CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT05368012MIDCABUpdated Apr 15, 2025Results posted

MIDCAB (Mid-Calf Block) for Foot Surgery

A Phase 4 interventional study of MIDCAB in Ankle Surgery and Foot Surgery, sponsored by Hospital for Special Surgery, New York. Completed at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years to 80 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2025-04-15.

Sponsored by Hospital for Special Surgery, New York · Phase 4, Interventional, and Supportive care

Phase
Phase 4
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
20
Allocation
Not applicable
Ages
18 Years to 80 Years
Sex
All
01

Study summary

MIDCAB is defined as a group of ultrasound guided distal nerve blocks at the level of the individual branches. It is similar to an Ultrasound Guided (USG) Ankle block but the probe is placed higher on the calf covering all and any surgery of the foot and ankle, providing prolonged analgesia since we are blocking the individual nerves and preserving the proximal motor function.

This study is determining the potential therapeutic effect of MIDCAB during the hospital stay and recovery period in patients undergoing foot/ankle surgeries that require spinal anesthetic and peripheral nerve blocks. A total of 20 patients at HSS will participate to see if MIDCAB is not only effective at providing analgesia (pain relief) but to see if it allows allows patients to maintain motor function (movement) of the foot and ankle unlike the current popliteal block which is done above the knee and prevents patients from moving their foot.

During the course of the study we will also be looking at patients numeric pain scores with movement and at rest along with post-operative nausea and vomiting, the presence of numbness and it patients can move their foot. Along with all of these, the study will also look at the amount of opioid pain medications taken by patients along with medication-related side effects. As a result, the study will be used to determine if MIDCAB provides analgesia for patients undergoing foot/ankle surgery while allowing them to maintain movement of the foot. This pilot study will also be used to gather preliminary data that will allow us to perform a power analysis for a subsequent randomized clinical control trial that would compare the MIDCAB block to the popliteal block.

02

Conditions studied

  • Ankle Surgery
  • Foot Surgery

Keywords

  • foot and ankle surgery
03

In context

Lead sponsor

Hospital for Special Surgery, New York is the lead sponsor of 217 studies on the registry; 39 are open to participants now.

Of its 27 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 20 (74%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years to 80 Years
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Planned use of regional anesthesia
  • Ability to follow the major components of the study protocol
  • Planned foot or angle surgery

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Patients younger than 18 years old and older than 80 years old
  • Patients intending to receive general anesthesia
  • Contra-indication to nerve blocks or spinal anesthesia
  • Patients with an ASA status of IV or higher
  • Chronic opioid use (taking opioids for longer than 3 months)
  • Patients with prior foot or ankle surgery
  • Patients with type 2 diabetes
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 4
Primary purpose
Supportive care
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
20 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Other
    Active MIDCAB

    USG with a 25G needle, Bupivacaine 0.5% 30ml with 4mg preservative free dexamethasone divided as follows into the following 5 nerves: Posterior Tibial nerve (10ml), Saphenous nerve (5ml), Deep peroneal Nerve (5ml), Superficial peroneal nerve (5 ml), and Sural Nerve (5ml).

    Drug: MIDCAB

Interventions

  • DrugMIDCAB

    Ultrasound-guided administration of the nerve block MIDCAB into mid-calf as analgesic intervention for patients.

    Also known as: Bupivacaine and dexamethasone

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Block Duration

    The primary outcome will be block duration, how long the MIDCAB block provides analgesia. This will be measured via questionnaires of pain scores given to patients post surgical discharge (in PACU), 24h post surgical discharge, 48 hours post surgical discharge, and 1 week post surgical discharge. This will be done by measuring the change in patient's pains scores over the course of 7 days. Pain scores will be measured via NRS pain scale; the NRS (numeric rating scale) is a questionnaire that measures pain on a numeric scale, 0 (no pain) to 10 (worst pain imaginable). Patients will be asked to state the specific time-points they began to have pain after surgery.

    Time frame: Out to 1 week postoperatively

Secondary outcomes

  1. Number of Participants With Return of Motor Function of Foot and Ankle Post-Operatively

    The return of the patient's foot/ankle motor function which will be measured by whether the patient can dorsiflex/plantarflex at the ankle or have flexion/extension of the toes.

    Time frame: Measured in the PACU (post-anesthesia care unit) immediately upon patients arrival into the PACU, up to 1 hour after surgery.

  2. Cumulative Opioid Consumption

    Cumulative opioid consumption in morphine equivalents will be recorded post surgical discharge (in PACU), 24h post surgical discharge, 48 hours post surgical discharge, and 1 week post surgical discharge.

    Time frame: PACU (up until patients' discharge from the hospital), POD1 (Around 24 hrs after the PACU arrival time), POD2 (Around 48 hrs after the PACU arrival time) & POD7 (Around 1 week from the PACU arrival time)

  3. Presence of Paresthesia (Numbness)

    Patients will be asked if they have any residual numbness in the foot or toes where the surgery took place.

    Time frame: POD 7 (1 week post-surgical discharge)

  4. Presence of Skin Irritation and Wounds

    Patients will be asked if they have any wounds or irritation to the skin (i.e. rashes, itching, burning, etc.) on the skin at the site of surgery and/or site of the block.

    Time frame: POD 7 (1 week post-surgical discharge)

  5. Presence of Nausea

    The questionnaire used asks patients if they have experienced any nausea.

    Time frame: PACU (up until patients' discharge from the hospital), POD1 (Around 24 hrs after the PACU arrival time), POD2 (Around 48 hrs after the PACU arrival time) & POD7 (Around 1 week from the PACU arrival time)

  6. Severity of Nausea

    Patients are asked on a scale from 0-10 (0 being not severe and 10 being the worst severity) how severe their nausea was. This will be measured post surgical discharge (in PACU), 24h post surgical discharge, 48 hours post surgical discharge, and 1 week post surgical discharge

    Time frame: PACU (up until patients' discharge from the hospital), POD1 (Around 24 hrs after the PACU arrival time), POD2 (Around 48 hrs after the PACU arrival time) & POD7 (Around 1 week from the PACU arrival time)

  7. Number of Total Episodes of Nausea

    Patients were asked how many episodes of nausea had occurred.

    Time frame: PACU (up until patients' discharge from the hospital), POD1 (Around 24 hrs after the PACU arrival time), POD2 (Around 48 hrs after the PACU arrival time) & POD7 (Around 1 week from the PACU arrival time)

07

Results

Posted Apr 15, 2025

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneTreatment
Started20
Completed20
Not completed0

Outcome measures

PrimaryBlock Duration

The primary outcome will be block duration, how long the MIDCAB block provides analgesia. This will be measured via questionnaires of pain scores given to patients post surgical discharge (in PACU), 24h post surgical discharge, 48 hours post surgical discharge, and 1 week post surgical discharge. This will be done by measuring the change in patient's pains scores over the course of 7 days. Pain scores will be measured via NRS pain scale; the NRS (numeric rating scale) is a questionnaire that measures pain on a numeric scale, 0 (no pain) to 10 (worst pain imaginable). Patients will be asked to state the specific time-points they began to have pain after surgery.

Time frame:
Out to 1 week postoperatively
Reported as:
Median · hours
Block Duration
hoursActive MIDCAB
Block Duration18.2 (4.5 to 24.0)
SecondaryNumber of Participants With Return of Motor Function of Foot and Ankle Post-Operatively

The return of the patient's foot/ankle motor function which will be measured by whether the patient can dorsiflex/plantarflex at the ankle or have flexion/extension of the toes.

Time frame:
Measured in the PACU (post-anesthesia care unit) immediately upon patients arrival into the PACU, up to 1 hour after surgery.
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With Return of Motor Function of Foot and Ankle Post-Operatively
ParticipantsActive MIDCAB
Number of Participants With Return of Motor Function of Foot and Ankle Post-Operatively20
SecondaryCumulative Opioid Consumption

Cumulative opioid consumption in morphine equivalents will be recorded post surgical discharge (in PACU), 24h post surgical discharge, 48 hours post surgical discharge, and 1 week post surgical discharge.

Time frame:
PACU (up until patients' discharge from the hospital), POD1 (Around 24 hrs after the PACU arrival time), POD2 (Around 48 hrs after the PACU arrival time) & POD7 (Around 1 week from the PACU arrival time)
Reported as:
Median · mg oral morphine equivalents
Cumulative Opioid Consumption
mg oral morphine equivalentsActive MIDCAB
PACU0 (0 to 7.5)
POD115 (0 to 33.8)
POD28.8 (3.8 to 27)
POD730 (7.5 to 67.5)
SecondaryPresence of Paresthesia (Numbness)

Patients will be asked if they have any residual numbness in the foot or toes where the surgery took place.

Time frame:
POD 7 (1 week post-surgical discharge)
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Presence of Paresthesia (Numbness)
ParticipantsActive MIDCAB
Presence of Paresthesia (Numbness)5
SecondaryPresence of Skin Irritation and Wounds

Patients will be asked if they have any wounds or irritation to the skin (i.e. rashes, itching, burning, etc.) on the skin at the site of surgery and/or site of the block.

Time frame:
POD 7 (1 week post-surgical discharge)
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Presence of Skin Irritation and Wounds
ParticipantsActive MIDCAB
Presence of Skin Irritation and Wounds2
SecondaryPresence of Nausea

The questionnaire used asks patients if they have experienced any nausea.

Time frame:
PACU (up until patients' discharge from the hospital), POD1 (Around 24 hrs after the PACU arrival time), POD2 (Around 48 hrs after the PACU arrival time) & POD7 (Around 1 week from the PACU arrival time)
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Presence of Nausea
ParticipantsActive MIDCAB
PACU1
POD12
POD23
POD72
SecondarySeverity of Nausea

Patients are asked on a scale from 0-10 (0 being not severe and 10 being the worst severity) how severe their nausea was. This will be measured post surgical discharge (in PACU), 24h post surgical discharge, 48 hours post surgical discharge, and 1 week post surgical discharge

Time frame:
PACU (up until patients' discharge from the hospital), POD1 (Around 24 hrs after the PACU arrival time), POD2 (Around 48 hrs after the PACU arrival time) & POD7 (Around 1 week from the PACU arrival time)
Reported as:
Mean · Scores on a scale
Severity of Nausea
Scores on a scaleActive MIDCAB
PACU3 (3 to 3)
POD16.5 (6 to 7)
POD23.67 (2 to 5)
POD73 (3 to 3)
SecondaryNumber of Total Episodes of Nausea

Patients were asked how many episodes of nausea had occurred.

Time frame:
PACU (up until patients' discharge from the hospital), POD1 (Around 24 hrs after the PACU arrival time), POD2 (Around 48 hrs after the PACU arrival time) & POD7 (Around 1 week from the PACU arrival time)
Reported as:
Mean · episodes
Number of Total Episodes of Nausea
episodesActive MIDCAB
PACU1 (1 to 1)
POD12 (1 to 3)
POD21.33 (1 to 2)
POD71.5 (1 to 2)

Adverse events

Collected over Adverse Event Data was collected for 7 days post surgery. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Active MIDCAB0/20 (0%)0/20 (0%)0/20 (0%)

Baseline characteristics

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Active MIDCAB
Mean56.1 ± 13.3
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Active MIDCAB
Female12
Male8
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Active MIDCAB
Hispanic or Latino0
Not Hispanic or Latino20
Unknown or Not Reported0
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Active MIDCAB
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Asian0
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Black or African American1
White19
More than one race0
Unknown or Not Reported0
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(participants)Active MIDCAB
United States20
08

Study locations

1 site
  • Hospital for Special Surgery
    New York, New York 10021, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · May 3, 2022

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: Yes — Individual participant data that underlie the results reported in this article after de-identification (text, tables, figures, and appendices).

Supporting information: Study protocol

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Apr 15, 2025, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT05368012
Lead sponsor
Hospital for Special Surgery, New York
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
May 10, 2022
Start date
Jul 21, 2022
Primary completion
Nov 29, 2022
Completion
Nov 29, 2022
Results posted
Apr 15, 2025
Last update
Apr 15, 2025

Study contacts

Enrique Goytizolo, MD
principal investigator · Hospital for Special Surgery, New York

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Feb 2025. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion