A Phase 1/2 interventional study of Bemcentinib and Pembrolizumab in Carcinoma, Non-Small-Cell Lung, sponsored by BerGenBio ASA. Terminated at 34 sites in 7 countries. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2025-10-29.
Sponsored by BerGenBio ASA · Phase 1/2, Interventional, and Treatment
The primary purpose of this study is to determine the safety and tolerability of the combination of bemcentinib with chemo-immunotherapy (CIT) to identify the recommended phase 2 dose (RP2D) when administered as first line (1L) treatment in participants with locally advanced (Stage IIIb/IIIC) or metastatic (Stage IV) non-squamous NSCLC with no actionable mutations and to determine the anti-tumor activity of the combination of bemcentinib with CIT when administered as 1L treatment in participants with locally advanced (Stage IIIb/IIIc) or metastatic (Stage IV) non-squamous NSCLC with serine/threonine kinase 11 (STK11) mutation and no actionable mutations.
6,488 studies on the registry are indexed under Carcinoma, Non-Small-Cell Lung; 1,632 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 26 is below the median of 62 across 5,213 interventional studies indexed under Carcinoma, Non-Small-Cell Lung.
Browse Carcinoma, Non-Small-Cell Lung studies →BerGenBio ASA is the lead sponsor of 9 studies on the registry; none are open to participants now.
Of its 5 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 5 (100%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Main Inclusion Criteria:
Main Exclusion Criteria:
Participants with previously untreated locally advanced (Stage IIIb/IIIc)/metastatic (Stage IV) non-squamous NSCLC without actionable mutations will receive bemcentinib 75 mg once daily until a reason for discontinuation has been met or for up to 2 years, whichever occurs first along with CIT (pembrolizumab infusion followed by pemetrexed and carboplatin).
Drug: Bemcentinib · Drug: Pembrolizumab · Drug: Pemetrexed · Drug: Carboplatin
Participants with previously untreated locally advanced (Stage IIIb/IIIc)/metastatic (Stage IV) non-squamous NSCLC without actionable mutations will receive bemcentinib 100 mg once daily until a reason for discontinuation has been met or for up to 2 years, whichever occurs first along with CIT (pembrolizumab infusion followed by pemetrexed and carboplatin).
Drug: Bemcentinib · Drug: Pembrolizumab · Drug: Pemetrexed · Drug: Carboplatin
Participants with previously untreated locally advanced (Stage IIIb/IIIc)/metastatic (Stage IV) non-squamous NSCLC without actionable mutations will receive bemcentinib 150 mg once daily until a reason for discontinuation has been met or for up to 2 years, whichever occurs first along with CIT (pembrolizumab infusion followed by pemetrexed and carboplatin).
Drug: Bemcentinib · Drug: Pembrolizumab · Drug: Pemetrexed · Drug: Carboplatin
Participants with previously untreated advanced (Stage IIIb/IIIc)/metastatic (Stage IV) non-squamous NSCLC having a serine/threonine kinase 11 (STK11) mutation as identified by Next Generation Sequencing (NGS) and without actionable mutations will receive bemcentinib second dose, at RP2D identified in Phase 1b, once daily until a reason for discontinuation has been met or for up to 2 years, whichever occurs first along with CIT (pembrolizumab infusion followed by pemetrexed and carboplatin).
Drug: Bemcentinib · Drug: Pembrolizumab · Drug: Pemetrexed · Drug: Carboplatin
Bemcentinib capsules will be administered daily orally.
Pembrolizumab will be administered as an intravenous (IV) infusion as part of CIT every 3 weeks.
Pemetrexed will be administered as an IV infusion as part of CIT every 3 weeks.
Carboplatin will be administered as an IV infusion as part of CIT every 3 weeks up to 4 cycles. Each cycle = 21 days.
Phase 1b: Number of Participants With Dose Limiting Toxicity (DLT)
DLT graded using NCI CTCAE Version 5.0 based on the Investigator assessment.
Time frame: Cycle 1 (the first 21 days of treatment)
Phase 2a: Objective Response Rate (ORR) at 6 Months
ORR is defined as percentage of participants with complete response and partial response per RECIST 1.1.
Time frame: 6 months
Phase 2a: Objective Response Rate (ORR) at 12 Months
ORR is defined as percentage of participants with complete response and partial response per RECIST 1.1.
Time frame: 12 months
Study recruitment was undertaken across 7 planned countries: USA, France, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Poland \& Spain. Of these countries, 5 countries enrolled participants: USA (10 participants), France (5 participants), Greece (3 participants), Italy (2 participants) \& Spain (6 participants). The recruitment process began in March 2023 and concluded in February 2025. 65 participants were screened in order to successfully recruit 26 participants.
| Milestone | Phase 1b Cohort 1: Bemcentinib 75 mg | Phase 1b Cohort 2: Bemcentinib 100 mg | Phase 1b Cohort 3: Bemcentinib 150 mg | Phase 2a Expansion Cohort: Bemcentinib 100 mg (as the dose determined from Phase 1b) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Started | 3 | 3 | 4 | 16 |
| Completed | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Not completed | 3 | 3 | 4 | 16 |
| Withdrew: Death | 1 | 1 | 3 | 6 |
| Withdrew: Lack of efficacy | 2 | 2 | 1 | 10 |
DLT graded using NCI CTCAE Version 5.0 based on the Investigator assessment.
| Participants | Phase 1b Cohort 1: Bemcentinib 75 mg | Phase 1b Cohort 2: Bemcentinib 100 mg | Phase 1b Cohort 3: Bemcentinib 150 mg |
|---|---|---|---|
| Phase 1b: Number of Participants With Dose Limiting Toxicity (DLT) | 0 | 0 | 0 |
ORR is defined as percentage of participants with complete response and partial response per RECIST 1.1.
| Participants | Phase 2a Expansion Cohort: Bemcentinib 100 mg (as the Dose Determined From Phase 1b) |
|---|---|
| Phase 2a: Objective Response Rate (ORR) at 6 Months | 0 |
ORR is defined as percentage of participants with complete response and partial response per RECIST 1.1.
| Participants | Phase 2a Expansion Cohort: Bemcentinib 100 mg (as the Dose Determined From Phase 1b) |
|---|---|
| Phase 2a: Objective Response Rate (ORR) at 12 Months | 0 |
Collected over Adverse event data were collected from ICF signing until 30 days post the last treatment on study (approximately 1 year).. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Phase 1b Cohort 1: Bemcentinib 75 mg | 1/3 (33.3%) | 2/3 (66.7%) | 3/3 (100%) |
| Phase 1b Cohort 2: Bemcentinib 100 mg | 1/3 (33.3%) | 3/3 (100%) | 3/3 (100%) |
| Phase 1b Cohort 3: Bemcentinib 150 mg | 3/4 (75%) | 1/4 (25%) | 4/4 (100%) |
| Phase 2a Expansion Cohort: Bemcentinib 100 mg (as the Dose Determined From Phase 1b) | 6/16 (37.5%) | 6/16 (37.5%) | 15/16 (93.8%) |
| Event | Phase 1b Cohort 1: Bemcentinib 75 mg | Phase 1b Cohort 2: Bemcentinib 100 mg | Phase 1b Cohort 3: Bemcentinib 150 mg | Phase 2a Expansion Cohort: Bemcentinib 100 mg (as the Dose Determined From Phase 1b) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Claudication in Peripheral Vascular DiseaseVascular disorders | 1/3 | 0/3 | 0/4 | 0/16 |
| Embolic StrokeNervous system disorders | 1/3 | 0/3 | 0/4 | 0/16 |
| NauseaGastrointestinal disorders | 0/3 | 1/3 | 1/4 | 0/16 |
| PancreatitisGastrointestinal disorders | 0/3 | 1/3 | 0/4 | 0/16 |
| PyelonephritisInfections and infestations | 0/3 | 1/3 | 0/4 | 0/16 |
| VomitingGastrointestinal disorders | 0/3 | 1/3 | 1/4 | 2/16 |
| DyspneaRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 0/3 | 1/3 | 0/4 | 0/16 |
| HypoxiaRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 0/3 | 1/3 | 0/4 | 0/16 |
| Pleural EffusionRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 0/3 | 1/3 | 0/4 | 0/16 |
| PneumoniaInfections and infestations | 0/3 | 1/3 | 0/4 | 0/16 |
| Event | Phase 1b Cohort 1: Bemcentinib 75 mg | Phase 1b Cohort 2: Bemcentinib 100 mg | Phase 1b Cohort 3: Bemcentinib 150 mg | Phase 2a Expansion Cohort: Bemcentinib 100 mg (as the Dose Determined From Phase 1b) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| NauseaGastrointestinal disorders | 3/3 | 2/3 | 4/4 | 2/16 |
| AnemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 1/3 | 1/3 | 4/4 | 1/16 |
| Alanine Aminotransferase IncreasedInvestigations | 1/3 | 1/3 | 3/4 | 4/16 |
| Aspartate Aminotransferase IncreasedInvestigations | 0/3 | 1/3 | 3/4 | 3/16 |
| FatigueGeneral disorders | 2/3 | 1/3 | 1/4 | 1/16 |
| InappetenceMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 2/3 | 1/3 | 2/4 | 4/16 |
| Acid RefluxGastrointestinal disorders | 2/3 | 0/3 | 1/4 | 0/16 |
| Back PainMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders | 1/3 | 2/3 | 0/4 | 2/16 |
| Short of BreathRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 2/3 | 2/3 | 2/4 | 0/16 |
| Feeling FrailGeneral disorders | 2/3 | 0/3 | 2/4 | 4/16 |
This analysis population includes all 26 enrolled participants.
| Age, Categorical(Participants) | Phase 1b Cohort 1: Bemcentinib 75 mg | Phase 1b Cohort 2: Bemcentinib 100 mg | Phase 1b Cohort 3: Bemcentinib 150 mg | Phase 2a Expansion Cohort: Bemcentinib 100 mg (as the Dose Determined From Phase 1b) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| <=18 years | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Between 18 and 65 years | 2 | 0 | 2 | 9 | 13 |
| >=65 years | 1 | 3 | 2 | 7 | 13 |
| Age, Continuous(Years) | Phase 1b Cohort 1: Bemcentinib 75 mg | Phase 1b Cohort 2: Bemcentinib 100 mg | Phase 1b Cohort 3: Bemcentinib 150 mg | Phase 2a Expansion Cohort: Bemcentinib 100 mg (as the Dose Determined From Phase 1b) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 52.0 ± 26.66 | 71.0 ± 3.46 | 63.8 ± 7.14 | 61.2 ± 11.67 | 62.4 ± 15.46 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Phase 1b Cohort 1: Bemcentinib 75 mg | Phase 1b Cohort 2: Bemcentinib 100 mg | Phase 1b Cohort 3: Bemcentinib 150 mg | Phase 2a Expansion Cohort: Bemcentinib 100 mg (as the Dose Determined From Phase 1b) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 0 | 2 | 0 | 3 | 5 |
| Male | 3 | 1 | 4 | 13 | 21 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Phase 1b Cohort 1: Bemcentinib 75 mg | Phase 1b Cohort 2: Bemcentinib 100 mg | Phase 1b Cohort 3: Bemcentinib 150 mg | Phase 2a Expansion Cohort: Bemcentinib 100 mg (as the Dose Determined From Phase 1b) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 1 | 2 | 0 | 2 | 5 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 1 | 0 | 1 | 13 | 15 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 1 | 1 | 3 | 1 | 6 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Phase 1b Cohort 1: Bemcentinib 75 mg | Phase 1b Cohort 2: Bemcentinib 100 mg | Phase 1b Cohort 3: Bemcentinib 150 mg | Phase 2a Expansion Cohort: Bemcentinib 100 mg (as the Dose Determined From Phase 1b) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Asian | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Black or African American | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| White | 2 | 1 | 4 | 14 | 21 |
| More than one race | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 1 | 2 | 0 | 1 | 4 |
| Region of Enrollment(participants) | Phase 1b Cohort 1: Bemcentinib 75 mg | Phase 1b Cohort 2: Bemcentinib 100 mg | Phase 1b Cohort 3: Bemcentinib 150 mg | Phase 2a Expansion Cohort: Bemcentinib 100 mg (as the Dose Determined From Phase 1b) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Greece | 0 | 0 | 0 | 3 | 3 |
| United States | 2 | 2 | 1 | 5 | 10 |
| Italy | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 2 |
| France | 1 | 1 | 3 | 0 | 5 |
| Spain | 0 | 0 | 0 | 6 | 6 |
| Weight(Kilograms) | Phase 1b Cohort 1: Bemcentinib 75 mg | Phase 1b Cohort 2: Bemcentinib 100 mg | Phase 1b Cohort 3: Bemcentinib 150 mg | Phase 2a Expansion Cohort: Bemcentinib 100 mg (as the Dose Determined From Phase 1b) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Median | 75.30 (63.0 to 81.6) | 82.00 (49.0 to 97.0) | 71.30 (61.2 to 82.2) | 70.50 (53.0 to 97.3) | 73.75 (49.0 to 97.0) |
| Height(Centimetres) | Phase 1b Cohort 1: Bemcentinib 75 mg | Phase 1b Cohort 2: Bemcentinib 100 mg | Phase 1b Cohort 3: Bemcentinib 150 mg | Phase 2a Expansion Cohort: Bemcentinib 100 mg (as the Dose Determined From Phase 1b) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Median | 172.00 (170.0 to 188.0) | 165.00 (162.6 to 172.0) | 173.00 (168.0 to 184.0) | 171.00 (157.5 to 183.0) | 171.50 (162.6 to 188.0) |
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
Plan to share: No
This study is terminated, as verified in Oct 2025. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Carcinoma, Non-Small-Cell Lung→
BerGenBio ASA