke, PhD
study director · Shanghai Pharma Biotherapeutics USA Inc.

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is terminated, as verified in Jun 2025. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion